DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “devices used to detect the guided missile” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White et al. (US 2014/0139730) in view of Fiebick et al. (US 2003/0071165).
White discloses a camera container for military aircraft having a removable outboard container, wherein the camera container is the casing of an adopted guided missile and comprises: at least one autonomous camera system (802), casing elements of optically transparent material ([0036]; 202, 206), compensating masses ([0136]) and a pressure compensating valve ([0020]).
White discloses a communication interface (“communication device”) as well as the necessity of the aircraft flight computer to be aware of the presence of the container ([0042]) but is not found to specifically require devices (electronics) used to detect the container by the aircraft. Fiebick discloses a missile interface including electronics of a missile used to detect the missile by an aircraft ([0067]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to include such “devices” (electronics) in the container of White so that the flight computer may account for the presence or absence of the container automatically.
It is noted that while “the casing of an adopted guided missile” is indefinite as identified above, this “wherein” statement is not found to impose any additional limitation on the “camera container” beyond the elements that it is claimed to be comprised of. However, in the event a “casing of an adopted guided missile” as claimed were to be interpreted in such a way that the casing of White in view of Fiebick as demonstrated above does not qualify, Fiebick is referenced again, teaching adopting existing guided missile structure to accommodate additional instrumentation so as to minimize additional certification (e.g. [0022]-[0027], [0138]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to base the camera container of White on the casing of an adopted guided missile for the same advantages as taught by Fiebick, i.e. to minimize additional certification.
Regarding claim 2, White discloses the at least one autonomous camera system comprises at least two autonomous camera systems (802) mounted along the longitudinal axis of the camera container with at least two different angles to the vertical (Figures 9, 11, [0128]; at least the nosecone camera can be directed downward).
Regarding claim 3, White discloses the at least one autonomous camera system comprises an autonomous camera system in a sensor dome mounted axially parallel to the longitudinal axis with the lens direction in the direction of flight (Fig. 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fry discloses a guided missile casing housing a plurality of cameras along the length.
/MATTHEW M BARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646