DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“analyzing, by a device and using at least one of an optical character recognition technique or a natural language processing technique, a document, ... matching, by the device, the document with a record included in a ledger ... generating, by the device, display information associated with the ledger ... and transmitting, by the device, the display information to cause the display information to be displayed by another device” in claims 8-14.
“receiving, from an entity device associated with the record or a user device associated with the user account, an image of the document or a file of the document; or obtaining, from a database of the device, a document” in claim 12. Examiner notes that substantially similar subject matter is recited in claims 5 and 19. However, in those claims the corresponding structure is specified as the “one or more processors” of the device, unlike claim 12.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 10572727 to Sachtleben et al. (hereinafter “Sachtleben”) in view of U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 20160042469 to Lochrie et al. (hereinafter “Lochrie”).
Regarding claim 1, Sachtleben teaches a device (A server that communicates to a user’s mobile device via a browser. See Sachtleben at FIG. 1A, “Account migration device(s) 132)”; col. 19, l. 63 - col. 20, l. 11, “system 1400 may be included, at least in part, in the user device 138, the account migration device(s) 132, the account management device(s) 126A, the account management device(s) 126B, and/or other device(s) described herein.”), comprising:
one or more memories (Sachtleben, col. 20, ll. 4-41, “memory 1420, one or more storage devices 1430”); and
one or more processors (Sachtleben, col. 20, ll. 4-41, “one or more processors 1410”), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
analyze, using at least one of an optical character recognition technique (Sachtleben, col. 17, l. 57 - col. 18, l. 4, “pattern recognition such as OCR, ICR, or some other suitable technique”) or a natural language processing technique (Sachtleben, col. 8, ll. 61-67, “The identification of recurring transactions may include categorization, classification, pattern identification, natural language processing, semantic analysis, value comparison, and/or any other suitable types of processing.”), a document (Sachtleben, col. 19, ll. 35-38, “capture the image of the bill in the frame”; col. 17, ll. 46-56, “the image(s) may have been provided to the user 140, as an electronic bill, from the biller”; col. 4, l. 6, “image(s) of a utility bill may be analyzed”), associated with a user account (The user may upload an image of a recurring bill that has been previously paid from the first account and needs to be updated with respect to the second account the user is migrating to. See Sachtleben at col. 8, ll. 7-26, “first account”. The Snap Bill feature analyzes the image of the bill to extract billing information and set up payments from the new “second account” instead of the old account (“first account”). See id. at col. 19, ll. 27-62. ), to identify one or more characteristics of the document (Sachtleben, col. 19, ll. 39-50, “The captured image(s) may be analyzed, as described above, to extract the bill information from the image(s). The UI may present the bill information an example UI 1340, as shown in FIG. 13E.”);
match the document (The image of the bill is used to determine and schedule a record (transaction), thereby matching the document to the ledger or account. See Sachtleben at col. 19, ll. 59-62, “As described above, in some implementations, the payment of the bill may be automatically scheduled based on the due date extracted from the image(s) of the bill.”; col. 18, ll. 5-23, “The bill information can also include other information, including but not limited to an amount due and a due date.”; col. 11, ll. 1-16, “In some instances, charges may be scheduled to be performed after a recurring payment (e.g., paycheck deposit) is made into the new account, to reduce the risk of overcharges against the new account.”) with a ledger (Sachtleben, col. 17, ll. 24-38, “the account history of the user’s old account.”) associated with the user account (The first (old) account includes a transaction history of credits and debits. See Sachtleben at col. 5, l. 63 - col. 5, l. 19. A “ledger” is characterized by the instant application, in one example, as a transaction history (record log) of vendors, dates, and amounts in FIG. 1C. The BRI of “ledger” is a log (record) or history of transactions (records) for an account over a period of time. Transaction history of the associated account of the debit or credit card is a “ledger”.) based on the one or more characteristics of the document (Sachtleben, col. 1, ll. 30-34, “analyzing document image(s) to identify a transaction made against a first account, such as a bill paid regularly or semi-regularly from the first account”);
generate (e.g., by the account migration device(s) 132 (remotely) and/or user device 138 (locally). See Sachtleben at col. 23, ll. 22-55) display information associated with the ledger (e.g., displaying information related to a recurring transaction that used to be paid from the old account (ledger) and has now been scheduled to be paid from the new ledger) based on matching the document (Once the recurring transaction is identified based on the analysis of the document and the old account history, and migrated to the new account, information pertaining to the transaction is generated and then displayed. See Sachtleben at FIGs. 13A-F, including the payee, due date, and amount owed under “Billers Added”); and
transmit the display information to cause the display information to be displayed (Figures 2A-2E, 3A-3F, 4A-4C, 5A-5F,6A-6F, 7A-7D, 8A-8E, 9A-9D and 13A-13F show examples of graphical user interfaces (GUIs), e.g., as a graphical user interface (GUI) of an app executing on a mobile device used to capture and upload a bill image to a web server he input image of a bill to be scheduled for a specific transaction record in the user’s old account. See Sachtleben at col. 19, ll. 1-10; 6, ll. 38-48, “In some implementations, the request for account migration may be submitted by a user (e.g., customer) using an application executing on a computing device, such as a smartphone, tablet computer, wearable computer, laptop computer, desktop computer, or any other type of computing device. The application may be a web application that executes at least partly in a browser on the user device 138, or that executes in some other container for dynamic and/or static web content. The application may also be a (e.g., native) application that executes outside a browser on the user device 138.”), but does not teach that which is explicitly taught by Lochrie.
Lochrie teaches match the document with a record included in a ledger (Lochrie, pars. 35-36, “The server will process the picture (perform OCR) to derive information regarding the transaction that the receipt contains and will further store a copy of the receipt. ... The transaction processing application may match the transaction record against the accessed data, including any imported data. The matching may be achieved by a learning process, which implements a learning algorithm or calculation. The result of the learning algorithm or calculation may be a single view of the transaction.”; par. 83, “Another view is shown in FIG. 7, wherein two separate transaction records, that are source records, are shown as merged into a single financial transaction. This may occur due to the system functioning to match a record from a bank import and a record from a receipts application.”).
Sachtleben discloses scanning and associating an image of a document, e.g., a bill, with a recurring transaction in a registered user’s account using OCR and natural language processing. Thus, Sachtleben shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to associate related data for the same transaction, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, matching a scanned document to a user’s history of transaction records to provide additional context to the user and/or automate future transactions. Lochrie discloses scanning and matching extracted data from an image of a receipt with data of an associated transaction record in a registered user’s account, and displaying the record data supplemented with the extracted data. Thus, Lochrie shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to match documents of financial transactions or records with a corresponding transaction record in a user’s account or ledger, and displaying or otherwise supplementing the matching information as context to the existing data for the transaction record, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, matching a scanned document to a user’s history of transaction records to provide additional context to the user and/or automate future transactions.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the matching processing and GUI-based transaction grouping and consolidation disclosed by Lochrie with the OCR scanning and recurring transaction association thereof disclosed by Sachtleben, to thereby match uploaded or scanned documents to specific transaction records of recurring transactions and provide additional transaction-specific context in a consolidated view thereof to a user through a GUI used to access and manage their account. Based on the foregoing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made such modification according to known methods to yield the predictable results to have the benefit of providing useful contextual data to better inform a user of pertinent transaction-specific information, and enable the display of anything extracted from a provided document image alongside matching transaction information.
Regarding claim 2, Sachtleben in view of Lochrie teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit an account registration (To register the first and/or second account with the system, the user may be prompted to enter their credentials, password, security information, and so forth. See Sachtleben at col. 6, ll. 49-67.), associated with the user account (Sachtleben - The data transmitted to the browser for adding bills and migrating transactions occurs after the user has logged in and registered their account(s) to permit the system to access the account(s), upload new bills, and so forth.), indicating one or more permissions associated with analyzing the document (Sachtleben - If account registration is successful, then the system is permitted to analyze the scanned bill. If not successful, then there is no permission to do so.).
Regarding claim 3, Sachtleben in view of Lochrie teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
analyze a plurality of records, including the record, associated with the user account to identify the record associated with the document (If recurring transactions are identified, there are at least two transactions. See Sachtleben at col. 8, ll. 61-67, “The identification of recurring transactions may include categorization, classification, pattern identification, natural language processing, semantic analysis, value comparison, and/or any other suitable types of processing.”).
Regarding claim 4, Sachtleben in view of Lochrie teaches the device of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive an indication of the document (Sachtleben, col. 1, ll. 58-64, “a barcode that encodes at least a portion of the information”),
wherein the plurality of records are analyzed based on the indication of the document (Sachtleben, col. 1, ll. 58-64, “the physical document includes a barcode that encodes at least a portion of the information; analyzing the at least one image includes scanning the barcode in the at least one image to decode the encoded information; the information describes a recurring payment that is made to the payee”).
Regarding claim 5, Sachtleben in view of Lochrie teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive from a user device associated with the user account (Sachtleben, col. 19, ll. 1-10, “the UIs may be provided by an application (e.g., an app) executing on the user device 138.”), an image of the document or a file of the document (Sachtleben, col. 16, ll. 60-67, “In some implementations, the user 140 may identify and upload an image of a bill that is already in a digital format, such as a Portable Document Format (PDF) file of the bill provided by the biller to the user 140.”),
wherein the document is analyzed based on:
receiving the image of the document (Sachtleben, col. 3, ll. 66-67, “using a camera of a smartphone or other portable computing device”) or the file of the document (Sachtleben, col. 16, ll. 60-67, “upload an image of a bill”), or obtaining the document (Sachtleben, col. 17, ll. 46-56, “One or more images of a bill, or other type of physical (e.g., printed, paper) document, may be received (1202).”).
Regarding claim 6, Sachtleben in view of Lochrie teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more characteristics comprise at least one of: segments in image data of the document, or specific text of the document (OCR recognizes image segments of text, e.g., alphanumeric characters. See Sachtleben at col. 17, l. 57 - col. 18, l. 4, “pattern recognition such as OCR, ICR, or some other suitable technique”).
Regarding claim 7, Sachtleben in view of Lochrie teaches the device of claim 1, wherein, to generate the display information, the one or more processors are configured to:
append information associated with at least one characteristic (Lochrie, par. 39, “Once a match is determined, the transaction processing application may link the accessed data and the transaction record to create a single transaction profile that may be used for financial purposes.”), of the one or more characteristics (Sachtleben, col. 19, ll. 39-50, “bill information from the image(s)”), to information associated with the record (ledger or account data).
Claims 8-14 substantially correspond to claims 1-7 by reciting method steps corresponding to the claimed device functions in claims 1-7 (Sachtleben, col. 20, ll. 4-41, “one or more processors 1410”). The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Claims 15-20 substantially correspond to claims 1-6 by reciting a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Sachtleben, col. 20, ll. 4-41, “memory 1420, one or more storage devices 1430”) storing instructions to be executed by the one or more processors (Sachtleben, col. 20, ll. 4-41, “one or more processors 1410”) to implement the claimed device functions in claims 1-6. The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it is analogous art to the claimed inventions and discloses relevant subject matter that a POSITA would consider when looking to improve upon the teachings of Sachtleben and/or Lochrie:
U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 20210056618 to Brown et al. is analogous art to Sachtleben and Lochrie for disclosing identification of recurring transactions when a user is switching financial institutions including use of a GUI that provides display information based on the identified recurring transactions. See Brown et al. at FIG. 2.
U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 20220245641 to Wintle et al. is analogous art to Sachtleben and Lochrie for disclosing training a machine learning (ML) model to predict future recurring transactions using historical transaction data. See Wintle et al. at pars. 32-34.
/RYAN P POTTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672