DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks at pages 9-10, filed 17 July 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments. As necessitated by Applicant’s amendment, the previous ground of rejection based on Sachtleben and Lochrie is withdrawn. A new ground of rejection based on U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 20140012639 to Dintenfass is provided below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“analyzing, by a device and using at least one of an optical character recognition technique or a natural language processing technique, a document, ... matching, by the device, the document with a record included in a ledger ... generating, by the device and based on matching the document with the record, display information associated with the ledger ... and transmitting, by the device, the display information to cause the display information to be displayed by another device” in claims 8-14.
“receiving, from an entity device associated with the record or a user device associated with the user account, an image of the document or a file of the document; or obtaining, from a database of the device, the document” in claim 12. Examiner notes that substantially similar subject matter is recited in claims 5 and 19. However, in those claims the corresponding structure is specified as the “one or more processors” of the device.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 10572727 to Sachtleben et al. (hereinafter “Sachtleben”) in view of U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 20160042469 to Lochrie et al. (hereinafter “Lochrie”) and in further view of U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 20140012639 to Dintenfass (hereinafter “Dintenfass”).
Regarding claim 1, Sachtleben teaches a device (A server that communicates to a user’s mobile device via a browser. See Sachtleben at FIG. 1A, “Account migration device(s) 132)”; col. 19, l. 63 - col. 20, l. 11, “system 1400 may be included, at least in part, in the user device 138, the account migration device(s) 132, the account management device(s) 126A, the account management device(s) 126B, and/or other device(s) described herein.”), comprising:
one or more memories (Sachtleben, col. 20, ll. 4-41, “memory 1420, one or more storage devices 1430”); and
one or more processors (Sachtleben, col. 20, ll. 4-41, “one or more processors 1410”), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
analyze, using at least one of an optical character recognition technique (Sachtleben, col. 17, l. 57 - col. 18, l. 4, “pattern recognition such as OCR, ICR, or some other suitable technique”) or a natural language processing technique (Sachtleben, col. 8, ll. 61-67, “The identification of recurring transactions may include categorization, classification, pattern identification, natural language processing, semantic analysis, value comparison, and/or any other suitable types of processing.”), a document (Sachtleben, col. 19, ll. 35-38, “capture the image of the bill in the frame”; col. 17, ll. 46-56, “the image(s) may have been provided to the user 140, as an electronic bill, from the biller”; col. 4, l. 6, “image(s) of a utility bill may be analyzed”), associated with a user account (The user may upload an image of a recurring bill that has been previously paid from the first account and needs to be updated with respect to the second account the user is migrating to. See Sachtleben at col. 8, ll. 7-26, “first account”. The Snap Bill feature analyzes the image of the bill to extract billing information and set up payments from the new “second account” instead of the old account (“first account”). See id. at col. 19, ll. 27-62. ) and a series of recurring events (Sachtleben, col. 8, ll. 7-26, “analysis may identify recurring charges”), to identify one or more characteristics of the document (Sachtleben, col. 19, ll. 39-50, “The captured image(s) may be analyzed, as described above, to extract the bill information from the image(s). The UI may present the bill information an example UI 1340, as shown in FIG. 13E.”);
match the document (The image of the bill is used to determine and schedule a record (transaction), thereby matching the document to the ledger or account. See Sachtleben at col. 19, ll. 59-62, “As described above, in some implementations, the payment of the bill may be automatically scheduled based on the due date extracted from the image(s) of the bill.”; col. 18, ll. 5-23, “The bill information can also include other information, including but not limited to an amount due and a due date.”; col. 11, ll. 1-16, “In some instances, charges may be scheduled to be performed after a recurring payment (e.g., paycheck deposit) is made into the new account, to reduce the risk of overcharges against the new account.” The document is matched with an account to supplement the existing information in the account. See Sachtleben, col. 17, ll. 24-38, “the account history of the user’s old account.”) associated with a user account (The first (old) account includes a transaction history of credits and debits. See Sachtleben at col. 5, l. 63 - col. 5, l. 19. A “ledger” is characterized by the instant application, in one example, as a transaction history (record log) of vendors, dates, and amounts in FIG. 1C. The BRI of “ledger” is a log (record) or history of transactions (records) for an account over a period of time. Transaction history of the associated account of the debit or credit card is a “ledger”.) based on the one or more characteristics of the document (Sachtleben, col. 1, ll. 30-34, “analyzing document image(s) to identify a transaction made against a first account, such as a bill paid regularly or semi-regularly from the first account”);
generate (e.g., by the account migration device(s) 132 (remotely) and/or user device 138 (locally). See Sachtleben at col. 23, ll. 22-55) display information associated with the ledger (e.g., displaying information related to a recurring transaction that used to be paid from the old account (ledger) and has now been scheduled to be paid from the new ledger), display information associated with the ledger (Once the recurring transaction is identified based on the analysis of the document and the old account history, and migrated to the new account, information pertaining to the transaction is generated and then displayed. See Sachtleben at FIGs. 13A-F, including the payee, due date, and amount owed under “Billers Added”); and
transmit the display information to cause the display information to be displayed (Figures 2A-2E, 3A-3F, 4A-4C, 5A-5F,6A-6F, 7A-7D, 8A-8E, 9A-9D and 13A-13F show examples of graphical user interfaces (GUIs), e.g., as a graphical user interface (GUI) of an app executing on a mobile device used to capture and upload a bill image to a web server he input image of a bill to be scheduled for a specific transaction record in the user’s old account. See Sachtleben at col. 19, ll. 1-10; 6, ll. 38-48, “In some implementations, the request for account migration may be submitted by a user (e.g., customer) using an application executing on a computing device, such as a smartphone, tablet computer, wearable computer, laptop computer, desktop computer, or any other type of computing device. The application may be a web application that executes at least partly in a browser on the user device 138, or that executes in some other container for dynamic and/or static web content. The application may also be a (e.g., native) application that executes outside a browser on the user device 138.”), but does not teach that which is explicitly taught by Lochrie.
Lochrie teaches match the document with a record included in a ledger (Lochrie, pars. 35-36, “The server will process the picture (perform OCR) to derive information regarding the transaction that the receipt contains and will further store a copy of the receipt. ... The transaction processing application may match the transaction record against the accessed data, including any imported data. The matching may be achieved by a learning process, which implements a learning algorithm or calculation. The result of the learning algorithm or calculation may be a single view of the transaction.”; par. 83, “Another view is shown in FIG. 7, wherein two separate transaction records, that are source records, are shown as merged into a single financial transaction. This may occur due to the system functioning to match a record from a bank import and a record from a receipts application.”), and
generate, based on matching the document with the record, display information (Lochrie, par. 13, “a user interface operable by one or more processors of the server computer to interactively display the information derived from the loaded record and the additional records to the user.”, par. 56, “The business module may provide the interface enabling access to users via a dashboard 200 from which a user may select a variety of operations. The business module further provides an interface to the transaction processing application 124, enabling the system and users to perform the transaction functions 202 described herein, whereby transaction records from multiple sources are matched to identify a range of information relating to a financial transaction. The range of information and multiple sources may further provide context to a financial transaction, as described herein. Information regarding one or more financial transactions may be accessed by a user of through the business module.”).
Sachtleben discloses scanning and associating an image of a document, e.g., a bill, with a recurring transaction in a registered user’s account using OCR and natural language processing. Thus, Sachtleben shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to associate related data for the same transaction, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, matching a scanned document to a user’s history of transaction records to provide additional context to the user and/or automate future transactions. Lochrie discloses scanning and matching extracted data from an image of a receipt with data of an associated transaction record in a registered user’s account, and displaying the record data supplemented with the extracted data. Thus, Lochrie shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to match documents of financial transactions or records with a corresponding transaction record in a user’s account or ledger, and displaying or otherwise supplementing the matching information as context to the existing data for the transaction record, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, matching a scanned document to a user’s history of transaction records to provide additional context to the user and/or automate future transactions.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the programmed functionality of the matching processing and GUI-based transaction grouping and consolidation disclosed by Lochrie to the OCR scanning and recurring transaction association processing thereof disclosed by Sachtleben, to thereby match uploaded or scanned documents to specific transaction records of recurring transactions and provide additional transaction-specific context in a consolidated view thereof to a user through a GUI used to access and manage their account. Based on the foregoing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made such modification according to known methods to yield the predictable results to have the benefit of providing useful contextual data to better inform a user of pertinent transaction-specific information, and enable the display of anything extracted from a provided document image alongside matching transaction information.
Sachtleben in view of Lochrie does not teach that which is explicitly taught by Dintenfass.
Dintenfass teaches wherein one or more characteristics include a remaining amount of time existing within the series of recurring events (Dintenfass, pars. 53-54, “At block 110, the method comprises determining a bill due within a predetermined period in the future. At block 120, the method comprises initiating, via a mobile network, notification of the bill, an amount associated with the bill, and a due date associated with the bill. At block 130, the method comprises initiating, via the mobile network, a first option to pay the bill prior to the due date. At block 140, the method comprises in response to determining the first option is selected: deducting, from an account, an amount of funds corresponding to the amount associated with the bill; providing a reward to the account; and transmitting, on the due date, the amount of funds to a merchant associated with the bill. Referring now to FIG. 2, illustrated is a user interface for paying a bill, in accordance with embodiments of the present invention. The bill is at least one of a recurring or non-recurring bill. … The information includes the name 202 of the bill, the amount 204 of the bill, the due date 206 of the bill, and the amount of time 208 between the present date and the due date of the bill. Additionally, the user interface presents an account balance 210 associated with an account from which funds will be used to pay the bill.” The due date is determined from the bill. The number of days remaining is then displayed.), and
appending the remaining amount of time to information associated with the record (The remaining number of days is associated with the account, thereby being appended to the account. See Dintenfass at Figure 2.).
Sachtleben further discloses displaying a payment due date in association with a record (bill) of a ledger (account). See Sachtleben at FIG. 13E. While a payment due date implicitly includes the remaining amount of time until that date is reached based on the current day, the due date is not an explicit value indicating a remaining amount of time to pay the bill relative to the current date. Thus, Sachtleben in view of Lochrie shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine and display the due date of a recurring bill or transaction, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, matching a scanned document to a user’s history of transaction records to provide additional context to the user and/or automate future transactions. Dintenfass discloses a bill pay feature for a mobile device that displays the number of remaining days to pay a recurring bill alongside the due date determined from a bill that is due. Thus, Dintenfass shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a recurring bill date and display the number of remaining days left to pay it alongside the actual due date, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, matching a scanned document to a user’s history of transaction records to provide additional context to the user and/or automate future transactions.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the feature of displaying the number of remaining days of the bill pay feature of Dintenfass with the mobile scanning system and interface of Sachtleben in view of Lochrie to thereby determine and display the remaining days to pay the bill alongside the displayed due date associated with a particular record or transaction and ledger. Based on the foregoing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made such modification according to known methods to yield the predictable results to have the benefit of providing additional useful contextual data to better inform a user of pertinent transaction-specific information such as how many days left they have to pay their bill.
Regarding claim 2, Sachtleben in view of Lochrie and in further view of Dintenfass teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit an account registration (To register the first and/or second account with the system, the user may be prompted to enter their credentials, password, security information, and so forth. See Sachtleben at col. 6, ll. 49-67.), associated with the user account (Sachtleben - The data transmitted to the browser for adding bills and migrating transactions occurs after the user has logged in and registered their account(s) to permit the system to access the account(s), upload new bills, and so forth.), indicating one or more permissions associated with analyzing the document (Sachtleben - If account registration is successful, then the system is permitted to analyze the scanned bill. If not successful, then there is no permission to do so.).
Regarding claim 3, Sachtleben in view of Lochrie and in further view of Dintenfass teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
analyze a plurality of records, including the record, associated with the user account to identify the record associated with the document (If recurring transactions are identified, there are at least two transactions. See Sachtleben at col. 8, ll. 61-67, “The identification of recurring transactions may include categorization, classification, pattern identification, natural language processing, semantic analysis, value comparison, and/or any other suitable types of processing.”).
Regarding claim 4, Sachtleben in view of Lochrie and in further view of Dintenfass teaches the device of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive an indication of the document (Sachtleben, col. 1, ll. 58-64, “a barcode that encodes at least a portion of the information”),
wherein the plurality of records are analyzed based on the indication of the document (Sachtleben, col. 1, ll. 58-64, “the physical document includes a barcode that encodes at least a portion of the information; analyzing the at least one image includes scanning the barcode in the at least one image to decode the encoded information; the information describes a recurring payment that is made to the payee”).
Regarding claim 5, Sachtleben in view of Lochrie and in further view of Dintenfass teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive from a user device associated with the user account (Sachtleben, col. 19, ll. 1-10, “the UIs may be provided by an application (e.g., an app) executing on the user device 138.”), an image of the document or a file of the document (Sachtleben, col. 16, ll. 60-67, “In some implementations, the user 140 may identify and upload an image of a bill that is already in a digital format, such as a Portable Document Format (PDF) file of the bill provided by the biller to the user 140.”),
wherein the document is analyzed based on:
receiving the image of the document (Sachtleben, col. 3, ll. 66-67, “using a camera of a smartphone or other portable computing device”) or the file of the document (Sachtleben, col. 16, ll. 60-67, “upload an image of a bill”), or obtaining the document (Sachtleben, col. 17, ll. 46-56, “One or more images of a bill, or other type of physical (e.g., printed, paper) document, may be received (1202).”).
Regarding claim 6, Sachtleben in view of Lochrie and in further view of Dintenfass teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more characteristics comprise at least one of: segments in image data of the document, or specific text of the document (OCR recognizes image segments of text, e.g., alphanumeric characters. See Sachtleben at col. 17, l. 57 - col. 18, l. 4, “pattern recognition such as OCR, ICR, or some other suitable technique”).
Regarding claim 7, Sachtleben in view of Lochrie and in further view of Dintenfass teaches the device of claim 1, wherein, to generate the display information, the one or more processors are configured to:
further append information associated with at least one additional characteristic (Lochrie, par. 39, “Once a match is determined, the transaction processing application may link the accessed data and the transaction record to create a single transaction profile that may be used for financial purposes.”), of the one or more characteristics (The “additional characteristic” is the next due date of the recurring transaction. See Sachtleben at FIG. 13E. The due date is different than the remaining amount of time.), to information associated with the record (ledger or account data).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Claims 8-14 substantially correspond to claims 1-7 by reciting method steps corresponding to the claimed device functions in claims 1-7 (Sachtleben, col. 20, ll. 4-41, “one or more processors 1410”). Claim 14 additionally recites “and different from the remaining amount of time” as compared to claim 7 which does not include that language. However, the claims are rejected for the same reasons.
The rationale for obviousness of claims 8-14 is the same as provided for claim 1.
Claims 15-20 substantially correspond to claims 1-6 by reciting a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Sachtleben, col. 20, ll. 4-41, “memory 1420, one or more storage devices 1430”) storing instructions to be executed by the one or more processors (Sachtleben, col. 20, ll. 4-41, “one or more processors 1410”) to implement the claimed device functions in claims 1-6.
The rationale for obviousness of claims 15-20 is the same as provided for claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN P POTTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672