DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: to be consistent with claim 8 and to clarify what the “adding” includes, the term “together” should be added at the end of claim 17 as in, “The method of claim 10, wherein using the additive function comprises adding class-wise contribution functions for the plurality of patches together.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a patch generator, executed by the at least one processor, configured to generate a bag comprising a plurality of patches from an input image, each patch comprising a distinct portion of the input image” in claims 1-9.
“a featurizer, executed by the at least one processor, comprising a neural network model configured to generate a plurality of patch embeddings using at least a portion of the bag” in claims 1-9.
“an attention module, executed by the at least one processor, configured to: determine an attention score for at least some of the plurality of patch embeddings; and generate a plurality of attention weighted patch embeddings by scaling the plurality of patch embeddings using the attention scores” in claim 1-9.
“an additive predictor, executed by the at least one processor, configured to: aggregate the plurality of attention weighted patch embeddings to generate a plurality of patch-wise class contributions, wherein each patch-wise class contribution represents a contribution of a corresponding class; and compute a plurality of predictions from the patch-wise class contributions using an additive function” in claims 1-9.
“generating, using a patch generator, a bag comprising a plurality of patches from an input image, each patch comprising a distinct portion of the input image” in claims 10-18.
“generating, using a featurizer comprising a neural network model, a plurality of patch embeddings using at least a portion of the bag” in claims 10-18.
“determining, using an attention module, an attention score for at least some of the plurality of patch embeddings, generating, using the attention module, a plurality of attention weighted patch embeddings by scaling the plurality of patch embeddings using the attention scores” in claims 10-18.
“aggregating, using an additive predictor, the plurality of attention weighted patch embeddings to generate a plurality of patch-wise class contributions, wherein each patch-wise class contribution represents a contribution of a corresponding class; and computing, using the additive predictor, a plurality of predictions from the patch-wise class contributions using an additive function” in claims 10-18.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 13 recite “determining the sign of the at least one of the plurality of patch-wise class contributions”. A “sign” can be positive, negative, zero, or some other indication, but the claims do not provide sufficient context for a clear antecedent basis of “the sign”. Therefore, claims 4 and 13 are indefinite because the sign” lacks antecedent basis. For purposes of applying prior art, “the sign” is interpreted as “a sign”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-12, 14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Attention-based Deep Multiple Instance Learning to Ilse et al. (hereinafter “Ilse” - copy already of record) in view of Data-efficient and weakly supervised computational pathology on whole-slide images to Lu et al. (hereinafter “Lu”).
Regarding claim 1, Ilse teaches a system for additive multiple instance learning (MIL), comprising (Ilse, section 1, “In this paper, we propose a new method that aims at incorporating interpretability to the MIL approach and increasing its flexibility.”):
at least one processor operatively connected to a memory (Ilse discloses neural-network based multiple instance learning, which implicitly teaches a generic computer including a processor and a memory because the disclosed testing results could not otherwise have been obtained without a computer. See Ilse at section 1);
a patch generator (patch generation software), executed by the at least one processor (see above), configured to generate a bag (Ilse, section 2.1, “the bag of instances X”) comprising a plurality of patches from an input image (Ilse, section 2.1, “x1,...,xk”), each patch comprising a distinct portion of the input image (Ilse, section 4.3, “In Figure 5 we show a histopathology image divided into patches containing (mostly) single cells.”);
a featurizer (feature embedding software), executed by the at least one processor (see above), comprising a neural network model (Ilse, section 2.4, “We propose to use a weighted average of instances (low-dimensional embeddings) where weights are determined by a neural network.” ) configured to generate a plurality of patch embeddings using at least a portion of the bag (Ilse, section 2.4, “Let H = {h1,...,hk} be a bag of K embeddings”);
an attention module (attention-based MIL pooling software), executed by the at least one processor (see above), configured to:
determine an attention score (attention weights ak. See Ilse at section 2.4, equations (7)-(9)) for at least some of the plurality of patch embeddings (ak is calculated, in part, using hk. See Ilse at section 2.4); and
generate a plurality of attention weighted patch embeddings by scaling the plurality of patch embeddings using the attention scores (Each embedding hk is multiplied/scaled by its corresponding attention coefficient ak. See Ilse at section 2.4, equation (7)), but does not teach that which is explicitly taught by Lu.
Lu teaches an additive predictor, executed by the at least one processor (Lu, pg. 17, “Intel Xeon CPUs”. The models were trained using “NVIDIA 2080 Ti GPUs”. See Id.), configured to:
aggregate the plurality of attention weighted patch embeddings (Lu, pg. 14, equation (2), “hk”) to generate a plurality of patch-wise class contributions, wherein each patch-wise class contribution represents a contribution of a corresponding class (Lu, pg. 3, “during both training and inference, the model examines and ranks all patches in the tissue regions of a WSI, assigning an attention score to each patch, which informs its contribution or importance to the collective slide-level representation for a specific class”); and
compute a plurality of predictions from the patch-wise class contributions (Lu, pg. 4, “A CLAM model has N parallel attention branches that together calculate N unique slide-level representations, where each representation is determined from a different set of highly attended regions in the image viewed by the network as strong positive evidence for the one of N classes in a multi-class diagnostic task (Fig. 1b,c). Each class-specific slide representation is then examined by a classification layer to obtain the final probability score predictions for the whole slide.”) using an additive function (As shown in Fig. 1(b), Lu uses a softmax function to combine the N class branches prediction scores. The denominator of the softmax function is a linear summation (addition) operation over the exponentiated class scores of the N branches. Thus, the softmax function includes a plurality of predictions.).
Ilse discloses attention-based pooling for multiple-instance learning. Thus, Ilse shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a learnable attention mechanism to automatically determine which instances (patches) in a bag are the most important to the bag-level prediction, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, improving accuracy of whole-slide MIL models to produce accurate classifications and interpretable heatmaps. Lu discloses attention-based MIL that computes class-specific attention branches that are combined to produce the bag-level prediction. Thus, Lu shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to calculate attention for each class and additively combine contributions from each class, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, improving accuracy of whole-slide MIL models to produce accurate classifications and interpretable heatmaps.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Ilse’s attention mechanism by computing one attention branch per class and then additively combining them as disclosed by Lu, to thereby generate an attention distribution for each class over the same patches. Based on the foregoing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made such modification according to known methods to yield the predictable results to have the benefit of accurately localizing and interpreting pathology features for each class.
Regarding claim 2, Ilse in view of Lu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the neural network model is trained with weakly annotated data (Ilse, section 4.3, “BREAST CANCER consists of 58 weakly labeled 896 × 768 H&E images. An image is labeled malignant if it contains breast cancer cells, otherwise it is benign. We divide every image into 32 × 32 patches. This results in 672 patches per bag. A patch is discarded if it contains 75% or more of white pixels.”).
Regarding claim 3, Ilse in view of Lu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the additive predictor is further configured to distinguish between excitatory and inhibitory patch contributions using at least one of the plurality of patch-wise class contributions (Lu, pg. 21, “high attention displayed in red (positive evidence, high contribution to the prediction of the model relative to other patches) and low attention displayed in blue (low contribution to prediction of the model relative to other patches).” Red in the heatmaps indicates an excitatory patch and blue indicates an inhibitory patch.).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Ilse in view of Lu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein computing the plurality of predictions comprises computing a first prediction for a first class and a second prediction for a second class (Each attention branch computes a class-specific prediction score and the collection of scores is fed to a softmax function. See Lu at Fig. 1(c). Each branch score is an indication of the amount of evidence for a specific class. Thus, for classes 1 and 2, first and second scores are predictions for the first and second classes respectively.).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Ilse in view of Lu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein using the additive function comprises adding class-wise contribution functions for the plurality of patches together (As shown in Fig. 1(b), Lu uses a softmax function to combine the N class branches prediction scores. The denominator of the softmax function is a linear summation (addition) operation over the exponentiated class scores of the N branches. Thus, the softmax function includes a plurality of predictions. Each prediction is made by an independent classifier. See Lu at pg. 13. Each classifier is a contribution function because it outputs an indication of how strongly the model thinks the slide belongs to a given class.).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Ilse in view of Lu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of patch-wise class contributions are linear (As shown in Fig. 1(b), Lu uses a softmax function to combine the N class branches prediction scores. The denominator of the softmax function is a linear summation (addition) operation over the exponentiated class scores of the N branches.).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Claims 10-12, 14, 17 and 18 substantially correspond to claims 1-3, 5, 8 and 9 by reciting methods corresponding to the functions of the claimed systems. The rationale for obviousness of each corresponding claim is the same.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6, 7, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Additive MIL: Intrinsically Interpretable Multiple Instance Learning for Pathology (published 28 November 2022, hereinafter “Javed”) is pertinent because its authorship is identical to the inventorship of the instant application and it discloses a more comprehensive version of the instant specification. Javed does not qualify as prior art per 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) because it was published within the grace period and does not recite any additional authors or leave out any of the inventors. However, Javed is still pertinent because it provides a more detailed explanation of the concepts disclosed herein and provides relevant citations that highlight influential prior art.
TransMIL: Transformer based Correlated Multiple Instance Learning for Whole Slide Image Classification to Shao et al. is pertinent because it is one of the iterations of attention-based MIL methods that followed Ilse’s attention-based MIL model but preceded applicant’s additive MIL model (Additive MIL).
/RYAN P POTTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672