DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the response filed on April 24, 2026.
Claims 1-5 were amended.
Claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made Non-Final.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant argued that Examiner’s 101 rejection was improper because the independent claim recites subject matter that is not directed to an abstract idea. Examiner disagrees. Applicant’s claimed invention is directed towards assessing the risk covered by an insurance policy. Insurance is considered a fundamental economic principle or practice that falls under the grouping of abstract ideas described as “certain methods of organizing human activity”. Applicant’s claimed invention is directed towards the abstract idea of insurance because it recited steps to provide insurance, which is more than merely reciting a claimed invention that “involves” an abstract idea. The additional limitations did not transform the abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter because the additional limitations merely cited generic computer components used as tools to implement the abstract idea. For these reasons, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive.
Applicant argued that Examiner’s 101 rejection was improper because the previous Office Action does not distinguish claims that recite a judicial exception from claims that merely involve a judicial exception. Examiner disagrees. The claimed invention explicitly recited a judicial exception in the form of insurance. Examiner highlighted this distinction by identifying the specific limitations that recite the judicial exception. Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive.
Applicant argued that Examiner’s 101 rejection was improper because amended independent claim 1 recited more than just additional elements of a computing device and one or more localization devices within the vehicle that amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Examiner disagrees. All of the additional limitations in Applicant’s claimed invention were generic computer components that only served the purpose of implementing the abstract idea. Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive.
Applicant argued that Examiner’s 101 rejection was improper because the claimed invention integrated the abstract idea into a practical application. Examiner disagrees. Applicant’s claimed invention does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional limitations merely served as tool to implement the abstract idea. When viewed individually and as a whole, the limitations did not provide a technological improvement or provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive.
Applicant argued that Examiner’s 101 rejection was improper because Examiner has not taken into account all the claim limitations and how these limitations interact and impact each other under Step 2A Prong Two. Examiner disagrees. Examiner has considered all of the claims and all of the limitations within each claim both individually and as a whole. During the examination, Examiner found an abstract idea recited in the claims without additional limitations to transform the abstract idea into patentable subject matter. Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive.
Applicant argued that Examiner’s 101 rejection was improper because the claims recite significantly more than the alleged abstract idea when viewed as an ordered combination and as a whole. Examiner disagrees. The claims do not recite significantly more than the abstract idea when viewed as an ordered combination because Applicant has not argued or demonstrated that an inventive concept exists within the ordered combination. The claims do not recite significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional limitations, when considered individually and as a whole with the abstract idea, merely serve to implement the abstract idea and do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive.
Applicant argued that Examiner’s 101 rejection was improper because the claimed invention, when viewed as a whole, does not constitute well-understood, routine, or conventional activity in the field. Examiner disagrees. It is not required for Examiner to show that the claimed invention, when viewed as a whole, constituted well-understood, routine, or conventional activity. Furthermore, Examiner’s 101 rejection does not rely on a finding that the claimed invention, when viewed as a whole, constituted well-understood, routine, or conventional activity. Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive.
Applicant argued that the prior art did not teach or suggest retrieving localization data from one or more localization devices within the vehicle, the localization data including information relating to a location of a plurality of passengers; identifying the location of the plurality of passengers within the vehicle based on the localization data that is transmitted from one or more mobile devices, via querying a GPS unit by a mobile application of the one or more mobile devices, associated with the plurality of passengers; and in response to identifying the location that includes a current geographic location of the one or more mobile devices associated with the plurality of passengers, automatically updating coverage or automatically applying changes to the coverage. Examiner disagrees. The combination of Collopy (US 2010/0131303) in view of Kim (KR100776658) in view of Breed (US 2008/0086240) in view of Billman (US 10,657,597) teaches or suggests retrieving localization data from one or more localization devices within the vehicle (Breed), the localization data including information relating to a location of a plurality of passengers (Billman); identifying the location of the plurality of passengers within the vehicle based on the localization data that is transmitted from one or more mobile devices (Billman), via querying a GPS unit by a mobile application of the one or more mobile devices, associated with the plurality of passengers (Billman); and in response to identifying the location that includes a current geographic location of the one or more mobile devices associated with the plurality of passengers, automatically updating coverage or automatically applying changes to the coverage (Collopy). Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-10 are directed to a system, method, or product, which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The Examiner has identified independent system method 1 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis. Claim 1 recites the following limitations:
a method comprising: automatically initiating retrieval [by a computing device] of telematics data from a vehicle associated with an insurance user;
processing the telematics data to identify a vehicle incident indicative of a vehicle collision event;
in response to identifying the vehicle incident, generating an alert for an insurance agent to contact the insurance user;
retrieving localization data [from one or more localization devices within the vehicle], the localization data including information relating to a location of a plurality of passengers;
identifying the location of the plurality of passengers within the vehicle based on the localization data [that is transmitted from one or more mobile devices, via querying a GPS unit by a mobile application of the one or more mobile devices], associated with the plurality of passengers; and
in response to identifying the location that includes a current geographic location of the one or more mobile devices associated with the plurality of passengers, automatically updating coverage or automatically applying changes to the coverage.
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as a certain method of organizing human activity because the limitations recite fundamental economic practices, including hedging, insurance, and mitigating risk. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic practice, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. The computing device, one or more mobile devices, GPS unit, mobile application, and one or more localization devices within the vehicle recited in Claim 1 are just applying generic computer components to the recited abstract limitations. The recitation of generic computer components in a claim does not necessarily preclude that claim from reciting an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of a computing device, one or more mobile devices, a GPS unit, a mobile application, and one or more localization devices within the vehicle. The computer hardware/software is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements do not change the outcome of the analysis when considered separately and as an ordered combination. Thus, claim 1 is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Dependent claim 2 recited one or more mobile devices associated with the one or more passengers within the vehicle. The additional element of the one or more mobile devices associated with the one or more passengers within the vehicle is just the application of generic computer components to the recited abstract limitations, which does not result in the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The remaining dependent claims 3-10 only serve to further describe the abstract idea present in independent claim 1 and thus correspond to mental processes and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. Dependent claims 3-10 do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, dependent claims 2-10 are directed towards an abstract idea. Thus, claims 1-10 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collopy (US 2010/0131303) in view of Kim (KR100776658) in view of Breed (US 2008/0086240) in view of Billman (US 10,657,597).
Regarding claim(s) 1:
Collopy teaches:
A method comprising: automatically initiating retrieval by a computing device of telematics data from a vehicle associated with an insurance user; (Callopy: pgh 8, “The subject innovation customizes insurance rates in real time to correspond to unique behavior/character traits of a user/driver by exploiting contextual data (e.g., from third party data banks, driving behavior, and the like), which are related to such user/driver…The contextual data and/or data banks can include data pertaining to the motor vehicle (e.g., maintenance history, current vehicle conditions, sensor monitoring operation of the motor vehicle, and the like)…Moreover, the real-time contextual driving data can include both an intensity portion and a frequency portion, which represent severity and regularity of driving episodes (e.g., slamming the brakes, gradual/sudden deceleration, velocity variances, and number of such acts in a predetermined period).”)
in response to identifying the location that includes a current geographic location of the one or more mobile devices associated with the plurality of passengers, automatically updating coverage or automatically applying changes to the coverage. (Collopy: pgh 8, “The subject innovation customizes insurance rates in real time to correspond to unique behavior/character traits of a user/driver by exploiting contextual data…”)
Collopy does not teach, however, Kim teaches:
processing the telematics data to identify a vehicle incident indicative of a vehicle collision event; (Kim: pgh 13 pg 4, “In the conventional automatic accident notification system configured as described above, when the airbag operation control unit operates, it recognizes it as an accident or a collision…”)
in response to identifying the vehicle incident, generating an alert for an insurance agent to contact the insurance user; (Kim: pgh 13 pg 4, “…it recognizes it as an accident or a collision, and obtains the information such as the state and position of the present vehicle recognized through the positional information generating unit and automatically notifies wirelessly to a specific place (for example, an insurance company, an emergency rescue center, etc.) by the wireless transmission unit.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Collopy to include the teachings of Kim because there is a need for the rapid notification of a car accident (Kim: pgh 10). Collopy/Kim does not teach the remaining limitations. However, Breed teaches:
retrieving localization data from one or more localization devices within the vehicle, [the localization data including information relating to a location of a plurality of passengers]; identifying the location of the plurality of passengers within the vehicle based on the localization data [that is transmitted from one or more mobile devices, via querying a GPS unit by a mobile application of the one or more mobile devices, associated with the plurality of passengers; and] (Breed: pgh 891, “An occupant monitoring system (e.g. ultrasonic, optical, electric field, etc.) may perform differently depending on whether the seat is made from cloth or leather or a weight sensor may depend on the properties of a particular seat…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Collopy/Kim to include the teachings of Breed because there is a need to increase vehicle connectivity to computer networks for optimized operation of the vehicle (Breed: pgh 18). Collopy/Kim/Breed does not teach the remaining limitations. However, Billman teaches:
…[the localization data including information relating to a location of a plurality of passengers] (Billman: col 13, lines 30-40, “Thus, in various embodiments, the vehicle operator data comprises at least one of…a number of occupants in the vehicle. In some embodiments, the number of occupants in the vehicle is taken into consideration when determining the insurance.”)
…[that is transmitted from one or more mobile devices, via querying a GPS unit by a mobile application of the one or more mobile devices, associated with the plurality of passengers; and] (Billman: col 9, lines 60-65, “In other examples, the driver is queried by way of a personal communication device, such as a personal digital assistant (PDA), cellular phone, smart phone, portable computer, or other communication device.”; col 13, lines 25-30, “Vehicle telemetry data includes data that provides information of vehicle use…Such may include…GPS tracking.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Collopy/Kim/Breed to include the teachings of Billman to address “premiums that do not match the risk, resulting in lost profits for an insurance company or overpayment by an insured party” (Billman: col 1, lines 35-45)
Regarding claim(s) 2:
The combination of Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Breed further teaches:
wherein the one or more localization devices communicate with the one or more mobile devices associated with the plurality of passengers within the vehicle to collect the localization data. (Breed: pgh 989, “…software in both the vehicle-residence computer and one or more computers at a fixed or mobile location which communicates with the vehicle-resident computer can be synchronized so that both or all contain the same data…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Collopy/Kim/Billman to include the teachings of Breed because there is a need to increase vehicle connectivity to computer networks for optimized operation of the vehicle (Breed: pgh 18).
Regarding claim(s) 3:
The combination of Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 2. Breed further teaches:
wherein identifying the location of the plurality of passengers within the vehicle based on the localization data comprises determining: a transmission time of one or more received signals from the one or more mobile devices with the one or more localization devices; and (Breed: pgh 318, “For example, for the case of the SAW technology, each sensor can be provided with a different delay or a different code.”)
correlating the transmission time to a distance of the one or more mobile devices from the one or more localization devices. (Breed: pgh 1174, “An electronic circuit in control module 577 contains a microprocessor which determines the distance from the head of the occupant based on the time between the transmission and reception of an ultrasonic pulse.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Collopy/Kim/Billman to include the teachings of Breed because there is a need to increase vehicle connectivity to computer networks for optimized operation of the vehicle (Breed: pgh 18).
Regarding claim(s) 4:
The combination of Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Breed further teaches:
wherein retrieving the localization data from the one or more localization devices within the vehicle comprises communicating directly with the one or more localization devices. (Breed: pgh 989, “Additional aspects of the network being used as a computer involving a vehicle-resident computer and devices, or the ‘network is the computer’ feature, is that software in both the vehicle-residence computer and one or more computers at a fixed or mobile location which communicates with the vehicle-resident computer can be synchronized…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Collopy/Kim/Billman to include the teachings of Breed because there is a need to increase vehicle connectivity to computer networks for optimized operation of the vehicle (Breed: pgh 18).
Regarding claim(s) 5:
The combination of Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Breed further teaches:
wherein retrieving the localization data from the one or more localization devices within the vehicle comprises communicating directly with the one or more mobile devices. (Breed: pgh 989, “Networking the vehicle-resident computer and one or more fixed or mobile computers also allows computations to be performed at one of these computers, or the network, and shared with the other computer(s). Mobile computers may include cellphones and PDAs as well as any other mobile device or terminal which can be networked to another computer.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Collopy/Kim/Billman to include the teachings of Breed because there is a need to increase vehicle connectivity to computer networks for optimized operation of the vehicle (Breed: pgh 18).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman in view of Kokal (US 9,547,797).
Regarding claim(s) 6:
The combination of Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kokal further teaches:
wherein the one or more localization devices comprises at least three localization devices. (Kokal: col 7, lines 35-40, “Multiple sensors may be employed, and each sensor may be responsible for monitoring a particular region of the vehicle interior.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman to include the teachings of Kokal because there is a need for tracking the number and position of occupants within a vehicle (Kokal: col 1, lines 35-40).
Regarding claim(s) 7:
The combination of Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman/Kokal, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 6. Kokal further teaches:
wherein at least two localization devices are positioned at opposite sides of a front windshield of a vehicle. (Kokal: col 5, lines 50-66, “The combination of sensor, control unit and communications unit may be positioned on the front dashboard or windshield of the vehicle, or anywhere else within the vehicle…In an embodiment with multiple sensors, it may be desirable to have the sensors positioned at different locations within the vehicle. For example, one sensor may be included with the primary sensing unit mounted on the front windshield…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman to include the teachings of Kokal because there is a need for tracking the number and position of occupants within a vehicle (Kokal: col 1, lines 35-40).
Regarding claim(s) 8:
The combination of Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman/Kokal, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7. Kokal further teaches:
wherein at least one localization device is positioned along a midline of a rear windshield. (Kokal: col 6, lines 1-5: “…while a second sensor is positioned toward a rear portion of the vehicle…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman to include the teachings of Kokal because there is a need for tracking the number and position of occupants within a vehicle (Kokal: col 1, lines 35-40).
Regarding claim(s) 9:
The combination of Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman/Kokal, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 6. Kokal further teaches:
wherein at least one localization device is positioned along a midline of a rear windshield. (Kokal: col 6, lines 1-5: “…while a second sensor is positioned toward a rear portion of the vehicle…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman to include the teachings of Kokal because there is a need for tracking the number and position of occupants within a vehicle (Kokal: col 1, lines 35-40).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman in view of Jackson (US 2014/0025404)
Regarding claim(s) 10:
The combination of Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Jackson further teaches:
in response to identifying the vehicle incident, automatically generating an electronic insurance claim form and pre-populating the insurance claim form with information of the insurance user. (Jackson: pgh 25, “In cases prompted by membership and agreements with the sponsors/owners of an advanced automatic collision notification system, notification containing accident details may pre-populate an initial segment of the consumer claim solution software when facilitated through the data network interface.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Collopy/Kim/Breed/Billman to include the teachings of Jackson because it is beneficial to make pre-populated insurance claims available to insurance policyholders (Jackson: pgh 2).
Conclusion
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure. Jhoney (US 11,188,984) discloses the automation and validation of insurance claims.
/JOHN O PRESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3693
June 12, 2026
/Mike Anderson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3693