DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-12, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2021/0044454 hereinafter referred to as Xu) in view of Bestermann et al. (US# 2022/0038432 hereinafter referred to as Bestermann) and Yu (US# 2025/0254522).
RE Claim 1, Xu discloses a method comprising:
establishing a wireless connection between an access point and a client device (See Xu FIG 4A; [0005], [0016], [0042], [0082] – establishing wireless connection between terminal and access network device), where the access point is configured to service a first region from a plurality of regions (See Xu FIG 1, 4A; [0005], [0016], [0042], [0082] – access network device services first region (i.e. first and second terminal devices) but doesn’t service the home/enterprise network directly (i.e. DN network));
identifying, by the access point, that the client device is a member of a first personal area network (PAN) associated with a second region from the plurality of regions (See Xu FIG 1, 4A; [0005], [0016], [0042], [0082] – access network device identifies that the terminal device is a member of the remote home/enterprise network (i.e. in response to terminal device requesting access to remote home/enterprise network));
establishing, by the access point and in response to the identifying, a network tunnel between the access point and a gateway device (See Xu FIG 1, 4A; [0005], [0016], [0042], [0082], [0198] – establishing a tunnel that connects the terminal to the DN via the access network device and UPF (i.e. gateway device) (FIG 4A, [0198])); and
communicating first PAN traffic for the client device via the network tunnel that was established (See Xu FIG 1, 4A; [0005], [0012], [0016], [0042], [0082], [0198] – communicating specific user group (i.e. VLAN) traffic for the terminal device via the established network tunnel to/from the DN network).
Xu does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of regions are physical portions of a multiple dwelling unit (MDU) network, wherein each region of the plurality of regions has dedicated computer networking devices assigned to service that region, and wherein each personal area network (PAN) of a plurality of PANs is assigned to one of the plurality of regions; or
wherein the access point is configured to identify that the client device is a member of the first PAN based on a message received from an authentication and authorization server, and
wherein the message that is received from the authentication and authorization server and identifies that the client device is a member of the first PAN further comprises an access acceptance message indicating that the client device is authorized to access a network via the access point.
However, Bestermann teaches of wherein the plurality of regions are physical portions of a multiple dwelling unit (MDU) network (See Bestermann FIGs 1-3; Abstract, Background; [0015]-[0016] – plurality of regions being physical portions of a MDU network), wherein each region of the plurality of regions has dedicated computer networking devices assigned to service that region (See Bestermann FIGs 1-3; [0017]-[0018] – each region has dedicated networking devices servicing region (i.e. access point)), and wherein each personal area network (PAN) of a plurality of PANs is assigned to one of the plurality of regions (See Bestermann FIGs 1-3; [0017]-[0021] – each region corresponding to a personal network (PN)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless connection system, as disclosed in Xu, wherein the plurality of regions are physical portions of a multiple dwelling unit (MDU) network, wherein each region of the plurality of regions has dedicated computer networking devices assigned to service that region, and wherein each personal area network (PAN) of a plurality of PANs is assigned to one of the plurality of regions, as taught in Bestermann. One is motivated as such in order to provide connectivity while maintaining security (See Bestermann Background; [0017]-[0021]).
Xu, modified by Bestermann, does not specifically disclose
wherein the access point is configured to identify that the client device is a member of the first PAN based on a message received from an authentication and authorization server, and
wherein the message that is received from the authentication and authorization server and identifies that the client device is a member of the first PAN further comprises an access acceptance message indicating that the client device is authorized to access a network via the access point.
However, Yu teaches of
wherein the access point is configured to identify that the client device is a member of the first PAN based on a message received from an authentication and authorization server (See Yu FIGs 2, 4; [0022], [0034] - a second network device of a core network obtains, in response to a registration request that is received from a first network device and that is used to register a terminal device connected to a non-3GPP-technology-based access point with the core network, an identifier or a MAC address of the terminal device and an identifier of the non-3GPP access point from the registration request), and
wherein the message that is received from the authentication and authorization server and identifies that the client device is a member of the first PAN further comprises an access acceptance message indicating that the client device is authorized to access a network via the access point (See Yu FIGs 2, 4; [0022], [0034] - if the second network device determines, based on the registration request, that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds, the second network device obtains the subscription data of the terminal device from a user data management function; and the second network device generates a user context of the terminal device, where the context includes the identifier or the MAC address of the terminal device, the identifier of the non-3GPP access point, and the subscription data of the terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless connection system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Bestermann, wherein the access point is configured to identify that the client device is a member of the first PAN based on a message received from an authentication and authorization server, and
wherein the message that is received from the authentication and authorization server and identifies that the client device is a member of the first PAN further comprises an access acceptance message indicating that the client device is authorized to access a network via the access point, as taught in Yu. One is motivated as such in order to provide service and improve network connectivity for mobile devices (See Yu Background; Summary).
RE Claim 4, Xu, modified by Bestermann and Yu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the message includes an identifier, and wherein the access point is configured to associate the first PAN traffic with the identifier (See Xu [0016], [0042] - after the first session management function entity receives the virtual network identifier from the virtual local area network management function entity, the first session management function entity sends the virtual network identifier to the terminal device or an access network device for access of the terminal device, to notify the terminal device or the access network device to create, for the user group, the virtual local area network whose identifier is the virtual local area network identifier).
RE Claim 5, Xu, modified by Bestermann and Yu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 4 above, wherein the access point is configured to encapsulate the first PAN traffic in a data unit that comprises the identifier (See Xu [0082] - determining, by the network device after a session of the terminal device is established, that a port of the session is a virtual port of the virtual local area network; adding, by the network device, the virtual local area network identifier to a first Ethernet broadcast frame when determining that the first Ethernet broadcast frame needs to be sent using the session, to obtain a second Ethernet broadcast frame including the virtual local area network identifier; and sending, by the terminal device, the second Ethernet broadcast frame using the virtual port).
RE Claim 6, Xu, modified by Bestermann and Yu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 4 above, wherein the identifier is a virtual network identifier (VNI) (See Xu [0082] - determining, by the network device after a session of the terminal device is established, that a port of the session is a virtual port of the virtual local area network; adding, by the network device, the virtual local area network identifier to a first Ethernet broadcast frame when determining that the first Ethernet broadcast frame needs to be sent using the session, to obtain a second Ethernet broadcast frame including the virtual local area network identifier; and sending, by the terminal device, the second Ethernet broadcast frame using the virtual port).
RE Claim 7, Xu discloses a method comprising:
associating a first client device with a first personal area network (PAN) (See Xu FIG 4A; [0005], [0016], [0042], [0082] – establishing wireless connection between terminal and access network device), wherein the first PAN is assigned to a first region from a plurality of regions (See Xu FIG 1, 4A; [0005], [0016], [0042], [0082] – access network device services first region (i.e. first and second terminal devices) but doesn’t service the home/enterprise network directly (i.e. DN network));
detecting that the first client device is in communication with a computer networking device that services a second region from the plurality of regions (See Xu FIG 1, 4A; [0005], [0016], [0042], [0082] – access network device identifies that the terminal device is a member of the remote home/enterprise network (i.e. in response to terminal device requesting access to remote home/enterprise network));
establishing a tunnel between the computer networking device that services the second region and a network edge device (See Xu FIG 1, 4A; [0005], [0016], [0042], [0082], [0198] – establishing a tunnel that connects the terminal to the DN via the access network device and UPF (i.e. gateway device) (FIG 4A, [0198])); and
transmitting, via the established tunnel, first PAN network traffic received at the network edge device and directed to the first client device (See Xu FIG 1, 4A; [0005], [0012], [0016], [0042], [0082], [0198] – communicating specific user group (i.e. VLAN) traffic for the terminal device via the established network tunnel to/from the DN network).
Xu does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of regions are physical portions of a multiple dwelling unit (MDU) network, wherein each region of the plurality of regions has dedicated computer networking devices assigned to service that region, and wherein each personal area network (PAN) of a plurality of PANs is assigned to one of the plurality of regions; or
wherein the computer networking device is configured to establish the tunnel with the network edge device based on a message received from an authentication and authorization server, and
wherein the message that is received from the authentication and authorization server and establishes the tunnel with the network edge device further comprises an access acceptance message indicating that the first client device is authorized to access a network via the computer networking device.
However, Bestermann teaches of wherein the plurality of regions are physical portions of a multiple dwelling unit (MDU) network (See Bestermann FIGs 1-3; Abstract, Background; [0015]-[0016] – plurality of regions being physical portions of a MDU network), wherein each region of the plurality of regions has dedicated computer networking devices assigned to service that region (See Bestermann FIGs 1-3; [0017]-[0018] – each region has dedicated networking devices servicing region (i.e. access point)), and wherein each personal area network (PAN) of a plurality of PANs is assigned to one of the plurality of regions (See Bestermann FIGs 1-3; [0017]-[0021] – each region corresponding to a personal network (PN)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless connection system, as disclosed in Xu, wherein the plurality of regions are physical portions of a multiple dwelling unit (MDU) network, wherein each region of the plurality of regions has dedicated computer networking devices assigned to service that region, and wherein each personal area network (PAN) of a plurality of PANs is assigned to one of the plurality of regions, as taught in Bestermann. One is motivated as such in order to provide connectivity while maintaining security (See Bestermann Background; [0017]-[0021]).
Xu, modified by Bestermann, does not specifically disclose
wherein the computer networking device is configured to establish the tunnel with the network edge device based on a message received from an authentication and authorization server, and
wherein the message that is received from the authentication and authorization server and establishes the tunnel with the network edge device further comprises an access acceptance message indicating that the first client device is authorized to access a network via the computer networking device.
However, Yu teaches of
wherein the computer networking device is configured to establish the tunnel with the network edge device based on a message received from an authentication and authorization server (See Yu FIGs 2, 4; [0022], [0034] - a second network device of a core network obtains, in response to a registration request that is received from a first network device and that is used to register a terminal device connected to a non-3GPP-technology-based access point with the core network, an identifier or a MAC address of the terminal device and an identifier of the non-3GPP access point from the registration request; establishing tunnel between access devices), and
wherein the message that is received from the authentication and authorization server and establishes the tunnel with the network edge device further comprises an access acceptance message indicating that the first client device is authorized to access a network via the computer networking device (See Yu FIGs 2, 4; [0022], [0034] - if the second network device determines, based on the registration request, that the authentication on the terminal device succeeds, the second network device obtains the subscription data of the terminal device from a user data management function; and the second network device generates a user context of the terminal device, where the context includes the identifier or the MAC address of the terminal device, the identifier of the non-3GPP access point, and the subscription data of the terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless connection system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Bestermann, wherein the computer networking device is configured to establish the tunnel with the network edge device based on a message received from an authentication and authorization server, and
wherein the message that is received from the authentication and authorization server and establishes the tunnel with the network edge device further comprises an access acceptance message indicating that the first client device is authorized to access a network via the computer networking device, as taught in Yu. One is motivated as such in order to provide service and improve network connectivity for mobile devices (See Yu Background; Summary).
RE Claim 8, Xu, modified by Bestermann and Yu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 7 above, further comprising transmitting, via the established tunnel, second PAN network traffic received at the computer networking device and directed to a second client device associated with the first PAN (See Xu FIG 1, 4A; [0005], [0012], [0016], [0042], [0200]-[0206] – communicating specific user group (i.e. VLAN) traffic for any of terminals in the user group).
RE Claim 11, Xu, modified by Bestermann and Yu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 9 above, wherein the message includes an identifier, and wherein the computer networking device is configured to associate the first PAN traffic with the identifier (See Xu [0016], [0042] - after the first session management function entity receives the virtual network identifier from the virtual local area network management function entity, the first session management function entity sends the virtual network identifier to the terminal device or an access network device for access of the terminal device, to notify the terminal device or the access network device to create, for the user group, the virtual local area network whose identifier is the virtual local area network identifier).
RE Claim 12, Xu, modified by Bestermann and Yu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 7 above, wherein the computer networking device is an access point (See Xu FIG 1, 4A; [0005], [0012], [0016], [0042], [0082], [0198] – access network device).
RE Claim 14, Xu discloses a method comprising:
associating a first client device to a first personal area network (PAN), (See Xu FIG 4A; [0005], [0016], [0042], [0082] – establishing wireless connection between terminal and access network device), wherein the first PAN is assigned to a first region from a plurality of regions (See Xu FIG 1, 4A; [0005], [0016], [0042], [0082] – access network device services first region (i.e. first and second terminal devices) but doesn’t service the home/enterprise network directly (i.e. DN network));
receiving an indication that the first client device is in communication with a first computer networking device (See Xu FIG 1, 4A; [0005], [0016], [0042], [0082] –identifying that the terminal device is in communication with networking device (i.e. access network device));
identifying whether the first computer networking device is a member of a plurality of computer networking devices that service the first region (See Xu FIG 1, 4A; [0005], [0016], [0042], [0082] – determining which device is trying to be reached (i.e. which direction the traffic is being sent/next device traffic is being sent to – FIG 10 – traffic being arriving at UPF entity from tunnel going to AN device/UE or traffic arriving at UPF entity going to the tunnel to remote network));
selecting one of a first identifier or a second identifier (See Xu FIG 8A, 10; [0292], [0294], [0349] – selecting either VLAN ID (VID) or VNI), wherein the first identifier is selected in response to identifying that the first computer networking device is a member of the plurality of computer networking devices (See Xu FIG 8A, 10; [0292], [0294], [0349] – if traffic is arriving from tunnel going into network (-> AN device -> UE), adding VLAN ID (VID) to traffic), and wherein the second identifier is selected in response to identifying that the first computer networking device provides service to a second region different than the first region (See Xu FIG 8A, 10; [0292], [0294], [0349] – if traffic is destined for tunnel to leave the network (-> AN device -> UPF), adding VNI to traffic (i.e. FIG 8A)); and
communicating the selected one of the first identifier and the second identifier to the first computer networking device (See Xu FIG 8A, 10; [0341], [0349] – communicating determined VID/VNI to network device), wherein the first computer networking device is configured to tag PAN network traffic from the first client device using the communicated selected one of the first identifier and the second identifier (See Xu FIG 8A, 10; [0292], [0294], [0349] – if traffic is arriving from tunnel going into network (-> AN device -> UE), adding VLAN ID (VID) to traffic; if traffic is destined for tunnel to leave the network (-> AN device -> UPF), adding VNI to traffic (i.e. FIG 8A)).
Xu does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of regions are physical portions of a multiple dwelling unit (MDU) network, wherein each region of the plurality of regions has dedicated computer networking devices assigned to service that region, and wherein each personal area network (PAN) of a plurality of PANs is assigned to one of the plurality of regions; or
wherein the first computer networking device is a networking switch.
However, Bestermann teaches of wherein the plurality of regions are physical portions of a multiple dwelling unit (MDU) network (See Bestermann FIGs 1-3; Abstract, Background; [0015]-[0016] – plurality of regions being physical portions of a MDU network), wherein each region of the plurality of regions has dedicated computer networking devices assigned to service that region (See Bestermann FIGs 1-3; [0017]-[0018] – each region has dedicated networking devices servicing region (i.e. access point)), and wherein each personal area network (PAN) of a plurality of PANs is assigned to one of the plurality of regions (See Bestermann FIGs 1-3; [0017]-[0021] – each region corresponding to a personal network (PN)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless connection system, as disclosed in Xu, wherein the plurality of regions are physical portions of a multiple dwelling unit (MDU) network, wherein each region of the plurality of regions has dedicated computer networking devices assigned to service that region, and wherein each personal area network (PAN) of a plurality of PANs is assigned to one of the plurality of regions, as taught in Bestermann. One is motivated as such in order to provide connectivity while maintaining security (See Bestermann Background; [0017]-[0021]).
Xu, modified by Bestermann, does not specifically disclose
wherein the first computer networking device is a networking switch.
However, Yu teaches of
wherein the first computer networking device is a networking switch (See Yu [0091], [0104] – network device can be a switch).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless connection system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Bestermann, wherein the first computer networking device is a networking switch, as taught in Yu. One is motivated as such in order to provide service and improve network connectivity for mobile devices (See Yu Background; Summary).
RE Claim 15, Xu, modified by Bestermann and Yu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 14 above, wherein the first identifier is a virtual local area network (VLAN) identifier, and the second identifier is a virtual network identifier (VNI) (See Xu FIG 8A, 10; [0292], [0294], [0349] – selecting either VLAN ID (VID) or VNI).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2021/0044454 hereinafter referred to as Xu) in view of Bestermann et al. (US# 2022/0038432 hereinafter referred to as Bestermann), Yu (US# 2025/0254522) and Meng et al. (US# 2021/0036887 hereinafter referred to as Meng).
RE Claim 13, Xu, modified by Bestermann and Yu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 7 above. Xu, modified by Bestermann and Yu, does not specifically disclose wherein the established tunnel has a timeout period lasting at least one week.
However, Meng teaches of wherein the established tunnel has a timeout period lasting at least one week (See Meng [0028] – dynamically configurable timeout period for VPN tunnels - any timeout period (hour, day, week, etc…)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the networking system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Bestermann and Yu, wherein the established tunnel has a timeout period lasting at least one week, as taught in Meng. One is motivated as such in order to better utilize network resources and account for low network traffic or inactivity (See Meng Background; [0028]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2021/0044454 hereinafter referred to as Xu) in view of Bestermann et al. (US# 2022/0038432 hereinafter referred to as Bestermann), Yu (US# 2025/0254522) and Yu (US# 2019/0394067 hereinafter referred to as Yu ‘067).
RE Claim 18, Xu, modified by Bestermann and Yu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 14 above. Xu, modified by Bestermann and Yu, does not specifically disclose wherein the selected one of the first identifier and the second identifier is communicated in an authorization access message indicating that the first client device is authorized to access a network via the first computer networking device.
However, Yu ‘067 teaches of wherein the selected one of the first identifier and the second identifier is communicated in an authorization access message indicating that the first client device is authorized to access a network via the first computer networking device (See Yu ‘067 [0007], [0016], [0019], [0051], [0058] – as part of authentication/authorization process allowing access to terminal, VLAN ID/VNI information is indicated to network devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the networking system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Bestermann and Yu, wherein the selected one of the first identifier and the second identifier is communicated in an authorization access message indicating that the first client device is authorized to access a network via the first computer networking device, as taught in Yu ‘067. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce the deployment costs while improving VXLAN access (See Yu ‘067 Background; Summary).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection (See Claims above, Yu reference).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Messana et al. (US# 2014/0273958 – which teaches of authenticating UEs to access private networks and based on the authenticating, connecting the UEs to another service provider network).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477