DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 10, it is not clear that the opening is one of the plurality of openings introduced in line 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paulson et al., U.S. Patent No. 5,437,161. As to Claim 1, Paulson teaches a multi-wheel serving machine (ball pitching device) comprising a support frame (70, 72) and a mounting base (58, 62) which may be provided on the support frame, Col. 3, ln. 3-13. A serving member (feed tube and associated wheel assembly) may be provided on the mounting base, the serving member being provided with a serving channel (10) and a plurality of openings (20) connecting with the serving channel on an outer wall of the serving member, Col. 3, ln. 14-22 and 30-32. A plurality of serve driving components (22, 24, 26, 28) may be provided around the outer wall of the serving member and disposed in one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of the openings respectively, Col. 2, ln. 36-40 and see Figure 3. Serve driving components may include serving wheels (22, 24) extending into the serving channel at least partially from an opening and a serving position may be formed among peripheral walls of the wheels, Col. 3, ln. 29-34 and see Figure 3, noting serving position between periphery of facing wheels. As to Claim 2, Paulson teaches that the serve driving component may comprise a mounting bracket (30, 32) and a driving unit (26, 28), the driving unit being disposed on an outer wall of the serving member, the driving unit being disposed on the mounting bracket, and the output end (rotary output shaft) of the driving unit connected to the serving wheels, Col. 2, ln. 38-43 and see Figure 3. As to Claim 5, Paulson teaches that the serving member may be rotatably disposed on the mounting base, Col. 2, ln. 58 – Col. 3, ln. 9. As to Claim 7, Paulson teaches a locking component (60) capable of use to lock or loosen the serving member and adjust positions of the serving driving components when the serving member is loosened, Col. 6, ln. 64 – Col. 7, ln. 1. As to Claim 9, Paulson teaches a support tube (64) vertically provided at top of the support frame and a rotating tube (58) provided at bottom of the mounting base, Col. 3, ln. 3-9 and see Figure 1. The rotating tube may be rotatably connected to the support tube, Col. 3, ln. 3-9 and see Figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson, in view of Hart, U.S. Patent Application No. 2016/0193520. Paulson substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 3, Paulson is silent as to an adjusting base associated with the serve driving component. Hart teaches a multi-wheel serving machine (6), paragraph 0094. Hart teaches driving units (8) adjustably mounted so as to move with respect to a mounting bracket (motor mounting plate) in a direction closer to or farther away from serving position when adjusted for adjusting the distance among a plurality of serving wheels, paragraphs 0070 and 0085. It is inherent that an adjusting base is present, given that the motor and attached wheel is adjustably movable with respect to the mounting bracket. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Paulson with an adjusting base, as taught by Hart, to provide Paulson with capability for adjusting the distance among serving wheels to yield the predictable result of facilitating the process of adjusting the machine to accommodate different size balls. As to Claim 4, Hart teaches adjusting slots may be provided in the mounting bracket and locking members (dowel pins) passing through mounting holes and adjusting slots for locking and unlocking the adjusting base and being capable of moving the adjusting base in a direction closer to or farther away from the serving position when the adjusting base is loosened, paragraph 0085 and see Figure 16. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Paulson, as modified, with mounting holes and adjusting slots to pass through locking members with the locking members configured for locking and unlocking the adjusting base, as taught by Hart, to provide Paulson, as modified, with a known substitute mechanical arrangement for adjustably mounting drive units at an adjustable distance from a serving position.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson, in view of Hart, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Kim U.S. Patent Application No. 2017/0182394. Paulson, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 6, Paulson teaches a ball outlet tube (10’) and a ball inlet tube (12) arranged in coaxial manner, Col. 2, ln. 27-30 and see Figure 1. The serving member may be a serving tube (10) with ends of the serving channel, the ball outlet tube being connected to an outlet end of the serving channel and the ball inlet tube being rotatably connected to the inlet end of the serving channel, Col. 2 ln. 30-32 and see Figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Paulson, as modified, with inlet tube and outlet tube connected to inlet and outlet ends of the serving channel respectively with the inlet tube being rotatably connected, as taught by Hart, to provide Paulson, as modified, with a rotatable serving member connected to a stationary inlet tube to yield the predictable result of enabling gravity feeding of balls when the serving member is in a rotated orientation. Paulson, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for providing that the outlet tube may also be rotatably connected to the serving member and except for arranging the ball inlet and outlet tubes on opposite ends of the mounting base. Kim teaches a multi-wheel serving machine (ball pitching device) having ball inlet (220) and ball outlet (210) tubes on opposite ends of a mounting base (100, 500), paragraphs 0049 and 0050 and see Figure 3. The ball outlet tube may be rotatably connected to an outlet end of a serving member, paragraph 0062. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Paulson, as modified, with inlet and outlet tubes on opposite ends of mounting base and with the outlet tube being rotatably connected, as taught by Kim, to provide Paulson, as modified, with a known substitute mounting configuration.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson, in view of Boehner, U.S. Patent Application No. 2014/0261362. Paulson substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 8, Paulson teaches a plate (54) provided with a slot (82) and a screw (80) passing through the slot, Col. 7, ln. 17-25, but Paulson does not disclose that the mechanical linkage may be configured with an arc-shaped slot around an axis of the serving member. Boehner teaches a multi-wheel serving machine (100) comprising a mounting base (105) having an arc-shaped slot (205) around an axis of a serving member (120), noting spin axis slot, paragraph 0023 and see Figure 1. An adjustment plate (125) may be provided with a through hole (615) with integral second nut and with a second screw (605, 610), paragraph 0023 and see Figure 6. The second screw may pass through the arc-shaped slot and through hole in sequence to be in threaded connection with the second nut. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Paulson with the adjustable mechanical linkage configured with an arc-shaped slot around axis of serving member and secured by a screw passing through the slot into a through hole, as taught by Boehner, to provide Paulson with a known substitute mechanical linkage. Paulson, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for reversing the locations of the through-hole and arc-shaped slot as to the mounting base and adjustment plate and except for providing an integral nut and through hole instead of separate components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to reverse the locations of the through-hole and arc-shaped slot since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the through-hole and nut as separate components since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art, Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson, in view of Boehner, U.S. Patent Application No. 2013/0109510. Paulson substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 10, Paulson is silent as to a base plate having two support plates disposed on the support frame. Boehner teaches a multi-wheel serving machine (101), paragraph 0023. The machine may comprise a support frame (1, 25), paragraph 0023. A base plate (5) may be disposed on the support frame and two support plates (6, 29) may be symmetrically disposed on the base plate, paragraph 0023 and see Figure 1. The lower end of a mounting base (28) may be rotatably connected to two support plates via a pivot point (44), paragraph 0026 and see Figure 4A, suggesting that a rotating shaft establishes the pivot point. The lower end of the mounting member may be provided with an arc-shaped long slot (38) around the pivot point and a supporting plate may be provided with a fourth screw (45) having a screw rod passing through the arc-shaped slot and in threaded connection with a fourth nut (4), paragraph 0026 and see Figure 4A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Paulson with support plates symmetrically disposed on a base plate of a support frame and pivoting connection to the mounting base via a rotating shaft and arc-shaped slot receiving a screw, as taught and suggested by Boehner to provide Paulson with a known substitute mounting for a rotatable mounting base. Paulson, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for reversing the locations of the arc-shaped slot and screw and except for providing a second duplicate arc-shaped slot. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to reverse the locations of the screw and arc-shaped slot since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, supra. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before he effective filing date to provide a duplicate second arc-shaped slot since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 6 January 2026