DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 12, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0092317 A1 (“Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a method, comprising: actuating a component of a device (e.g. see controlling an autonomous vehicle, e.g. 700 in Figs. 7A-7D, paragraphs [0037], [0072], [0079], [0083]) based on a parameter output from a machine learning application (e.g. see output of trained machine learning model(s), e.g. 118 in Figs. 1A-1B, paragraphs [0072]-[0079], [0080]-[0083]) trained with first output data from a first sensor (e.g. see input data, e.g. see 120A or 120B (e.g., sensor data and/or image data) in Figs. 1A-1B, paragraphs [0031]-[0033], [0040], [0044], [0050]) that has been (1) modified in accordance with a first specified characteristic of the first sensor, and (2) modified in accordance with a second specified characteristic of a second sensor (e.g. see sensory transformer 104 in Figs. 1A-1B may apply one or more transformations to input data to generate the transformed data 110, paragraphs [0051]-[0052]; and see transformations to the input data 120 to shift, rotate, crop and/or extract ROIs from images (or other data representations) corresponding to the input data 120 to a field of view of a different physical or virtual sensor as shown in Figs. 2A-2B, paragraphs [0053]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Yang further discloses wherein the first specified characteristic of the first sensor is a noise content of output data from the first sensor, a field-of-view of the first sensor, a detection range of the first sensor, a resolution of the first sensor, or a sampling interval of the first sensor (e.g. see lens distortion, field of view, angle of view, or resolution, Abstract, paragraphs [0040], [0049]-[0051], [0060], [0065]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang further discloses wherein the first output data from the first sensor that has been (1) modified in accordance with the first specified characteristic of the first sensor, and (2) modified in accordance with the second specified characteristic of the second sensor, reference the first output data from a first specified reference point on a first vehicle to a second specified reference point on a second vehicle (e.g. see rear axle of the vehicle 700 (and/or other reference point thereof)… for example … 1.47 meters above the rear axle and 1.77 meters in front of the rear axle along the centerline of the vehicle 700… these numbers may correspond to the actual camera placement on vehicles used for data collection. To work on other vehicles in which the camera may be in a different location, this transformation can be applied, paragraphs [0053]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Yang further discloses wherein the first sensor is a first lidar sensor and wherein the second sensor is a second lidar sensor (e.g. see LIDAR, paragraphs [0031]-[0033], [0040], [0044], [0050]).
Regarding claim 5, Yang further discloses wherein the first specified characteristic is a field-of-view of the first lidar sensor, wherein the second specified characteristic is a field-of-view of the second lidar sensor (e.g. see field of view, paragraphs [0040], [0022]-[0023], [0040], Abstract, and [0164]), and wherein the first output data from the first sensor that has been (1) modified in accordance with the first specified characteristic of the first sensor, and (2) modified in accordance with the second specified characteristic of the second sensor, has been processed to omit measurement points within the field-of-view of the first lidar sensor that are outside the field-of-view of the second lidar sensor (e.g. see sensory transformer 104 in Figs. 1A-1B may apply one or more transformations to input data to generate the transformed data 110, paragraphs [0051]-[0052]; and see transformations to the input data 120 to shift, rotate, crop and/or extract ROIs from images (or other data representations) corresponding to the input data 120 to a field of view of a different physical or virtual sensor as shown in Figs. 2A-2B, paragraphs [0053]-[0056], e.g. see extracting an ROI from the image 206 to match a field of view of a different physical or virtual sensor).
Regarding claim 9, Yang further discloses wherein the first sensor is a first radar sensor and wherein the second sensor is a second radar sensor (e.g. see RADAR, paragraphs [0031]-[0033], [0040], [0044], [0050]).
Regarding claim 12, Yang further discloses wherein the first sensor is a first camera sensor and wherein the second sensor is a second camera sensor (e.g. see camera, paragraphs [0031]-[0033], [0040], [0044], [0050]).
Regarding claims 15-20, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 10-11, 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250363647 A1, Park, METHOD AND MOBILITY DEVICE FOR GENERATING ALIGNED IMAGE DATA THROUGH ALIGNING PARAMETERS GENERATED BY AN IMAGE TRANSFORMATION ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE MODEL
US 20240404256 A1, Karasev et al., END-TO-END TRAINABLE ADVANCED DRIVER-ASSISTANCE SYSTEMS
US 20240153208 A1, Sung et al., DEVICE AND METHOD WITH SCENE VIEW IMAGE GENERATION
US 20230204738 A1, Gangundi et al., EMULATION OF A LIDAR SENSOR USING HISTORICAL DATA COLLECTED BY A LIDAR HAVING DIFFERENT INTRINSIC ATTRIBUTES
US 20220261658 A1, Souly et al., APPARATUS, SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR TRANSLATING SENSOR LABEL DATA BETWEEN SENSOR DOMAINS
US 20220261617 A1, Brahma et al., APPARATUS, SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR TRANSLATING SENSOR DATA
US 20200082184 A1, Shirai et al., OBJECT DETECTION DEVICE, OBJECT DETECTION METHOD, AND COMPUTER-READABLE RECORDING MEDIUM
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619