DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, 12, 16, 18-20, 26-28, 31, 35, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veselin et al. (Pub # US 2024/0394561 A1), and further in view of Taite et al. (Pub # US 2016/0381450 A1) and Roberts et al. (US Patent #10,380875 B1).
Consider claim 1, Veselin et al. teaches a method comprising: receiving an input, from a user device, describing an event trigger and a response to the event trigger, wherein the event trigger is associated with occurrence of an event in a real-world environment surrounding the user device [0039]; determining a semantic match between the obtained second textual output and a first textual output associated with the event trigger received from the user device; and in response to determining the semantic match, activating the response to the event trigger [0050].
Veselin et al. does not teach obtaining, based on monitoring of the real-world environment outside the user device, input data from one or more sensors associated with the user device; and obtaining a second textual output for the input data obtained from the one or more sensors associated with the user device.
In the same field of endeavor, Taite et al. teaches obtaining, based on monitoring of the real-world environment outside the user device, input data from one or more sensors associated with the user device [0013] for the benefit of determining the surround condition as input criteria.
Furthermore, in the same field of endeavor, Roberts et al. teaches obtaining a second textual output for the input data obtained from the one or more sensors associated with the user device (Column 23 lines 38-50) for the benefit of providing a very realistic experience to the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include obtaining, based on monitoring of the real-world environment outside the user device, input data from one or more sensors associated with the user device; and obtaining a second textual output for the input data obtained from the one or more sensors associated with the user device as shown in Taite et al. and Roberts et al. combined method for the benefit of determining the surround condition as input criteria and providing a very realistic experience to the user.
Consider claim 7, Veselin et al. teaches similar invention.
Veselin et al. does not teach the method, wherein obtaining the input data from the one or more sensors associated with the user device comprises: determining, based on the event trigger that only audio data is to be monitored; and in response to determining that only audio data is to be monitored, obtaining only audio data and not obtaining data from other sensors that is unrelated to audio data.
In the same field of endeavor, Taite et al. teaches wherein obtaining the input data from the one or more sensors associated with the user device comprises: determining, based on the event trigger that only audio data is to be monitored; and in response to determining that only audio data is to be monitored, obtaining only audio data and not obtaining data from other sensors that is unrelated to audio data [0012] for the benefit of prioritizing by importance and associating with various notification mechanisms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein obtaining the input data from the one or more sensors associated with the user device comprises: determining, based on the event trigger that only audio data is to be monitored; and in response to determining that only audio data is to be monitored, obtaining only audio data and not obtaining data from other sensors that is unrelated to audio data as shown in Taite et al., in Veselin et al. and Roberts et al. combined method for the benefit of prioritizing by importance and associating with various notification mechanisms.
Consider claim 8, Veselin et al. teaches similar invention.
Veselin et al. does not teach the method, wherein obtaining the input data from the one or more sensors associated with the user device comprises: obtaining audio data from an audio sensor and visual data from a visual sensor; determining that the event trigger is associated with a visual event in the real-world environment surrounding the user device; and in response to determining that the event trigger is associated with the visual event in the real-world environment surrounding the user device, selecting only the visual data from the visual sensor as an input to obtain the second textual output.
In the same field of endeavor, Taite et al. teaches the method, wherein obtaining the input data from the one or more sensors associated with the user device comprises: obtaining audio data from an audio sensor and visual data from a visual sensor; determining that the event trigger is associated with a visual event in the real-world environment surrounding the user device; and in response to determining that the event trigger is associated with the visual event in the real-world environment surrounding the user device, selecting only the visual data from the visual sensor as an input to obtain the second textual output [0017] for the benefit of obtaining the surrounding environmental information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein obtaining the input data from the one or more sensors associated with the user device comprises: obtaining audio data from an audio sensor and visual data from a visual sensor; determining that the event trigger is associated with a visual event in the real-world environment surrounding the user device; and in response to determining that the event trigger is associated with the visual event in the real-world environment surrounding the user device, selecting only the visual data from the visual sensor as an input to obtain the second textual output as shown in Taite et al., in Veselin et al. and Roberts et al. combined method for the benefit of obtaining the surrounding environmental information.
Consider claim 9, Veselin et al. clearly shown and disclose the method, further comprising: determining a confidence level for the semantic match; and activating the response to the event trigger based on the determined confidence level (retrieved rule template, and an execution history of each rule template from the rule execution database) [0022].
Consider claim 12, Veselin et al. teaches the similar invention.
Veselin et al. does not teach the method, wherein the occurrence of the event in the real-world environment surrounding the user device occurs when the user device is engaged in an immersive environment, wherein the user device used to engage in the immersive environment is an extended reality (XR) device.
In the same field of endeavor, Roberts et al. teaches wherein the occurrence of the event in the real-world environment surrounding the user device occurs when the user device is engaged in an immersive environment, wherein the user device used to engage in the immersive environment is an extended reality (XR) device (Column 5 lines 39-60) for the benefit of providing virtual reality environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the occurrence of the event in the real-world environment surrounding the user device occurs when the user device is engaged in an immersive environment, wherein the user device used to engage in the immersive environment is an extended reality (XR) device as shown in Roberts et al., in Veselin et al. and Taite et al. combined method for the benefit of providing virtual reality environment.
Consider claim 16, Veselin et al. teaches similar invention.
Veselin et al. does not teach the method, wherein activating the response to the event trigger comprises transmitting an alert to the user device, wherein the alert is either a visual or an audible alert.
In the same field of endeavor, Taite et al. teaches wherein activating the response to the event trigger comprises transmitting an alert to the user device, wherein the alert is either a visual or an audible alert [0022] for the benefit of alerting the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein activating the response to the event trigger comprises transmitting an alert to the user device, wherein the alert is either a visual or an audible alert as shown in Taite et al., in Veselin et al. and Roberts et al. combined method for the benefit of alerting the user.
Consider claim 18, Veselin et al. teaches similar invention.
Veselin et al. does not teach the method, wherein activating the response to the event trigger comprises switching the user device to a pass-through mode to allow a user associated with the user device to see or hear the real-world environment surrounding the user device.
In the same field of endeavor, Roberts et al. teaches wherein activating the response to the event trigger comprises switching the user device to a pass-through mode to allow a user associated with the user device to see or hear the real-world environment surrounding the user device (Column 8 lines 55 to Column 9 lines 3) for the benefit of providing alert notification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein activating the response to the event trigger comprises switching the user device to a pass-through mode to allow a user associated with the user device to see or hear the real-world environment surrounding the user device as shown in Roberts et al., in Veselin et al. and Taite et al. combined method for the benefit of providing alert notification.
Consider claim 19, Veselin et al. clearly shown and disclose the method, wherein receiving the input, from the user device, describing the event trigger and the response to the event trigger, further comprises: monitoring the real-world environment surrounding the user device; automatically suggesting one or more event triggers and responses to the one or more event triggers, based on the monitored real-world environment surrounding the user device; determining a selection of the suggested one or more event triggers; and receiving, from the user device, the selected one or more event triggers as the input [0030].
Consider claim 20, the apparatus structure herein has been used to perform or executed the functional by the corresponding method as shown in claim 1. Therefore, the claim 20 has been analyzed and rejected with regards to claim 1 as set forth above.
Consider claim 26, the apparatus structure herein has been used to perform or executed the functional by the corresponding method as shown in claim 7. Therefore, the claim 26 has been analyzed and rejected with regards to claim 7 as set forth above.
Consider claim 27, the apparatus structure herein has been used to perform or executed the functional by the corresponding method as shown in claim 8. Therefore, the claim 27 has been analyzed and rejected with regards to claim 8 as set forth above.
Consider claim 28, the apparatus structure herein has been used to perform or executed the functional by the corresponding method as shown in claim 9. Therefore, the claim 28 has been analyzed and rejected with regards to claim 9 as set forth above.
Consider claim 31, the apparatus structure herein has been used to perform or executed the functional by the corresponding method as shown in claim 12. Therefore, the claim 31 has been analyzed and rejected with regards to claim 12 as set forth above.
Consider claim 35, the apparatus structure herein has been used to perform or executed the functional by the corresponding method as shown in claim 16. Therefore, the claim 35 has been analyzed and rejected with regards to claim 16 as set forth above.
Consider claim 37, the apparatus structure herein has been used to perform or executed the functional by the corresponding method as shown in claim 18. Therefore, the claim 37 has been analyzed and rejected with regards to claim 18 as set forth above.
Claims 2, 3, 15, 21, 22, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veselin et al. (Pub # US 2024/0394561 A1) in view of Taite et al. (Pub # US 2016/0381450 A1) and Roberts et al. (US Patent #10,380875 B1) as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of Xie (Pub # US 2023/0394855 A1).
Consider claim 2, the combined reference teaches similar invention.
The combined reference does not teach the method, further comprising: inputting the input data obtained from the one or more sensors that is associated with the monitoring of the real-world environment surrounding the user device into a large language model (LLM); and leveraging the LLM to generate the second textual output for the input data obtained from the one or more sensors associated with the user device.
In the same field of endeavor, Xie et al. teaches the method, further comprising: inputting the input data obtained from the one or more sensors (camera image or video) that is associated with the monitoring of the real-world environment surrounding the user device into a large language model (LLM) [0025]; and leveraging the LLM to generate the second textual output (comprehensive description paragraph output) for the input data obtained from the one or more sensors associated with the user device [0018] for the benefit of generating visual information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method, further comprising: inputting the input data obtained from the one or more sensors that is associated with the monitoring of the real-world environment surrounding the user device into a large language model (LLM); and leveraging the LLM to generate the second textual output for the input data obtained from the one or more sensors associated with the user device as shown in Xie et al., in the combined method for the benefit of the method, further comprising: inputting the input data obtained from the one or more sensors that is associated with the monitoring of the real-world environment surrounding the user device into a large language model (LLM); and leveraging the LLM to generate the second textual output for the input data obtained from the one or more sensors associated with the user device.
Consider claim 3, the combined reference teaches similar invention.
The combined reference does not teach the method, wherein leveraging the LLM to generate a textual output of the data obtained from the one or more sensors further comprises analyzing, by the LLM, the input data obtained from the one or more sensors, wherein the analysis utilizes data used to train the LLM.
In the same field of endeavor, Taite et al. teaches wherein leveraging the LLM to generate a textual output of the data obtained from the one or more sensors further comprises analyzing, by the LLM, the input data obtained from the one or more sensors, wherein the analysis utilizes data used to train the LLM [0025-0026] for the benefit of confirming the input criteria.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein leveraging the LLM to generate a textual output of the data obtained from the one or more sensors further comprises analyzing, by the LLM, the input data obtained from the one or more sensors, wherein the analysis utilizes data used to train the LLM as shown in Taite et al. in the combined method for the benefit of confirming the input criteria.
Consider claim 15, the combined reference teaches similar invention.
The combined reference does not teach the method, further comprising using an LLM to a) obtain the second textual output for the input data obtained from the one or more sensors associated with the user device and b) use the second textual output to determine the semantic match with the event trigger received from the user device.
In the same field of endeavor, Xie et al. teaches the method, further comprising using an LLM to a) obtain the second textual output for the input data obtained from the one or more sensors associated with the user device [0015]; and b) use the second textual output to determine the semantic match with the event trigger received from the user device [0018] for the benefit of generating visual information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method, further comprising using an LLM to a) obtain the second textual output for the input data obtained from the one or more sensors associated with the user device and b) use the second textual output to determine the semantic match with the event trigger received from the user device as shown in Xie et al., in the combined method for the benefit of generating visual information.
Consider claim 21, the apparatus structure herein has been used to perform or executed the functional by the corresponding method as shown in claim 2. Therefore, the claim 21 has been analyzed and rejected with regards to claim 2 as set forth above.
Consider claim 22, the apparatus structure herein has been used to perform or executed the functional by the corresponding method as shown in claim 3. Therefore, the claim 22 has been analyzed and rejected with regards to claim 3 as set forth above.
Consider claim 34, the apparatus structure herein has been used to perform or executed the functional by the corresponding method as shown in claim 15. Therefore, the claim 34 has been analyzed and rejected with regards to claim 15 as set forth above.
Claims 4 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veselin et al. (Pub # US 2024/0394561 A1) in view of Taite et al. (Pub # US 2016/0381450 A1) and Roberts et al. (US Patent #10,380875 B1) as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of Xie (Pub # US 2023/0394855 A1).
Consider claim 4, the combined reference teaches the similar invention.
The combined reference does not teach the method, wherein determining the semantic match further comprises: converting the event trigger received from the user device into the first textual output, wherein the event trigger is received from the user device in natural language and is converted to the first textual output by using automatic speech recognition (ASR); normalizing the first textual output and the second textual output to a same format; and comparing the normalized first textual output and the second textual output to determine the semantic match.
In the same field of endeavor, Guha et al. teaches wherein determining the semantic match further comprises: converting the event trigger received from the user device into the first textual output, wherein the event trigger is received from the user device in natural language and is converted to the first textual output by using automatic speech recognition (ASR) [0022]; normalizing the first textual output and the second textual output to a same format; and comparing the normalized first textual output and the second textual output to determine the semantic match [0072] for the benefit of considered valid variants of each other, even though these terms have different textual forms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein determining the semantic match further comprises: converting the event trigger received from the user device into the first textual output, wherein the event trigger is received from the user device in natural language and is converted to the first textual output by using automatic speech recognition (ASR); normalizing the first textual output and the second textual output to a same format; and comparing the normalized first textual output and the second textual output to determine the semantic match as shown in Guha et al., in the combined method for the benefit of considered valid variants of each other, even though these terms have different textual forms.
Consider claim 23, the apparatus structure herein has been used to perform or executed the functional by the corresponding method as shown in claim 4. Therefore, the claim 23 has been analyzed and rejected with regards to claim 4 as set forth above.
Conclusion
/JACK K WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686