CTNF 18/660,709 CTNF 81971 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3-4, 6-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a2 as being anticipated by US 2026/0005723 (Wu et al.) . As to claims 1 and 15 , Wu teaches a first ultra-wideband (UWB) device ( Initiator, fig 3 ) comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the transceiver ( see figure 19 ) and configured to: receive, from a second UWB device, an advertisement response (Adv RESP) message responding to an advertisement poll (Adv Poll) message through a narrow band (NB) channel ( see paragraph 247 and figure 3, ADV-RESP received in response to ADV-POLL on NB channel ); transmit, to the second UWB device, a start of ranging (SoR) message corresponding to the Adv RESP message through the NB channel ( see paragraph 247 and figure 3, SOR sent in response to ADV-RESP ); perform, based on the SoR message, UWB ranging with the second UWB device ( see paragraph 247 and figure 3, MMS-UWB ranging performed in response to configuration parameters established in SOR ); and transmit, to the second UWB device, a ranging packet report (RPRT) message through one of the NB channel and a UWB channel based on configuration information for a channel in which the RPRT message is to be transmitted, wherein the configuration information is included in the SoR message ( see paragraphs 247 and 337, configuration parameters in ADV-RESP and SOR used for ranging and subsequent measurement reports [~RPRTs ]). As to claims 8 and 18 , Wu teaches second ultra-wideband (UWB) device ( Responder, fig 3 ) comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the transceiver ( see figure 19 ) and configured to: transmit, to a first UWB device, an advertisement response (Adv RESP) message responding to an advertisement poll (Adv Poll) message through a narrow band (NB) channel ( see paragraph 247 and figure 3, ADV-RESP sent in response to ADV-POLL on NB channel ); receive, from the first UWB device, a start of ranging (SoR) message corresponding to the Adv RESP message through the NB channel ( see paragraph 247 and figure 3, SOR received in response to ADV-RESP ); perform, based on the SoR message, UWB ranging with the first UWB device ( see paragraph 247 and figure 3, MMS-UWB ranging performed in response to configuration parameters established in SOR ); and transmit, to the first UWB device, a ranging packet report (RPRT) message through one of the NB channel and a UWB channel based on configuration information for a channel in which the RPRT message is to be transmitted, wherein the configuration information is included in the Adv RESP message ( see paragraphs 247 and 337 and figure 3, configuration parameters in ADV-RESP and SOR used for ranging and subsequent measurement reports [~RPRTs ]). As to claim 3 , Wu further teaches wherein in case that the RPRT message is transmitted in the NB channel: the Adv Poll message and the Adv RESP message are transmitted on a first carrier of the NB channel; and the RPRT message is transmitted on a second carrier of the NB channel ( note that RPRT transmission on the NB channel is established as an optional alternative in claim 1, and Wu teaches the alternative of transmitting measurement reports on UWB, see paragraphs 254 and 337. However Wu teaches the ADV-POLL/ADV-RESP and REPORT being transmitted on different NB channels, see paragraph 255 ). As to claims 4 and 16 , Wu further teaches wherein the configuration information indicates deactivation of NB transmission within the SoR message ( see paragraph 337, configuration parameters establish the use of UWB for ranging and possibly measurement reporting [~deactivation of NB transmission] ). As to claim 6 , Wu further teaches wherein the Adv RESP message includes second configuration information of a channel in which an RPRT message is to be transmitted by the second UWB device ( see paragraphs 247 and 337, configuration parameters in ADV-RESP and SOR used for ranging and subsequent measurement reports [~RPRTs ]). As to claim 7 , Wu further teaches wherein the second configuration information indicates at least one of: deactivation of NB transmission within the Adv RESP message, whether a UWB-based RPRT is activated in a UWB physical (PHY) configuration field within the Adv RESP message, or a data rate in the UWB PHY configuration field within the Adv RESP message ( see paragraphs 247 and 337, configuration parameters establish the use of UWB for ranging and possibly measurement reporting [~deactivation of NB transmission] ). As to claims 9 and 19 , Wu further teaches wherein the SoR message includes second configuration information of a channel in which a RPRT message is to be transmitted by the first UWB device ( see paragraphs 247 and 337, configuration parameters in ADV-RESP and SOR used for ranging and subsequent measurement reports [~RPRTs ]). As to claim 10 , Wu further teaches wherein the Adv Poll message and the Adv RESP message are transmitted on a first carrier of the NB channel, and wherein the RPRT message is transmitted on a second carrier of the NB channel ( note that RPRT transmission on the NB channel is established as an optional alternative in claim 1, and Wu teaches the alternative of transmitting measurement reports on UWB, see paragraphs 254 and 337. However Wu teaches the ADV-POLL/ADV-RESP and REPORT being transmitted on different NB channels, see paragraph 255 ). As to claim 11 , Wu further teaches wherein the second configuration information indicates deactivation of NB transmission within the SoR message ( see paragraph 337, configuration parameters establish the use of UWB for ranging and possibly measurement reporting [~deactivation of NB transmission] ). As to claim 14 , Wu further teaches wherein the configuration information indicates one of: deactivation of NB transmission within the Adv RESP message, whether a UWB-based RPRT is activated in a UWB physical (PHY) configuration field within the Adv RESP message, or a data rate in the UWB PHY configuration field within the Adv RESP message ( see paragraphs 247 and 337, configuration parameters establish the use of UWB for ranging and possibly measurement reporting [~deactivation of NB transmission] ). As to claim 17 , Wu further teaches wherein the Adv RESP message includes second configuration information of a channel in which an RPRT message is to be transmitted by the second UWB device ( see paragraphs 247 and 337, configuration parameters in ADV-RESP and SOR used for ranging and subsequent measurement reports [~RPRTs ]), and wherein the second configuration information indicates deactivation of NB transmission within the Adv RESP message ( see paragraphs 247 and 337, configuration parameters establish the use of UWB for ranging and possibly measurement reporting [~deactivation of NB transmission] ). As to claim 20 , Wu further teaches wherein the configuration information indicates deactivation of NB transmission within the Adv RESP message, and wherein the second configuration information indicates deactivation of NB transmission within the SoR message ( see paragraph 337, configuration parameters establish the use of UWB for ranging and possibly measurement reporting [~deactivation of NB transmission] ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of 2026/0050079 (Huang et al.) . As to claim 5 , what is lacking from Wu is wherein the configuration information indicates at least one of: whether a UWB-based RPRT is activated in a UWB physical (PHY) configuration field within the SoR message, or a data rate in a UWB PHY configuration field within the SoR message . In analogous art, Huang teaches 2 UWB devices performing NB ranging and associated measurement reporting and negotiating configuration parameters in initial polling/response messages ( ~ADV-RESP/SOR of Wu ) that comprise a PHY rate request subfield and subfields for RSF and RIF fragment numbers ( see Huang, paragraphs 187-188 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Wu so as to ensure optimal configuration of the physical channel. As to claim 12 , what is lacking from Wu is wherein the second configuration information indicates at least one of: whether a UWB-based RPRT is activated in a UWB physical (PHY) configuration field within the SoR message, or a data rate in a UWB PHY configuration field within the SoR message . In analogous art, Huang teaches 2 UWB devices performing NB ranging and associated measurement reporting and negotiating configuration parameters in initial polling/response messages ( ~ADV-RESP/SOR of Wu ) that comprise a PHY rate request subfield and subfields for RSF and RIF fragment numbers ( see Huang, paragraphs 187-188 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Wu so as to ensure optimal configuration of the physical channel . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2 and 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2024/0422723 (Lui et al.) teaches ranging between UWB devices. US 2026/0025257 (Chitrakar et al.) teaches a secured frame in UWB. US 2026/0052507 (Wu et al.) teaches UWB device ranging using Wi-Fi . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAZDA SABOURI whose telephone number is (571)272-8892. The examiner can normally be reached 10 am-7 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Appiah can be reached at 571-272-7904. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/660,709 Page 2 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/660,709 Page 3 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/660,709 Page 4 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/660,709 Page 5 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/660,709 Page 6 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/660,709 Page 7 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/660,709 Page 9 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/660,709 Page 10 Art Unit: 2641