DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 14, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 13, “of” should be inserted after “along opposing ends” and before “the first region of the T-slot”.
In each of the remaining claims (claims 6, 14, and 19), the term “dome-shape” should be “dome-shaped”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 11, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senakiewich, II (7401995) in view of the well known prior art.
For claim 1, Senakiewich, II discloses a modular vehicle component fastening anchor (FIG.2) configured to engage a threaded fastener (40) and attach selectable components (28,30) to a vehicle comprising:
a head (42) configured to engage a mating component within a first region of a T-slot (10) defined by the mating component, the head having
(i) a central region defining a threaded orifice (opposite to threads 44) configured to receive the threaded fastener (40) and (ii) first and second flanged regions (48, FIG.8) extending outward in opposing directions from the central region to first and second opposing longitudinal end surfaces, respectively, and biased inward (implicit; Col 3, lines 9-13) toward the threaded orifice; and
wherein the first and second flanged regions are configured to shift outward from the threaded orifice in response to the threaded fastener engaging the threaded orifice such that
(a) the first and second opposing longitudinal end surfaces engage the mating component along opposing ends of the first region of the T-slot and
(b) the base surface engages the mating component within the first region of the T-slot transversely to the opposing ends of the first region of the T-slot.
Senakiewich, II further discloses a neck (boss 56,58) configured to engage the mating component within a second region of the T-slot, the neck (ii) partially defining the threaded orifice.
Senakiewich, II fails to disclose the neck as protruding from a base surface of the head along the central region thereof, a feature known from the well known prior art. The examiner takes official notice that the well known prior art is replete with examples showing T-nut fastening anchors having a head portion and, as a part of the head portion, a neck protruding therefrom; the neck engaging with a mating component of a T-slot (sometimes referred to as channel/track) (see for example, Linger (6733221) at shoulder section 20; Gogarty (5199836) at shank 30; or Oetlinger (D698235), not numbered).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the neck of Senakiewich, II not as a part of the component (base (30)) but instead as a part of the head as a protrusion of a central region thereof as taught by the well known prior art as an obvious reversal of part, which has been held by the court to be an obvious modification. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). The combination maintains consistent sliding action along the T-slot and creates a more robust connection with the threaded fastener.
Applicant may seasonally challenge, for the official record in this application, this and any other statement of judicial notice in a timely manner in response to this office action. Please specify the exact statement to be challenged. Applicant is reminded, with respect to the specific challenge put forth, of the duty of disclosure under Rule 56 to disclose material which is pertinent to patentability including claim rejections challenged by applicant.
For claim 8, Senakiewich, II, as modified above, discloses a vehicle component securing T-nut (FIG.2) operable for securing selectable modular components (28,38) to a vehicle comprising:
a central region defining an orifice (near to 40) configured to receive a fastener (40);
a first protrusion (48) extending in a first direction from the central region; and
a second protrusion (48) extending in a second direction opposite to the first direction from the central region, wherein
(i) the first and second protrusions (48, FIG.8) are biased inward (implicit, Col 3, lns 9-13) toward the orifice and
(ii) the first and second protrusions (48) are configured to extend outward from the orifice in response to the fastener engaging the orifice such that
(a) distal ends of the first and second protrusions engage a mating component within a T-slot defined by the mating component and
(b) lower regions of the first and second protrusions engage the mating component within the T-slot transversely with respect to the distal ends of the first and second protrusions (FIG.8).
For claim 9, Senakiewich, II, as modified above, provides for a neck configured to engage the mating component within the T-slot, the neck protruding from the central region and partially defining the orifice.
For claim 15, Senakiewich, II, as modified above, discloses a vehicle component attaching anchor nut (FIG.2) configured to secure selectable components (28,38) to a vehicle comprising:
a head (42) configured to engage a head region of a T-slot (10, FIG.2 and 8), defining an orifice (near to 40), having first and second regions (48) biased (implicit, Col 3, lns 9-13) toward the orifice and extending in opposing directions from the orifice to first and second ends (FIG.8), respectively, and having base surfaces (48) positioned along the first and second regions transversely to the first and second ends,
wherein the first and second regions (48) are configured to extend away from the orifice in response to a fastener engaging the orifice such that the first and second ends engage the head region of the T-slot and
the base surfaces engage the head region of the T-slot transversely to the first and second ends; and
a shank (see neck 56,58 of Senakiewich, II modified with neck of the prior art) configured to engage a neck region of the T-slot, extending from the base surfaces, and partially defining the orifice.
For claim 7, the base surface is angled toward the neck in the opposing directions from the central region to first and second opposing longitudinal surfaces, and
the base surface is configured to engage the mating component (abuts the surface) within the first region to limit rotational movement of the fastening anchor.
For claim 11, the lower regions are angled toward the neck and are configured to engage the mating component (abuts the surface) within the T-slot to limit rotational movement of the T-nut.
For claim 20, the base surfaces are angled toward the neck in opposing directions from the orifice to the first and second ends and the base surfaces are configured to engage the T-slot (abuts the surface) within the head region to limit rotational movement of the anchor nut.
For claim 4, the head defines a footprint that is orthogonal to an axis of the threaded orifice, the neck is confined to the footprint along a first direction (see how neck 56 of Senakiewich, II fits within the footprint in FIG.3) that extends between the first and second opposing longitudinal end surfaces, and
the neck extends beyond the footprint (see FIGS. 2-3) along a second direction that is transverse to the first direction.
Claims 6, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senakiewich, II (7401995) as modified and applied above.
For claims 6, 14, and 19, Senakiewich, II, as modified above, discloses the head includes an external surface that is opposite to the base surface and the external surface is generally convex to facilitate distribution of applied force (see the convex shape in FIGS.2-8); the first and second protrusions (48) include uppers regions that are opposite to the lower regions and the upper regions are generally convex shaped to facilitate distribution of applied force; and the head includes an external surface that is opposite to the base surfaces and the external surface is convex to facilitate distribution of applied force.
Senakiewich, II, as modified, fails to provide the convex shape specifically being dome-shaped. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the convex shape of Senakiewich, II, as modified, to be dome-shaped as an obvious matter of design choice (evidence being within applicant’s own disclosure at [0083] ‘convex or dome-shape’ making the record clear that either alternative is suitable), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of the component recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, KSR, 550 US at 82 USPQ2d at 1396 supports a conclusion of obviousness under the reasoning of “obvious to try” by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5, 10, 12-13, and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in this application is the inclusion of the specific notch; the specific neck/shank which flares radially outward; and the specific threaded orifice which tapers along an axis of the orifice, in combination with the other elements recited, which is not found in the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B