Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Koutsimanis et al. (US 2016/0249350).
Regarding claim 21, Koutsimanis discloses a method, comprising: determining, by a terminal device, information about at least one parameter of signals based on the information about the at least one parameter (step 220 and figs. 6-7; paras. 36, 40, 42-43 and 50; note: a UE sends a particular reference signal to the network node based on the received indicator).
Regarding claim 22, Koutsimanis discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein sending, by the terminal device, the one or more reference signals based on the information about the at least one parameter comprises: sending, by the terminal device, the one or more reference signals based on a correspondence and the information about the at least one parameter (figs. 4 and 6-7; paras. 36, 40, 42-43 and 50; note: a correspondence (mapping) between a particular reference signal and a received indicator (value of the indicator as information - para. 43, fourth sentence, bits for an indicator); note: mapping in paras. 40 and 42 (fourth through last sentences)), wherein the correspondence is between P reference signals and Q pieces of information, and P and Q are positive integers (paras. 40 and 42), wherein the one or more reference signals belong to the P reference signals, the information about the at least one parameter belongs to the Q pieces of information, and the Q pieces of information comprise information about at least one of:
Regarding claim 23, Koutsimanis discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein the terminal device does not support transmitting at least one of the Q pieces of information using a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (fig. 4; note: the UE only receives the value of indicator and only transmits the reference signal).
Regarding claim 24, Koutsimanis discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein the P reference signals comprise a first reference signal, the Q pieces of information comprise first information, the first reference signal corresponds to the first information, and the first information indicates information about at least one of:
Regarding claim 25, Koutsimanis discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein the P reference signals comprise a second reference signal (fig. 6 and paras. 42-43), the Q pieces of information comprise second information (fig. 6 and paras. 42-43; note: a second value of the indicator that corresponds to the second reference signal), the second reference signal corresponds to the second information (note: value of the indicator as information - para. 43, fourth sentence, bits for an indicator), and the second information indicates information about at least two of:
Regarding claim 26, Koutsimanis discloses the method according to claim 25, wherein the second information indicating information about the at least two of
Regarding claim 27 Koutsimanis discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein any two of the P reference signals are different in at least one of: a sending period (fig. 6-7 and paras. 43 and 50; note: time period or resource for sending the reference signal), a reference signal pattern (paras. 4 and 50; note: standardized reference signals having different formats), or a reference signal sequence (paras. 4 and 50; note: standardized reference signals having different formats as bit sequences).
Regarding claim 28, Koutsimanis discloses the method according to claim 22, further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, configuration information of the P reference signals, wherein the configuration information comprises the correspondence (paras. 40 and 42; note: signaling from a network node for mapping the indicator to the reference signal).
Regarding claim 29, Koutsimanis discloses the method according to claim 28, wherein the configuration information further comprises a reporting condition of one or more of the Q pieces of information (paras. 40 and 42; note: report as sending a reference signal in response to the indicator), and the reporting condition of the one or more pieces of information comprises one or more of:
Regarding claim 30, Koutsimanis discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein at least one of the P reference signals is used for positioning (para. 28, last sentence; para. 63, second sentence; note: positioning reference signal).
Regarding claim 31, Koutsimanis discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein: .
Claims 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Poitau et al. (US 2016/0249350).
Regarding claim 32, Poitau discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a first device, one or more reference signals from a terminal device (paras. 524-526 and table 7; note: a WTRU receiving a power update as an SRS from another WTRU); and determining, by the first device, information about at least one parameter of a power consumption parameter,
Regarding claim 33, Poitau discloses the method according to claim 32, wherein: the power consumption parameter comprises one or more of: a power level, or an energy consumption state (paras. 524-526 and table 7; a power update value as a power level and energy consumption state of discovery signal transmissions - paras. 335-336).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poitau in view of Yerramalli et al. (US 2023/0087450). For dependent claims herein, the motivation to combine is the same as the parent claim unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 34, Poitau discloses the method according to claim 32, wherein determining, by the first device, the information about at least one parameter of the power consumption parameter, the motion parameter, the notification parameter, and the requirement parameter of the terminal device based on the one or more reference signals comprises: determining, by the first device, the information about the at least one parameter of the power consumption parameter,
Poitau discloses SRS for conveying a parameter but fails to disclose wherein at least one of the P reference signals is used for positioning. Yerramalli discloses an SRS used for positioning and power determinations (para. 115; note: signal strength of an SRS for positioning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one of the P reference signals used for positioning in the invention of Poitau. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, using a reference signal for optimizing communication based on a positioning or location as is known in the art (Yerramalli, para. 115; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 35, Poitau in view of Yerramalli teaches and makes obvious the method according to claim 34, wherein the P reference signals comprise a first reference signal, the Q pieces of information comprise first information, the first reference signal corresponds to the first information, and the first information indicates information about the power consumption parameter,
Regarding claim 36, Poitau in view of Yerramalli teaches and makes obvious the method according to claim 34, wherein the P reference signals comprise a second reference signal (Poitau, para. 314; note: periodic discovery signals), the Q pieces of information comprise second information (Poitau, paras. 524-526 and table 7; note: different values of an indicated power level), the second reference signal corresponds to the second information, and the second information indicates information about at least two of: the power consumption parameter; the notification parameter; or the requirement parameter (Poitau, paras. 524-526 and table 7; note: cyclic shift of the SRS indicating a power update level as a power consumption parameter and a notification parameter, and a requirement parameter for optimal power levels for communication - paras. 335-336).
Regarding claim 37. Poitau in view of Yerramalli teaches and makes obvious the method according to claim 36, wherein the second information indicating information about at least two of the power consumption parameter,
Regarding claim 38, Poitau in view of Yerramalli teaches and makes obvious the method according to claim 34, wherein any two of the P reference signals are different in at least one of:
Regarding claim 39, Poitau in view of Yerramalli teaches and makes obvious the method according to claim 34, further comprising: sending, by the first device, configuration information of the P reference signals to the terminal device, wherein the configuration information comprises the correspondence (Poitau, paras. 222, 238 and 512; note: RRC as higher layer signaling mapping from an eNB).
Regarding claim 40, Poitau in view of Yerramalli teaches and makes obvious the method according to claim 39, wherein the configuration information further comprises a reporting condition of one or more of the Q pieces of information (Poitau, para. 526 and table 7; note: a power level update for a transmitted discovery signal), and the reporting condition of the one or more pieces of information comprises one or more of:
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yemane Mesfin, can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. For non-official communications, the examiner’s e-mail address is kevin.harper@uspto.gov (MPEP 502.03 – A copy of all received emails relating to an application including proposed amendments and excluding scheduling information for interviews will be placed informally into the application file).
/Kevin C. Harper/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462