DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Applicant’s submission filed on July 9, 2026. As set forth therein, claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 11 under Elkotby et al. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Elkotby et al. US Patent 2024/0284456 in view of Elkotby et al. US Patent Pub. 2026/0067136 as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Elkotby et al. US Patent 2024/0284456 in view of Elkotby et al. US Patent Pub. 2026/00671361 (hereinafter Elktoby ‘136).
Regarding claim 1:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) for receiving a paging signal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
Elkotby is directed to a method related to a Wireless Transmit-Receive Unit (WTRU) operating in a network, for supporting an Ultra-Low Power receiver. See the abstract and paragraph [0002].
receiving configuration information related to a paging from a base station, wherein the configuration information related to the paging includes information indicating a frame offset between a frame for receiving a wake-up signal and a paging frame (PF) for receiving the paging signal;
As set forth in the abstract, a WTRU may receive a ULP-specific configuration. As set forth in paragraphs [0136-0138],the WTRU may receive paging configuration/parameters. See also paragraphs [0208-0213] which disclose the WTRU receiving paging configuration and where the WTRU uses an Ultra Low Power receiver for low power-wake up signal (LP-WUS) detection. See also paragraphs [0136-0140]. See also paragraph [0117] in which the WTRU monitors paging occasions and initiated transition to RRC connected state.
The Examiner notes that although Elkotby discloses of determining a page frame and receiving a paging offset (see e.g. paragraphs [0102-0110] and [0113]), Elktoby does not specifically disclose wherein the configuration information related to the paging includes information indicating a frame offset between a frame for receiving a wake-up signal and a paging frame (PF) for receiving the paging signal.
Nonetheless, Elkotby ‘136 is directed to ultra-low power receivers. Elkotby ‘136 further discloses in paragraph [0202] that an LP-WUS configuration information addresses the always-on operation of the LEP receiver and the corresponding paging frame. As set forth therein, Elkotby ‘136 discloses a low power wake up signal (LP-WUS) configuration in which a time between the wake-up signal group indication and a paging frame is signaled by a paging frame offset. See paragraph [0202].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include configuration information with respect to a paging frame offset between the wake-up-signal and paging frame. Elkotby discloses that it was known to use a paging offset between a wake-up-signal (WUS) and LP-PDCCH’s paging DCI. See paragraphs [0270] and [0273]. In the same field of endeavor Elkotby ‘136 also discloses it was known that a paging frame offset is used in order to determine the separation in time domain between the start of the WUS and the associated PF. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a paging frame offset in order to determine the start of the paging frame for the wake-up-signal indication.
receiving the wake-up signal from the base station; and
See paragraphs [0135] and [0183] and [0403] which disclose wake-up signaling and the reception of a wake-up signal from the network base station. See also claims 21 and 25. In addition, paragraphs [0030-0033] disclose the use of a base station for the transmission of signal. As set forth in paragraph [0232] “[t]he ULP receiver of the WTRU wakes up/is activated prior to the determined ULP-specific paging occasions. The ULP receiver detecting and blindly decoding the ULP paging occasions based on a configured/associated ULP search space. Upon a true paging addressed to the WTRU and determined based on any of the ULP paging early indication, the paging DCI over PDCCH/LP-PDCCH, and the paging record over PDSCH/LP-PDSCH, the WTRU's ULP receiver triggers a waking up signal to the conventional receiver such that it synchronizes with the Uu RAN interface and subsequently triggers the Uu RAN connection establishment/resume procedure.” See also paragraphs [0233], [0242] and [0260].
monitoring a paging occasion (PO), based on the wake-up signal.
Elkotby discloses, as set forth in paragraphs [0100-0101] that paging occasion (PO) can be monitored and the specific paging frame and subframe within that PF is the paging occasion.
In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0100], a Paging Frame is used and indicates the starting point to a PO. As set forth in paragraph [0101], a specific paging frame (PF) and subframe within that PF that the WTRU may monitor for paging may be determined based on the WTRU ID and parameters which are specified by the network. See also paragraphs [0102-0110] which discloses how the PF and PO for paging is determined.
Regarding claim 2:
The method of claim 1, wherein the PF is included in cell-specific PFs including first PFs, and wherein the PF is determined as a first PF having a time difference as large as the frame offset included in the configuration information from a radio frame in which the wake-up signal is received.
See pages [0097-0099] which disclose that the radio frames (i.e. paging frames) can be configured as cell-specific as well as WTRU-specific paging cycle. See also paragraph [0207]. As set forth in paragraph [0113], the values of PF_offset is derived from the parameter nAndPagingFrameOffset as defined in TS 38.331. See also paragraph [0140] which discloses that the PO transmission configuration includes e.g. a time offset from a detected LP_WUS.
See also paragraph [0143] discloses that “[t]he maximum time duration [as large as a frame offset] may indicate an offset defining the beginning of PO and paging message transmissions with respect to when the LP-WUS is transmitted.” See also paragraph [0152]. In paragraph [0207], Elkotby discloses that the node may configure the WTRUs with two sets of cell-specific paging settings.
Regarding claim 3:
The method of claim 2, wherein in case that the first PF is not included in the cell-specific PFs, the PF is determined as a second PF adjacent to the first PF in the cell-specific PF.
The Examiner notes that claim 3 recites “in case”, that is, “wherein in case that the first paging frame is not included in the cell-specific PFs”. The Examiner finds that “in case” is a contingent limitation. In accordance with MPEP 2111.04, “[t]he broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.” Thus, since claim 3 is a method claim, then the step set forth in claim 3 are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met.
Regarding claim 10:
The method of claim 1, wherein a paging occasion for receiving the paging in the PF is determined at a subframe level or a symbol level in a subframe based on configuration information.
Elkotby discloses, as set forth in paragraphs [0100-0101] that paging occasion (PO) can be monitored and the specific paging frame and subframe within that PF is the paging occasion. Thus, the paging occasion is determined as a subframe level.
Regarding claim 11:
A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, comprising:
Elkotby is directed to a method related to a Wireless Transmit-Receive Unit (WTRU) operating in a network, for supporting an Ultra-Low Power receiver. See the abstract and paragraphs [0002] and [0117]-[0118].
a transceiver; and
See Figure 2 and paragraph [0042-0043] which discloses a transceiver 120.
at least one processor coupled to the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
See Figure 2 and paragraphs [0042-0043] which discloses a processor 118.
receive configuration information related to a paging from a base station, wherein the configuration information related to the paging includes information indicating a frame offset between a frame for receiving a wake-up signal and a paging frame (PF) for receiving a paging signal;
As set forth in the abstract, a WTRU may receive a ULP-specific configuration. As set forth in paragraphs [0136-0138],the WTRU may receive paging configuration/parameters. See also paragraphs [0208-0213] which disclose the WTRU receiving paging configuration and where the WTRU uses an Ultra Low Power receiver for low power-wake up signal (LP-WUS) detection. See also paragraphs [0136-0140]. See also paragraph [0117] in which the WTRU monitors paging occasions and initiated transition to RRC connected state.
The Examiner notes that although Elkotby discloses of determining a page frame and receiving a paging offset (see e.g. paragraphs [0102-0110] and [0113]), Elktoby does not specifically disclose wherein the configuration information related to the paging includes information indicating a frame offset between a frame for receiving a wake-up signal and a paging frame (PF) for receiving the paging signal.
Nonetheless, Elkotby ‘136 is directed to ultra-low power receivers. Elkotby ‘136 further discloses in paragraph [0202] that an LP-WUS configuration information addresses the always-on operation of the LEP receiver and the corresponding paging frame. As set forth therein, Elkotby ‘136 discloses a low power wake up signal (LP-WUS) configuration in which a time between the wake-up signal group indication and a paging frame is signaled by a paging frame offset. See paragraph [0202].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include configuration information with respect to a paging frame offset between the wake-up-signal and paging frame. Elkotby discloses that it was known to use a paging offset between a wake-up-signal (WUS) and LP-PDCCH’s paging DCI. See paragraphs [0270] and [0273]. In the same field of endeavor Elkotby ‘136 also discloses it was known that a paging frame offset is used in order to determine the separation in time domain between the start of the WUS and the associated PF. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a paging frame offset in order to determine the start of the paging frame for the wake-up-signal indication.
receive the wake-up signal from the base station; and
See paragraphs [0135] and [0183] and [0403] which discloses wake-up signaling and the reception of a wake-up signal from the network base station. See also claims 21 and 25 and Figure 3. . In addition, paragraphs [0030-0033] disclose the use of a base station for the transmission of signal. As set forth in paragraph [0232] “[t]he ULP receiver of the WTRU wakes up/is activated prior to the determined ULP-specific paging occasions. The ULP receiver detecting and blindly decoding the ULP paging occasions based on a configured/associated ULP search space. Upon a true paging addressed to the WTRU and determined based on any of the ULP paging early indication, the paging DCI over PDCCH/LP-PDCCH, and the paging record over PDSCH/LP-PDSCH, the WTRU's ULP receiver triggers a waking up signal to the conventional receiver such that it synchronizes with the Uu RAN interface and subsequently triggers the Uu RAN connection establishment/resume procedure.” See also paragraphs [0233], [0242] and [0260].
monitor a paging occasion (PO), based on the received wake-up signal.
Elkotby discloses, as set forth in paragraphs [0100-0101] that paging occasion (PO) can be monitored and the specific paging frame and subframe within that PF is the paging occasion.
In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0100], a Paging Frame is used and indicates the starting point to a PO. As set forth in paragraph [0101], a specific paging frame (PF) and subframe within that PF that the WTRU may monitor for paging may be determined based on the WTRU ID and parameters which are specified by the network. See also paragraphs [0102-0110] which discloses how the PF and PO for paging is determined.
Regarding claim 12:
The UE of claim 11, wherein the PF is included in cell-specific PFs including first PFs,and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine the PF as a first PF having a time difference as large as the frame offset included in the configuration information from a radio frame in which the wake-up signal is received.
See pages [0097-0099] which discloses that the radio frames (i.e. paging frames) can be configured as cell-specific as well as WTRU-specific paging cycle. See also paragraph [0207]. As set forth in paragraph [0113], the values of PF_offset is derived from the parameter nAndPagingFrameOffset as defined in TS 38.331. See also paragraph [0140] which discloses that the PO transmission configuration includes e.g. a time offset from a detected LP_WUS. See also paragraph [0143] discloses that “[t]he maximum time duration [as large as a frame offset] may indicate an offset defining the beginning of PO and paging message transmissions with respect to when the LP-WUS is transmitted.” See also paragraph [0152]. In paragraph [0207], Elkotby discloses that the node jay configured the WTRUs with two sets of cell-specific paging settings.
Regarding claim 20:
The UE of claim 11, wherein a paging occasion for receiving the paging in the PF is determined at a subframe level or a symbol level in a subframe based on configuration information.
Elkotby discloses, as set forth in paragraphs [0100-0101] that paging occasion (PO) can be monitored and the specific paging frame and subframe within that PF is the paging occasion. Thus, the paging occasion is determined as a subframe level.
Claim(s) 4, 6-9, 14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby in view of Elkotby ‘136 and further in view of Mangalvedhe et al. WO 2020/150871.
Regarding claim 4:
The method of claim 1, wherein the PF is included in a dedicated PF related to the wake-up signal and includes second PFs that are distinguished from cell-specific PFs including first PFs, and wherein the PF is determined as a PF having a time difference as large as the frame offset included in the configuration information in the dedicated PF from a radio frame in which the wake-up signal is received.
See pages [0097-0099] of Elkotby which discloses that the radio frames (i.e. paging frames) can be configured as cell-specific as well as WTRU-specific paging cycle. See also paragraph [0207] (“the RAN node may configure the ULP-capable WTRUs with two temporary IDs (e.g., I-RNTI, s-TMSI, TMSI), and two sets of the cell-specific paging settings (e.g., a paging periodicity) for the ULP and conventional receivers, respectively”).
As set forth in paragraph [0113], the values of PF_offset are derived from the parameter nAndPagingFrameOffset as defined in TS 38.331. See also paragraph [0140] which discloses that the PO transmission configuration includes e.g. a time offset from a detected LP_WUS. See also paragraph [0143] discloses that “[t]he maximum time duration [as large as a frame offset] may indicate an offset defining the beginning of PO and paging message transmissions with respect to when the LP-WUS is transmitted.” See also paragraph [0152]. See also paragraph [0101] which discloses that the specific Paging Frame (PF) and subframe within that PF Is set based on the parameters specified by the network.
Elkotby does not specifically disclose of a second PFs that are distinguished from cell-specific PFs. However, Elkotby does disclose a plurality of paging frames for indicating the starting point of a PO. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the PF can include second PFs that are distinguished from cell-specific PFs. See also paragraph [0107] which discloses the total number of paging frames and thus clearly suggest of a second paging frame.
Nonetheless, Mangalvedhe discloses that it was known to determine a position of the second paging frame and that it is distinguished from the first paging frame (which is based on a different time period). See paragraph [00118]. Mangalvedhe also discloses , “the cell-specific and UE-specific DRX configurations may be specified for the terminal device in the coverage of a cell. As shown in FIG. 1, the terminal device 120- may obtain its DRX configuration directly from the network device
110.” See paragraph [0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to distinguish second paging frames from cell-specific paging frames. As explained by Mangalvedhe it was known for cell-specific and UE specific configuration to be specified by the network device. In addition, as explained by Elkotby, it was known for a plurality of paging frames to be indicated including the first staring point. Mangalvedhe, like Elkotby discloses that in addition to the first staring position of a first paging occasion and its offset, a second start position of a second paging frame can be determined. Thus, it would have been predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art to distinguish a second PF from a cell specific PF in the system of Elkotby based on its teachings of a plurality of paging frames.
Regarding claim 6:
The method of claim 4, wherein the dedicated PF associated with the wake-up signal is determined based on a specific offset for determining the PF in the UE supporting the wake-up receiver, and wherein the offset is received through the configuration information.
Elkotby, as set forth above, discloses dedicated PFs for the WTRU. In addition, as set forth in paragraphs [0102-0110] of Elkotby, the PF and PO is determined using the following formula:
. As further set forth therein, a PF-offset is used for PF determination. See also paragraph [0101] which discloses that the parameters/configuration are provided to the WTRU by the network.
Regarding claim 7:
The method of claim 6, wherein the dedicated PF is determined using the following Equation: (SFN + PF_offset_WUS) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N), wherein PF_offset_WUS is the specific offset, T is a DRX cycle, N is a number of PFs per DRX cycle, and UE_ID is an identity of the UE.
As set forth in paragraphs [0102-0110] of Elkotby, the PF and PO is determined using the following formula:
.
In addition, Elkotby discloses that the T is a DRX cycle (paragraph [0106]), N is the number of frames (paragraph [0108]), and WTRU_ID (UE_ID) is an identify of the WTRU (UE). See paragraph [0110].
Regarding claim 8:
The method of claim 1, wherein the PF is included in cell-specific PFs including first PFs, and wherein the PF is determined as a second PF obtained by subtracting the frame offset included in the configuration information from a first PF arriving earliest in the cell-specific PFs among PFs calculated using identification information of the UE.
As set forth in paragraphs [0102-0110], the PF and PO is determined using the following formula:
.
In addition, Elkotby discloses that the T is a DRX cycle (paragraph [0106]), N is the number of paging frames (paragraph [0108]), and WTRU_ID (UE_ID) is an identify of the WTRU (UE). See paragraphs [0110].
The Examiner further notes that Mangalvedhe discloses “the terminal device 120-1 may obtain a first starting position of the first paging frame and the first starting position of the first paging occasion in the first DRX period, based on the time requirement for forwarding the paging message to the further terminal device 120-2 and determine, based on the first start position of the first paging frame, the first start position of the first paging occasion and the offset, a second start position of a second paging frame in a second DRX cycle and a second start position of a second paging occasion in the second DRX cycle.” See paragraph [0101].
As set forth above, it would have been obvious to determine a paging frame (‘second PF) based on a specific offset for determining the specific paging frame in the UE. As explained by Mangalvehe, it was known to use offsets to determine a second paging frame relative to a first paging frame. Therefore, by applying this well-known method, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it predictable to determine the dedicated PF by subtracting a frame offset (this is based on the difference in offset between the first paging frame and the second paging frame) included in the configuration information (see paragraph [0101] of Elkotby) from a first PF arriving earliest in the cell-specific PFs among PFs calculated using identification information of the UE.
Regarding claim 9:
The method of claim 1, wherein the PF is included in a dedicated PF, related to the wake-up signal, including second PFs, which are distinguished from cell-specific PFs including first PFs, and wherein the PF is determined as a second PF obtained by subtracting the frame offset included in the configuration information from a first PF arriving earliest in the cell-specific PFs among PFs calculated using identification information of the UE.
As set forth in paragraphs [0102-0110], the PF and PO is determined using the following formula:
.
In addition, Elkotby discloses that the T is a DRX cycle (paragraph [0106]), N is the number of paiging frames (paragraph [0108]), and WTRU_ID (UE_ID) is an identify of the WTRU (UE). See paragraphs [0110].
In addition, the Examiner notes that Mangalvedhe discloses “the terminal device 120-1 may obtain a first starting position of the first paging frame and the first starting position of the first paging occasion in the first DRX period, based on the time requirement for forwarding the paging message to the further terminal device 120-2 and determine, based on the first start position of the first paging frame, the first start position of the first paging occasion and the offset, a second start position of a second paging frame in a second DRX cycle and a second start position of a second paging occasion in the second DRX cycle.” See paragraph [00101].
As set forth above, it would have been obvious to determine a paging frame (‘second PF) based on a specific offset for determining the specific paging frame in the UE. As explained by Mangalvehe, it was known to use offsets to determine a second paging frame relative to a first paging frame. Therefore, by applying this well-known method, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it predictable to determine the dedicated PF by subtracting a frame offset (this is based on the difference in offset between the first paging frame and the second paging frame) included in the configuration information (see paragraph [0101] of Elkotby) from a first PF arriving earliest in the cell-specific PFs among PFs calculated using identification information of the UE.
Regarding claim 14:
The UE of claim 11, wherein the PF is included in a dedicated PF related to the wake-up signal including second PFs that are distinguished from cell-specific PFs including first PFs, and wherein at least one the processor is further configured to determine the PF as a PF having a time difference as large as the frame offset included in the configuration information in the dedicated PF from a radio frame in which the wake-up signal is received.
See pages [0097-0099] of Elkotby which discloses that the radio frames (i.e. paging frames) can be configured as cell-specific as well as WTRU-specific paging cycle. See also paragraph [0207] (“the RAN node may configure the ULP-capable WTRUs with two temporary IDs (e.g., I-RNTI, s-TMSI, TMSI), and two sets of the cell-specific paging settings (e.g., a paging periodicity) for the ULP and conventional receivers, respectively”).
As set forth in paragraph [0113], the values of PF_offset is derived from the parameter nAndPagingFrameOffset as defined in TS 38.331. See also paragraph [0140] which discloses that the PO transmission configuration includes e.g. a time offset from a detected LP_WUS. See also paragraph [0143] discloses that “[t]he maximum time duration [as large as a frame offset] may indicate an offset defining the beginning of PO and paging message transmissions with respect to when the LP-WUS is transmitted.” See also paragraph [0152]. See also paragraph [0101] which discloses that the specific Paging Frame (PF) and subframe within that PF Is set based on the parameters specified by the network.
Elkotby does not specifically disclose of a second PFs that are distinguished from cell-specific PFs. However, Elkotby does disclose a plurality of paging frames for indicating the starting point of a PO. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the specific PF can include second PFs that are distinguished from cell-specific PFs. See also paragraph [0107] which discloses the total number of paging frames and thus clearly suggest of a second paging frame.
Nonetheless, Mangalvedhe discloses that it was known to determine a position of the second paging frame and that it is distinguished from the first paging frame (which is based on a different time period). See paragraph [00118]. Mangalvedhe also discloses , “the cell-specific and UE-specific DRX configurations may be specified for the terminal device in the coverage of a cell. As shown in FIG. 1, the terminal device 120- may obtain its DRX configuration directly from the network device
110.” See paragraph [0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to distinguish second paging frames from cell-specific paging frames. As explained by Mangalvedhe it was known for cell-specific and UE specific configuration to be specified by the network device. In addition, as explained by Elkotby, it was known for a plurality of paging frames to be indicated including the first staring point. Mangalvedhe, like Elkotby discloses that in addition to the first staring position of a first paging occasion and its offset, a second start position of a second paging frame can be determined. Thus, it would have been predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art to distinguish a second PF from a cell specific PF in the system of Elkotby based on its teachings of a plurality of paging frames.
Regarding claim 16:
The UE of claim 14, wherein the dedicated PF associated with the wake-up signal is determined based on a specific offset for determining the PF in the UE supporting the wake-up receiver, and wherein the specific offset is received through the configuration information.
Elkotby, as set forth above, discloses of dedicated PFs for the WTRU. In addition, as set forth in paragraphs [0102-0110] of Elkotby, the PF and PO is determined using the following formula:
. As further set forth therein, a PF-offset is used for PF determination. See also paragraph [0101] which discloses that the parameters/configuration are provided to the WTRU by the network.
Regarding claim 17:
The UE of claim 16, wherein the dedicated PF is determined using the following Equation: (SFN + PF_offset_WUS) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N), wherein PF_offset_WUS is the specific offset, T is a DRX cycle, N is a number of PFs per DRX cycle, and UE_ID is an identity of the UE.
As set forth in paragraphs [0102-0110] of Elkotby, the PF and PO is determined using the following formula:
.
In addition, Elkotby discloses that the T is a DRX cycle (paragraph [0106]), N is the number of frames (paragraph [0108]), and WTRU_ID (UE_ID) is an identify of the WTRU (UE). See paragraphs [0110].
Regarding claim 18:
The UE of claim 11, wherein the PF is included in cell-specific PFs including first PFs, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine the PF as a second PF obtained by subtracting a frame offset included in the configuration information from a first PF arriving earliest in the cell-specific PFs among PFs calculated using identification information about the UE.
As set forth in paragraphs [0102-0110], the PF and PO is determined using the following formula:
.
In addition, Elkotby discloses that the T is a DRX cycle (paragraph [0106]), N is the number of paiging frames (paragraph [0108]), and WTRU_ID (UE_ID) is an identify of the WTRU (UE). See paragraphs [0110].
The Examiner further notes that Mangalvedhe discloses “the terminal device 120-1 may obtain a first starting position of the first paging frame and the first starting position of the first paging occasion in the first DRX period, based on the time requirement for forwarding the paging message to the further terminal device 120-2 and determine, based on the first start position of the first paging frame, the first start position of the first paging occasion and the offset, a second start position of a second paging frame in a second DRX cycle and a second start position of a second paging occasion in the second DRX cycle.” See paragraph [0101].
As set forth above, it would have been obvious to determine a paging frame (‘second PF) based on a specific offset for determining the specific paging frame in the UE. As explained by Mangalvehe, it was known to use offsets to determine a second paging frame relative to a first paging frame. Therefore, by applying this well-known method, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it predictable to determine the dedicated PF by subtracting a frame offset (this is based on the difference in offset between the first paging frame and the second paging frame) included in the configuration information (see paragraph [0101] of Elkotby) from a first PF arriving earliest in the cell-specific PFs among PFs calculated using identification information of the UE.
Regarding claim 19:
The UE of claim 11, wherein the PF is included in a dedicated PF related to the wake-up signal including second PFs that are distinguished from cell-specific PFs including first PFs, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine the PF as a second PF obtained by subtracting a frame offset included in the configuration information from a first PF arriving earliest in the cell-specific PFs among PFs calculated using identification information of the UE.
As set forth in paragraphs [0102-0110], the PF and PO is determined using the following formula:
.
In addition, Elkotby discloses that the T is a DRX cycle (paragraph [0106]), N is the number of paiging frames (paragraph [0108]), and WTRU_ID (UE_ID) is an identify of the WTRU (UE). See paragraphs [0110].
In addition, the Examiner notes that Mangalvedhe discloses “the terminal device 120-1 may obtain a first starting position of the first paging frame and the first starting position of the first paging occasion in the first DRX period, based on the time requirement for forwarding the paging message to the further terminal device 120-2 and determine, based on the first start position of the first paging frame, the first start position of the first paging occasion and the offset, a second start position of a second paging frame in a second DRX cycle and a second start position of a second paging occasion in the second DRX cycle.” See paragraph [00101].
As set forth above, it would have been obvious to determine a paging frame (‘second PF) based on a specific offset for determining the specific paging frame in the UE. As explained by Mangalvehe, it was known to use offsets to determine a second paging frame relative to a first paging frame. Therefore, by applying this well-known method, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it predictable to determine the dedicated PF by subtracting a frame offset (this is based on the difference in offset between the first paging frame and the second paging frame) included in the configuration information (see paragraph [0101] of Elkotby) from a first PF arriving earliest in the cell-specific PFs among PFs calculated using identification information of the UE.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ovidio Escalante/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
1 Elkotby et al. US Patent Pub. 2026/0067136 claims priority to US Provisional Application 63/401,952 which was filed on August 29, 2022. Support for the relied upon citations is found in at least paragraph [0209] of the provisional application.