DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 05/10/2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 05/10/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/10/2024, 05/07/2026, and 06/18/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign mentioned in the description: Socket/plug 344 is never labeled in the Drawings, but is mentioned in the specification five times in Par. [0109]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: Reference character “342” is shown in the drawings {Figs. 30-32}, but never mentioned in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, line 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “of head region” should read, “of the head region”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, lines 19-20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the electrical socket is configured to receive an electrical connector” should read, “the electrical socket is configured to receive a second electrical connector” (Since the socket is a part of the electrical connector). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “of T-slot” should read, “of the T-slot”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3, line 2-3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the socket” should read, “the electrical socket”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10, line 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “of claim 9 further comprising” should read, “of claim 9, further comprising”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10, lines 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the first and second buses” should read, “the at least one first and second electrical bus”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-11, 14, 16-17 and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo (US 2022/0379827).
Regarding claim 9, Yoo discloses an electrical system {Fig. 15} for a vehicle {“vehicle” [0039]} comprising:
a first sleeve {820 left of 823 (Fig. 8)} disposed within a channel {interior of 820} defined by a vehicle frame {F+800 (820+840): “a rail 800 of a vehicle seat (S) includes a lower rail 820 and an upper rail 840” [0039]}, extending longitudinally in a first direction {left/right direction (Fig. 2)} between forward {left region (Fig. 2)} and rearward {right region (Fig. 2)} regions of the vehicle {“vehicle” [0039]}, and defining a first slot {that accommodates 243a, 840 (left), 880 (left)}, wherein the first slot {that accommodates 243a, 840 (left), 880 (left)} extends longitudinally in the first direction {left/right direction (Fig. 2)} between the forward {left region (Fig. 2)} and rearward {right region (Fig. 2)} regions of the vehicle {“vehicle” [0039]}, the first slot {that accommodates 243a, 840 (left), 880 (left)} is open along an edge {facing 823} of the first sleeve {820 left of 823 (Fig. 8)}, and the edge {facing 823} of the first sleeve {820 left of 823 (Fig. 8)} faces laterally relative to the first direction {left/right direction (Fig. 2), equivalent to a Z-axis (into/out of the page) direction in Fig. 8};
at least one first electrical bus {40 (40a+40b left)} disposed in the first slot {that accommodates 243a, 840 (left), 880 (left): “electrode plate assembly 140 may be attached to an inner surface of any one of an upper plate, a side plate, and a lower plate of the lower rail 820” [0045]};
a second sleeve {820 right of 823 (Fig. 8)} disposed within the channel {interior of 820} defined by the vehicle frame {F+800 (820+840)}, spaced-apart from the first sleeve {820 left of 823 (Fig. 8)}, extending longitudinally in the first direction {left/right direction (Fig. 2)} between the forward {left region (Fig. 2)} and rearward {right region (Fig. 2)} regions of the vehicle {“vehicle” [0039]}, and defining a second slot {that accommodates 243b, 840 (right), 880 (right)}, wherein the second slot {that accommodates 243b, 840 (right), 880 (right)} extends longitudinally in the first direction {left/right direction (Fig. 2)} between the forward {left region (Fig. 2)} and rearward {right region (Fig. 2)} regions of the vehicle {“vehicle” [0039]}, the second slot {that accommodates 243b, 840 (right), 880 (right)} is open along an edge {facing 823} of the second sleeve {820 right of 823 (Fig. 8)}, and the edge {facing 823} of the second sleeve {820 right of 823 (Fig. 8)} faces laterally relative to the first direction {left/right direction (Fig. 2)} and toward the edge {facing 823} of the first sleeve {820 left of 823 (Fig. 8)}; and
at least one second electrical bus {40 (40a+40b right)} disposed in the second slot {that accommodates 243b, 840 (right), 880 (right)}, wherein the at least one first electrical bus {40 (40a+40b left)} and the at least one second electrical bus {40 (40a+40b right)} are configured to deliver power to one or more modular components {S: “the brush assembly 240 is configured to receive power from the electrode plate assembly 140 or the electrodes plates 143a, 143b, and to supply the power to the electronic parts of the seat” [0051]} that are securable to and movable along the vehicle frame {F+800 (820): “The upper rail 840 mounts and supports a seat frame and is movably configured along the lower rail 820” [0039]}.
Regarding claim 10, Yoo discloses an electrical connector {240} having a base {241+245}, electrical contacts {243a, 243b} disposed on an exterior surface of the base {241+245}, and an electrical plug {243} extending from the base {241+245}, wherein (i) the base {241+245} is disposed within the first {that accommodates 243a, 840 (left), 880 (left)} and second {that accommodates 243b, 840 (right), 880 (right)} slots and (ii) the electrical contacts {243a, 243b} engage the first {40 (40a+40b left)} and second {40 (40a+40b right)} buses to establish an electrical connection between the first {40 (40a+40b left)} and second {40 (40a+40b right)} buses and the electrical plug {243}, wherein the electrical connector {240} is movable within the first and second sleeves {820 (left and right of 823)} along the frame {F+800: “The upper rail 840 mounts and supports a seat frame and is movably configured along the lower rail 820” [0039]; “The brush assembly 240 may be attached to any one of an upper plate, a side plate, and a lower plate of the upper rail 840 of the seat” [0051]} to establish an electrical connection and deliver power to the one or more modular components {S: “the brush assembly 240 is configured to receive power from the electrode plate assembly 140 or the electrodes plates 143a, 143b, and to supply the power to the electronic parts of the seat” [0051]}.
Regarding claim 11, Yoo discloses the electrical plug {243} extends outward from the channel {interior of 820} and laterally relative to the first direction {left/right direction (Fig. 2)}.
Regarding claim 14, Yoo discloses a primary bus {40a (left)} of the at least one first electrical bus {40 (40a+40b left)} is configured to deliver electrical power {“distribution element 40a may be configured to deliver power through the contact” [0044]} and a secondary bus {40b (right)} of the at least one second electrical bus {40 (40a+40b right)} is configured to transmit data {“distribution element 40b may be configured to receive the power and the signal from the pogo pin assembly 10 and to deliver the signal to the electronic parts through the contact. To this end, the distribution element 40b may include a PCB assembly 340 and a signal delivery assembly 440” [0057]; “The PCB 343 is connected to the pogo pin assembly 10 which is a signal supply source. For example, the signal may also be supplied to the seat (S) by the pogo pin assembly 10 from an external controller or the like” [0060]}.
Regarding claim 16, Yoo discloses a tertiary bus {40b (left)} of the at least one first electrical bus {40 (40a+40b left)} or a tertiary bus {40b (right)} of the at least one second electrical bus {40 (40a+40b right)} is configured to transmit data {“distribution element 40b may be configured to receive the power and the signal from the pogo pin assembly 10 and to deliver the signal to the electronic parts through the contact. To this end, the distribution element 40b may include a PCB assembly 340 and a signal delivery assembly 440” [0057]; “The PCB 343 is connected to the pogo pin assembly 10 which is a signal supply source. For example, the signal may also be supplied to the seat (S) by the pogo pin assembly 10 from an external controller or the like” [0060]}.
Regarding claim 17, Yoo discloses a vehicle electrical system {Fig. 15} comprising:
a first sleeve {820 left of 823 (Fig. 8)} extending longitudinally between first {right end (Fig. 2)} and second {left end (Fig. 2)} ends, defining a first slot {that accommodates 243a, 840 (left), 880 (left)} extending longitudinally between the first and second ends {right and left ends (Fig. 2)}, wherein the first slot {that accommodates 243a, 840 (left), 880 (left)} is open along a lateral side {facing 823} of the first sleeve {820 left of 823 (Fig. 8)};
at least one first bus bar {40 (40a+40b left)} disposed within the first slot {that accommodates 243a, 840 (left), 880 (left): “electrode plate assembly 140 may be attached to an inner surface of any one of an upper plate, a side plate, and a lower plate of the lower rail 820” [0045]} and extending longitudinally between the first and second ends {right and left ends (Fig. 2)};
a second sleeve {820 right of 823 (Fig. 8)} extending longitudinally between third {right end (Fig. 2)} and fourth {left end (Fig. 2)} ends, defining a second slot {that accommodates 243b, 840 (right), 880 (right)} extending longitudinally between the third and fourth ends {right and left ends (Fig. 2)}, wherein the second slot {that accommodates 243b, 840 (right), 880 (right)} is open along a lateral side {facing 823} of the second sleeve {820 right of 823 (Fig. 8)}; and
at least one second bus bar {40 (40a+40b right)} disposed within the second slot {that accommodates 243b, 840 (right), 880 (right)} and extending longitudinally between the third and fourth ends {right and left ends (Fig. 2)}, wherein the at least one first {40 (40a+40b left)} and second {40 (40a+40b right)} bus bars are configured to collectively engage an electrical connector {240} that is disposed within the first {that accommodates 243a, 840 (left), 880 (left)} and second {that accommodates 243b, 840 (right), 880 (right)} slots, wherein the electrical connector {240} is movable within the first {820 left of 823 (Fig. 8)} and second {820 right of 823 (Fig. 8)} sleeves {“The upper rail 840 mounts and supports a seat frame and is movably configured along the lower rail 820” [0039]; “The brush assembly 240 may be attached to any one of an upper plate, a side plate, and a lower plate of the upper rail 840 of the seat” [0051]} to deliver power to a modular component { S: “the brush assembly 240 is configured to receive power from the electrode plate assembly 140 or the electrodes plates 143a, 143b, and to supply the power to the electronic parts of the seat” [0051]} that is movable between various positions [0039].
Regarding claim 19, Yoo discloses a primary bus bar {40a (left)} of the at least one first bus bar {40 (40a+40b left)} is configured to deliver electrical power {“distribution element 40a may be configured to deliver power through the contact” [0044]} and a secondary bus bar {40b (right)} of the at least one second bus bar {40 (40a+40b right)} is configured to transmit data {“distribution element 40b may be configured to receive the power and the signal from the pogo pin assembly 10 and to deliver the signal to the electronic parts through the contact. To this end, the distribution element 40b may include a PCB assembly 340 and a signal delivery assembly 440” [0057]; “The PCB 343 is connected to the pogo pin assembly 10 which is a signal supply source. For example, the signal may also be supplied to the seat (S) by the pogo pin assembly 10 from an external controller or the like” [0060]}.
Regarding claim 20, Yoo discloses a tertiary bus bar {40b (left)} of the at least one first bus bar {40 (40a+40b left)} or a tertiary bus bar {40b (right)} of the at least one second bus bar {40 (40a+40b right)} is configured to transmit data {“distribution element 40b may be configured to receive the power and the signal from the pogo pin assembly 10 and to deliver the signal to the electronic parts through the contact. To this end, the distribution element 40b may include a PCB assembly 340 and a signal delivery assembly 440” [0057]; “The PCB 343 is connected to the pogo pin assembly 10 which is a signal supply source. For example, the signal may also be supplied to the seat (S) by the pogo pin assembly 10 from an external controller or the like” [0060]}.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the closest prior art of record is Yoo. Yoo discloses a vehicle {“vehicle” [0039]} comprising:
a frame {F: “vehicle body floor (F)” [0039]} having a rail {800 (820+840): “a rail 800 of a vehicle seat (S) includes a lower rail 820 and an upper rail 840” [0039]} extending longitudinally between forward {left side (Fig. 2)} and rearward {right side (Fig. 2)} regions of the vehicle {“vehicle” [0039]}, the rail {800} defining a T-slot {via 820 (Fig. 8)} having a head region {820} and a neck region {850}, wherein the T-slot {defined by 820} is configured to receive fasteners {860} for mounting vehicle subcomponents {S} and subsystems {10 (20, 30), 40 (140, 240), 50} to the frame {F: “the lower rail 820 may be fixed by fastening a mounting bolt 860 to the floor (F)” [0039]};
a first sleeve {820 left of 823 (Fig. 8)} having a first open end {towards 850} defining a first slot {that accommodates 243a, 840 (left), 880 (left)}, having at least one first bus {143a} disposed along an interior surface of the first sleeve {820 left of 823 (Fig. 8): “electrode plate assembly 140 may be attached to an inner surface of any one of an upper plate, a side plate, and a lower plate of the lower rail 820” [0045]} within the first slot {that accommodates 243a, 840 (left), 880 (left)}, and disposed within the T-slot {defined by 820} along a first side {left side (Fig. 8)} of the head region {820};
a second sleeve {820 right of 823 (Fig. 8)} having a second open end {towards 850} defining a second slot {that accommodates 243b, 840 (right), 880 (right)}, having at least one second bus {143b} disposed along an interior surface of the second sleeve {820 right of 823 (Fig. 8)} within the second slot {that accommodates 243b, 840 (right), 880 (right)}, and disposed within the T-slot {defined by 820} along a second side {right side (Fig. 8)} of head region {820}; and
an electrical connector {240} having a base {241+245}, electrical contacts {243 (243a, 243b)} disposed on an exterior surface of the base {241+245}, wherein a first region {241+245 (left)} of the base {241+245} is disposed within the first slot {that accommodates 243a, 840 (left), 880 (left)} such that a first portion {243a} of the electrical contacts {243} engages the at least one first bus {143a}, a second region {241+245 (right)} of the base {241+245} is disposed within the second slot {that accommodates 243b, 840 (right), 880 (right)} such that a second portion {243b} of the electrical contacts {243} engages the at least one second bus {143b}, and the engagement between the electrical contacts {243} and the at least one first and second buses {143a, 143b} establishes an electrical connection between the at least one first and second buses {143a, 143b}, wherein the electrical connector {240} is movable within the first and second sleeves {820} along the rail {800}, and wherein the electrical connector {240} is configured to deliver power to a modular component {S: “the brush assembly 240 is configured to receive power from the electrode plate assembly 140 or the electrodes plates 143a, 143b, and to supply the power to the electronic parts of the seat” [0051]} that is securable to and movable along the rail {800 (820): “The upper rail 840 mounts and supports a seat frame and is movably configured along the lower rail 820” [0039]}.
However, Yoo does not explicitly disclose an electrical socket extending from the base, and the engagement between the electrical contacts and the at least one first and second buses establishes an electrical connection between the at least one first and second buses and the electrical socket, wherein the electrical connector is movable within the first and second sleeves along the rail, and wherein the electrical socket is configured to receive an electrical connector (emphasis added).
Several of the prior art of record, disclose an electrical configured to receive an electrical connector; including Yoo, in the prior art drawing of Figure 1. However, none of the prior art disclose a connector extending from a base as claim. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to have modified the base of Yoo to include an electrical socket attached to the base, since the base is already maximizing out the space within the T-slot.
Therefore, regarding claim 1, none of the prior art of record, either alone or in obvious combination discloses a vehicle comprising: a frame having a rail extending longitudinally between forward and rearward regions of the vehicle, the rail defining a T-slot having a head region and a neck region, wherein the T-slot is configured to receive fasteners for mounting vehicle subcomponents and subsystems to the frame; a first sleeve having a first open end defining a first slot, having at least one first bus disposed along an interior surface of the first sleeve within the first slot, and disposed within the T-slot along a first side of the head region; a second sleeve having a second open end defining a second slot, having at least one second bus disposed along an interior surface of the second sleeve within the second slot, and disposed within the T-slot along a second side of head region; and an electrical connector having a base, electrical contacts disposed on an exterior surface of the base, and an electrical socket extending from the base, wherein a first region of the base is disposed within the first slot such that a first portion of the electrical contacts engages the at least one first bus, a second region of the base is disposed within the second slot such that a second portion of the electrical contacts engages the at least one second bus, and the engagement between the electrical contacts and the at least one first and second buses establishes an electrical connection between the at least one first and second buses and the electrical socket, wherein the electrical connector is movable within the first and second sleeves along the rail, and wherein the electrical socket is configured to receive an electrical connector to deliver power or data to a modular component that is securable to and movable along the rail (emphasis added).
Accordingly, claims 2-8 are allowable by virtue of dependence from claim 1.
Claims 12-13, 15, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 12, none of the prior art of record, either alone or in obvious combination discloses the electrical system of claim 9, wherein a primary bus of the at least one first electrical bus is configured to deliver electrical power at a first output level and a secondary bus of the at least one second electrical bus is configured to deliver electrical power at a second output level that is greater than the first output level (emphasis added).
Accordingly, claim 13 is in condition for allowance by virtue of dependence from claim 12.
Regarding claim 15, none of the prior art of record, either alone or in obvious combination discloses the electrical system of claim 14, wherein a tertiary bus of the at least one first electrical bus or a tertiary bus of the at least one second electrical bus is a ground connection.
Regarding claim 18, none of the prior art of record, either alone or in obvious combination discloses the vehicle electrical system of claim 17, wherein a primary bus bar of the at least one first bus bar is configured to deliver electrical power at a first output level and a secondary bus bar of the at least one second bus bar is configured to deliver electrical power at a second output level that is greater than the first output level (emphasis added).
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614