DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 remain for examination, wherein claim 1 is an independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al (US-PG-pub 2013/0337287 A1, corresponding US 9592772 B2, thereafter PG’287) in view of Kim et al (US-PG-pub 2021/0381091 A1, thereafter PG’091).
Regarding claims 1-19, PG’287 teaches a welded joint (Fig.3, par.[0028] of PG’287) of the hot-dip plated steel sheets (Abstract, examples, and claims of PG’287), which reads on the welded joint with 1st and 2nd steel sheet and weld bead portion formed by welding with plating layer on the steel sheet as claimed in the instant claims. The comparison between the claimed plating alloy composition ranges in the instant claims and those disclosed by the PG’287 (par.[0062]-[0068] of PG’287) is listed in the following table. All of the essential alloy composition ranges disclosed by PG’287 overlap the claimed alloy composition ranges as recited in the instant claims, which creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144 05 I. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the plating alloy composition ranges including Al, Mg, Fe, Si, Ca, Sb, Pb, Sr, Cu, Ti, V, Cr, Nb, Ni, Mn, Mo, Sn, Zr, Co, W, Ag, Li, la, Ce, Y, Bi, In, B, and Zn from the disclosures on PG’287 since PG’287 teaches the same weld joint with plating layer on the steel sheet as claimed throughout whole disclosing range.
Element
From instant Claims 1 and 3-19 (mass%)
From PG’287 (mass %)
Overlapping range
(mass %)
Al
5.0-40.0 (cl.1);
10.0-40.0 (cl.5-7);
15.0-40.0 (8-10)
3-22
5.0-22 (cl.1);
10.0-22 (cl.1);
15.0-22 (cl.1);
Mg
3.0-15.0 (cl.1)
4.5-15.0 (cl.3);
5.5-15.0 (cl.4)
0.05-10.0
3.0-10.0 (cl.1)
4.5-10.0 (cl.3);
5.5-10.0 (cl.4)
Fe
0.01-15.00
Up to 2.0
0.01-2.0
Si
0-10.00
0.005-2.0
0.005-2.0
Ca
0-1.5000
1 or less
0-1.5000
Sb
0-0.5000
Not intended added
0
Pb
0-0.5000
Not intended added
0
Sr
0-0.5000
1 or less
0.5 or less
Cu
0-1.0000
1 or less
1 or less
Ti
0-1.0000
0.0005-0.1
0.0005-0.1
V
0-1.0000
Not intended added
0
Cr
0-1.0000
1 or less
1 or less
Nb
0-1.0000
Not intended added
0
Ni
0-1.0000
1 or less
1 or less
Mn
0-1.0000
1 or less
1 or less
Mo
0-1.0000
Not intended added
0
Sn
0-1.0000 (cl.1);
0.0200-1.00 (cl.11-19)
1 or less
0-1.0000 (cl.1);
0.0200-1.00 (cl.11-19)
Zr
0-1.0000
Not intended added
0
Co
0-1.0000
1 or less
1 or less
W
0-1.0000
Not intended added
0
Ag
0-1.0000
Not intended added
0
Li
0-1.0000
Not intended added
0
La
0-0.5000
Not intended added
0
Ce
0-0.5000
Not intended added
0
Y
0-0.5000
Not intended added
0
Bi
0-0.5000
Not intended added
0
In
0-0.5000
Not intended added
0
B
0-0.5000
0.0001-0.05
0.0001-0.05
Zn
Remainder: 20.000 or more and impurities
Balance
Balance
From claim 2
From PG’287
Within range
One or more
Si: 0.01-10.00;
Ca: 0.0001-1.5000;
Sb, Pb, Sr, La, Ce, Y, B, In, B:: 0.0001-0.5000;
Cu, Ti, V, Cr, Nb, Ni, Mn, Mo, Sn, Zr, Co, W, Ag, Li: 0.0001-1.0000
Ti: 0.0005-0.1
B: 0.0001-0.05
Ti: 0.0005-0.1
B: 0.0001-0.05
Still regarding claims 1, 3-4, and 11-19, the claimed Fe-Al, Fe-Zn phases (cl.1); Mg-Zn phases (cl.1 and 3-4); and Mg2Sn (cl.11-19) are recognized as microstructures fully depended on the alloy composition and heat treatment. Since PG’287 teaches the same welded joint having the same plating alloy layer with the similar alloy composition ranges as claimed, the claimed phases, for example Fe-Al, Fe-Zn phases (cl.1); Mg-Zn phases (cl.1 and 3-4); and Mg2Sn (cl.11-19), would be highly expected in the welded joint of PG’287. MPEP 2112 01 and 2145 II. It is noted that PG’287 does not specify the claimed area portion of the Mg-Zn phase as claimed in the instant claims 1 and 3-4. PG’091 teaches a zinc alloy-plated steel material used in automobiles, building materials, home appliances, and the like (Abstract and par.[0001] of PG’091) with Zn-Al-Mg plating layer (par.[0012]-[0013] of PG’091). PG’091 teaches forming 20-45 area% Mg-Zn phases in the plating layer (par.[0035] of PG’091), which is within the claimed Mg-Zn phase ranges of the instant claims. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize distribution of Mg-Zn phases from the disclosures on PG’091 for the plating layer of PG’287 in order to obtain excellent corrosion resistance for the steel sheet (par.[0001] of PG’091).
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-19 of copending application No. 18/660866 (US-PG-pub 2025/0346976 A1).
Regarding instant Claims 1-9, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because Claims 1-19 of copending application No. 18/660866 (US-PG-pub 2025/0346976 A1) teaches the same welded joint with plating Zn-Al-Mg alloy layer having composition ranges overlap the claimed alloy composition ranges, which creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144 05 I. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the plating Zn-Al-Mg alloy composition from the disclosure of Claims 1-19 of copending application No. 18/660866 (US-PG-pub 2025/0346976 A1) since Claims 1-19 of copending application No. 18/660866 (US-PG-pub 2025/0346976 A1) teaches the same welded joint as claimed throughout whole disclosing range. Thus, no patentable distinction was found in the instant claims compared with the Claims 1-19 of copending application No. 18/660866 (US-PG-pub 2025/0346976 A1).
This is a provisional obvious-type double patenting rejection since the conflict claims in the copending application have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-7 of copending application No. 18/716435 (US-PG-pub 2025/0035139 A1).
Regarding instant Claims 1-9, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because Claims 1-7 of copending application No. 18/716435 (US-PG-pub 2025/0035139 A1) teaches the same welded joint with plating Zn-Al-Mg alloy layer having composition ranges overlap the claimed alloy composition ranges, which creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144 05 I. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the plating Zn-Al-Mg alloy composition from the disclosure of Claims 1-7 of copending application No. 18/716435 (US-PG-pub 2025/0035139 A1) since Claims 1-7 of copending application No. 18/716435 (US-PG-pub 2025/0035139 A1) teaches the same welded joint as claimed throughout whole disclosing range. Thus, no patentable distinction was found in the instant claims compared with the Claims 1-7 of copending application No. 18/716435 (US-PG-pub 2025/0035139 A1).
This is a provisional obvious-type double patenting rejection since the conflict claims in the copending application have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-7 of copending application No. 18/725477 (US 12,491,586 B2).
Regarding instant Claims 1-9, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because Claims 1-7 of copending application No. 18/725477 (US 12,491,586 B2) teaches the same welded joint with plating Zn-Al-Mg alloy layer having composition ranges overlap the claimed alloy composition ranges, which creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144 05 I. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the plating Zn-Al-Mg alloy composition from the disclosure of Claims 1-7 of copending application No. 18/725477 (US 12,491,586 B2) since Claims 1-7 of copending application No. 18/725477 (US 12,491,586 B2) teaches the same welded joint as claimed throughout whole disclosing range. Thus, no patentable distinction was found in the instant claims compared with the Claims 1-7 of copending application No. 18/725477 (US 12,491,586 B2).
Conclusion
/JIE YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734