DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to amendments filed 07/16/2026.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-14, and 16 have been amended. Claims 1-16 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 9, 12, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2026/0082404; hereinafter Roth) in view of Li et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0121804; hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1 Roth discloses a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
identifying a priority of a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS) indicated by a higher layer (paragraphs 0232-0251, 0271; wherein the first UE identifies priority for a SL-PRS according to configured (or preconfigured) information received from a base station, as also explained in paragraphs 0089-0103, 0369);
transmitting, to a second UE, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling the SL PRS, the SCI including first information indicating the priority of the SL PRS (paragraphs 0089-0103, 0369; SL control information comprising a priority field); and
transmitting, to the second UE, the SL PRS based on the SCI (figure 6, step 6020, the first UE encodes and transmits PRS to a second UE).
Roth does not explicitly disclose but Li, in a similar field of endeavor related to sidelink positioning, discloses transmitting, to a base station (BS), a message requesting a resource for the SL PRS, the message including information indicating the priority of the SL PRS (paragraphs 0334, 0339; wherein, as established in the known standards, in network controlled resource allocation known as scheme 1, the UE requests resources and the base station grants the resources for SL-PRS, the configuration of such SL-PRS includes the priority of the reference signal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Roth with the teachings of Li, in order to increase efficiency in SL PRS (Li: paragraph 0349).
Regarding claim 2 Roth discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the priority of the SL PRS is one of 8 values (paragraph 0251; the number of priority levels using 1, 2, or 3 bits resulting in 2, 4, or 8 different priority values).
Regarding claim 3 Roth discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the SCI is for a dedicated SL PRS resource pool (paragraph 0270; with one or more shared resource pools and/or one or more dedicated resource pools for scheme 2 SL positioning), and wherein a size of the information indicating the priority of the SL PRS is 3 bits (paragraph 0251; the number of priority levels using 1, 2, or 3 bits resulting in 2, 4, or 8 different priority values).
Regarding claim 4 Roth discloses the method of claim 1. Although Roth discloses mode 1/scheme 1 resource allocation which requires the UE requesting resources from a network node (see figure 1C), Roth fails to explicitly disclose, but Li in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink positioning discloses wherein the message is a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (paragraph 0337; the request being a MAC CE message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Roth with the teachings of Li, in order to increase efficiency in SL PRS (Li: paragraph 0349).
Regarding claim 6 Roth discloses a method performed by a second user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first UE, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS), the SCI including first information indicating a priority of the SL PRS (paragraphs 0089-0103, 0369; SL control information comprising a priority field); and
receiving, from the first UE, the SL PRS based on the SCI (figure 6, step 6020, the first UE encodes and transmits PRS to a second UE);
wherein the priority of the SL PRS is indicated by a higher layer of the first UE (paragraphs 0274-0277; the UE may receive a control information signal indicative of a subsequent reference signal for SL positioning).
Roth does not explicitly disclose but Li, in a similar field of endeavor related to sidelink positioning, discloses wherein a resource for the SL PRS is based on a message including the information indicating the priority of the SL PRS (paragraphs 0334, 0339; wherein, as established in the known standards, in network controlled resource allocation known as scheme 1, the UE requests resources and the base station grants the resources for SL-PRS, the configuration of such SL-PRS includes the priority of the reference signal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Roth with the teachings of Li, in order to increase efficiency in SL PRS (Li: paragraph 0349).
Regarding claim 7 Roth discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the priority of the SL PRS is one of 8 values (paragraph 0251; the number of priority levels using 1, 2, or 3 bits resulting in 2, 4, or 8 different priority values).
Regarding claim 8 Roth discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the SCI is for a dedicated SL PRS resource pool (paragraph 0270; with one or more shared resource pools and/or one or more dedicated resource pools for scheme 2 SL positioning), and wherein a size of the information indicating the priority of the SL PRS is 3 bits (paragraph 0251; the number of priority levels using 1, 2, or 3 bits resulting in 2, 4, or 8 different priority values).
Regarding claim 9 Roth discloses a first user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (fig. 13), the first UE comprising:
at least one transceiver (RF circuitry 1306 and antenna 1310); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (circuitry 1304) and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the first UE to:
identify a priority of a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS) indicated by a higher layer (paragraphs 0232-0251, 0271; wherein the first UE identifies priority for a SL-PRS according to configured (or preconfigured) information received from a base station, as also explained in paragraphs 0089-0103, 0369);
transmit, to a second UE, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling the SL PRS, the SCI including information indicating the priority of the SL PRS (paragraphs 0089-0103, 0369; SL control information comprising a priority field), and
transmit, to the second UE, the SL PRS based on the SCI (figure 6, step 6020, the first UE encodes and transmits PRS to a second UE).
Roth does not explicitly disclose but Li, in a similar field of endeavor related to sidelink positioning, discloses transmit, to a base station (BS), a message requesting a resource for the SL PRS, the message including information indicating the priority of the SL PRS (paragraphs 0334, 0339; wherein, as established in the known standards, in network controlled resource allocation known as scheme 1, the UE requests resources and the base station grants the resources for SL-PRS, the configuration of such SL-PRS includes the priority of the reference signal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Roth with the teachings of Li, in order to increase efficiency in SL PRS (Li: paragraph 0349).
Regarding claim 10 Roth discloses the first UE of claim 9, wherein the priority of the SL PRS is one of 8 values (paragraph 0251; the number of priority levels using 1, 2, or 3 bits resulting in 2, 4, or 8 different priority values).
Regarding claim 11 Roth discloses the first UE of claim 9, wherein the SCI is for a dedicated SL PRS resource pool (paragraph 0270; with one or more shared resource pools and/or one or more dedicated resource pools for scheme 2 SL positioning), and wherein a size of the information indicating the priority of the SL PRS is 3 bits (paragraph 0251; the number of priority levels using 1, 2, or 3 bits resulting in 2, 4, or 8 different priority values).
Regarding claim 12 Roth discloses the first UE of claim 9. Although Roth discloses mode 1/scheme 1 resource allocation which requires the UE requesting resources from a network node (see figure 1C), Roth fails to explicitly disclose but Li, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink positioning, discloses wherein the message is a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (paragraph 0337; the request being a MAC CE message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Roth with the teachings of Li, in order to increase efficiency in SL PRS (Li: paragraph 0349).
Regarding claim 14 Roth discloses a second user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (fig. 13), the second UE comprising:
at least one transceiver (RF circuitry 1306 and antenna 1310); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (circuitry 1304); and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the second UE to:
receive, from a first UE, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS), the SCI including information indicating a priority of the SL PRS (paragraphs 0089-0103, 0369; SL control information comprising a priority field);
receive, from the first UE, the SL PRS based on the SCI (figure 6, step 6020, the first UE encodes and transmits PRS to a second UE);
wherein the priority of the SL PRS is indicated by a higher layer of the first UE (paragraphs 0274-0277; the UE may receive a control information signal indicative of a subsequent reference signal for SL positioning).
Roth does not explicitly disclose but Li, in a similar field of endeavor related to sidelink positioning, discloses wherein a resource for the SL PRS is based on a message including the information indicating the priority of the SL PRS (paragraphs 0334, 0339; wherein, as established in the known standards, in network controlled resource allocation known as scheme 1, the UE requests resources and the base station grants the resources for SL-PRS, the configuration of such SL-PRS includes the priority of the reference signal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Roth with the teachings of Li, in order to increase efficiency in SL PRS (Li: paragraph 0349).
Regarding claim 15 Roth discloses the second UE of claim 14, wherein the priority of the SL PRS is one of 8 values (paragraph 0251; the number of priority levels using 1, 2, or 3 bits resulting in 2, 4, or 8 different priority values).
Regarding claim 16 Roth discloses the second UE of claim 14, wherein the SCI is for a dedicated SL PRS resource pool (paragraph 0270; with one or more shared resource pools and/or one or more dedicated resource pools for scheme 2 SL positioning), and wherein a size of the information indicating the priority of the SL PRS is 3 bits (paragraph 0251; the number of priority levels using 1, 2, or 3 bits resulting in 2, 4, or 8 different priority values).
Claim(s) 5, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth in view of Li and further in view of Li et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2026/0025837; hereinafter Li837).
Regarding claim 5 Roth discloses the method of claim 1. Although Roth discloses mode 1/scheme 1 resource allocation which requires the UE requesting resources from a network node (see figure 1C), Roth fails to explicitly disclose but Li837, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink positioning, discloses wherein the message is a radio resource control (RRC) (paragraphs 0135, 0167-0168; requesting SL-PRS resources from a network node, and using RRC for such a request). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Roth with the teachings of Li, in order to improve robustness and UE coverage (Li837: paragraphs 0034-0035).
Regarding claim 13 Roth discloses the first UE of claim 9. Although Roth discloses mode 1/scheme 1 resource allocation which requires the UE requesting resources from a network node (see figure 1C), Roth fails to explicitly disclose but Li837, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink positioning, discloses wherein the message is a radio resource control (RRC) (paragraphs 0135, 0167-0168; requesting SL-PRS resources from a network node, and using RRC for such a request). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Roth with the teachings of Li837, in order to improve robustness and UE coverage (Li837: paragraphs 0034-0035).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2026/000629 to Löhr et al. – which discloses managing sidelink communications between a first wireless communication device and a second communication device. The second wireless communication device receives coordination information for sidelink positioning among a plurality of wireless communication devices from the first wireless communication device.
US PGPUB 2028/0151008 to Manolakos et al. – that discloses aperiodic SL-PRS resource conflict management. Aperiodic SL-PRS transmissions are SL-PRS transmissions that are made on-demand, or upon request, of some entity (e.g., the transmitting UE, a recipient UE, a network entity, etc.). The transmitting UE may reserve one or more SL-PRS occasions (or transmission opportunities or instances) in which to transmit one or more repetitions of the requested SL-PRS.
US PGPUB 2025/0192956 to Zhang – which discloses a first terminal device receives first information sent by a network device, wherein the first information is used for indicating a resource used for SL PRS transmission. The first terminal device may be a terminal device for transmitting an SL PRS.
EP 4593501 to Ko et al. – that discloses acquiring configuration information related to a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS) for SL-based positioning; transmitting first sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and second SCI to a second device through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH); and transmitting the second SCI, SL data, and a first SL PRS to the second device on the basis of a resource related to the PSSCH. For example, the priority value of the transmission of the first SL PRS may be the same as that of the transmission of the SL data.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466