DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
The examiner finds support under 35 USC § 112(a) for the pending independent claims 1, 19, and 20 within Provisional Application No. 63/465,739 (filed 5/11/20223), see slides 2-4, 21, and 22.
However, the examiner fails to find support under 35 USC § 112(a) for the pending dependent claims 2-17. While the examiner acknowledges that 35 USC 112(a) has no en haec verba requirement (see MPEP § 2163.02), the examiner finds no support for the claimed features. Put simply, dependent claims 2-17 recite beyond what one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably obtain from Provisional Application No. 63/465,739 (filed 5/11/20223).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/27/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/3/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/31/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/10/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “same tradeoff” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “same tradeoff” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The claim outlines the idea of a tradeoff between level of throughput and likelihood of retransmission. However, both the specification and the claim fail to quantify the meaning of the tradeoff between the two variables within the concept of selecting transmission parameters. The reader is meant to envisage the scope of the claim, which may be limitless, rather than placing reasonable and predictable bounds on the scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US PG Pub 2013/0090146, which was cited on IDS dated 12/3/2024) in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0107480).
As per claim 1, Kwon et al. teach a computer-implemented method [Kwon, ¶ 0112, The MS performs the power coordination method (see also fig. 14, ¶ 0200). The MS reasonably contains structure, memory (see ¶ 0144), and processor to perform its claimed functions.] comprising:
determining a number of resource blocks to use for one or more communications between a terminal and a gateway…wherein the number of resource blocks indicates an amount of frequency bandwidth to use for the one or more communications [Kwon, ¶s 0116 and 0117, Table 1, “With reference to Table 1, the scheduling parameters are any one of sequence 0, sequence 1, and sequence 2. In the case of sequence 0, values applied to the respective scheduling parameters are as follows. Sequence 0 includes a state in which a channel bandwidth of 1.4 MHz and resources blocks larger than 5 resource blocks are allocated in a state in which the modulation scheme is QPSK. Also, a state in which a channel bandwidth of 3.0 MHz and resources blocks larger than 4 resource blocks are allocated in a state in which the modulation scheme is QPSK corresponds to sequence 0”, Power coordination (PC) between a mobile station (MS) and a base station (BS) comprises determining a scheduling parameter (see ¶s 0113-0115). The scheduling parameter (or sequence) is dependent on the number of resource blocks (RBs) and the association channel bandwidth of the RBs (see Table 1).];
determining a characteristic of a wireless channel used for communication between the terminal and the gateway [Kwon, ¶ 0127, “A communication environment frequently changed over time. For example, a scheduling parameter allocated by the BS to the MS may be changed. In this case, the MS transmits a sequence index corresponding to the changed scheduling parameter and information regarding PC including the amount or range of PC”, The MS detects a change in the communication environment (or wireless channel) between it and the BS. PC is performed accordingly (see also ¶s 0120, 0129, and 0145).]…
selecting a table from a plurality of tables, wherein each of the tables specifies transmission parameters to use for different combinations of (i) values indicating different numbers of resource blocks and (ii) values indicating different wireless channel characteristics [Kwon, ¶ 0145, “information regarding PC may be configured in the format including communication environment information and a PC table index. Since at least one PC table may exist according to communication environment information, the MS can find out the communication environment information and a corresponding PC table. For example, the communication environments of Table 6 to Table 12 are assumed. The MS informs the BS the fact that power class of the MS is 3 and the number of RF chains used for supporting a current multi-component carrier environment is 2, as information regarding PC. Accordingly, the BS can recognize that the communication environment in which the MS operates based on the current multi-component carrier environment is Case3. When the total number of PC tables within the communication environment Case3 is 10 and a table selected to be used by the MS from among the 10 PC tables is the tenth PC table, the MS includes information of PC table index=10, along with the communication environment information, in the information regarding PC, and transmits the same to the BS”, The PC process may use one of a number of Tables (e.g., 6-12), which cover various channel conditions (or environments). Each table indicates a number of RBs and associates those RBs with a corresponding dB channel level.];
determining transmission parameters for making the one or more communications between the terminal and the gateway based on an entry, retrieved from the identified table, that corresponds to (i) the determined number of resource blocks and (ii) the determined characteristic of the wireless channel [Kwon, ¶ 0145, “information regarding PC may be configured in the format including communication environment information and a PC table index. Since at least one PC table may exist according to communication environment information, the MS can find out the communication environment information and a corresponding PC table. For example, the communication environments of Table 6 to Table 12 are assumed. The MS informs the BS the fact that power class of the MS is 3 and the number of RF chains used for supporting a current multi-component carrier environment is 2, as information regarding PC. Accordingly, the BS can recognize that the communication environment in which the MS operates based on the current multi-component carrier environment is Case3. When the total number of PC tables within the communication environment Case3 is 10 and a table selected to be used by the MS from among the 10 PC tables is the tenth PC table, the MS includes information of PC table index=10, along with the communication environment information, in the information regarding PC, and transmits the same to the BS”, The PC process may use one of a number of Tables (e.g., 6-12), which cover various channel conditions (or environments). Each table indicates a number of RBs and associates those RBs with a corresponding dB channel level. The MS selects a PCS table corresponding to a number of selected RBs and a channel environment (or dB). See also ¶s 0152, 0154.]; and
causing one or more transmissions to be sent between the terminal and the gateway using the determined transmission parameters [Kwon, fig. 10, ¶ 0175, “The MS transmits uplink data generated based on the number of RBs, MCS, TPC, and the like, included in the uplink grant to the BS (S1015)”, The MS transmits according to the selected PC sequence, after communicating the PC table containing the PC sequence to the BS (see also step 1000, ¶s 0152, 0154).].
Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach the gateway in a satellite communication network.
However, in an analogous art, Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the gateway in a satellite communication network [Ahmadzadeh, ¶ 0249, “According to a seventh aspect, in the event of feeder link switch, the estimated parameters a.sub.new.sup.feeder, b.sub.new.sup.feeder, and c.sub.new.sup.feeder, associated with the common delay experienced via the new/switched gateway in the feeder link, or its corresponding index in the look-up table are signaled to the UE before the feeder link switch occurs”, Fig. 8 shows a UE operating within a NTN (or satellite network). The UE may utilize one or more look-up tables for communication with the satellite (or gateway). The look-up table, and corresponding NTN satellite/gateway, may be selected by location and channel parameters (see also ¶s 0244-0251).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support NTN satellite operations as taught by Ahmadzadeh et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using multiple look-up tables to support NTN gateways as they pass overhead would improve communication reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 2, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. also teach wherein the method is performed by the terminal using tables stored by the terminal [Kwon, ¶ 0112, The MS performs the power coordination method (see also fig. 14, ¶ 0200).].
As per claim 3, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the method is performed by the gateway using tables stored by the gateway.
However, in an analogous art, Ahmadzadeh et al. teach wherein the method is performed by the gateway using tables stored by the gateway [Ahmadzadeh, ¶ 00251, “Thereby, a signaling mechanism in which DCI information activates/de-activates one table out of a set of RRC configured look-up tables”, Table selection operations may instead be performed at the NTN gateway and signaled to the UE via DCI.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support NTN satellite operations as taught by Ahmadzadeh et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using multiple look-up tables to support NTN gateways as they pass overhead would improve communication reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 5, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. also teach wherein determining the transmission parameters comprises determining the transmission parameters for a transmission in a reverse direction involving uplink from the terminal to the gateway [Kwon, fig. 10, ¶ 0175, “The MS transmits uplink data generated based on the number of RBs, MCS, TPC, and the like, included in the uplink grant to the BS (S1015)”, The MS transmits according to the selected PC sequence, after communicating the PC table containing the PC sequence to the BS (see also step 1000, ¶s 0152, 0154). This pertains to uplink (see also ¶ 0156).].
As per claim 6, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. also teach wherein determining the transmission parameters comprises determining, by the gateway, transmission parameters for a subsequent transmission from the terminal to the gateway [Kwon, ¶ 0145, “information regarding PC may be configured in the format including communication environment information and a PC table index. Since at least one PC table may exist according to communication environment information, the MS can find out the communication environment information and a corresponding PC table. For example, the communication environments of Table 6 to Table 12 are assumed. The MS informs the BS the fact that power class of the MS is 3 and the number of RF chains used for supporting a current multi-component carrier environment is 2, as information regarding PC. Accordingly, the BS can recognize that the communication environment in which the MS operates based on the current multi-component carrier environment is Case3. When the total number of PC tables within the communication environment Case3 is 10 and a table selected to be used by the MS from among the 10 PC tables is the tenth PC table, the MS includes information of PC table index=10, along with the communication environment information, in the information regarding PC, and transmits the same to the BS”, The PC process may use one of a number of Tables (e.g., 6-12), which cover various channel conditions (or environments). Each table indicates a number of RBs and associates those RBs with a corresponding dB channel level. The MS selects a PCS table corresponding to a number of selected RBs and a channel environment (or dB). See also ¶s 0152, 0154. The PC method may be performed multiple times.].
Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach wherein causing the one or more transmissions to be sent between the terminal and the gateway using the determined transmission parameters comprises transmitting the determined transmission parameters to the terminal over the satellite communication network, such that the terminal transmits the subsequent transmission to the gateway using the determined transmission parameters.
However, in an analogous art, Ahmadzadeh et al. also teach wherein causing the one or more transmissions to be sent between the terminal and the gateway using the determined transmission parameters comprises transmitting the determined transmission parameters to the terminal over the satellite communication network, such that the terminal transmits the subsequent transmission to the gateway using the determined transmission parameters [Ahmadzadeh, ¶ 0249, “According to a seventh aspect, in the event of feeder link switch, the estimated parameters a.sub.new.sup.feeder, b.sub.new.sup.feeder, and c.sub.new.sup.feeder, associated with the common delay experienced via the new/switched gateway in the feeder link, or its corresponding index in the look-up table are signaled to the UE before the feeder link switch occurs”, Fig. 8 shows a UE operating within a NTN (or satellite network). The UE may utilize one or more look-up tables for communication with the satellite (or gateway). The look-up table, and corresponding NTN satellite/gateway, may be selected by location and channel parameters (see also ¶s 0244-0251).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support NTN satellite operations as taught by Ahmadzadeh et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using multiple look-up tables to support NTN gateways as they pass overhead would improve communication reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 7, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. also teach wherein determining the transmission parameters comprises at least one of (i) determining a modulation [Kwon, Tables 6-12, The Tables include corresponding MCS for the transmission parameters (see also ¶ 0175).] or (ii) determining a forward error correction coding.
As per claim 17, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. also teach wherein determining the characteristic of the wireless channel comprises determining a characteristic of reverse channel transmission from the terminal to the gateway [Kwon, fig. 10, ¶ 0175, “The MS transmits uplink data generated based on the number of RBs, MCS, TPC, and the like, included in the uplink grant to the BS (S1015)”, The MS transmits according to the selected PC sequence, after communicating the PC table containing the PC sequence to the BS (see also step 1000, ¶s 0152, 0154). This pertains to uplink (see also ¶ 0156).], wherein the characteristic is measured by the gateway based on signal characteristics of one or more transmissions from the terminal [Kwon, ¶ 0145, “information regarding PC may be configured in the format including communication environment information and a PC table index. Since at least one PC table may exist according to communication environment information, the MS can find out the communication environment information and a corresponding PC table. For example, the communication environments of Table 6 to Table 12 are assumed. The MS informs the BS the fact that power class of the MS is 3 and the number of RF chains used for supporting a current multi-component carrier environment is 2, as information regarding PC. Accordingly, the BS can recognize that the communication environment in which the MS operates based on the current multi-component carrier environment is Case3. When the total number of PC tables within the communication environment Case3 is 10 and a table selected to be used by the MS from among the 10 PC tables is the tenth PC table, the MS includes information of PC table index=10, along with the communication environment information, in the information regarding PC, and transmits the same to the BS”, The PC process may use one of a number of Tables (e.g., 6-12), which cover various channel conditions (or environments). Each table indicates a number of RBs and associates those RBs with a corresponding dB channel level.].
As per claim 19, Kwon et al. teach a system comprising: one or more computers and one or more storage devices storing instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations [Kwon, ¶ 0112, The MS performs the power coordination method (see also fig. 14, ¶ 0200). The MS reasonably contains structure, memory (see ¶ 0144), and processor to perform its claimed functions.] comprising:
determining a number of resource blocks to use for one or more communications between a terminal and a gateway…wherein the number of resource blocks indicates an amount of frequency bandwidth to use for the one or more communications [Kwon, ¶s 0116 and 0117, Table 1, “With reference to Table 1, the scheduling parameters are any one of sequence 0, sequence 1, and sequence 2. In the case of sequence 0, values applied to the respective scheduling parameters are as follows. Sequence 0 includes a state in which a channel bandwidth of 1.4 MHz and resources blocks larger than 5 resource blocks are allocated in a state in which the modulation scheme is QPSK. Also, a state in which a channel bandwidth of 3.0 MHz and resources blocks larger than 4 resource blocks are allocated in a state in which the modulation scheme is QPSK corresponds to sequence 0”, Power coordination (PC) between a mobile station (MS) and a base station (BS) comprises determining a scheduling parameter (see ¶s 0113-0115). The scheduling parameter (or sequence) is dependent on the number of resource blocks (RBs) and the association channel bandwidth of the RBs (see Table 1).];
determining a characteristic of a wireless channel used for communication between the terminal and the gateway [Kwon, ¶ 0127, “A communication environment frequently changed over time. For example, a scheduling parameter allocated by the BS to the MS may be changed. In this case, the MS transmits a sequence index corresponding to the changed scheduling parameter and information regarding PC including the amount or range of PC”, The MS detects a change in the communication environment (or wireless channel) between it and the BS. PC is performed accordingly (see also ¶s 0120, 0129, and 0145).]…
selecting a table from a plurality of tables, wherein each of the tables specifies transmission parameters to use for different combinations of (i) values indicating different numbers of resource blocks and (ii) values indicating different wireless channel characteristics [Kwon, ¶ 0145, “information regarding PC may be configured in the format including communication environment information and a PC table index. Since at least one PC table may exist according to communication environment information, the MS can find out the communication environment information and a corresponding PC table. For example, the communication environments of Table 6 to Table 12 are assumed. The MS informs the BS the fact that power class of the MS is 3 and the number of RF chains used for supporting a current multi-component carrier environment is 2, as information regarding PC. Accordingly, the BS can recognize that the communication environment in which the MS operates based on the current multi-component carrier environment is Case3. When the total number of PC tables within the communication environment Case3 is 10 and a table selected to be used by the MS from among the 10 PC tables is the tenth PC table, the MS includes information of PC table index=10, along with the communication environment information, in the information regarding PC, and transmits the same to the BS”, The PC process may use one of a number of Tables (e.g., 6-12), which cover various channel conditions (or environments). Each table indicates a number of RBs and associates those RBs with a corresponding dB channel level.];
determining transmission parameters for making the one or more communications between the terminal and the gateway based on an entry, retrieved from the identified table, that corresponds to (i) the determined number of resource blocks and (ii) the determined characteristic of the wireless channel [Kwon, ¶ 0145, “information regarding PC may be configured in the format including communication environment information and a PC table index. Since at least one PC table may exist according to communication environment information, the MS can find out the communication environment information and a corresponding PC table. For example, the communication environments of Table 6 to Table 12 are assumed. The MS informs the BS the fact that power class of the MS is 3 and the number of RF chains used for supporting a current multi-component carrier environment is 2, as information regarding PC. Accordingly, the BS can recognize that the communication environment in which the MS operates based on the current multi-component carrier environment is Case3. When the total number of PC tables within the communication environment Case3 is 10 and a table selected to be used by the MS from among the 10 PC tables is the tenth PC table, the MS includes information of PC table index=10, along with the communication environment information, in the information regarding PC, and transmits the same to the BS”, The PC process may use one of a number of Tables (e.g., 6-12), which cover various channel conditions (or environments). Each table indicates a number of RBs and associates those RBs with a corresponding dB channel level. The MS selects a PCS table corresponding to a number of selected RBs and a channel environment (or dB). See also ¶s 0152, 0154.]; and
causing one or more transmissions to be sent between the terminal and the gateway using the determined transmission parameters [Kwon, fig. 10, ¶ 0175, “The MS transmits uplink data generated based on the number of RBs, MCS, TPC, and the like, included in the uplink grant to the BS (S1015)”, The MS transmits according to the selected PC sequence, after communicating the PC table containing the PC sequence to the BS (see also step 1000, ¶s 0152, 0154).].
Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach the gateway in a satellite communication network.
However, in an analogous art, Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the gateway in a satellite communication network [Ahmadzadeh, ¶ 0249, “According to a seventh aspect, in the event of feeder link switch, the estimated parameters a.sub.new.sup.feeder, b.sub.new.sup.feeder, and c.sub.new.sup.feeder, associated with the common delay experienced via the new/switched gateway in the feeder link, or its corresponding index in the look-up table are signaled to the UE before the feeder link switch occurs”, Fig. 8 shows a UE operating within a NTN (or satellite network). The UE may utilize one or more look-up tables for communication with the satellite (or gateway). The look-up table, and corresponding NTN satellite/gateway, may be selected by location and channel parameters (see also ¶s 0244-0251).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support NTN satellite operations as taught by Ahmadzadeh et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using multiple look-up tables to support NTN gateways as they pass overhead would improve communication reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 20, Kwon et al. teach one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing software comprising instructions that are operable, when executed by one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations [Kwon, ¶ 0112, The MS performs the power coordination method (see also fig. 14, ¶ 0200). The MS reasonably contains structure, memory (see ¶ 0144), and processor to perform its claimed functions.] comprising:
determining a number of resource blocks to use for one or more communications between a terminal and a gateway…wherein the number of resource blocks indicates an amount of frequency bandwidth to use for the one or more communications [Kwon, ¶s 0116 and 0117, Table 1, “With reference to Table 1, the scheduling parameters are any one of sequence 0, sequence 1, and sequence 2. In the case of sequence 0, values applied to the respective scheduling parameters are as follows. Sequence 0 includes a state in which a channel bandwidth of 1.4 MHz and resources blocks larger than 5 resource blocks are allocated in a state in which the modulation scheme is QPSK. Also, a state in which a channel bandwidth of 3.0 MHz and resources blocks larger than 4 resource blocks are allocated in a state in which the modulation scheme is QPSK corresponds to sequence 0”, Power coordination (PC) between a mobile station (MS) and a base station (BS) comprises determining a scheduling parameter (see ¶s 0113-0115). The scheduling parameter (or sequence) is dependent on the number of resource blocks (RBs) and the association channel bandwidth of the RBs (see Table 1).];
determining a characteristic of a wireless channel used for communication between the terminal and the gateway [Kwon, ¶ 0127, “A communication environment frequently changed over time. For example, a scheduling parameter allocated by the BS to the MS may be changed. In this case, the MS transmits a sequence index corresponding to the changed scheduling parameter and information regarding PC including the amount or range of PC”, The MS detects a change in the communication environment (or wireless channel) between it and the BS. PC is performed accordingly (see also ¶s 0120, 0129, and 0145).]…
selecting a table from a plurality of tables, wherein each of the tables specifies transmission parameters to use for different combinations of (i) values indicating different numbers of resource blocks and (ii) values indicating different wireless channel characteristics [Kwon, ¶ 0145, “information regarding PC may be configured in the format including communication environment information and a PC table index. Since at least one PC table may exist according to communication environment information, the MS can find out the communication environment information and a corresponding PC table. For example, the communication environments of Table 6 to Table 12 are assumed. The MS informs the BS the fact that power class of the MS is 3 and the number of RF chains used for supporting a current multi-component carrier environment is 2, as information regarding PC. Accordingly, the BS can recognize that the communication environment in which the MS operates based on the current multi-component carrier environment is Case3. When the total number of PC tables within the communication environment Case3 is 10 and a table selected to be used by the MS from among the 10 PC tables is the tenth PC table, the MS includes information of PC table index=10, along with the communication environment information, in the information regarding PC, and transmits the same to the BS”, The PC process may use one of a number of Tables (e.g., 6-12), which cover various channel conditions (or environments). Each table indicates a number of RBs and associates those RBs with a corresponding dB channel level.];
determining transmission parameters for making the one or more communications between the terminal and the gateway based on an entry, retrieved from the identified table, that corresponds to (i) the determined number of resource blocks and (ii) the determined characteristic of the wireless channel [Kwon, ¶ 0145, “information regarding PC may be configured in the format including communication environment information and a PC table index. Since at least one PC table may exist according to communication environment information, the MS can find out the communication environment information and a corresponding PC table. For example, the communication environments of Table 6 to Table 12 are assumed. The MS informs the BS the fact that power class of the MS is 3 and the number of RF chains used for supporting a current multi-component carrier environment is 2, as information regarding PC. Accordingly, the BS can recognize that the communication environment in which the MS operates based on the current multi-component carrier environment is Case3. When the total number of PC tables within the communication environment Case3 is 10 and a table selected to be used by the MS from among the 10 PC tables is the tenth PC table, the MS includes information of PC table index=10, along with the communication environment information, in the information regarding PC, and transmits the same to the BS”, The PC process may use one of a number of Tables (e.g., 6-12), which cover various channel conditions (or environments). Each table indicates a number of RBs and associates those RBs with a corresponding dB channel level. The MS selects a PCS table corresponding to a number of selected RBs and a channel environment (or dB). See also ¶s 0152, 0154.]; and
causing one or more transmissions to be sent between the terminal and the gateway using the determined transmission parameters [Kwon, fig. 10, ¶ 0175, “The MS transmits uplink data generated based on the number of RBs, MCS, TPC, and the like, included in the uplink grant to the BS (S1015)”, The MS transmits according to the selected PC sequence, after communicating the PC table containing the PC sequence to the BS (see also step 1000, ¶s 0152, 0154).].
Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach the gateway in a satellite communication network.
However, in an analogous art, Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the gateway in a satellite communication network [Ahmadzadeh, ¶ 0249, “According to a seventh aspect, in the event of feeder link switch, the estimated parameters a.sub.new.sup.feeder, b.sub.new.sup.feeder, and c.sub.new.sup.feeder, associated with the common delay experienced via the new/switched gateway in the feeder link, or its corresponding index in the look-up table are signaled to the UE before the feeder link switch occurs”, Fig. 8 shows a UE operating within a NTN (or satellite network). The UE may utilize one or more look-up tables for communication with the satellite (or gateway). The look-up table, and corresponding NTN satellite/gateway, may be selected by location and channel parameters (see also ¶s 0244-0251).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support NTN satellite operations as taught by Ahmadzadeh et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using multiple look-up tables to support NTN gateways as they pass overhead would improve communication reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 4, 8-10, 12-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US PG Pub 2013/0090146, which was cited on IDS dated 12/3/2024) in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0107480) and Qin et al. (US PG Pub 2018/0278324, which was cited on IDS dated 9/28/2024)
As per claim 4, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach wherein determining the transmission parameters comprises determining the transmission parameters for a transmission in a forward direction involving downlink from the gateway to the terminal.
However, in analogous art, Qin et al. teach wherein determining the transmission parameters comprises determining the transmission parameters for a transmission in a forward direction involving downlink from the gateway to the terminal [Qin, ¶ 0051, “Different channels may have different symbol rates and different carrier frequencies. Different channels may have different trajectory tables, e.g., different sets of MODCODs available or different tables of rate data 260. In some instances, if channels are bonded together, it may be preferable to share the same MODCOD for the same data stream across multiple channels. As a result, when traffic of a particular user terminal is bonded across multiple channels, traffic can be assigned for transmission using the same MODCOD on each of the multiple channels”, The transmitter of fig. 2 (see element 200) may operate in the uplink or downlink direction. The transmitter utilizes the rate table 260 to make transmission parameter decisions for multiple channels.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support selection based on error criteria as taught by Qin et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding columns within a table to include error considerations will improve reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 8, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the selected table includes entries for each of multiple combinations of a number of resource blocks and a wireless channel characteristic, and the entries each specify transmission parameters that are calculated to provide a same predetermined target error rate for reception of transmissions over the satellite communication network made using the combination corresponding to the entry.
However, in analogous art, Qin et al. teach wherein the selected table includes entries for each of multiple combinations of a number of resource blocks and a wireless channel characteristic, and the entries each specify transmission parameters that are calculated to provide a same predetermined target error rate for reception of transmissions over the satellite communication network made using the combination corresponding to the entry [Qin, ¶ 0037, “For each user terminal, the MODCOD used (and thus the MODCOD queue selected) varies based on the physical channel conditions detected by the receiving user terminal. A user terminal can provide the transmitter 200 information about current channel conditions. With that information, the transmitter 200 can identify MODCODs that satisfy certain criteria, e.g., MODCODs that allow reception within an error rate threshold. For example, the transmitter determines which MODCODs allow transmissions to be received error free. The transmitter 200 then selects, from among the MODCODs that satisfy the error rate criteria, the MODCOD that provides the highest throughput. PDUs for transmission to the user terminal are placed in the MODCOD queue for the selected MODCOD”, Modulation Coding (MODCOD) queues may be stored in table format and are associated with modulation and error rates (see fig. 2, element 260). MODCOD queues may be selected based on error rate (over blocks, or BLER), modulation (MCS), or SNR (see ¶ 0041).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support selection based on error criteria as taught by Qin et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding columns within a table to include error considerations will improve reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 9, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the entries in the selected table each specify a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) from a predetermined set of MCSs; and wherein each of the entries in the selected table is set based on a same predetermined target error rate such that each entry specifies the MCS, from among the predetermined set of MCSs, that is calculated to provide an error rate that is closest to the predetermined target error rate or is closest to the predetermined target error rate without exceeding the predetermined target error rate.
However, in analogous art, Qin et al. teach wherein the entries in the selected table each specify a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) from a predetermined set of MCSs; and wherein each of the entries in the selected table is set based on a same predetermined target error rate such that each entry specifies the MCS, from among the predetermined set of MCSs, that is calculated to provide an error rate that is closest to the predetermined target error rate or is closest to the predetermined target error rate without exceeding the predetermined target error rate [Qin, ¶ 0037, “For each user terminal, the MODCOD used (and thus the MODCOD queue selected) varies based on the physical channel conditions detected by the receiving user terminal. A user terminal can provide the transmitter 200 information about current channel conditions. With that information, the transmitter 200 can identify MODCODs that satisfy certain criteria, e.g., MODCODs that allow reception within an error rate threshold. For example, the transmitter determines which MODCODs allow transmissions to be received error free. The transmitter 200 then selects, from among the MODCODs that satisfy the error rate criteria, the MODCOD that provides the highest throughput. PDUs for transmission to the user terminal are placed in the MODCOD queue for the selected MODCOD”, Modulation Coding (MODCOD) queues may be stored in table format and are associated with modulation and error rates (see fig. 2, element 260). MODCOD queues may be selected based on error rate (over blocks, or BLER), modulation (MCS), or SNR (see ¶ 0041).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support selection based on error criteria as taught by Qin et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding columns within a table to include error considerations will improve reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 10, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the entries in the selected table each specify a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) from a predetermined set of MCSs; and wherein each of the entries in the selected table is set based on a same predetermined target error rate such that each entry specifies the MCS, from among the predetermined set of MCSs, that is calculated to maximize throughput over the satellite communication network for communication between the terminal and the gateway without exceeding the target error rate.
However, in analogous art, Qin et al. teach wherein the entries in the selected table each specify a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) from a predetermined set of MCSs; and wherein each of the entries in the selected table is set based on a same predetermined target error rate such that each entry specifies the MCS, from among the predetermined set of MCSs, that is calculated to maximize throughput over the satellite communication network for communication between the terminal and the gateway without exceeding the target error rate [Qin, ¶ 0037, “For each user terminal, the MODCOD used (and thus the MODCOD queue selected) varies based on the physical channel conditions detected by the receiving user terminal. A user terminal can provide the transmitter 200 information about current channel conditions. With that information, the transmitter 200 can identify MODCODs that satisfy certain criteria, e.g., MODCODs that allow reception within an error rate threshold. For example, the transmitter determines which MODCODs allow transmissions to be received error free. The transmitter 200 then selects, from among the MODCODs that satisfy the error rate criteria, the MODCOD that provides the highest throughput. PDUs for transmission to the user terminal are placed in the MODCOD queue for the selected MODCOD”, Modulation Coding (MODCOD) queues may be stored in table format and are associated with modulation and error rates (see fig. 2, element 260). MODCOD queues may be selected based on error rate (over blocks, or BLER), modulation (MCS), or SNR (see ¶ 0041).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support selection based on error criteria as taught by Qin et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding columns within a table to include error considerations will improve reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 12, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the target error rate is a block-level error rate.
However, in analogous art, Qin et al. teach wherein the entries in the selected table each specify a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) from a predetermined set of MCSs; and wherein the entries in the selected table are set to MCSs, selected from among the predetermined set of MCSs, that are calculated to achieve a same tradeoff between a level of throughput over the satellite communication network and a likelihood that retransmission of a message is needed, wherein the tradeoff is set using a predetermined target error rate [Qin, ¶ 0037, “For each user terminal, the MODCOD used (and thus the MODCOD queue selected) varies based on the physical channel conditions detected by the receiving user terminal. A user terminal can provide the transmitter 200 information about current channel conditions. With that information, the transmitter 200 can identify MODCODs that satisfy certain criteria, e.g., MODCODs that allow reception within an error rate threshold. For example, the transmitter determines which MODCODs allow transmissions to be received error free. The transmitter 200 then selects, from among the MODCODs that satisfy the error rate criteria, the MODCOD that provides the highest throughput. PDUs for transmission to the user terminal are placed in the MODCOD queue for the selected MODCOD”, Modulation Coding (MODCOD) queues may be stored in table format and are associated with modulation and error rates (see fig. 2, element 260). MODCOD queues may be selected based on error rate (over blocks, or BLER), modulation (MCS), or SNR (see ¶ 0041).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support selection based on error criteria as taught by Qin et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding columns within a table to include error considerations will improve reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 13, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the target error rate is a block-level error rate indicating a frequency or probability with which a transport block or a message transmitted will be received with an uncorrectable error that requires retransmission of the transport block or message.
However, in analogous art, Qin et al. teach wherein the target error rate is a block-level error rate indicating a frequency or probability with which a transport block or a message transmitted will be received with an uncorrectable error that requires retransmission of the transport block or message [Qin, ¶ 0037, “For each user terminal, the MODCOD used (and thus the MODCOD queue selected) varies based on the physical channel conditions detected by the receiving user terminal. A user terminal can provide the transmitter 200 information about current channel conditions. With that information, the transmitter 200 can identify MODCODs that satisfy certain criteria, e.g., MODCODs that allow reception within an error rate threshold. For example, the transmitter determines which MODCODs allow transmissions to be received error free. The transmitter 200 then selects, from among the MODCODs that satisfy the error rate criteria, the MODCOD that provides the highest throughput. PDUs for transmission to the user terminal are placed in the MODCOD queue for the selected MODCOD”, Modulation Coding (MODCOD) queues may be stored in table format and are associated with modulation and error rates (see fig. 2, element 260). MODCOD queues may be selected based on error rate (over blocks, or BLER), modulation (MCS), or SNR (see ¶ 0041).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support selection based on error criteria as taught by Qin et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding columns within a table to include error considerations will improve reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 14, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach wherein entries in the tables specify transmission parameters that include at least one of a modulation or forward error correction coding, and the entries are determined based on analysis of measured performance of actual receivers and/or transmitters transmitting with the transmission parameters specified in the entries.
However, in analogous art, Qin et al. teach wherein entries in the tables specify transmission parameters that include at least one of a modulation or forward error correction coding, and the entries are determined based on analysis of measured performance of actual receivers and/or transmitters transmitting with the transmission parameters specified in the entries [Qin, ¶ 0037, “For each user terminal, the MODCOD used (and thus the MODCOD queue selected) varies based on the physical channel conditions detected by the receiving user terminal. A user terminal can provide the transmitter 200 information about current channel conditions. With that information, the transmitter 200 can identify MODCODs that satisfy certain criteria, e.g., MODCODs that allow reception within an error rate threshold. For example, the transmitter determines which MODCODs allow transmissions to be received error free. The transmitter 200 then selects, from among the MODCODs that satisfy the error rate criteria, the MODCOD that provides the highest throughput. PDUs for transmission to the user terminal are placed in the MODCOD queue for the selected MODCOD”, Modulation Coding (MODCOD) queues may be stored in table format and are associated with modulation and error rates (see fig. 2, element 260). MODCOD queues may be selected based on error rate (over blocks, or BLER), modulation (MCS), or SNR (see ¶ 0041). See element 260, which includes FEC as a variable for selection.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support selection based on error criteria as taught by Qin et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding columns within a table to include error considerations will improve reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 15, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach wherein determining the characteristic of the wireless channel comprises determining a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for the terminal or a signal-to-interference-and-noise ratio (SINR) for the terminal. [Examiner note: The language of the claim may be read that the qualifier “for the terminal” only modifies SINR.]
However, in analogous art, Qin et al. teach wherein determining the characteristic of the wireless channel comprises determining a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for the terminal [Qin, ¶ 0037, “For each user terminal, the MODCOD used (and thus the MODCOD queue selected) varies based on the physical channel conditions detected by the receiving user terminal. A user terminal can provide the transmitter 200 information about current channel conditions. With that information, the transmitter 200 can identify MODCODs that satisfy certain criteria, e.g., MODCODs that allow reception within an error rate threshold. For example, the transmitter determines which MODCODs allow transmissions to be received error free. The transmitter 200 then selects, from among the MODCODs that satisfy the error rate criteria, the MODCOD that provides the highest throughput. PDUs for transmission to the user terminal are placed in the MODCOD queue for the selected MODCOD”, Modulation Coding (MODCOD) queues may be stored in table format and are associated with modulation and error rates (see fig. 2, element 260). MODCOD queues may be selected based on error rate (over blocks, or BLER), modulation (MCS), or SNR (see ¶ 0041). See element 260, which includes FEC as a variable for selection.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support selection based on error criteria as taught by Qin et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding columns within a table to include error considerations will improve reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 16, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach wherein determining the characteristic of the wireless channel comprises determining a characteristic of forward channel transmission from the gateway to the terminal.
However, in analogous art, Qin et al. teach wherein determining the characteristic of the wireless channel comprises determining a characteristic of forward channel transmission from the gateway to the terminal [Qin, ¶ 0051, “Different channels may have different symbol rates and different carrier frequencies. Different channels may have different trajectory tables, e.g., different sets of MODCODs available or different tables of rate data 260. In some instances, if channels are bonded together, it may be preferable to share the same MODCOD for the same data stream across multiple channels. As a result, when traffic of a particular user terminal is bonded across multiple channels, traffic can be assigned for transmission using the same MODCOD on each of the multiple channels”, The transmitter of fig. 2 (see element 200) may operate in the uplink or downlink direction. The transmitter utilizes the rate table 260 to make transmission parameter decisions for multiple channels.], wherein the characteristic is determined by the gateway based on a measurement by the terminal that is reported to the gateway [Qin, ¶ 0037, “For each user terminal, the MODCOD used (and thus the MODCOD queue selected) varies based on the physical channel conditions detected by the receiving user terminal. A user terminal can provide the transmitter 200 information about current channel conditions. With that information, the transmitter 200 can identify MODCODs that satisfy certain criteria, e.g., MODCODs that allow reception within an error rate threshold. For example, the transmitter determines which MODCODs allow transmissions to be received error free. The transmitter 200 then selects, from among the MODCODs that satisfy the error rate criteria, the MODCOD that provides the highest throughput. PDUs for transmission to the user terminal are placed in the MODCOD queue for the selected MODCOD”, Modulation Coding (MODCOD) queues may be stored in table format and are associated with modulation and error rates (see fig. 2, element 260). MODCOD queues may be selected based on error rate (over blocks, or BLER), modulation (MCS), or SNR (see ¶ 0041). See element 260, which includes FEC as a variable for selection. A SNR (which substitutes for environment or channel quality, see Kwon) value may be used to perform a selection from the table.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support selection based on error criteria as taught by Qin et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding columns within a table to include error considerations will improve reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 18, Kwon et al. in view of Ahmadzadeh et al. teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Kwon et al. do not explicitly teach wherein determining the characteristic of the wireless channel comprises estimating a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for the terminal or a signal-to-interference-and-noise ratio (SINR) for the terminal based on a geographical location of the terminal. [Examiner note: The language of the claim may be read that the qualifier “geographical location of the terminal” only modifies SINR.]
However, in analogous art, Qin et al. teach wherein determining the characteristic of the wireless channel comprises estimating a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for the terminal [Qin, ¶ 0037, “For each user terminal, the MODCOD used (and thus the MODCOD queue selected) varies based on the physical channel conditions detected by the receiving user terminal. A user terminal can provide the transmitter 200 information about current channel conditions. With that information, the transmitter 200 can identify MODCODs that satisfy certain criteria, e.g., MODCODs that allow reception within an error rate threshold. For example, the transmitter determines which MODCODs allow transmissions to be received error free. The transmitter 200 then selects, from among the MODCODs that satisfy the error rate criteria, the MODCOD that provides the highest throughput. PDUs for transmission to the user terminal are placed in the MODCOD queue for the selected MODCOD”, Modulation Coding (MODCOD) queues may be stored in table format and are associated with modulation and error rates (see fig. 2, element 260). MODCOD queues may be selected based on error rate (over blocks, or BLER), modulation (MCS), or SNR (see ¶ 0041). See element 260, which includes FEC as a variable for selection. A SNR (which substitutes for environment or channel quality, see Kwon) value may be used to perform a selection from the table.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to adjust the table based power control operations of Kwon et al. to support selection based on error criteria as taught by Qin et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding columns within a table to include error considerations will improve reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Lee et al. (US PG Pub 20230291499), teaches ULPE parameters for satellite communication and communicating new parameters to a relay (see fig. 1A, stage (I), ¶ 0097).
The reference, Gao et al. (US PG Pub 20210344413), teaches determining parameters between a UE and BS within a NTN context (see fig. 5, ¶s 0052-0055).
The reference, Perotti et al. (US PG Pub 20190229836), teaches MCS to TBS selection based on table values (see fig. 3, ¶s 0039-0047).
The reference, Subramanian (US PG Pub 20180183545), teaches a rank table, which corresponds MCS, min SNR, and modulation (see fig. 3, ¶s 0036 and 0037), which applies for satellite communication (see fig. 1).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417