Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (EP 3098644 A1).
Re claim 1: Park discloses a display device (see figs 5C-5D) comprising:
a display panel (display panel 20 in fig 5C);
a rear chassis (second chassis 84 in fig 5C) disposed on a rear side of the display panel to support the display panel; the rear chassis including: a rear chassis body; and a reinforcing rib (coupling members 300 in fig 5C) protruding rearwardly from the rear chassis body to increase a strength of the rear chassis;
a rear cover (cover 90 in fig 5C) disposed on a rear side of the rear chassis to cover the rear chassis, the rear cover having a plate shape; and
a frame chassis (coupling member 200 in fig 5C, coupling member 270 in fig 14) positioned corresponding to the reinforcing rib and detachably coupled to the reinforcing rib (300), positioned between the rear chassis and the rear cover and coupled to the rear cover to enable the rear chassis and the rear cover to be detachably coupled (see fig 5D);
wherein the frame chassis includes: a first frame (right side holder 223 of fixing part 220a in fig 14) extending in a first direction (see annotated fig 14) to be attached to the rear cover, and including a first free end (see annotated fig 14) in the first direction, and a second frame (left side holder 223 of fixing part 220a in fig 14), corresponding to the first frame, extending in a second direction (herein, second direction is same as the first direction shown in annotated fig 14) to be attached to the rear cover, and including a second free end (see annotated fig 14) in the second direction, and wherein the second free end of the second frame is separated and spaced apart from the first free end to prevent deformation of the rear cover (see annotated fig 14).
Re claim 2: Park discloses the display device, wherein a deformation opening (i.e., space formed between “first free end” and “second free end” that receives neck 212a of moving part 210a in annotated fig 14 above) is formed between the first free end and the second free end, a through space (i.e., space formed between left and right side holders 223 for receiving main body 230 in fig 14) is formed between the first frame and the second frame, and the through space is formed to extend to the deformation opening.
Re claim 3: Park discloses the display device, wherein the first frame and the second frame are arranged in a third direction (see annotated fig 14) different from the first direction and the second direction, and the frame chassis further includes a third frame (main body 230 of moving part 210a in fig 14; also, see annotated fig 14) extending in the third direction to connect the first frame and the second frame.
Re claim 5: Park discloses the display device, further including a stand (120 in figs 1, 6) couplable to the rear chassis (i.e., coupled to second chassis 84 via stand installation part 85 in fig 6), and the third frame is adjacent (i.e., near) to a position to which the stand is coupled.
Re claim 7: Park discloses the display device, wherein the first frame and the second frame extend in a vertical direction, and the third frame extends in a left-to-right direction (herein, when the display device is placed on a flat surface such that cover 90 is supported on the flat surface, the first and second frames would extend in vertical direction and the third frame would extend in left-to-right direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (EP 3098644 A1).
Re claim 8: Park discloses the display device, wherein the rear cover (90) has a plate shape.
Park fails to disclose that the rear cover has a thickness of 1 mm or less.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rear cover with a thickness of 1 mm of less in order to reduce overall thickness of the display device and as per the designer’s choice. Also, change in size/thickness is considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art and has a little patentable significance unless a new and an unexpected result is produced.
Re claim 9: Park discloses the display device.
Park fails to disclose that the rear cover is manufactured by a rolling press method.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the rear cover by rolling press method as per the designer’s choice. Also, the examiner herein notes that even though the claims are limited and defined by the recited process, the determination of patentability of the product is based on the product itself, and does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Re claim 10: Park discloses the display device.
Park fails to disclose that the frame chassis is manufactured by an injection molding method.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the frame chassis by an injection molding method as per the designer’s choice. Also, the examiner herein notes that even though the claims are limited and defined by the recited process, the determination of patentability of the product is based on the product itself, and does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Re claim 11: Park discloses the display device.
Park fails to disclose that the frame chassis is located at a position corresponding to a center of the rear cover.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the frame chassis at a position corresponding to a center of the rear cover as per the designer’s choice. Relocation of parts is considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art and has a little patentable significance unless a new and an unexpected result is produced.
Re claim 15: Park discloses the display device.
Park fails to disclose that a through hole is formed by passing through the third frame to reduce a weight of the frame chassis.
However, the examiner notes that it is well known in the art of engineering to form thorough holes in a chassis to reduce its weight.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the third frame with a hole therethrough in order to reduce the overall weight of the display device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The best prior art of record, taken alone or in combination thereof, fails to teach a display device including, along with other limitations, the first frame and the second frame are coupled to the rear cover by an adhesive, and no adhesive is placed between the third frame and the rear cover as set forth in the claim.
Claims 6, 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The best prior art of record, taken alone or in combination thereof, fails to teach a display device including, along with other limitations, a cable located on the rear side of the rear chassis, wherein the through space includes: a first through gap disposed between the first frame and the frame rib to allow the cable to pass through; and a second through gap disposed between the second frame and the frame rib to allow the cable to pass through as set forth in the claim.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The best prior art of record, taken alone or in combination thereof, fails to teach a display device including, along with other limitations, a supporter is detachably arranged between the first frame and the second frame to facilitate a coupling of the frame chassis to the rear cover as set forth in the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 2/27/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Park et al. (different species used for rejection).
Conclusion
/NIDHI THAKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841