DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 requires “responsive to the change in the magnetic field, the TMR IC allows current flow therethrough.” What does the TMR IC allow current to flow therethrough? Is the current flowing through the TMR IC? If current were not flowing through the TMR IC before it was allowing current to flow, how would the TMR IC be functioning? If there is another circuit element the TMR IC is allowing current to flow, what circuit element is it? How is the TMR IC allowing the current to flow through any given circuit element? Clarification is required? All subsequent dependent claims 2-8 are also therefore rejected. Independent claims 9 & 18 contain similar language and are also therefore rejected along with all subsequent dependent claims.
Claims 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high to low” in regards to voltage in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high to low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What defines high and low voltages? Is 1000 volts high and 0.001 volts low? Is 1,000,000 volts high and 1000 volts low? Is 100,000,000 volts high and 1,000,000 volts low? Is 1 volt high and 0.001 volts low? Clarification is required.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
What defines a “leaf-style lever” and a “wishbone-style lever?” These do not appear to be commonly used terms in the art and it is not clear from the specification what exactly the applicant is claiming. Clarification of these limitations is required.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high” in claims 12 & 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Is 1,000,000 volts high” Is 100,000 volts high? Is 10,000 volts high? Is 1,000 volts high? Clarification is required.
The term “low” in claims 14-15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Is 0.001 volts low? Is 0.01 volts low? Is 0.1 volts low? Is 1 volt low? Is 10 volts low? Clarification is required.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the customer system” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the customer system” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, & 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalathil et al (U.S. PGPub # 2013/0066587) in view of Bogos et al (U.S. PGPub 2013/0015844).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Kalathil teaches:
A positional detection device comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1 Elements 10 & 14. See paragraphs 0018-0023.);
a tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) (Fig. 1 Element 16. See paragraphs 0025-0030.) integrated circuit (IC) (Fig. 1 Element 16. See paragraphs 0025-0030.) on a printed circuit board (PCB) (Fig. 1 Element 36. See paragraph 0031.) inside of the housing (Fig. 1 Elements 10 & 14. See paragraphs 0018-0023.);
a pair of magnets disposed on an actuator inside of the housing (Fig. 1 Element 12. See paragraphs 0018-0023. Any magnet is a superposition of many individual magnetic structures placed together and aligned in a magnetic field. Therefore, one magnetic is a collection of many.); and
an activation mechanism disposed outside of the housing and coupled to the actuator (Fig. 1 Elements 24 & 16. See paragraphs 0018-0023.), wherein activation of the activation mechanism causes the actuator to actuate, the pair of magnets to move towards the TMR IC (Fig. 1 Elements 24 & 16. See paragraphs 0018-0023.) , and a magnetic field around the TMR IC to change (Fig. 1 Elements 24 & 16. See paragraphs 0018-0023 wherein any moving magnet will necessarily have a changing field.), and
wherein, responsive to the change in the magnetic field, the TMR IC allows current flow therethrough (Fig. 1 Element 16. See paragraphs 0025-0030 wherein currently necessarily flows through a circuit for it to operate.).
Kalathil does not explicitly teach:
a pair of magnets disposed on an actuator inside of the housing
Bogos teaches:
a pair of magnets disposed on an actuator inside of the housing (See Fig. 5A & 5B. See Fig. 14 Element 336 and paragraph 0117.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Bogos to the teachings of Kalathil such that one would place magnets on an actuator because these tools, the actuators, are common, well-known devices used to move other elements reliably, accurately, and dependably.
Regarding claim 3, Kalathil & Boos teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kalathil teaches the TMR IC is centered between the pair of magnets (Fig. 1 Elements 12 & 16 wherein the sensor can be at times perfectly on the centerline of the magnetic source which would meet the metes and bounds of this claim language.).
Regarding claim 4, Kalathil & Boos teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kalathil teaches each of the pair of magnets faces the TMR IC (Fig. 1 Elements 12 & 16 wherein the sensor and the magnetic source face each other.).
Regarding claim 5, Kalathil & Boos teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kalathil teaches a respective south pole of each of the pair of magnets faces the TMR IC (Fig. 1 Elements 12 & 16 wherein the sensor and the magnetic source face each other.).
Regarding claim 8, Kalathil & Bogos teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kalathil teaches at least one resistor on the PCB that enables diagnostic functions (Fig. 4 Elements 60-1 through 60-4.).
Regarding claim 9, Kalathil teaches:
A positional detection device comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1 Elements 10 & 14. See paragraphs 0018-0023.);
a tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) (Fig. 1 Element 16. See paragraphs 0025-0030.) integrated circuit (IC) (Fig. 1 Element 16. See paragraphs 0025-0030.) on a printed circuit board (PCB) (Fig. 1 Element 36. See paragraph 0031.) inside of the housing (Fig. 1 Elements 10 & 14. See paragraphs 0018-0023.);
a magnet disposed on an actuator (Fig. 1 Element 12. See paragraphs 0018-0023.);
a first resistor coupled to the TMR IC on the PCB (Fig. 4 Elements 60-1 through 60-4.); and
a second resistor coupled to the TMR IC on the PCB (Fig. 4 Elements 60-1 through 60-4.),
wherein activation of the actuator causes the magnet to move towards the TMR IC and a magnetic field around the TMR IC to change (Fig. 1 Elements 24 & 16. See paragraphs 0018-0023.),
wherein, responsive to the change in the magnetic field, a voltage output of the TMR IC changes from high to low (Fig. 1 Elements 24 & 16. See paragraphs 0018-0023 wherein any movement of the magnet will change the field from low to high or high to low depending on whether or not it is moving toward or away from the sensor.),
wherein, when the voltage output of the TMR IC is high, no current flows through the TMR IC or the first resistor (Fig. 1 Element 16. See paragraphs 0025-0030 wherein currently necessarily flows through a circuit for it to operate. If there is no current, it would be inoperable.), and
wherein, when the voltage output of the TMR IC is low, the current flows through the TMR IC and the first resistor (Fig. 1 Element 16. See paragraphs 0025-0030 wherein currently necessarily flows through a circuit for it to operate.).
Bogos teaches:
on an actuator (See Fig. 5A & 5B. See Fig. 14 Element 336 and paragraph 0117.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Bogos to the teachings of Kalathil such that one would place magnets on an actuator because these tools, the actuators, are common, well-known devices used to move other elements reliably, accurately, and dependably.
Regarding claim 10, Kalathil & Bogos teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Kalathil teaches the first resistor is connected to the TMR IC in series (Fig. 4 Elements 60-1 through 60-4 wherein they can be connected any way necessary and are shown in both series and parallel.).
Regarding claim 11, Kalathil & Bogos teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Kalathil teaches the second resistor is connected to the TMR IC in parallel (Fig. 4 Elements 60-1 through 60-4 wherein they can be connected any way necessary and are shown in both series and parallel.).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalathil et al (U.S. PGPub # 2013/0066587) in view of Bogos et al (U.S. PGPub 2013/0015844) & Gauthier et al (U.S. PGPub # 2021/0304980).
Regarding claim 2, Kalathil & Bogos teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kalathil & Bogos do not explicitly teach the activation mechanism comprises a rubber dome that provides a spring force and haptics.
Gauthier teaches the activation mechanism comprises a rubber dome that provides a spring force and haptics (Paragraph 0094. Fig. 2 Element 16.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Gauthier to the teachings of Kalathil & Bogos such that the activation mechanism would comprise a rubber dome that provides a spring force and haptics because this provides the user with a comfortable device to use when using the positional detection device and because any item that one touches is necessarily going to provide haptics because it is touchable.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalathil et al (U.S. PGPub # 2013/0066587) in view of Bogos et al (U.S. PGPub 2013/0015844) & Wernlund et al (U.S. Pat. # 10,317,247).
Regarding claim 6, Kalathil & Boos teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kalathil & Bogos do not explicitly teach the actuator comprises a leaf-style lever.
Wernlund teaches the actuator comprises a leaf-style lever (Fig. 1-4 Element 24. See column 6 lines 37-53.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Wernlund to the teachings of Kalathil & Bogos such that the actuator comprises a leaf-style lever because it is easy to use and implement. Levers are well-known and easy to use and understand.
Regarding claim 7, Kalathil & Bogos teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kalathil does not explicitly teach the actuator comprises a wishbone-style lever.
Wernlund teaches the actuator comprises a wishbone-style lever (Fig. 1-4 Element 24. See column 6 lines 37-53.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Wernlund to the teachings of Kalathil & Bogos such that the actuator comprises a wishbone-style lever because it is easy to use and implement. Levers are well-known and easy to use and understand.
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalathil et al (U.S. PGPub # 2013/0066587) in view of Wernlund et al (U.S. Pat. # 10,317,247).
Regarding claim 19, Kalathil teaches all elements of claim 18, upon which this claim depends.
Kalathil does not explicitly teach the actuator comprises a lever disposed outside of the housing.
Wernlund teaches the actuator comprises a lever disposed outside of the housing (Fig. 1-4 Element 24. See column 6 lines 37-53.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Wernlund to the teachings of Kalathil & Bogos such that the actuator comprises a lever disposed outside of the housing because it is easy to use and implement. Levers are well-known and easy to use and understand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kalathil et al (U.S. PGPub # 2013/0066587).
Regarding claim 18, Kalathil teaches:
A positional detection device comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1 Elements 10 & 14. See paragraphs 0018-0023.);
a switching device inside of the housing (Fig. 5 Element 120. See paragraph 0053.); and
a magnet coupled to an actuator (Fig. 1 Element 12. See paragraphs 0018-0023.), wherein activation of the actuator causes a magnetic field to change (Fig. 1 Element 12. See paragraphs 0018-0023. Fig. 1 Elements 24 & 16. See paragraphs 0018-0023 wherein any movement of the magnet will change the field from low to high or high to low depending on whether or not it is moving toward or away from the sensor.), and
wherein responsive to the change in the magnetic field (Fig. 1 Elements 24 & 16. See paragraphs 0018-0023 wherein any movement of the magnet will change the field from low to high or high to low depending on whether or not it is moving toward or away from the sensor.), the switching device allows current flow therethrough (Fig. 1 Element 16. See paragraphs 0025-0030 wherein currently necessarily flows through a circuit for it to operate.).
Regarding claim 20, Kalathil teaches all elements of claim 18, upon which this claim depends.
Kalathil teaches at least one resistor on the PCB that enables diagnostic functions (Fig. 4 Elements 60-1 through 60-4 wherein if they function correctly the circuit can perform any necessary task.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art listed does not anticipate alone or combine in an obvious manner to teach the invention claimed by applicant.
Regarding claim 12,
The positional detection device of claim 9 wherein the voltage output of the TMR IC is high when the actuator is released.
Regarding claim 13,
The positional detection device of claim 12 wherein, when the voltage output of the TMR IC is high, the current flows through the second resistor.
Regarding claim 14,
The positional detection device of claim 9 wherein the voltage output of the TMR IC is low when the actuator is activated.
Regarding claim 15,
The positional detection device of claim 14 wherein, when the voltage output of the TMR IC is low, the current flows through the first resistor and the second resistor.
Regarding claim 16, Kalathil & Bogos teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Kalathil does not explicitly teach the TMR IC, the first resistor, and the second resistor form a circuit, wherein the circuit is connected to an external system via a pull up resistor, and wherein voltage output to the customer system is a full supply voltage when a wire between the circuit and the pull up resistor is broken.
Regarding claim 17, Kalathil & Bogos teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Kalathil does not explicitly teach the TMR IC, the first resistor, and the second resistor form a circuit, wherein the circuit is connected to an external system via a pull up resistor, and wherein voltage output to the customer system is 0 when a wire between the circuit and the pull up resistor is shorted.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858