DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12-13, 15, and 18-20, so far as they are definite, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PZOZ (https://www.amazon.com/Lightning-Charging-Adapter-Storage-Converter/dp/B0BZRT8HMC).
Regarding Claim 1, PZOZ teaches a coupler (1 in Annotated Figure 1 below) for a portable tracking device (2 in Annotated Figure 1 below), the coupler comprising: a body having a planar shape (3 in Annotated Figure 1 below); and an interface member (4 in Annotated Figure 2 below) coupled to the body (3 in Annotated Figure 1 below) and complementarily configured with the portable tracking device (2 in Annotated Figure 1 below); wherein the interface member (4 in Annotated Figure 2 below) is configured to selectively insert (as seen between Annotated Figures 1 and 2 below) into a recess (5 in Annotated Figure 3 below) defined in the portable tracking device (2 in Annotated Figure 1 below).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 12, PZOZ further teaches wherein the body (3 in Annotated Figure 1 above) defines a mount (7 in Annotated Figure 1 above) for an object (8 and 9 in Annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding Claim 13, PZOZ further teaches wherein the object is a memory card (9 in Annotated Figure 1 above); the mount (7 in Annotated Figure 1 above) defines a card receiver recess (7 in Annotated Figure 1 above) complementarily configured with the memory card (9 in Annotated Figure 1 above); and the card receiver recess (7 in Annotated Figure 1 above) selectively secures the memory card (9 in Annotated Figure 1 above) via a friction fit (wherein it can be seen in Annotated Figure 6 below the memory cards are retained by tabs 10) when the memory card (9 in Annotated Figure 1 above) is inserted into the card receiver recess (7 in Annotated Figure 1 above).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 15, PZOZ further teaches wherein: the object is a key (8 in Annotated Figure 1 above); and the mount (7 in Annotated Figure 1 above) defines a key receiver recess (7 in Annotated Figure 1 above) complementary configured with the key (8 in Annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding Claim 18, PZOZ further teaches wherein the body (2 in Annotated Figure 1 above) is formed from plastic. (Wherein PZOZ teaches “Airtag wallet case is made of high quality plastic, which is sturdy and durable.”)
Regarding Claim 19, PZOZ further teaches wherein the coupler (1 in Annotated Figure 1 above) is complementarily configured with a credit card sleeve (13 in Annotated Figure 10 below) to selectively insert (as seen in Annotated Figure 10 below) within the credit card sleeve (13 in Annotated Figure 10 below).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 20, PZOZ further teaches wherein the interface member (4 in Annotated Figure 2 above) is integrally (wherein the coupler as taught by PZOZ is a singular unit) coupled to the body (2 in Annotated Figure 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, so far as they are definite, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PZOZ (https://www.amazon.com/Lightning-Charging-Adapter-Storage-Converter/dp/B0BZRT8HMC), in view of Suritch (https://www.amazon.com/SURITCH-Anti-Lost-Carabiner-Shockproof-Protective/dp/B0CFH5WYX9).
Regarding Claim 2, PZOZ teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above;
PZOZ further teaches the portable tracking device (2 in Annotated Figure 1 above) includes a curved outer surface (6 in Annotated Figure 2 above); the recess (5 in Annotated Figure 3 above) of the portable tracking device (2 in Annotated Figure 1 above) extends circumferentially along the curved outer surface (as seen in Annotated Figures 2-3).
PZOZ does not teach the interface member is curved to complement the recess extending circumferentially along the curved outer surface.
Suritch further teaches an interface member (1 in Annotated Figure 4 below) is curved (2 in Annotated Figure 4 below) to complement a recess extending circumferentially (as seen in Annotated Figure 4 below) along the curved outer surface. (Wherein it can be seen in the product video (Annotated Figure 5 below) that the circumferential surface of the tracking device is designed to be inserted into a complimentary recess in the keychain holder.)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the coupler for a portable tracking device as taught by PZOZ, and substitute the interface member to interact with the recess of the portable tracking device as taught by Suritch. Wherein using simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; one would be motivated to substitute the interface member receiving the recess of the portable tracking device rather than the entire device, in order to capitalize on the ridge provided by the recess and improve the retention of the portable tracking device to the coupler.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 3, PZOZ, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 2 above except;
Suritch further teaches the curved outer surface is convexly curved (as seen at 3 in Annotated 5 above); and the interface member (1 in Annotated Figure 4 above) is concavely curved (2 in Annotated Figure 4 above).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the coupler for a portable tracking device as taught by PZOZ, modified above, and substitute the interface member to interact with the recess of the portable tracking device as taught by Suritch. Wherein using simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; one would be motivated to substitute a pass through interface member for a recess member with a concave surface, in order to enhance the securement of the portable tracking device to the coupler.
Claim 14, so far as it is definite, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PZOZ (https://www.amazon.com/Lightning-Charging-Adapter-Storage-Converter/dp/B0BZRT8HMC), in view of Tang et al. (US 20090301909 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, PZOZ teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 13 above except; wherein the card receiver recess defines a finger opening extending through the body to enable a user to grasp the memory card from opposite major sides of the body when the memory card is secured in the card receiver recess.
Tang et al. further teaches wherein a card receiver recess (44) defines a finger opening (66) extending through the body (50) to enable a user to grasp the memory card (34) from opposite major sides (30 and 50 as seen in Figure 5) of the body (50) when the memory card (34) is secured in the card receiver recess (44). (Figs. 1-8; [0030]-[0032])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the coupler for a portable tracking device as taught by PZOZ, and provide for finger openings for grasping a memory card as taught by Tang et al. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for finger openings for grasping a memory card on the coupler, in order to provide the user with a convenient configuration for retrieving the memory card.
Claims 16, so far as it is definite, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PZOZ (https://www.amazon.com/Lightning-Charging-Adapter-Storage-Converter/dp/B0BZRT8HMC), in view of Xanter (https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:4713242#google_vignette).
Regarding Claim 16; PZOZ teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 15 above except; a key receiver recess defines a tab that is complementarily configured with a groove defined in the key; and the tab is configured to selectively insert into the groove of the key to secure the key in the key receiver recess.
Wherein PZOZ teaches a key receiver recess (7 in Annotated Figure 1 above) defines a tab (10 in Annotated Figure 6 above).
Xanter further teaches a holder (1 in Annotated Figure 7 below) with a key receiver recess (2 in Annotated Figure 7 below) defines a tab (3 in Annotated Figure 7 below) that is complementarily configured with a groove (4 in Annotated Figure 7 below) defined in the key (5 in Annotated Figure 7 below); and the tab (3 in Annotated Figure 7 below) is configured to selectively insert into the groove (4 in Annotated Figure 7 below) of the key (5 in Annotated Figure 7 below) to secure the key in the key receiver recess (2 in Annotated Figure 7 below).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the coupler for a portable tracking device as taught by PZOZ, and substitute the key and tab for a door key and a tab that interfaces with the grooves of the key as taught by Xanter. Wherein using simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; one would be motivated to substitute the key and tab, in order to provide the user with a coupler that can retain a house key.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 17; PZOZ teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 12 above;
PZOZ further teaches the body includes: a first major face (11 in Annotated Figure 8 below) on which the mount (7 in Annotated Figure 1 above) and the interface member (4 in Annotated Figure 2 above) are defined; and a second major face (12 in Annotated Figure 8 below) opposite the first major face (11 in Annotated Figure 8 below);
PZOZ does not teach the second major face having a level surface without recesses defined in it.
Xanter further teaches a second major face (9 in Annotated Figure 9 below) having a level surface without recesses defined in it. (Wherein it can be seen in Annotated Figure 9 that the bottom surface is level and devoid of recesses).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the coupler for a portable tracking device as taught by PZOZ, and substitute a rear surface with recesses for a level and bare rear surface as taught by Xanter. Wherein using simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; one would be motivated to substitute the rear surface for a rear surface absent recesses, in order to prevent accidental dislodging of the devices mounted within the holder.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4, PZOZ (https://www.amazon.com/Lightning-Charging-Adapter-Storage-Converter/dp/B0BZRT8HMC) is considered the most relevant prior art of record. The prior art does not teach:
A curved sidewall; and a curved rim projecting transversely from the curved sidewall.
Since the prior art of record does not teach a holder with a curved sidewall, with a curved rim projecting transversely from the curved sidewall, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Raptic (https://www.amazon.com/AirTags-Anti-Theft-Combination-Carabiner-Polycarbonate/dp/B0992SKBXZ), teaches a carabiner configured to receive a position tracking device.
Caszlution (https://www.amazon.com/Airtag-Holder-Sticker-Cover-Stick/dp/B0B4FG95XP), teaches a position tracking device holder case.
Vittadini (EP 4070683 A1), teaches a tracking device containment structure.
Bohm (US 6275383 B1), teaches a memory card storage device.
Sheba et al. (US 20100051487 A1), teaches a memory card holder.
Harase (US 5155663 A), teaches a memory cartridge system.
Fiorentino (US D553130 S), teaches a flash memory device carrier.
/JUSTIN CAUDILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 21 January 2026