DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “Rudelsden-Popper” should be “Ruddelsden-Popper” in several paragraphs of originally filed specification. The specification should be revised carefully. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 6, and 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: “Rudelsden-Popper” should be “Ruddelsden-Popper” in several lines. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is exfoliated objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4, “Rudelsden-Popper perovskite single crystal layer 3” is not clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rand et al. (US 20220306936).
As to claim 1, Rand discloses a method of manufacturing perovskite light emitting device (Fig. 1, [0057]: organic-inorganic perovskite nanocrystals is a light emitting diode (LED)), comprising
preparing a first electrode (Fig. 1, [0057]: first electrode) including a first functional layer ([0058]: hole transport layer (HTL));
transferring a bulk single crystal layer of Ruddlesden-Popper perovskite (RPP) onto the first functional layer ([0058]: hole transport layer (HTL), [0066] – [0069]);
exfoliating the transferred Rudelsden-Popper perovskite bulk single crystal layer to provide an exfoliated Rudelsden-Popper perovskite single crystal layer ([0066] – [0069], [0078]: Ruddlesden-Popper phases); and
sequentially depositing a second functional layer ([0058]: electron transport layer (ETL)) and a second electrode (Fig. 1, [0057]: second electrode) on the exfoliated Rudelsden-Popper perovskite single crystal layer ([0068], [0078]: Ruddlesden-Popper phases),
wherein one of the first functional layer or the second functional layer is an electron transport layer ([0058]: electron transport layer (ETL)) and the other is a hole transport layer ([0058]: hole transport layer (HTL)).
As to claim 3, Rand teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first functional layer is a hole transport layer, and the hole transport layer is hydrophilic conductive polymer thin film ([0058]: hole transport layer (HTL)).
As to claim 4, Rand teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the hole transport layer comprises PEDOT:PSS, 3-hydroxytyramine hydrochloride (DA·HCl), poly[bis(4-butypheny)-bis(phenyl)benzidine (poly-TPD), or poly(9-vinylcarbazole) (PVK), or a combination thereof, as a hydrophilic conductive polymer; NiOx, MoO3, or Cu2O or a combination thereof as an inorganic material; or a combination thereof ([0058]: hole transport layer (HTL) comprises bis(4-butylphenyl)- bis(phenyl)-benzidine] (poly-TPD), poly(9-vinylcatbazole) (PVK), PEDOT:PSS; Note: since there is “or”, the Examiner can pick one element from the list to reject entire limitation).
As to claim 8, Rand discloses a perovskite light emitting device (Fig. 1, [0057]: organic-inorganic perovskite nanocrystals is a light emitting diode (LED)), comprising
a first electrode (Fig. 1, [0057]: first electrode);
a first functional layer ([0058]: hole transport layer (HTL)) disposed on the first electrode (Fig. 1, [0057]: first electrode);
an exfoliated Rudelsden-Popper perovskite single crystal layer 3 disposed on the first functional layer ([0068] – [0069], [0078]: Ruddlesden-Popper phases);
a second functional layer ([0058]: electron transport layer (ETL)) disposed on the exfoliated Rudelsden-Popper perovskite single crystal layer ([0068] – [0069], [0078]: Ruddlesden-Popper phases); and
a second electrode (Fig. 1, [0057]: second electrode) on the second functional layer ([0058]: electron transport layer (ETL)),
wherein one of the first functional layer or the second functional layer is an electron transport layer ([0058]: electron transport layer (ETL)) and the other is a hole transport layer ([0058]: hole transport layer (HTL)).
As to claim 10, Rand teaches the perovskite light emitting device of claim 8, wherein the exfoliated Rudelsden-Popper perovskite single crystal layer has a thickness of 20 nm to 30 nm ([0054]: organic-inorganic perovskite nanocrystal layer can generally have thickness of 20-100 nm).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AFROZA CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628