DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/13/2026 is acknowledged. The requirement has been made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 21-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balan et al. (2013/0331073) hereinafter “Balan” and Choi et al. (2014/0307040) hereinafter “Choi”.
As to claim 1. (Original) Balan discloses A method comprising:
receiving, from a first user device (210), a communication (call) comprising supplemental data (see [0028]: “image content… and other caller-specific data”) and one or more identifiers associated with a second user device (see [0035]: “mobile device number (MDN) corresponding to recipient device 260…”);
determining, based on the one or more identifiers associated with the second user device, that the second user device is not configured to process the supplemental data (see [0038]: “…SCP 240 sends the caller-specifc image content to the recipient mobile device 260 via the established data connection (S7). Prior to sending the requested image data, SCP 240 may first determine whether the recipient device 260 is a device capable of receiving the image and other caller-specific data… e.g., from the stored subscriber account information associated with the device…”).
Balan is silent to yet in an analogous art, Choi discloses
causing the second user device to output an audio representation of the supplemental data (see [0144]: “… In other words, the driver automatically converts the information (or audio (music), etc) of the website into a voice to output it through the audio output unit 226 of the telematics terminal 200 since viewing information (for example, video, website, etc) other than navigation information is prohibited due to the road traffic act…”), & [0145]. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Balan to cause the second user device to output an audio representation of the supplemental data, as taught by Choi for the purpose of enabling audio communication despite viewing issues.
As to claim 2. (Original) The combination of Balan and Choi discloses the method of claim 1, Balan discloses wherein the communication comprises a communication request (see [0033]: “voice call (S1)”), and wherein the supplemental data comprises rich call data (caller-specific information including image data associated with the subscriber”).
As to claim 3. (Original) The combination of Balan and Choi discloses the method of claim 1, Balan discloses wherein causing the second user device to output the audio representation of the supplemental data comprises causing the second user device to play a pre-call announcement ([0036]: “…for display with the incoming call notification” – thus prior to answering call, the combination above would result in the “playing”, & [0040]), and wherein determining the second user device is not configured to process the supplemental data is based on the one or more identifiers associated with the second user device (based on account details accessible from MDN, as applied above).
As to claim 4. (Original) The combination of Balan and Choi discloses the method of claim 1, Balan discloses wherein the supplemental data comprises image data configured to be output by a display (see Fig 3, and [0013]: “such image content may include… including a slogan or tagline…”), Choi disclosing the method further comprising: converting the supplemental data to text data; and converting the text data to audio data. See [0144]-[0145].
As to claim 5. (Original) The combination of Balan and Choi discloses the method of claim 1, Balan discloses further comprising: receiving, from the second user device, a user input; and opening, based on the user input, a communication session between the first user device and the second user device. Implied by Fig 3, [0042]: “As shown in Fig 3, an incoming call screen 300 includes various user controls for either answering or declining the incoming call…”.
As to claim 6. (Original) The combination of Balan and Choi discloses the method of claim 1, Balan discloses further comprising: determining, based on a user input associated with the second user device, a communication session open command; and opening, based on the communication session open command, a communication session between the first user device and the second user device. Implied by Fig 3, [0042]: “As shown in Fig 3, an incoming call screen 300 includes various user controls for either answering or declining the incoming call…”.
As to claim 7. (Original) The combination of Balan and Choi discloses the method of claim 1, is silent to yet the examiner takes official notice that each of sending, to a call log server, text data; and sending, to the second user device, a pre-recorded voicemail message were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention and before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further implement sending, to a call log server, text data; and sending, to the second user device, a pre-recorded voicemail message for the purpose of performing the routine functions and thereby providing the expected services.
Claims 21-27 read on SCP 240, (see [0053], Figs 5-6), and corresponding method claims 1-7.
Claims 28-34 read on memory units in Figs 5-6 and corresponding method claims 1-7.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 21-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-10, 16-19, 21, & 24 of copending Application No. 18/895,803 – PgPub 2026/0089196 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because. The independent claims generally overlap with the differences having shown to be obvious, as applied above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 and 21-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4, 9-12, and 19-21 of copending Application No. 18909587 – PgPub 2026/0101158 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because. The independent claims generally overlap with the differences having shown to be obvious, as applied above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seay (10178230) provides for (steps 550-555 , cols 17-18) converting supplemental data with text to speech, step 560+ of accepting com.
Khoshaba et al. (2018/0007196) provide for prerecorded audio message and text to speech. See abstract…
/LESTER G KINCAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649