DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 4/15/2026 has been entered. No claims are amended. Claims 1-7 and 15-27 are rejected. Claims 8-14 are allowed. Claims 1-27 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (US 20140099991 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device in a locked state, one or more wireless signals (The first antenna ant1 and second antennas ant2, positioned on an upper half section and a lower half section of the phone body, respectively, transmit and receive Radio Frequency (RF) signals for a wireless communication. When a user holds the smart phone 1, the user's hand may cover the position(s) of the antenna(s) where the RF signals are picked up, resulting in a reduced received signal strength and decreased antenna sensitivity. Consequently, the smart phone 1 can determine that the position of the hand on the phone body by detecting the antenna which exhibits a reduced received signal strength or decreased antenna sensitivity by a certain signal level, Para. 17);
determining a reduction in a signal strength of the one or more wireless signals satisfies a threshold; and changing, based on the reduction in the signal strength of the one or more wireless signals satisfying the threshold, the locked state to an unlocked state (Based on the determined information of the hand position, the body motion and the nearby object, the smart phone 1 can automatically launch various phone functions and applications, such as a screen unlock, Para. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng discloses determining a change in reflection (detect changes of reflection by its light sensor, Para. 24).
Regarding claim 5, Cheng discloses determining a change in a received signal strength associated with the one or more wireless signals (Para. 17).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng discloses determining, based on an attenuation of the one or more wireless signals satisfying the threshold, a presence of a user (via user presence detected as near phone based on reduced signal strength of signals received, Para. 17);
and determining, based on the presence of the user, a location of the user (near the phone, Para. 17).
Claim(s) 15-23, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bultan (US 20190033446 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Bultan discloses a method comprising:
determining a variance in a signal characteristic of a wireless signal received by a wireless device (via detection of robber 456 via WiFi identification, Para. 51, 36);
receiving a user input (via unauthorized entry, Para. 51); and
associating, based on the user input, the variance in the signal characteristic of the wireless signal received by the wireless device with a user profile (intruder as a robber, Para. 51).
Regarding claim 21, Bultan discloses a method comprising:
detecting an attempt to change a state of a wireless device (intrusion detection of smart home, Para. 51);
based on detecting the attempt to change the state of the wireless device, determining a change in a signal characteristic of one or more wireless signals received by the wireless device (When the robber 456 is detected approaching the house at location “a” via either or both the acoustic and WiFi spatial maps generated by the smart transceiver, Para. 51);
determining, based on the change in the signal characteristic of the one or more wireless signals, a user profile (the smart transceiver categorizes that person as an intruder because there is no corresponding identification/authentication record in the identification table 409, Para. 51); and
changing, based on the user profile, the state of the wireless device (smart home in security mode to assist police based on identification of robber, Para. 51).
Regarding claim 16, 22, Bultan discloses wherein the wireless device comprises one or more of: a smart lock, a smart refrigerator, a smart kitchen appliance, or a smart television (via wireless smart lock, Para. 36).
Regarding claim 17, Bultan discloses changing, based on the user profile, a state of the wireless device (smart device in security mode to assist police based on identification of robber, Para. 51).
Regarding claim 18, Bultan discloses determining, based on the variance in the signal characteristic, a state of the wireless device (smart device in security mode to assist police based on identification of robber, Para. 51).
Regarding claim 19, Bultan discloses determining a second variance in the signal characteristic of the wireless signal; and changing, based on the second variance the signal characteristic of the wireless signal, the state of the wireless device (The presence and identity of the cat 476 is detected by the smart, transceiver in the processing of its successive composite spatial diagnostic maps. No alarm is sounded because the cat is the family pet, as indicated by its matching WiFi and acoustic identification record in identification table 409, Para. 51).
Regarding claim 20, 23, Bultan discloses wherein the state is one or more of: a locked state, a power-on state, an alarmed state, an unlocked state, a power-off state, or an unarmed state (alarmed stated indicated by security mode, Para. 51).
Regarding claim 25, Bultan discloses wherein preventing the attempt to change the state of the wireless device comprises entering a non-dynamic state (No alarm is sounded because the cat is the family pet, as indicated by its matching WiFi and acoustic identification record in identification table 409, Para. 51).
Regarding claim 26, Bultan discloses sending, based on the attempt to change the state of the wireless device, an alert (smart transceiver issues another warning, that it has automatically called the police 466, Para. 51).
Regarding claim 27, Bultan discloses determining a change in the signal characteristic of the one or more wireless signals (WiFi identification, Para. 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, and further in view of Wu (US 20150379795 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng fails to disclose wherein the wireless device comprises a smart lock.
Wu teaches a wireless smart lock configured to sense a user based on signal changes to allow automatic unlocking (Para. 39).
From the teachings of Wu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng to include wherein the wireless device comprises a smart lock in order to improve convenience of unlocking a lock.
Claim(s) 3, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, and further in view of Bultan (US 20190033446 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng teaches the signal strength of the wireless signal comprises a received signal strength indication (by detecting the antenna which exhibits a reduced received signal strength, Para. 17), but fails to specifically disclose the one or more wireless signals comprises a Wi-Fi signal.
It is well known in the art to one of ordinary skill that phones are equipped with transceivers to send and receive Wi-Fi signals in a home. Bultan teaches an example of a phone configured to communicate Wi-Fi signals (Para. 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng to include the one or more wireless signals comprises a Wi-Fi signal as Wi-Fi signals are commonly sent and received by phones in a home.
Regarding claim 7, Cheng fails to disclose determining, based on an attenuation of the one or more wireless signals satisfying the threshold, an identity of a user; and determining, based on the attenuation of the one or more wireless signals satisfying the threshold, a class of the user.
Bultan teaches a system to determine an identity and class of a user based on attenuation of one or more wireless signals satisfying a threshold (When the robber 456 is detected approaching the house at location “a” via either or both the acoustic and WiFi spatial maps generated by the smart transceiver the smart transceiver categorizes that person as an intruder because there is no corresponding identification/authentication record in the identification table 409, Para. 51, 29).
From the teachings of Bultan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng to include determining, based on an attenuation of the one or more wireless signals satisfying the threshold, an identity of a user; and determining, based on the attenuation of the one or more wireless signals satisfying the threshold, a class of the user in order to prevent unauthorized use of the wireless device, thereby improve security.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bultan, and further in view of Child (US 20140267716 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Bultan fails to disclose wherein detecting the attempt to change the state of the wireless device comprises determining one or more: a user interface input, a lever grasp, a handle grasp, or a knob grasp.
Child teaches a home security system including sensors to detect intruders, wherein a handle can be configured to include one of the sensors (Para. 49, 35, 66).
From the teachings of Child, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bultan to include wherein detecting the attempt to change the state of the wireless device comprises determining a handle grasp in order to detect presence of intruders, thereby improve security.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on paragraph 4 of page 7 to paragraph 2 of page 8 that Cheng does not disclose changing a locked state to an unlocked state based on a reduction in signal strength satisfying a threshold. Rather, Cheng discloses that the smart phone determines hand position by detecting reduced signal strength, and then uses that hand position determination, combined with other factors, to trigger unlocking. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 as presented does not explicitly state “determining a reduction in a signal strength…” as the sole and only factor. Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated by Cheng because Cheng clearly teaches the claimed limitations (detecting the antenna which exhibits a reduced received signal strength, Para. 17).
Applicant next argues in page 8 that Bultan does not disclose “receiving a user input” and “associating, based on the user input, the variance in the signal characteristic of the wireless signal received by the wireless device with a user profile”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 15 as presented doesn’t specifically define the user inputs, such as user fingerprint inputs; therefore, the examiner is allowed to interpret the user inputs to include entry of a residence by a user as a user input. And if the user entry is not allowed, categorize the user as a robber (Para. 51, 36 of Bultan).
Applicant next argues in page 9 that Bultan does not disclose “detecting an attempt to change a state of a wireless device” and “based on detecting the attempt to change the state of the wireless device, determining a change in a signal characteristic”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Bultan teaches detecting the presence of a robber approaching the house via Wi-Fi spatial maps, which indicates a change in the state of the wireless device as the wireless spatial maps change due to the presence of the robber. Therefore, Bultan teaches the claimed invention.
Applicant next argues in pages 10-11 that Bultan determines user profiles by matching Wi-Fi samples against pre-stored profiles in a database, not by determining a user profile based on a change in signal characteristics. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Bultan clearly teaches determining a user profile based on a change in signal characteristics as the changes in Wi-Fi samples (equivalent to change in signal characteristics) indicate an intruder since the intruder is not recognized based on the Wi-Fi samples detected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONG HANG JIANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689