DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed 06/02/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 15-18, 20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 in view of amended
limitation (“…wherein the uplink traffic information includes information for a quality of service (QoS) flow including a QoS flow identifier (QFI), wherein the information for the QoS flow further includes at least one of a jitter range, or a traffic periodicity.”) have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Kim (US 2024/0334333 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0368502 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 15-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2024/0334333 A1 – Priority Date 03/31/2023) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0368502 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system ([0085]: The terminal creates uplink traffic pattern information), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message ([0058]: the terminal receives a RRCReconfiguration from the base station) including configuration information to report uplink traffic information ([0078]-[0079]: The RRCReconfiguration can include UEAssistancelnformation configuration information which includes following fields. uplink_traffic_pattern_reporting_indication.) wherein the configuration information includes information on a protocol data unit (PDU) session ([0067]-[0073]: The RRCReconfiguration can include one or more radio bearer configurations. Each radio bearer configuration includes following fields…PDU session identifier(e.g. information on PDU) one or more QoS flow Identifiers); and
transmitting, to the base station, a message including uplink traffic information based on the configuration information ([0083]-[0086]: the terminal transmits a UEAssistancelnformation to the base station. UE determines the traffic pattern information for a radio bearer. The terminal generates UEAssistanceInformation for uplink traffic pattern reporting);
wherein the uplink traffic information includes information for a quality of service (QoS) flow ([0084]: UE determines the traffic pattern information for a radio bearer if the radio bearer is configured for XR traffic (e.g. QoS flows for NR are served by the radio bearer), wherein the information for the QoS flow further includes at least one of a jitter range, or a traffic periodicity([0087],[0092]-[0093]: The UEAssistanceInformation includes following fields. Uplink_Traffic_Pattern_Information… PDU_arrival_periodicity: this field indicates the estimated PDU set arrival periodicity in the uplink of the corresponding bearer).
However, Kim does not disclose the configuration information includes information on a prohibit timer for uplink traffic information reporting; transmitting the uplink traffic information in case that a timer configured based on the information on the prohibit timer is not running, wherein the uplink traffic information includes information including a QoS flow identifier (QFI).
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses the configuration information includes information on a prohibit timer for uplink traffic information reporting ([0033], [0039], [0042]: The user equipment receives a configuration message from the network-side device (e.g. base station). The configuration message includes a timer for assistance information reporting); transmitting the uplink traffic information in case that a timer configured based on the information on the prohibit timer is not running ([0044],[0047]: network-side device has configured the timer for semi-persistent resource assistance information reporting but the timer for semi-persistent resource assistance information reporting is not running, conversely the timer for semi-persistent resource assistance information reporting is running, skipping reporting the semi-persistent resource assistance information) wherein the uplink traffic information includes information including a QoS flow identifier (QFI) ([0054], [0056], [0062]: UE enables an assistance information reporting function. The semi-persistent resource assistance information corresponding periodic data flows and includes a quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QOS Flow ID, QFI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to comprise “the configuration information includes information on a prohibit timer for uplink traffic information reporting; transmitting the uplink traffic information in case that a timer configured based on the information on the prohibit timer is not running, wherein the uplink traffic information includes information including a QoS flow identifier (QFI).” taught by Zhang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled to configure a reporting timer that prevents frequent assistance information reporting and waste of communication resource, and including QFI in the reported traffic information so that the base station can identify the particular QoS flow associated with the reported periodic traffic information (Zhang [0056], [0062], [0079]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim-Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the information on the PDU session includes at least one of PDU session identifier or QoS flow identifier (Kim, [0067]-[0073]: The RRCReconfiguration can include one or more radio bearer configurations. Each radio bearer configuration includes following fields…PDU session identifier(e.g. information on PDU) one or more QoS flow Identifiers).
Regarding claim 3, Kim-Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the uplink traffic information further includes a PDU session identifier (Zhang, [0054]. [0056], [0061]: UE enables an assistance information reporting function. The semi-persistent resource assistance information corresponding periodic data flows and includes a protocol data unit (PDU) session identifier (PDU session ID).
Regarding claim 5, Kim-Zhang discloses the method of wherein the message corresponds to a UEAssistanceInformation message (Kim, [0083]-[0086]: the terminal transmits a UEAssistancelnformation to the base station. UE determines the traffic pattern information for a radio bearer).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a method performed by a based station in a wireless communication system ([0057]: The base station determines configurations for the terminal based on the capability information), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message ([0058]: the terminal receives a RRCReconfiguration from the base station) including configuration information to report uplink traffic information ([0078]-[0079]: The RRCReconfiguration can include UEAssistancelnformation configuration information which includes following fields. uplink_traffic_pattern_reporting_indication.) wherein the configuration information includes information on a protocol data unit (PDU) session ([0067]-[0073]: The RRCReconfiguration can include one or more radio bearer configurations. Each radio bearer configuration includes following fields…PDU session identifier(e.g. information on PDU) one or more QoS flow Identifiers); and
receiving, from the UE, a message including the uplink traffic information based on the configuration information ([0083]-[0086]: the terminal transmits a UEAssistancelnformation to the base station. UE determines the traffic pattern information for a radio bearer. The terminal generates UEAssistanceInformation for uplink traffic pattern reporting);
wherein the uplink traffic information includes information for a quality of service (QoS) flow ([0084]: UE determines the traffic pattern information for a radio bearer if the radio bearer is configured for XR traffic (e.g. QoS flows for NR are served by the radio bearer), wherein the information for the QoS flow further includes at least one of a jitter range, or a traffic periodicity([0087],[0092]-[0093]: The UEAssistanceInformation includes following fields. Uplink_Traffic_Pattern_Information… PDU_arrival_periodicity: this field indicates the estimated PDU set arrival periodicity in the uplink of the corresponding bearer).
However, Kim does not disclose the configuration information includes information on a prohibit timer for uplink traffic information reporting; receiving the uplink traffic information in case that a timer configured based on the information on the prohibit timer is not running, wherein the uplink traffic information includes information including a QoS flow identifier (QFI).
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses the configuration information includes information on a prohibit timer for uplink traffic information reporting ([0033], [0039], [0042]: The user equipment receives a configuration message from the network-side device (e.g. base station). The configuration message includes a timer for assistance information reporting); receiving the uplink traffic information in case that a timer configured based on the information on the prohibit timer is not running ([0044],[0047]: network-side device has configured the timer for semi-persistent resource assistance information reporting but the timer for semi-persistent resource assistance information reporting is not running, conversely the timer for semi-persistent resource assistance information reporting is running, skipping reporting the semi-persistent resource assistance information) wherein the uplink traffic information includes information including a QoS flow identifier (QFI) ([0054], [0056], [0062]: UE enables an assistance information reporting function. The semi-persistent resource assistance information corresponding periodic data flows and includes a quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QOS Flow ID, QFI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to comprise “the configuration information includes information on a prohibit timer for uplink traffic information reporting; receiving the uplink traffic information in case that a timer configured based on the information on the prohibit timer is not running, wherein the uplink traffic information includes information including a QoS flow identifier (QFI)” taught by Zhang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled to configure a reporting timer that prevents frequent assistance information reporting and waste of communication resource, and including QFI in the reported traffic information so that the base station can identify the particular QoS flow associated with the reported periodic traffic information (Zhang [0056], [0062], [0079]).
Regarding claims 7, 12, 17; the claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claims 8, 13, 18; the claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claims 10, 15, 20; the claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 11; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Additional References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants disclosure.
Maamari et al., US 2024/0107363 A1: Statistical Delay Reporting for Adaptive Configuration of Delay Budget.
Ayaz et al., US 2021/0273890 A1: Devices and Method for Time Sensitive Communication in a Communication Network.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.T/Examiner, Art Unit 2454
/GLENTON B BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2454