DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 4 recite “wherein the binding engagements” provides resistance. As best understood by the examiner, this appears to be a typographical error that should read “wherein the binding engagement” because the claims and specification only support one engagement between the fastener and barrel.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a gas port" two times in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because, while the Examiner understands the gas port of the gas block to be different than the gas port from which the gas is received, the claim does not delineate if the instances of “a gas port” are intended to be the same or different. As best understood by the examiner, the first gas port is a structure in the gas block and the second instance of “a gas port” is intended to be a bore in the barrel; however, correction is still required.
Any unspecified claim is rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
In view of the indefinite issues the claims will be examined as best understood by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,994,357. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application merely omit certain structural limitations which would have been obvious to omit and the structure required by the claims is substantially the same. Additionally, the functional language directed to the binding engagement is not detailed in the specification in a way that would differentiate the instant claims over the patented claim structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Tankersley, US Patent Publication No. 2010/0282066 or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tankersley in view of Knight, US Patent No. 5,706,599.
Regarding claim 1, Tankersley discloses an apparatus, comprising: a tapered fastener (44) to mount a barrel-mountable device upon a barrel ([0149] discloses the tapered fastener serves to align the gas block onto the barrel and also shown in figures 5-5C), in a rotationally timed position ([0149] discloses the tapered fastener serves to align the gas block on the barrel and figures 5A-5C show how the fasteners act to align the gas block to the barrel in a particular orientation), the tapered fastener including: a length further including a tapered section (conical tip of 44) drivable into binding engagement (broadly, yet reasonably, the conical tip is drivable, capable of being driven, into a binding engagement. The recitation of a “binding engagement” is given the broadest reasonable interpretation and is construed to be an engagement between two parts that provides sufficient friction to prevent unwanted movement when engaged. The structure of Tankersley is such that threading the set screw into and through the gas block aperture and into engagement with the barrel is a binding engagement.) with one or more sloped surfaces defined by part of an exterior of a barrel of a firearm (55 as in figures 5A-5C for example and shown alone in figure 7); and a drive mechanism for rotationally driving the tapered fastener into an opening (44 is disclosed as a set screw and [0149] discloses tightening the set screw and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a set screw necessarily has a driving mechanism in order to engage some sort of tool for tightening the screw); and wherein the binding engagement provides resistance to backing the tapered fastener out of said opening (given the broadest reasonable interpretation of a binding engagement, the structure of Tankersley meets the claim limitation because the fasteners of Tankersley are disclosed as having the tapered ends tightened into a conical opening to secure and align the block. In order for the fasteners to secure the block, a sufficient frictional engagement between the parts is required such that the fasteners resist backing out unless specifically removed by the user). Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that the structure of Tankersley sufficiently meets the structure of the claims and the functional language associated with the structure; however, for the sake of clarity and compact prosecution, Knight is provided as a teaching reference to support the examiner’s position of the interpretation of the engagement structure of Tankersley. Knight specifically teaches set screws 50 which are driven into engagement with recesses 46 and provide a binding engagement between the screws and recesses as taught in 2:24-35. Additionally, Knight shows a drive mechanism/end of the set screws in figure 3.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify or define the engagement of Tankersley to be a binding engagement similar to that as taught by Knight and asserted by the examiner with a reasonable expectation of success since Tankersley and Knight are substantially the same structure and recognizing a set screw driven into a recess as a binding engagement would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to prevent loosening of components from one another and to maintain the position of the gas block of Tankersley such that the firearm functions reliably and safely.
Regarding claim 2, Tankersley alone, or as modified by Knight, further discloses a barrel-mounted device (Tankersley 40) comprising the apparatus of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Tankersley alone, or as modified by Knight, further discloses a gas block assembly (Tankersley, 40) comprising the apparatus of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Tankersley discloses a gas block assembly, comprising: a gas block (40) including a gas port (28) to receive gas provided by a gas port of a barrel (81); a tapered fastener (44), the tapered fastener including: a length further including a tapered section (conical tip of 44) drivable into binding engagement (broadly, yet reasonably, the conical tip is drivable, capable of being driven, into a binding engagement. The recitation of a “binding engagement” is given the broadest reasonable interpretation and is construed to be an engagement between two parts that provides sufficient friction to prevent unwanted movement when engaged. The structure of Tankersley is such that threading the set screw into and through the gas block aperture and into engagement with the barrel is a binding engagement.) with one or more sloped surfaces defined by part of an exterior of a barrel of a firearm (55 as in figures 5A-5C for example and shown alone in figure 7); and a drive mechanism for rotationally driving the tapered fastener into an opening (44 is disclosed as a set screw and [0149] discloses tightening the set screw and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a set screw necessarily has a driving mechanism in order to engage some sort of tool for tightening the screw); and wherein the binding engagement provides resistance to backing the tapered fastener out of said opening (given the broadest reasonable interpretation of a binding engagement, the structure of Tankersley meets the claim limitation because the fasteners of Tankersley are disclosed as having the tapered ends tightened into a conical opening to secure and align the block. In order for the fasteners to secure the block, a sufficient frictional engagement between the parts is required such that the fasteners resist backing out unless specifically removed by the user). Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that the structure of Tankersley sufficiently meets the structure of the claims and the functional language associated with the structure; however, for the sake of clarity and compact prosecution, Knight is provided as a teaching reference to support the examiner’s position of the interpretation of the engagement structure of Tankersley. Knight specifically teaches set screws 50 which are driven into engagement with recesses 46 and provide a binding engagement between the screws and recesses as taught in 2:24-35. Additionally, Knight shows a drive mechanism/end of the set screws in figure 3.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify or define the engagement of Tankersley to be a binding engagement similar to that as taught by Knight and asserted by the examiner with a reasonable expectation of success since Tankersley and Knight are substantially the same structure and recognizing a set screw driven into a recess as a binding engagement would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to prevent loosening of components from one another and to maintain the position of the gas block of Tankersley such that the firearm functions reliably and safely.
Regarding claim 5, Tankersley alone, or as modified by Knight, further discloses the driving mechanism is located on an end (Knight figure 3) of the tapered fastener, and wherein an opposite end of the tapered fastener includes an additional section arranged to mate with a groove defined by the barrel (Knight figure 3 shows an end of the screw that is opposite of an end which engages a recess of the barrel and, as taught to Tankersley, opposite the conical tip of 44).
Regarding claim 6, Tankersley alone, or as modified by Knight, further discloses the groove comprise a V-slot (Tankersley, 55 is a conical shape and thus V-shaped).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The specifics of the arguments provided are moot because they are directed to references which are no longer used in the rejection above; however, for the sake of clarity on the record, the general direction of the arguments will be addressed.
In response to the applicant’s argument that the amendment to the claim which includes a binding engagement such that backing out of the tapered fastener is resisted overcomes the prior art, the examiner is not persuaded. The arguments are generally directed to the prior art references not providing a binding engagement that provides resistance to backing out of the fastener. As stated above, it is the examiner’s position that Tankersley, alone, provides sufficient structure to meet the claimed structure and the functional language. The set screw engagement with the barrel of Tankersley is intended to secure the gas block to the barrel. Therefore, the screws are sufficiently tightened such that the gas block is secured and the friction between the screw and barrel surfaces is sufficient to prevent backing out. Additionally, the level to which the screws are tightened will affect the level to which backing out is prevented which makes the functional recitation a very broad limitation that can be met in a variety of ways. Knight is provided as a teaching reference to provide evidence to the examiner’s position and show that it is clearly known in the art that set screws bind with a barrel recess when used in the configuration shown in Knight, which closely mirrors Tankersley. The functional recitation in the claims is not sufficient to require any additional structure other than what is provided by the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the any ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DERRICK R MORGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641