DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that because the prior art wants to add noise it precludes it from filtering the signal or removing noise before or afterwards which of course is as preposterous as it sounds.
In other words the argument that the preposed combination would render the prior art invention inoperable for its intended purpose is not persuasive. As implied above, signals are routinely filtered thereby removing noise. Why wouldn’t one try to filter the signal at some point? In fact, filtering is likely built in to any mechanism one would use so to argue that the improving the quality of the signal would inhibit classification is nonsensical. Further, one can argue that adding noise is the same as subtracting noise as addition and subtraction are the same when negative or out of phase signals are considered, thereby also raising an issue of anticipation.
Applicant further argues that Karta merely identifies but doesn’t remove noise. Examiner maintains that the “filtered set” of data packet information implies noise removal. See [0033]-[0037]. For example [0033]: “For example, the preprocessing classifier 300 may determine that data packets … are correlated with malicious activity. In some embodiments, the preprocessing classifier 300 accounts for data traffic characteristics and/or information from network nodes to filter out the data packet fields 315 correlated with malicious activity.” Thus Karta not only teaches noise removal using AI, Karta provides a reason as well
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10, 12-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandikas et al. (2022/0311784) hereinafter “Vandikas” and Karta et al. (2024/0114052) hereinafter “Karta”.
As to claim 1, Vandikas discloses A computerized method comprising:
generating a decoy node (protection node - 212) that mimics a particular node (pattern classification node - 222) in a telecommunications network (Fig 2), (see [0004], [0024]: “a protection node 212 that includes a honeypot server 216 that performs a first clone of the machine learning algorithm that resides at pattern classification node 222…)”;
monitoring the decoy node in near real-time ([0004]: “The protection node may then obtain a first classification of the noisy pattern based on processing of the noisy pattern by the machine learning algorithm performed by the protection node”, [0034]: “At step 315, honeypot server 216 may make a first classification…);
logging an interaction with the decoy node based on monitoring ([0004]: “The protection node may then compare the first and second classifications to determine whether the first and second classifications satisfy a defined similarity rule”), [0028]: “…protection node 212 also may be in communication with database 220 to store and/or collect information obtained from a request from user node 214 as discussed further below.”, [0036]: “At 321, the request dispatcher may compare the first and second classifications to determine whether the first and second classifications satisfy a defined similarity rule…”) ;
based on the interaction, ([0004]: “use the comparison to manage the request”, [0036]: “By adding the identifier associated with user node 214 to the distrust list, requests from user node 214 sent toward pattern classification node 222 may be blocked or monitored…”) assigning a classification to the interaction, ([0038]: “… At 327, the request dispatcher may send an instruction to the load balancer to send second classification to user node…”); and
generating and communicating a notification ([0008]: “when the first and second classifications do not satisfy the defined similarity rule, the protection node may protect the pattern classification node from malicious requests”, [0036]: “When… do not satisfy the defined similarity rule, the request dispatcher may send an instruction to database 218 to add the identifier associated with user node 214 to a distrust (list)”, [0037]: “At 325… may send an instruction to store the request in a log…”, [0038]: “At 327, the request dispatcher may send an instruction to the load balancer to send second classification to user node…”) that is specific to the classification in near real-time.
Vandikas discloses wherein the interaction comprises a plurality of interactions (see [0050]: “…may repeat the receiving…”), is silent to yet in an analogous art Karta discloses the method further comprising removing noise from the plurality of interactions using a machine learning model, (see [0004],-[0005]: “A machine-learned model is trained with the training data set such that the model is configured to identify signal noise within one or more packet fields correlative to spoofed IP attacks and classify the identified signal noise as malicious or benign… producing a filtered set of data packet information”, [0024], [0033]-[0037]). Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vandikas by further comprising removing noise from the plurality of interactions using a machine learning model as taught by Karta for the purpose of identifying “malicious signal noise”.
As to claim 3, Vandikas and Karta discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the decoy node includes an imitation of a cybersecurity vulnerability. See [0024]: “…By including a clone of the machine language learning algorithm residing at pattern classification node 222 at honeypot server 216, protection node may mimic pattern classification node 222…”
As to claim 4, Vandikas and Karta disclose The method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to assigning the classification to the interaction, revoking a service ([0021]: “…block the request…”) in the telecommunications network for a user account that is associated with the interaction, wherein the service that is revoked is (inherently) specific to the classification, and wherein the service comprises: data services, voice services, roaming services, streaming services, location services, or any combination thereof ([0033]:”… request may include an original pattern to be classified… an image, video frame, an audio sample, and a data stream…”).
As to claim 5, Vandikas and Karta discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to assigning the classification to the interaction, revoking a service ([0021]: “…block the request…”) in the telecommunications network for a user device is associated with the interaction, wherein the service that is revoked is specific to the classification, and wherein the service comprises: data services, voice services, roaming services, streaming services, location services, or any
combination thereof ([0033]:”… request may include an original pattern to be classified… an image, video frame, an audio sample, and a data stream…”). See [0028]: “… Protection node 212 also may be in communication with database 218 to store and/or collect an identifier associated with user node 214 to distrust list… ”.
As to claim 6, Vandikas and Karta discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the interaction comprises a plurality of interactions, the method further comprising: identifying a pattern in the plurality of interactions, wherein the classification that is assigned is specific to the pattern identified. See [0021]: “…Since malicious requests may be recorded, they may be used in the background to efficiently improve and fortify the initial machine learning algorithm…”, [0025], [0035]-[0039], [0049]-[0050], etc.
As to claim 7, Vandikas and Karta discloses The method of claim 6, wherein the pattern identified is indicative of an intelligent malicious entity (user node 214), and wherein the notification specifies that the plurality of interactions are predicted to be associated with the intelligent malicious entity (see [0036]: “When… do not satisfy the defined similarity rule, the request dispatcher may send an instruction to database 218 to add the identifier associated with user node 214 to a distrust (list)”, [0037]: “At 325… may send an instruction to store the request in a log…”,).
As to claim 10, Vandikas and Karta discloses One or more non-transitory computer-readable media (730) storing instructions that when executed via one or more processors perform a computerized method, the instructions stored on the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, as applied above to claim 1.
Claims 12-16 correspond with method claims 3-7 respectively.
As to claim 19, Vandikas and Karta discloses The media of claim 15, is silent to yet the examiner takes official notice that before the effective filing date of the instant invention it was well known in the art and would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement a network node as a plurality of network nodes, resulting in wherein the decoy node comprises a plurality of decoy nodes that are replications of a plurality of particular nodes in the telecommunications network. Vandikas discloses the instructions further comprising: training a machine learning model using interactions monitored for each decoy node; and subsequently monitoring each decoy node using the machine learning model to identify malicious attacks within the telecommunications network. See [0021], [0028], [0036], [0039], etc.
As to claim 20, Vandikas and Karta discloses A system comprising: a [[plurality of]] decoy nodes 212 deployed in a telecommunications network, each decoy node in the plurality mimicking an actual node with an imitation of a cybersecurity vulnerability ([0024]: “protection node 212 may mimic pattern classification node 222”); a [[centralized]] monitoring system 216 deployed in the telecommunications network ; a [[centralized]] repository 218 associated with the centralized monitoring system deployed in the telecommunications network to store data that is associated with an
interaction in near real-time (see [0028]); wherein the centralized monitoring system is configured perform as applied above to claim 1. The examiner takes official notice that before the effective filing date of the instant invention it was well known in the art and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to design a system with one or a plurality of nodes and centralize or distribute equipment as seen fit by the designers.
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandikas and Karta as applied to claim 1 above further in view of Murchison et al. (9686296) hereinafter “Murchison”.
As to claim 2, Vandikas and Karta discloses The method of claim 1, is silent to yet in an analogous art Murchison discloses, wherein the decoy node mimics: a 5G user plane function (UPF) node; a Unified Data Repository (UDR)node; a Unified Data Management (UDM) node; a Secure Shell Daemon application (SSH daemon) node; an Authentication Server Function (AUSF) node; or any combination thereof. See col 11 lines 52-57. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vandikas wherein the decoy node mimics: a 5G user plane function (UPF) node; a Unified Data Repository (UDR)node; a Unified Data Management (UDM) node; a Secure Shell Daemon application (SSH daemon) node; an Authentication Server Function (AUSF) node; or any combination thereof as taught by Murchison for the purpose of conforming to the latest standards.
It is noted that the BRI of the claim does not include a step of “mimicking” and therefore the limitation is considered an intended use not carrying patentable weight but was addressed for compact prosecution.
Claim 11 corresponds with claim 2.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandikas and Karta further in view of Katta (2022/0417222).
As to claim 8, Vandikas and Karta discloses The method of claim 6, is silent to yet in an analogous art Katta discloses wherein a pattern identified is indicative of a malicious bot (see [0004]: “…thereby preventing bots and/or malicious actors…”), and wherein the notification specifies that the plurality of interactions are predicted to be associated with the malicious [[bot]] (see [0036]: “When… do not satisfy the defined similarity rule, the request dispatcher may send an instruction to database 218 to add the identifier associated with user node 214 to a distrust (list)”, [0037]: “At 325… may send an instruction to store the request in a log…”,). Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vandikas wherein a pattern identified is indicative of a malicious bot and wherein and the notification specifies that the plurality of interactions are predicted to be associated with the malicious bot, as taught by Katta for the purpose of identifying a bot as a malicious actor.
Claim 17 corresponds with claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LESTER G. KINCAID
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/LESTER G KINCAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649