Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31//2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The newly added limitations “wherein the list of the plurality of pieces of content includes identification information of a channel of the broadcasting content that is most recently displayed on the display before the home UI is displayed” and “wherein the identification information of the channel comprises an image of the broadcasting content, the image of the broadcasting content being displayed in the list of the plurality of pieces of content” are still met by VanSickel. The VanSickel reference clearly teaches that information about the last program is displayed in the UI (either image of program A or any of program information 402, 404 or 406 alone will meet both limitations (figures 4a-4b; col. 3, lines 46 to col. 4, line 2; col. 8, line 29 to col. 9, line 59).
Although, the Han reference (US 2013/0191867) is not used in this application the examiner believes that by displaying an image of multiple programs as identification information, it also meets the claim limitation of displaying an image of the most recent viewed channel. The fact that Han shows more information does not mean that it does not meet the claim limitation.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Regarding claim 22, applicant should note that the combination of references will teach the claim language as claimed. Specifically, VanSickel teaches all the claim limitations and Earle teaches an input and output port and displaying a list of applications providing content through the Internet (figure 3, col. 11, lines 33-39, col. 6, line 61 to col. 7 line 11), meeting the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the VanSickel et al., US 12,219,218 in view of Earle, US 8,869,207.
Regarding claim 1, VanSickel discloses a display device comprising: a display; a memory storing one or more instructions; an interface configured to connect an external device with the display device, the external device providing broadcasting content; and at least one processor operatively coupled to the memory and configured to execute one or more instructions stored in the memory (figures 1, 3 and 5), wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to:
based on reception of a first user input, display, on the display, the broadcasting content received from the external device connected to the display device through the input and output interface (figure 2, col. 5, lines 31-37), and
based on receiving a second user input corresponding to a home user interface (UI) button of a remote controller, display a home UI comprising a list of a plurality of pieces of content (col. 5, lines 38-58), wherein the list of the plurality of pieces of content includes identification information of a channel of the broadcasting content that is most recently displayed on the display before the home UI is displayed (figures 4a-4b; col. 3, lines 46 to col. 4, line 2; col. 8, line 29 to col. 9, line 59), wherein the identification information of the channel comprises an image of the broadcasting content, the image of the broadcasting content being displayed in the list of the plurality of pieces of content (figures 4a-4b; col. 3, lines 46 to col. 4, line 2; col. 8, line 29 to col. 9, line 59).
VanSickel is silent about an input and output port and displaying a list of applications providing content through the Internet.
In an analogous art, Earle discloses an input and output port and displaying a list of applications providing content through the Internet (figure 3, col. 11, lines 33-39, col. 6, line 61 to col. 7 line 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify VanSickel’s device with the teachings of Earle. This is standard in the art. The motivation would have been to connect to the device and to identify the source in order to provide a secure interface for the benefit of providing quality of service.
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, VanSickel and Earle disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the input and output port comprises at least one of a high-definition multimedia interface port (HDMI), a component jack, a personal computer (PC) port, and a universal serial bus (USB) port (Earle figures 1 and 6, col. 4, lines 11-17; col. 11, lines 33-39)
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, VanSickel and Earle disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the display device to: based on receiving a third user input for selecting the identification information of the channel in the home UI, display, on an entire screen, the broadcasting content of the channel corresponding to the selected identification information of the channel (Earle col. 7, lines 4-26).
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, VanSickel and Earle disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the external device comprises a set-top box (VanSickel col. 3, lines 29-46; Earle col. 4, lines 26-50; col. 5, lines 3-19).
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, VanSickel and Earle disclose the display device of claim 1, and wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the display device to display the image of the broadcasting content with a higher priority than images corresponding to other content items in the list of the plurality of pieces of content (highlighted image or bigger image) (VanSickel figure 4a-4b; Earle figure 3).
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, VanSickel and Earle disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the display device to display, on the image of the broadcasting content, an image or text indicating that the image of the broadcasting content represents the channel of the broadcasting content that is most recently displayed on an entire screen of the display device before the home UI is displayed (VanSickel figure 4a-4b; Earle figure 3).
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, VanSickel and Earle disclose the display device of claim 1, further comprising: communication circuitry, wherein the list of applications receive content from a content server through the communication circuitry (VanSickel figure 1; Earle figure 1).
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, VanSickel and Earle disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the identification information of the channel displayed on the home UI is identification information of the broadcasting content output prior to the display of the home UI (VanSickel figure 4a-4b; Earle figure 3).
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 9.
Regarding claim 22, VanSickel and Earle disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of content comprises a plurality of broadcasting content (VanSickel figure 4a-4b; Earle figure 3).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the VanSickel in view of Earle in view of Marioka, US 20070074255.
Regarding claim 10, VanSickel and Earle disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the display device to: display, on the display, broadcasting content received through a tuner of the display device, and store identification information of a channel of the broadcasting content received from the tuner, and based on receiving the second user input corresponding to the home UI button of the remote controller, display a home UI comprising the identification information of the channel of the broadcasting content received through the tuner (VanSickel col. 5, lines 4-30).
VanSickel and Earle are silent about storing identification information of the tuner.
In an analogous art, Marioka discloses storing identification information of the tuner (figure 3, col. 11, lines 33-39, col. 6, line 61 to col. 7 line 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify VanSickel and Earle’s device with the teachings of Marioka. The motivation would have been to properly identified the source of data for the benefit of preventing piracy.
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
Contact
OM
Oschta Montoya
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2421
/OSCHTA I MONTOYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421