DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
2. Pursuant to the amendment filed September 11, 2025, claims 1-12 are pending in the application. The applicant has amended claims 1, 5, and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeBusk et al. (2018/0096292 A1) in view of Roeder et al. (US 2006/0255951 A1).
Regarding claim 5, DeBusk discloses a stationary reader that reads information from an RF tag attached to an article ([0064]; FIG. 1: 14a, 14b), comprising:
an antenna that radiates radio waves to communicate with the RF tag ([0064]; FIG. 1: 14a, 14b); and
a shield that accommodates the antenna ([0064]),
the shield being configured to, while opening upward, surround an enclosure having the article therein, the reader being configured to read information from the RF tag while keeping the shield open upward ([0064]; FIG. 1).
DeBusk does not disclose that
the shield is configured to surround a shopping basket having the article therein to let a user load and unload the shopping basket, the shield having a pair of sidewalls and an opening extending substantially an entire distance between the pair of sidewalls; the reader being configured to read the information from the RF tag while keeping the shield open upward.
Roeder, addressing the same problem of how to shield an RF tag, teaches an order-picking system that includes a picking cart having a radio frequency (RF) antenna arranged above an object-stacking surface of the picking cart ([0014]), wherein shield is configured to surround a shopping basket having the article therein to let a user load and unload the shopping basket, the shield having a pair of sidewalls and an opening extending substantially an entire distance between the pair of sidewalls, the reader being configured to read the information from the RF tag while keeping the shield open upward ([0120]; FIG. 1; Roeder teaches shielding on the sides of a shopping cart, and a shopping cart is open upward between the sides of the shopping cart) for the benefit of providing better detection of tagged objects placed inside a shopping cart and eliminating false reads from RFID tags attached to objects external to a shopping cart ([0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Roeder with the reader of DeBusk because that would have enabled the reader to provide better detection of tagged objects placed inside a shopping cart and eliminate false reads from RFID tags attached to objects external to a shopping cart ([0120]).
Regarding claim 6, DeBusk discloses that the shield includes any one or both of a radio wave absorption layer that absorbs the radio waves, and a radio wave reflection layer that reflects the radio waves. ([0066], [0067])
Regarding claim 7, DeBusk discloses an information providing system ([0064]; FIG. 1: 10) comprising:
the reader according to claim 5 (see the citations for the rejection of claim 5); and
an information providing device that is communicable with the reader ([0070]; FIG. 1: 31).
Regarding claim 8, DeBusk discloses that the information providing device includes a tablet terminal or a mobile terminal. ([0070])
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 1 and 9 and claims 2-4 and 10-12, which depend from claims 1 and 9, respectively, are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 1-4, the prior art does not disclose, teach, or suggest a stationary reader that reads information from an RF tag attached to an article, as recited by the claims, comprising:
a shield that accommodates an antenna, the shield having a pair of sidewalls, a plate connecting the pair of sidewalls at a first end, and an opening between the pair of sidewalls at a second end opposite the first end, the opening having a substantially same width as the plate, the opening being configured to open upward;
the reader being configured to read the information from the RF tag while keeping the shield open upward.
DeBusk et al. (US 2018/0096292) discloses a stationary reader that reads information from an RF tag attached to an article, comprising an antenna that radiates radio waves to communicate with the RF tag and a shield that accommodates the antenna and has an opening wider than the article. DeBusk does not disclose, teach, or suggest:
a shield that accommodates an antenna, the shield having a pair of sidewalls, a plate connecting the pair of sidewalls at a first end, and an opening between the pair of sidewalls at a second end opposite the first end, the opening having a substantially same width as the plate, the opening being configured to open upward;
the reader being configured to read the information from the RF tag while keeping the shield open upward.
Roeder et al. (US 2006/0255951 A1) discloses an order-picking system that includes a picking cart having a radio frequency (RF) antenna arranged above an object-stacking surface of the picking cart, wherein a shield is configured to surround a shopping basket having the article therein to let a user load and unload the shopping basket, the reader reading information from the RF tag. Roeder does not disclose, teach, or suggest:
a shield that accommodates an antenna, the shield having a pair of sidewalls, a plate connecting the pair of sidewalls at a first end, and an opening between the pair of sidewalls at a second end opposite the first end, the opening having a substantially same width as the plate, the opening being configured to open upward;
the reader being configured to read the information from the RF tag while keeping the shield open upward.
Regarding claims 9-12, the prior art does not disclose, teach, or suggest a stationary reader that includes a housing, the reader reading information from an RF tag attached to an article, as recited by the claims, comprising:
a shield that is disposed in the housing and accommodates the antenna, the shield having a pair of sidewalls and an opening extending substantially an entire distance between the pair of sidewalls,
while keeping each of the housing and the shield open in two directions including upward, the reader reading being configured to read the information from the RF tag of the article in the shield.
DeBusk et al. (US 2018/0096292) discloses a stationary reader that reads information from an RF tag attached to an article, comprising an antenna that radiates radio waves to communicate with the RF tag and a shield that accommodates the antenna and has an opening wider than the article. DeBusk does not disclose, teach, or suggest:
a shield that is disposed in the housing and accommodates the antenna, the shield having a pair of sidewalls and an opening extending substantially an entire distance between the pair of sidewalls,
while keeping each of the housing and the shield open in two directions including upward, the reader reading being configured to read the information from the RF tag of the article in the shield.
Roeder et al. (US 2006/0255951 A1) discloses an order-picking system that includes a picking cart having a radio frequency (RF) antenna arranged above an object-stacking surface of the picking cart, wherein a shield is configured to surround a shopping basket having the article therein to let a user load and unload the shopping basket, the reader reading information from the RF tag. Roeder does not disclose, teach, or suggest:
a shield that is disposed in the housing and accommodates the antenna, the shield having a pair of sidewalls and an opening extending substantially an entire distance between the pair of sidewalls,
while keeping each of the housing and the shield open in two directions including upward, the reader reading being configured to read the information from the RF tag of the article in the shield.
Examiner’s note: the word, “upward,” as recited in the claims, is construed mean a direction that is approximately opposite of the direction of the force of gravity.
Response to Arguments
6. The applicant's arguments, filed September 1, 2025, have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
The applicant traverses the rejection of claims 5-8.
Against the rejection of claims 5-8, the applicant argues that for at least substantially the same reasons discussed above, Applicant respectfully submits that DeBusk fails to disclose or suggest a reader comprising a shield having a pair of sidewalls and an opening extending substantially an entire distance between the pair of sidewalls, the reader being configured to read the information from the RF tag while keeping the shield open upward as required by amended Claim 5 from which Claims 6-8 ultimately depend. The Office Action relies on Roeder merely for the disclosure of a shield configured to surround a shopping basket having the article therein. See, Office Action, page 5, line 13 — page 6, line 2. However, like DeBusk, Roeder fails to disclose a shield having an opening extending substantially an entire distance between the pair of sidewalls or a reader configured to read information from the RF tag while keeping the shield open upward. Thus, even if combinable, Applicant submits that Roeder fails to remedy the deficiencies of DeBusk with respect to Claims 5-8. (Emphasis added by the applicant.)
Regarding this argument, Roeder teaches, as cited in the Final Rejection, shielding on the sides of a shopping cart ([0120]). Roeder teaches a shopping cart that has a rectangular configuration and is open upward between the sides of the shopping cart (FIG. 13). Shielding on the sides of the shopping cart would leave a space between the sides of the shopping cart, and therefore between the sidewalls of the shielding, open upward.
Conclusion
7. The applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN F MORTELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689