DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “means for selectively displacing the at least one end piece” in claims 4, and 5. The “means” is given structure in claim 4, respectively.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “at least one end piece” in line 3. However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how the “at least one end piece” of claim 4 relates to any of the previously recited structure of claim 1 and 4?
Claim 5 recites “a base” in line 2. However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how the “a base” of claim 5 relates to any of the previously recited structure of claim 1, 4 and 5?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,868,345 (Beisser).
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, Beisser teaches: Claim 1 - an apparatus for adjusting a lateral position of a roll of tissue paper (60), the apparatus comprising: a track (62) comprising a distal lateral end and a proximal lateral end; a mount (25) coupled to the track (62), where the mount (25) comprises a base (AA) and an extended portion (BB) coupled to the base (AA); a mandrel (50/52) coupled to the base (AA), where the mandrel (50/52) is configured to accommodate the tissue roll (60); and means (40/46) for selectively displacing the mount (25) across a longitudinal length of the track (62), where the extended portion (BB) comprises a stop (64) configured to engage with the distal lateral end of the track (62), (Figures 1-6 and Annotated Figure 2 Below); Claim 2 – where the base (AA) is configured to slidably engage with the track (62), (Figures 1-6 and Annotated Figure 2 Below).
Regarding Claim 6, Beisser teaches: Claim 6 - an apparatus for adjusting a lateral position of a roll of tissue paper (60), the apparatus comprising: a mount (25) disposed adjacent to a toilet (Figures 1 and 2), where the mount (25) comprises a base (AA) and an extended portion (BB) coupled to the base (AA); at least one tissue roll (60) disposed on the base (AA); and means (40/46) for displacing the mount (25) from a first position to a second position, where the second position is disposed adjacent a front portion of the toilet (Figures 1 and 2), and where the extended portion (BB) comprises a stop (64) configured to engage with a distal lateral end of a track (62) when the mount (25) is displaced to the second position, (Figures 1-6 and Annotated Figure 2 Above).
Regarding Claims 10 and 12-14, Beisser teaches: Claim 10 - a method for adjusting a lateral position of a roll of tissue paper (60) relative to a toilet (Figures 1 and 2), the method comprising: providing a mount (25) configured to accommodate the roll of tissue paper (60) at a first position relative to the toilet, where the mount (25) comprises a base (AA) and an extended portion (BB) coupled to the base (AA); moving the mount (25) from the first position to a second position relative to the toilet; engaging a stop (64) disposed on an extended portion (BB) of the mount (25) with a distal lateral end of a track (62); and maintaining the mount (25) at the second position, (Figures 1-6 and Annotated Figure 2 Above); Claim 12 - further comprising retracting the mount (25) from the second position back to the first position, (Figures 1-6 and Annotated Figure 2 Above); Claim 13 – where moving the mount (25) from the first position to the second position comprises sliding the base portion (AA) of the mount (25) along a longitudinal length of the track (62), (Figures 1-6 and Annotated Figure 2 Above); Claim 14 - where maintaining the mount (25) at the second position comprises extending the base portion (AA) of the mount (25) beyond a lateral edge of the track (62), (Figures 1-6 and Annotated Figure 2 Above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,868,345 (Beisser) in view of EP 3824761 (Chen et al.).
Regarding Claim 3, Beisser teaches the apparatus as described above, in addition to Beisser teaching: Claim 3 - where the base (AA) comprises at least one edge (46) configured to accommodate a correspondingly shaped flange (40) disposed along the longitudinal length of the track (62 – components of (30) being part of the track (62)), (Figures 1-6 and Annotated Figure 2 Above). Beisser does not teach: the edge is a rounded edge (Claim 3). However, Chen et al. teaches: Claim 3 – a base (2100) having at least one rounded edge (2106 or 2108) configured to accommodate a correspondingly shaped flange (2112 or 2114) disposed along a longitudinal length of a track (2102), (Figure 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Beisser to have the edge is a rounded edge (Claim 3) as taught by Chen et al. as it represents the simple substitution of one known element (the rounded edges (2106 and 2108) of Chen et al.) for another (the square edges (40/46) of Beisser) to obtain the predictable result of having the mount (25) of Beisser moveable along the track (20).
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,868,345 (Beisser) in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,485,539 (Fall et al.).
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Beisser teaches the apparatus as described above, in addition to Beisser teaching: Claims 4 and 5 – where the means for selectively displacing the mount (25) across the longitudinal length of the track (62) comprises at least one flange (46) on the base (AA) coupled to at least one groove (40) on the track (62 – components of (30) being part of the track (62)), (Figures 1-6 and Annotated Figure 2 Above). Beisser does not teach: at least one wheel (Claim 4); and where the wheel is disposed between a base couped to the mount and the track (Claim 5). However, Fall et al. teaches: Claims 4 and 5 – wherein it is well known to have telescopic railings (12, 15, and 27) slidably connected to one another using wheels (38) between flanges (21 and 22) and grooves (30-42), (Figures 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Beisser to have at least one wheel (Claim 4); and where the wheel is disposed between a base couped to the mount and the track (Claim 5) as taught by Fall et al. as it represents the simple substitution of one known element (the wheels (38) of Fall et al.) for another (the flanges (46) and grooves (40) of Beisser) to obtain the predictable result of having the mount (25) of Beisser moveable along the track (30).
Regarding Claim 11, Beisser teaches the apparatus as described above, in addition to Beisser teaching: Claim 11 – where moving the mount (25) from the first position to the second position comprises at least one flange (46) on the base (AA) coupled to at least one groove (40) on the track (62 – components of (30) being part of the track (62)), (Figures 1-6 and Annotated Figure 2 Above). Beisser does not teach: at least one wheel disposed on the mount (Claim 11). However, Fall et al. teaches: Claims 11 – wherein it is well known to have telescopic railings (12, 15, and 27) slidably connected to one another using wheels (38) between flanges (21 and 22) and grooves (30-42), (Figures 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Beisser to have at least one wheel disposed on the mount (Claim 11) as taught by Fall et al. as it represents the simple substitution of one known element (the wheels (38) of Fall et al.) for another (the flanges (46) and grooves (40) of Beisser) to obtain the predictable result of having the mount (25) of Beisser moveable along the track (30).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 and 10-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA E RODDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642