Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II in the reply filed on 7/31/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5 and 18-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/31/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, line 22, the phrase “a hole is provided at the second side of the first bracket” is unclear in view of the phrase “a first bracket having a hole therein” on line 16. Is the hole claimed on line 22 the same hole as the one claimed on line 16 or a different one? For purpose of examination, the phrase “the hole is provided at the second side of the first bracket” is assumed on line 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al (US 2022/0206392A1) in view of DE 69731934T2.
As to claims 6 and 10-12, Noh et al teaches (see Figs 5-7) a substrate treatment apparatus comprising: a chamber (810 housing); a chemical solution supply nozzle (1200) in the chamber, wherein the chemical solution supply nozzle comprises: a supply pipe (1240) configured to supply a chemical solution to an upper surface of a substrate; and a nozzle tip (1260) configured to spray the chemical solution to the upper surface of the substrate; a home port (tank 1100) in the chamber, wherein the home port (tank 1100) comprises an open upper end configured to receive the chemical solution discharged from the chemical solution supply nozzle (1200), wherein the home port comprises: a cover (part of container 1240) covering the open upper end; and a first bracket (dispersion member 1160, see Fig 11) having a hole (concave portion 1163) therein, wherein a diameter of the cover is greater than a diameter of the nozzle tip (1260), wherein the first bracket (1160) has an inclined surface (see surface 1161) inclined from a first side of the first bracket to a second side of the first bracket, wherein a vertical level of the first side of the first bracket is higher than a vertical level of the second side of the first bracket (see Fig 11 wherein one corner side of the dispersion member is positioned higher than the other corner side of the member), and wherein the hole (concave portion 1163) is provided at the second side of the first bracket (1160). Noh et al lacks teaching a discharge pipe/a double discharge pipe having a T-shaped. However, DE’934 teaches (see Figs 2 and 10) a discharge pipe/ double discharge pipe having T shaped (484,486, see Fig 10) provided within the chamber (12) and configured to discharge a residue discharged from an inner space of the home port (cleaning station 66, 68) through an outlet of the home port (66,68), wherein the deionized water inside the home port capable of filling upward by about 5mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a discharge pipe as claimed in Noh et al to prevent overflowing of the cleaning material within the cleaning station or home port.
Regarding claim 9, in Noh et al the area size of the hole of the first bracket or the second bracket is capable of being in a range of about 10% to 15% of an area size of the first bracket or the second bracket as claimed since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20180045737 in view of DE 69731934T2.
As to claims 6 and 10-12, KR’737 teaches (see Figs 1-2) a substrate treatment apparatus comprising: a chamber (500); a chemical solution supply nozzle (300) in the chamber, wherein the chemical solution supply nozzle comprises: a supply pipe (313) configured to supply a chemical solution to an upper surface of a substrate; and a nozzle tip (312) configured to spray the chemical solution to the upper surface of the substrate; a home port (200) in the chamber, wherein the home port (200) comprises an open upper end configured to receive the chemical solution discharged from the chemical solution supply nozzle (300), wherein the home port comprises: a cover (220) covering the open upper end; and a first bracket (baffle 241) having a hole (see English Translation on page 6, for a large opening at the center or one of the other plurality of holes) therein, wherein a diameter of the cover is greater than a diameter of the nozzle tip (312), wherein the first bracket (241) has an inclined surface (see Fig 2a) inclined from a first side of the first bracket to a second side of the first bracket, wherein a vertical level of the first side of the first bracket is higher than a vertical level of the second side of the first bracket (see Figs 2a-2b), wherein the hole (see English Translation on page 6, for a large opening at the center or one of the other plurality of holes) is provided at the second side of the first bracket (241), and a deionized water supply pipe (DIW line 272) configured to provide deionized water to the home port (see Fig 2b). KR737 lacks teaching a discharge pipe/a double discharge pipe having a T-shaped. However, DE’934 teaches (see Figs 2 and 10) a discharge pipe/double discharge pipe having T shaped (484,486, see Fig 10) provided within the chamber (12) and configured to discharge a residue discharged from an inner space of the home port (cleaning station 66, 68) through an outlet of the home port (66,68), wherein the deionized water inside the home port capable of filling upward by about 5mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a discharge pipe as claimed in KR’737 to prevent overflowing of the cleaning material within the cleaning station or home port.
Regarding claim 7, KR’737 teaches (see Fig 2a) the home port further comprises a second bracket (243) between the first bracket and the outlet and having a hole therein.
As to claim 8, KR’737 teaches (see Fig 2a) the second bracket (243) having an inclined surface extending at an incline from one side of the second bracket (243) overlapping a first side of the first bracket to the second side thereof overlapping the second side of the first bracket (241) such that a vertical level of a first side thereof is higher than a vertical level of the second side thereof (at the center wherein the large opening located), and wherein the hole is provided at the second side of the second bracket (the large opening at the center of the baffle).
Regarding claim 9, in KR’737 the area size of the hole of the first bracket or the second bracket is capable of being in a range of about 10% to 15% of an area size of the first bracket or the second bracket as claimed since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 13, KR’737 teaches an in-nozzle fine supply pipe in chemical solution supply the nozzle, wherein the in-nozzle fine supply pipe is configured to provide at least one of deionized water and nitrogen (N.sub.2) in a gas state to the nozzle tip (see Fig 2b)
Claim(s) 14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20180045737 in view of DE 69731934T2 as applied to claim 6 and further in view of JP4606234B2.
Regarding claim 14, KR’737 teaches (see Fig 2b and English Translation) a nitrogen injector configured to spray gaseous nitrogen (N.sub.2) to the nozzle tip but lacks specifically teaching a dipping cup on a side of the home port. However, JP’234 teaches (see Fig 6) a dipping cup on a side of the home port (containers 63 arranged adjacent to each other) and configured to supply a cleaning liquid to clean the nozzle tip (nozzle 4 immersed); a cleaning liquid discharge pipe (62) at a bottom of the dipping cup and configured to discharge the cleaning liquid out of the dipping cup. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a dipping cup on a side of the home port in KR’737 to perform suction by the suck back valve.
As to claim 16, KR’737 teaches a nozzle moving unit (arm 321 and driver 326) configured to move the nozzle tip vertically and horizontally (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 17, in KR’737 the cleaning liquid comprises deionized water.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20180045737 in view of DE 69731934T2 as applied to claim 6 and further in view of Kitano et al (US 2001/0003966A1).
KR’737 lacks teaching an ultrasonic cleaner configured to apply ultrasonic vibration to the dipping cup. Kitano et al teaches (see Fig 16 (b), paragraphs [0102] and [0108]) an ultrasonic cleaner configured to apply ultrasonic vibration to the dipping cup. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an ultrasonic cleaner configured to apply ultrasonic vibration to the dipping cup in KR’737 to mix air bubbles as taught by Kitano et al (see para [0110]).
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/