DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II (claims 6-13) in the reply filed on 7/29/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that citing MPEP 806.04 "Claims are definitions or descriptions of inventions. Claims themselves are never species". This is not found persuasive because th.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second drawer (claim 13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 13 states " a contact cleaning roller mounting apparatus mounted in the housing, wherein the contact cleaning roller mounting apparatus comprises a second drawer receivable in the housing and being moveable into and out of the housing, a contact cleaning roller mounting apparatus mounted in the housing, wherein the contact cleaning roller mounting apparatus comprises a second drawer receivable in the housing and being moveable into and out of the housing, ". However, it does not appear that the specification or drawings support a second drawer being present. In fact, figure 6 shows the contact cleaning roller (220). However, it does not appear to be on a drawer or slidable in and out of the housing.
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “fouls against” in claim 6 renders the claim indefinite. The term "fouls against" is not a traditional term in mechanics or drawers. It is unclear the limitation being placed by the term "fouls against". "Foul" is traditionally used in sports to describe an illegal movement or play. The closest definition provided is "to tangle or come into collision with" (Merriam-Webster)..
Claim 10 recites the limitation "wherein on of the opposing core plugs" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein on of the opposing core plugs" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehmen (US 20080150407 A1) and Bell (US 20040251156 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Mehmen discloses a device capable of being an adhesive roll mounting apparatus, comprising a housing (cabinet frame, abstract) and a drawer (400) receivable in the housing and being moveable into and out of the housing, the drawer comprising at least one drawer slide (413), and a latch (108a) mounted on the drawer and moveable between a latching position (figure 23a) in which the latch fouls against a stopper element of the housing preventing the drawer being received into the housing and a disengaged position (figure 23b) in which the latch is held in a stowed position such that the drawer is received into the housing.
Mehmen failed to disclose of a roll mounting system configured to receive and retain an adhesive roll. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers, Bell taught of a container with a roll mounting system (50) in order to support a roll (abstract). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drawer of Mehmen to include a roll mounting system as taught by Bell in order to allow for storage and support of rolls.
With respect to claim 7, the references as applied to claim 6, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Mehmen further discloses wherein the latch (108a) is pivotable between the latching and disengaged positions.
With respect to claim 8, the references as applied to claim 6, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Mehmen further discloses, wherein the at least one drawer slide (413) comprises a pair of opposing drawer slides.
With respect to claim 9, the references as applied to claim 8, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Mehmen and Bell further teach wherein the roll mounting system comprises opposed core plugs mounted one at each end of the drawer. (this would be the result of placement of Bells roll mounting system within the drawer of Mehmen. One may consider opposing assemblies of 110 and 21 as the core plugs).
With respect to claim 10, the references as applied to claim 8, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Mehmen and Bell further teach wherein one of the opposing core plugs is fixed in position in the drawer and the other of the opposing core plugs is moveable away from the fixed core plug in the drawer. (can consider Bell 110 on one end as the fixed end and can consider 21 of Bell on the other end as the moveable core plug)
Examiner Note: The feature 110 could be made integral with the bottom surface of Mehmens drawer. Or alternatively Mehmens drawer bottom can be the same as item 66 of Bell and would feature a slot for the insertion of 110. Both of these modifications would be the result of having integral features and would not be considered novel under In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.")
With respect to claim 11, the references as applied to claim 6, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Mehmen further discloses wherein the roll mounting system comprises an actuator (106a) operable to move the latch from the latching position to the disengaged position.
With respect to claim 12, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Mehmen further discloses wherein one of the opposing core plugs (450) is fixed in position in the drawer and the other of the opposing core plugs (120a) is moveable away from the fixed core plug in the drawer, and the actuator (108a) is connected to the moveable core plug (120a).
Examiner Note: There is no antecedent for the opposing core plugs and no prior limitations associated with these features.
With respect to claim 13, the references as applied to claim 6, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims, the references further teach a contact cleaning system comprising the adhesive roll mounting apparatus according to claim 6 and a contact cleaning roller mounting apparatus mounted in the housing, wherein the contact cleaning roller mounting apparatus comprises a second drawer (Mehmen teaches of multiple drawers in the same housing on page 5 [0091]) receivable in the housing and being moveable into and out of the housing, the second drawer comprising a roll mounting system (taught by the combination of the roll mounting system as taught by Bell, see claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale) configured to receive and retain a contact cleaning roller wherein the adhesive roll mounting apparatus and the contact cleaning roller mounting apparatus together provide a contact cleaning roller configured and located to contact a substrate to be cleaned and an adhesive roll configured and located to remove debris from the contact cleaning roller.
Examiner Note: “Configured to” indicates an intended function and does not positively recite a structural relationship or limitation.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20080150407-A1 OR US-20040251156-A1 OR US-20070252490-A1 OR US-20060101875-A1 OR US-20120138723-A1 OR US-20090134639-A1 OR US-4418120-A OR US-5388902-A OR US-8783177-B2 OR US-6237176-B1 OR US-4721347-A OR US-5775140-A OR US-5518282-A OR US-5207781-A OR US-1950738-A
Conclusion
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735