DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TATSUMI et al. (US 20160240505 hereinafter TATSUMI).
In regards to claim 1, TATSUMI discloses;” A sintering paste (Title, abstract) for the electrically conductive, materially bonded connection of an aluminum conductor covered with an oxide layer to an electronic component (paragraph 0006), the sintering paste comprising nanoscale particles are suitable for forming an electrically conductive (Paragraph 0015), materially bonded connection of the aluminum conductor covered with the oxide layer to the electronic component via diffusion under the influence of pressure and temperature (Fig. 1).”
In regards to claim 2, TATSUMI discloses;” The sintering paste according to claim 1, wherein the nanoscale particles are nanoscale non-ferrous metal particles (paragraphs 0054, 0055).”
In regards to claim 3, TATSUMI discloses;” The sintering paste according to claim 1,
wherein the nano scale particles contain at least one of the copper, silver and silicon (Paragraphs 0054,0055).”
In regards to claim 4, TATSUMI discloses;” The sintering paste according to claim 1, wherein the sintering paste contain is free of iron (the preferred particles do not include iron, paragraphs 0054,0055).”
In regards to claim 5, TATSUMI discloses;” A method for producing an electrically
conductive, materially bonded connection of an aluminum conductor covered with an oxide layer to an electronic component in its frame, the method comprising: first, an providing the electrically conductive aluminum conductor covered with the oxide layer and providing the electronic component: applying a sintering paste according to claim 1 to a surface of the aluminum conductor covered with the oxide layer; positioning the electronic component on the aluminum conductor covered with the oxide layer provided with the sintering paste such that a contact surface of the electronic component and the surface of the aluminum conductor covered with the oxide layer are wetted with the sintering paste; and sintering of a composite formed from the electronic component, the sintering paste, and the aluminum conductor covered with the oxide layer at a predetermined joining pressure and a predetermined joining temperature using a sintering press (paragraphs 0068-0072, Fig. 1 (shown)).”
In regards to claim 6, TATSUMI discloses;” The method according to claim 5,wherein the sintering paste is applied to the surface of the aluminum conductor covered with the oxide layer via a printing process (paragraph 0073).”
In regards to claim 7, TATSUMI discloses;” The method according to claim 5, wherein:
the predetermined joining pressure is 5 MPa to 50 MPa; and the predetermined joining temperature is 100°C to 400°C (paragraph 0072).”
In regards to claim 8, TATSUMI discloses;” The method according to claim 5, further comprising applying the sintering paste to the contact surface of the electronic component (Fig. 1 (5), shown).”
In regards to claim 9, TATSUMI discloses;” The method according to claim 5, further comprising, before applying the sintering to the surface of the aluminum conductor covered with the oxide layer, pretreating the surface of the aluminum conductor covered with the oxide layer with a non-ferrous pretreatment agent (paragraph 0074).”
In regards to claim 10, TATSUMI discloses;” An electronic product, comprising: an aluminum conductor covered including an oxide layer; And an electronic component: wherein at least one electrically conductive, materially bonded connection between the aluminum conductor and the electronic component is provided via a sintering paste according to claim 1 (paragraph 0011, Fig. 1 (shown)).”
In regards to claim 11, TATSUMI discloses;” The electronic product according to claim 10, further comprising a support structure on which the aluminum conductor is arranged (Fig. 1 (2)).”
In regards to claim 12, TATSUMI discloses;” The electronic product according to claim 11, wherein the support structure is at least one of a printed circuit board and an insulated metal substrate (paragraphs 0004, 0067).”
In regards to claim 13, TATSUMI discloses;” The electronic product according to claim 12, wherein the aluminum conductor is an aluminum conductor track (Fig. 1 (shown)).”
In regards to claim 14, TATSUMI discloses;” The electronic product according to claim 10, wherein the oxide layer is an Al2O3 oxide layer (paragraphs 0011, 0015).”
In regards to claim 15, TATSUMI discloses;” The method according to claim 5, wherein the sintering paste is applied exclusively to the surface of the aluminum conductor covered with the oxide layer (paragraph 0006).”
In regards to claim 16, TATSUMI discloses;” The method according to claim 5, wherein applying the sintering paste to the surface of the aluminum conductor includes forming a layer of the sintering paste with a uniform thickness (paragraph 0073).”
In regards to claim 17, TATSUMI discloses;” The method according to claim 5, wherein:
the oxide layer is an Al2O3 oxide layer disposed on the surface of the aluminum conductor (Paragraphs 0068-0071); and the sintering paste is applied to the oxide layer disposed on the surface of the aluminum conductor.”
In regards to claim 18, TATSUMI discloses;” The method according to claim 5, wherein sintering the composite includes diffusing the nanoscale particles of the sintering paste through a plurality of lattice defects present in the oxide layer (Fig. 1 (5), paragraph 0073).”
In regards to claim 20, TATSUMI discloses;” The method according to claim 9, wherein pretreating the surface of the aluminum conductor covered with the oxide layer includes adhering metal pretreatment particles of the nonferrous pretreatment agent to defects present in the oxide layer (paragraph 0074).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TATSUMI et al. (US 20160240505 hereinafter TATSUMI).
In regards to claim 19, TATSUMI discloses;” The method according to claim 7”, but does not directly disclose;” wherein: the predetermined joining pressure is 10 MPa to 20 MPa; and
the predetermined joining temperature is 150°C to 250°C.”
However, TATSUMI discloses in paragraph 0072 a range of temperatures a pressures containing the instant invention values. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a joining pressure is 10 MPa to 20 MPa; and a joining temperature is 150°C to 250°C, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, by design chose of the skilled artisan, using an optimal temperature/ pressure value disclosed by TATSUMI, the claimed invention is disclosed.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL F MCALLISTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847