Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "steering joint wire rope fixing device" in line 1 of the claim. In lines 9, of the claim, the claim recites, “a resin, disposed inside the groove and used to fixing the portion of the cable disposed inside the groove.” Claims 8, 11, recite using resin for fixing portion of the cable.
In view specification and claims, it appears that the cable is used for steering purpose. If the cable is fixed by a resin as recited in these claims, it is unclear how a fixed cable be used for steering the distal portion of the endoscope.
Further, the term - steering joint wire rope fixing device contains too many adjectives which makes the term unclear.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites the phrase “ opening-expanded hole,” in line 3. The meaning of the phrase is unclear.
Claims 2-11 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do (US 20200237185) in view of Greenberg (US 20150065807).
Regarding claim 1, Do teaches a steering joint wire rope fixing device, applied to an endoscope and comprising a front-end assembly, including a channel part (Channel inside the tube; FIG. 13, 15) , disposed between two ends of the front-end assembly (The channel is disposed between the two ends of the front-end assembly; FIG. 13 annotated); and
a groove (A slot 691 that passes through the circumferential wall of the articulating member 69 and extends in the longitudinal direction of the articulating member 69 is formed on the distal side of the articulating member 69 (see FIG. 13)), disposed between one end of the front-end assembly and the channel part, wherein the channel part interconnects with the groove (A traction cable may be situated on the inner circumferential side of the tube element; para [0025]);
a cable (Articulating member 92), wherein a portion of the cable is inserted into the channel part and the groove (FIG. 13).
Do does not expressly disclose a resin, disposed inside the groove and used to fixing the portion of the cable disposed inside the groove.
Greenberg is directed to cystoscopy catheter (abstract) and teaches a resin, disposed inside the groove and used to fixing the portion of the cable disposed inside the groove (resin is used to lock the wires to the wall).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Do to have resin on the side of the cable in the assembly so that cable would remain relatively in place as it axially moves during traction.
Regarding claim 2, Do teaches wherein the groove has a lateral face and a guiding face opposite to the lateral face; the lateral face neighbors the channel part; the guiding face is obliquely extended upward (Here obliquely angle is not defined. Any reference line may be considered to form an oblique angle.) from a bottom of the groove to a surface of the front-end assembly (See annotated FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 9, Do teaches wherein the front-end assembly further includes an outer-rim trench (FIG.13); the outer-rim trench is extended along a diameter of the front-end assembly and interconnected with the groove (FIG. 13); another portion of the cable is received by the outer-rim trench and the groove (FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 10, Do teaches wherein a third protrusion and a fourth protrusion are formed in the outer-rim trench (FIG.13); the third protrusion and the fourth protrusion are respectively arranged on two sides of the outer-rim trench in a staggering way to confine the cable inside the outer-rim trench (FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 11, Do teaches wherein the resin is dispensed into the outer-rim trench to fix a portion of the cable.
Claim(s) 1-4 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide (US 20200187765) in view of Greenberg (US 20150065807).
Regarding claim 1, Ide discloses a steering joint wire rope fixing device (FIG. 6), applied to an endoscope and comprising a front-end assembly, including a channel part (FIG. 6, 11; channels 22a, 22b, 22c; Para [0053]), disposed between two ends of the front-end assembly (FIG. 6); and
a groove (FIG. 6, annotated), disposed between one end of the front-end assembly and the channel part, wherein the channel part interconnects with the groove (FIG. 6, annotated);
a cable (operation wires 27), wherein a portion of the cable is inserted into the channel part and the groove (FIG. 6).
Ide does not expressly disclose a resin, disposed inside the groove and used to fixing the portion of the cable disposed inside the groove.
Greenberg is directed to cystoscopy catheter (abstract) and teaches a resin, disposed inside the groove and used to fixing the portion of the cable disposed inside the groove (resin is used to lock the wires to the wall).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ide to have resin on the side of the cable with a supporting structure in the assembly so that the cable would remain relatively in place as it axially moves during traction.
Regarding claim 2, Ide discloses wherein the groove has a lateral face (upper face of the groove) and a guiding face (lower face of the groove) opposite to the lateral face; the lateral face neighbors the channel part (FIG. 6); the guiding face is obliquely extended upward (In the corner of the groove, the lower face of the groove extends upwards) from a bottom of the groove to a surface of the front-end assembly.
Regarding claim 3, Ide discloses wherein the channel part includes a first channel, wherein one end of the first channel has a first via-hole, and another end of the first channel has a second via-hole (FIG. 6); and a second channel, wherein one end of the second channel has a third via-hole, and another end of the second channel has a fourth via-hole, wherein the cable is inserted into the first channel through the first via-hole (FIG. 6), protrudes into the groove through the second via-hole, and then is inserted into the second channel through the fourth via-hole (FIG. 6, annotated).
Regarding claim 4, Ide discloses wherein at least one of the first via-hole, the second via-hole, the third via-hole and the fourth via-hole is a trumpet-shape opening-expanded hole (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Ide discloses wherein the channel part includes a first channel (FIG. 6), wherein one end of the first channel has a first via-hole, and another end of the first channel has a second via-hole (FIG. 6);
a trench (portion 22v; FIG. 6), being a recessed portion arranged in a region where a surface of the front-end assembly and the groove interconnect, wherein one end of the cable passes through the first via-hole, the first channel, the second via-hole and the groove in sequence; then the cable is inserted into the trench and constrained by the trench (V shape constrains the cable; FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Ide discloses wherein a first protrusion is formed on one side of the trench, and a second protrusion is formed on another side of the trench (On the left and right side of the groove two protrusions are formed.); the first protrusion and the second protrusion are arranged in a staggering way (protrusions are separated); the first protrusion and the second protrusion are used to confine the cable inside the trench (Protrusions help confine the cable inside the trench.).
Regarding claim 8, Ide as modified teaches wherein the resin is dispensed into the trench to fix a portion of the cable (Greenberg: Resin is used to lock the wires to the wall.).
Claim(s) 1, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa (US 20230248225) in view of Greenberg (US 20150065807).
Regarding claim 1, Suwa discloses steering joint wire rope fixing device (FIG. 2), applied to an endoscope and comprising:
a front-end assembly (FIG. 2), including a channel part (opening 14), disposed between two ends of the front-end assembly; and
a groove (groover underneath the opening 14; FIG. 2), disposed between one end of the front-end assembly and the channel part, wherein the channel part interconnects with the groove (FIG. 2);
a cable (operation wire 51; para [0038]), wherein a portion of the cable is inserted into the channel part and the groove (FIG. 6).
Suwa does not expressly disclose a resin, disposed inside the groove and used to fixing the portion of the cable disposed inside the groove.
Greenberg is directed to cystoscopy catheter (abstract) and teaches a resin, disposed inside the groove and used to fixing the portion of the cable disposed inside the groove (resin is used to lock the wires to the wall).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suwa to have resin on the side of the cable with a supporting structure in the assembly so that the cable would remain relatively in place as it axially moves during traction.
Regarding claim 5, Suwa discloses wherein one end of the cable is formed into a cephalization structure (wire lock portion 52 of the operation wire 51; FIG. 3) inside the groove, and a size of the cephalization structure is larger than a diameter of an opening of the channel part (wire lock portion 52 is larger than the channel part.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO – 892.
/SHANKAR RAJ GHIMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
02/09/26