DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-24 were filed on 05/10/2024. No preliminary amendment was filed.
Claims 1-24 are currently pending and under examination.
Priority
The instant application does not claim domestic benefit or foreign priority to any earlier application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2026 and 03/31/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 recites “HCL” on the fourth line in the body of the claim. In standard chemical notation, the molecular formula for hydrochloric acid is written as "HCl", where the second letter of the chlorine symbol is a lowercase "l". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the oxygenate synthesis zone" in the third paragraph of the body of claim 1 and the third line of claim 4 but both claims lack a proper antecedent basis for this term. The definite article “the” implies that this zone has been previously introduced. However, “an oxygenate synthesis zone” was not recited prior to this point in the claims. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in these claims.
Claims 2-5, and 21-23 depend on claim 1 and do not remedy the indefiniteness issue of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2-5, and 21-23 are also indefinite.
For purposes of applying prior art, the limitation of “the oxygenate synthesis zone” will be interpreted as an oxygenate synthesis zone being one of the “one or more catalytic reaction zones” recited in claim 1.
Claims 5 and 15-16 recite the limitation “the LPG-enhanced gaseous effluent” in the third line of claim 5 and the second line of claims 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For purposes of applying prior art, the limitation of “the LPG-enhanced gaseous effluent” will be interpreted as “the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the oxygenate synthesis catalyst” in the third line of claim 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8 depends on claim 7 and does not fix the issue of insufficient antecedent basis.
For purposes of applying prior art, the limitation of “the oxygenate synthesis catalyst” will be interpreted as depending from claim 6, which provides antecedence for “the oxygenate synthesis catalyst” as recited in claims 7 and 8.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the oxygenate conversion catalyst” in the first line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For purposes of applying prior art, the limitation of “the oxygenate conversion catalyst” will be interpreted as depending from claim 6, which provides antecedence for “the oxygenate conversion catalyst” as recited in claim 9.
Regarding claims 13 and 18, claim 13 recites “treatment with acids (HCL, HNO3, citric)” and claim 18 recites “molecular sieves (either phosphate molecular sieves or non-phosphate molecular sieves)”. The listed alternatives in the parentheticals render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations inside the parentheses are exemplary language or part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 14 depends on claim 13 and does not remedy the indefiniteness issue of claim 13. Therefore, claim 14 is also indefinite.
Claims 19-20 and 24 depend on claim 18 and do not remedy the indefiniteness issue of claim 18. Therefore, claims 19-20 and 24 are also indefinite.
Claim 21 recites “an absorption process comprising…an adsorbent selected from sulfuric acid, phosphoric acid, and an ionic liquid.” One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an absorption process does not use an adsorbent but rather an absorbent. Furthermore, the list of alternatives are all liquids which generally act as absorbents instead of adsorbents. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite because one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to discern the scope of the claim.
Claims 22-24 depend on claim 21 and do not remedy the indefiniteness issue of claim 21 and are also indefinite.
For purposes of applying prior art and in view of the instant specification (see 0103), the limitation the “an adsorbent” will be interpreted as an absorbent.
Claim 24 recites “wherein the ionic liquid is a chloroaluminate ionic liquid”. Claim 24 depends, directly or indirectly, from claims 18-20 which fail to recite or introduce the limitation of an ionic liquid. Therefore, because the limitation of “the ionic liquid” in claim 24 introduces a component that has not been previously introduced in the claims from which it depends, it lacks proper antecedent basis.
For purposes of applying prior art, the limitation of “wherein the ionic liquid is a chloroaluminate ionic liquid” will be interpreted as depending from instant claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 15-17, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892).
Littlewood et al. teaches production of liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) hydrocarbons from carbon dioxide-containing feeds (see Title). A process 1 for producing an LPG product and utilizing recycle is depicted in the FIGURE (shown below). As illustrated, gaseous feed mixture 6 is provided to reforming stage or RWGS stage 100, which may include one or more reforming/RWGS reactors for contacting gaseous feed mixture 6 with a reforming/RWGS catalyst and under reforming/RWGS conditions. Reactions occurring in reforming stage or RWGS stage 100 produce synthesis gas intermediate 8, which may be subjected to any one or more intervening operations. For example, water, such as condensed liquid water 9, may be separated from synthesis gas intermediate 8 to provide LPG synthesis feed 10. A portion of H2/CO2-enriched fraction 14 of LPG synthesis effluent 12 is added to synthesis gas intermediate 8 to provide LPG synthesis feed 10. A second part 4b of this fraction may be added, having the effect of altering the composition of LPG synthesis feed 10, relative to that of synthesis gas intermediate 8, and more particularly with respect to the H2:CO ratio of LPG synthesis feed. LPG synthesis feed 10, or a portion thereof, is provided to LPG synthesis stage 200, which may include one or more LPG synthesis reactors for contacting LPG synthesis feed 10 with an LPG synthesis catalyst system and under LPG synthesis conditions. Reactions occurring in LPG synthesis stage 200 produce LPG synthesis effluent 12 that is obtained directly from LPG synthesis stage 200. All or a portion of LPG synthesis effluent 12, optionally following a further intervening operation such as cooling via cooler 250, is provided to separation stage 300 for separating various fractions as. The separated fractions include H2/CO2-enriched fraction 14 and water-enriched fraction 18, in addition to LPG product 16 comprising LPG hydrocarbons. Relative to other fractions 14, 18 separated from LPG synthesis effluent 12, LPG product 16 is enriched in both propane and butane (based on a combined amount of iso- and normal-butane), and has amounts of propane and/or butane (see 0083). At least a portion of H2/CO2-enriched fraction 14 is recycled back to upstream operations or stages of the process, including reforming stage or RWGS stage 100, and/or LPG synthesis stage 200. A recycle portion 4 of H2/CO2-enriched fraction is obtained following the removal of purge 20 that serves to limit the accumulation of unwanted impurities in the gaseous recycle loop, and particularly non-condensable impurities such as N2 and others that may be present in fresh makeup feed 2. The separation of purge 20 provides recycle portion 4 of the H2/CO2-enriched fraction 14, which recycle portion 4 then, using recycle gas compressor 350, advantageously is utilized to improve performance of the overall process in various respects. The recycle portion 4 is recycled to either or both stages 100, 200 to increase overall CO2 conversion of the process. The CO2 present in H2/CO2-enriched fraction 14 or recycle portion 4, when introduced to one or both stages 100, 200, and particularly LPG synthesis stage 200, suppresses or reduces a net CO2 production in that stage (e.g., due to the water-gas shift reaction). A first part 4a of recycle portion 4 is recycled to reforming stage or RWGS stage 100 (e.g., by being combined with fresh makeup feed 2), and/or a second part 4b is recycled to LPG synthesis stage 200 (e.g., by being combined with synthesis gas intermediate 8 or LPG synthesis feed 10) (see 0084). The fresh makeup feed 2 comprises biogas. The gaseous feed mixture 6 also comprises biogas that is present therein as a fresh makeup feed portion (see 0085). Any of the gaseous feed mixtures may comprise, in addition to CO2, CH4, and/or H2, one or both of (i) one or more C2+ paraffinic hydrocarbons and/or C6+ paraffinic hydrocarbons and (ii) one or more C2+ olefinic hydrocarbons and/or C6 + olefinic hydrocarbons. The gaseous feed mixture may comprise one or more C2 + olefinic hydrocarbons. Any of these olefinic hydrocarbons may be present in an amount of at least about 0.3 mol-% (see 0039).
The teachings of Littlewood et al. differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that Littlewood et al. does not teach the treated synthesis gas recycle stream containing less than 5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
‘182 teaches separation of olefins from paraffins using ionic liquid solution (see Title). Fischer-Tropsch chemistry tends to provide a variety of gaseous and liquid products, including unreacted synthesis gas, methane, and C2-4 hydrocarbons (a mixture of olefins and paraffins). These gases are typically separated from the liquid products. The methane and other light paraffins can be recycled through an upstream synthesis gas generator. However, the light olefins tend to coke the catalysts, and need to be removed before the recycle gas is sent to the synthesis gas generator (see paragraph 4, column 1, page 2). Methods for separating olefins from non-olefins, such as paraffins, including cycloparaffins, oxygenates and aromatics, are provided. The methods use metal salts to complex the olefins, allowing the paraffins to be separated by a variety of methods. The metal salts are incorporated, e.g., dissolved, in ionic liquids (see paragraph 1, column 2, page 2). The olefin-containing mixture can be in the gas phase or in the liquid phase (see paragraph 3, column 2, page 2). The metal salts are selected from heavy metal ions which are known to form chemical complexes with olefins, e.g., copper(I) or silver(I) (see paragraph 3, column 2, page 3). Various triarylphosphines, thioethers and cyclic and non-cyclic quaternary ammonium salts have been used as the ionic liquid. Counterions which have been used include a group including chloroaluminate (see paragraph 2, column 5, page 4). The compositions of the method include solutions or dispersions of metal salts, which form complexes with olefins, in ionic liquids. The methods involve contacting a mixture including olefins and non-olefins with a solution of an olefin-complexing metal salt in an ionic liquid. After the non-olefins are separated, the olefins can be removed/desorbed from the ionic liquid (see paragraph 1, column 3, page 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Littlewood et al. with the teachings of ‘182 by treating the recycle portion 4, as taught by Littlewood et al., with the separation process, as taught by ‘182, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat the recycle stream with a separation process to remove olefins because Littlewood et al. teaches the process to produce LPG contains olefinic hydrocarbons in the gaseous streams and suggests olefins cause coking of the dehydration catalyst constituent (see bottom of paragraph 0071) and, as taught by ‘182, olefins need to be removed before being recycled. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because the recycle stream 4 in Littlewood et al. contains olefinic hydrocarbons that '182 teaches can be treated and separated. Because the chemical compositions match, applying the separation process of '182 to the stream of Littlewood et al. is an application of an existing separation process to its intended feedstock. Furthermore, ‘182 teaches a separation process specifically for olefin separation from paraffins and therefore, the concentration of olefins in gaseous streams can be changed using the separation process. The separation process, as taught by ‘182, makes the concentration of olefins a result-effective variable that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to optimize with the separation process of ‘182.
Regarding instant claim 1 step a), Littlewood et al. teaches producing LPG synthesis effluent 12, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent. The process includes utilizing fresh makeup feed 2 comprising biogas to produce synthesis gas intermediate 8 and mixing synthesis gas intermediate 8 with recycle portion 4b which has been purged and compressed to provide LPG synthesis feed 10, corresponding to the instant blended bio-based synthesis gas comprising a fresh bio-based synthesis gas and a treated synthesis gas recycle stream. This is fed to LPG synthesis stage 200 with an LPG synthesis catalyst system, which may include one or more LPG synthesis reactors, corresponding to the instant one or more catalytic reaction zones. Littlewood et al. further teaches any of the gaseous feed mixtures may comprise one or more C2+ olefinic hydrocarbons, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent containing unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 1 step b), Littlewood et al. teaches the LPG synthesis effluent 12 is provided to separation stage 300 and separated into H2/CO2-enriched fraction 14 in addition to LPG product 16 comprising LPG hydrocarbons, corresponding to the instant step of separating the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent into a synthesis gas recycle stream and at least one LPG-enriched hydrocarbon product.
Regarding instant claim 1 step c), Littlewood et al. teaches the H2/CO2-enriched fraction 14 for recycling back to upstream operations which is modified by the teachings of ‘182 by utilizing the separation process of a metal salt dissolved in an ionic liquid to separate olefins, corresponding to the instant step of removing at least a portion of the unsaturated hydrocarbons contained in the synthesis gas recycle stream in a treatment step. This modification would naturally flow into a synthesis gas recycle stream that contains a lower concentration of olefins which one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize because Littlewood et al. suggests olefins cause catalyst coking, corresponding to the instant step of producing a treated synthesis gas recycle stream containing less than 5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 1 step d), Littlewood et al. teaches recycle portion 4b, derived from H2/CO2-enriched fraction 14, is mixed with synthesis gas intermediate 8 to form LPG synthesis feed 10, corresponding to the instant step of blending at least a portion of the treated synthesis gas recycle stream with the fresh bio-based synthesis gas. The LPG synthesis feed 10 is then fed to LPG synthesis stage 200, corresponding to the instant step of forming the blended bio-based synthesis gas of step a).
Regarding instant claim 2, Littlewood et al. teaches the composition of the LPG synthesis effluent (see Table 1 and shown below). The composition includes LPG hydrocarbons derived from synthesis gas made from bio-gas, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched hydrocarbon product comprising bio-based LPG. The composition further includes CH4 and ethane, corresponding to the instant C2- hydrocarbons, and various unsubstituted and substituted pentanes, corresponding to the instant C5+ hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 3, Littlewood et al. teaches a gaseous mixture or a fresh makeup feed that is biogas or that comprises biogas is reacted in a reforming stage, according to the dry reforming reaction, to produce a synthesis gas intermediate comprising H2 and CO (see 0011), corresponding to the instant step of preparing the fresh bio-based synthesis gas by contacting a biogas containing biomethane with an oxidizing gas selected from CO2 at reforming reaction conditions. Littlewood et al. further teaches the reaction occurs in the reforming stage 100, corresponding to the instant reforming
reaction zone.
Regarding instant claim 4, Littlewood et al. teaches olefinic hydrocarbons may be present in any gaseous stream in an amount of at least about 0.3 mol-% which is modified by the teachings of ‘182 making the concentration of olefins a result-effective variable due to the olefin separation process, corresponding to the instant treated synthesis gas recycle stream contains less than 1 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 5, Littlewood et al. teaches olefinic hydrocarbons may be present in any gaseous stream in an amount of at least about 0.3 mol-%, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent contains greater than 0.5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding instant claim 6, Littlewood et al. teaches the conversion of the synthesis gas intermediate or portion thereof to LPG proceeds through a methanol synthesis reaction mechanism, corresponding to the instant step of reacting the blended bio-based synthesis gas in an oxygenate synthesis zone, whereby methanol produced, corresponding to the instant step of forming an oxygenated reaction product, is dehydrated to LPG hydrocarbons and water, corresponding to the instant step of forming the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent (see 0015). Conversion of the synthesis gas intermediate to the LPG product comprises contacting this intermediate or portion thereof with an LPG synthesis catalyst system having activities for both methanol synthesis and dehydration, corresponding to the instant oxygenate synthesis catalyst and the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst (see 0016). Littlewood et al. further teaches LPG synthesis stage which corresponds to both the instant oxygenate synthesis zone and the instant oxygenate conversion zone.
Further regarding instant claim 6, Littlewood et al. does not teach wherein the oxygenates include at least 50 mol% methanol as required by instant claim 6.
However, Littlewood et al. further teaches a methanol synthesis and dehydration reaction mechanism accounted for the production of LPG and other hydrocarbons. The methanol intermediate was present in the LPG synthesis effluent in only trace or undetectable quantities (see 0088). Table 2 shows the LPG effluent composition (shown above) which shows a 57 mol% LPG hydrocarbon composition.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a methanol intermediate accounted for the produced LPG hydrocarbons and one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the LPG yield of 57 mol% hydrocarbons to have naturally flowed from an intermediate methanol yield of at least 50 mol%. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Littlewood et al. explicitly teaches methanol as the intermediate and Littlewood et al. teaches successful examples of LPG hydrocarbon yields above 50 mol% that Littlewood et al. teaches naturally flows from a methanol intermediate.
Regarding instant claim 7, Littlewood et al. teaches a representative methanol synthesis catalyst or methanol synthesis-functional constituent of a bi-functional catalyst may comprise one or more methanol synthesis-active metals, with representative metals being selected from the group consisting of copper (Cu), zinc (Zn), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), and chromium (Cr) (see 0065), corresponding to the instant oxygenate synthesis catalyst comprising one or more methanol synthesis-active metals selected from the group consisting of Cu, Zn, Al, Pt, Pd, and Cr.
Regarding instant claim 8, Littlewood et al. teaches, in Example 1, an LPG synthesis catalyst system of methanol synthesis catalyst (Cu/ZnO/Al2O3) was used (see 0087), corresponding to the instant oxygenate synthesis catalyst containing essentially no molecular sieve or zeolitic component.
Regarding instant claim 9, Littlewood et al. teaches a dehydration catalyst or dehydration-functional constituent of a bi-functional catalyst comprises SAPO-34 (silicoaluminophosphate), corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst containing essentially no water gas shift active metal component, selected from the group consisting of Fe, Cu, Zn, Pt, and Pd.
Regarding instant claim 11, Littlewood et al. teaches a dehydration catalyst or dehydration-functional constituent of a bi-functional catalyst comprises SAPO-34 (silicoaluminophosphate), corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst being SAPO-34.
Regarding instant claim 15, Littlewood et al. teaches, in Table 2, the LPG effluent composition (shown above) which shows a 57 mol% LPG hydrocarbon, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent comprising greater than 40 weight % LPG.
Regarding instant claim 16, Littlewood et al. teaches, in Table 2, the LPG effluent composition (shown above) which shows both substituted and unsubstituted pentanes at varying selectivity percentages, corresponding to the instant C5+ hydrocarbons, which can be added and calculated to be a total 1.97 wt% for the baseline example 1, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent comprising less than 25 weight % C5+ hydrocarbons, based on the total hydrocarbon content of the LPG-enhanced gaseous effluent.
Regarding instant claim 17, Littlewood et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the treatment step c) is a hydrogenation process comprising passing either the LPG-enhanced effluent or the synthesis gas recycle stream over a metal-containing catalyst.
However, Littlewood et al. teaches the dehydration catalyst SAPO-34 can catalyze the conversion of a methanol intermediate to olefins such as propylene. Littlewood et al. further suggests that the characteristic hydrogen partial pressures used in the LPG synthesis stage not only promote the hydrogenation of these olefins, but also stabilize the dehydration catalyst/functional constituent by preventing coking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Littlewood et al. by optimizing the hydrogen partial pressure in the LPG synthesis stage which uses the recycle stream 4b containing synthesis gas as a reactant to promote the hydrogenation of the olefins present to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the hydrogen partial pressure because, as taught by Littlewood et al., this will promote olefin hydrogenation and further stabilize the catalyst from coking. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Littlewood et al. teaches olefin hydrogenation is a result-effective variable by optimizing the hydrogen partial pressure which predictably results in olefins being hydrogenated.
Further regarding instant claim 17, Littlewood et al. teaches the dehydration (and hydrogenation as discussed above) catalyst SAPO-34 (silicoaluminophosphate), corresponding to the instant metal-containing catalyst comprising Al and Si. Littlewood et al. implicitly teaches the hydrogenation occurs simultaneously in the dehydration reaction. Therefore, the conditions of the LPG synthesis reaction are the same as those of the hydrogenation process. Littlewood et al. explicitly teaches LPG synthesis reaction conditions, suitable for use in at least one LPG synthesis reactor include an LPG synthesis reaction temperature in a range from about 204° C to about 454° C (see 0063) which corresponds to the instant hydrogenation process at a temperature between 30 and 400 °C. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding instant claim 21, ‘182 teaches contacting a mixture including olefins and non-olefins with a solution of an olefin-complexing metal salt in an ionic liquid. After the non-olefins are separated, the olefins can be removed/desorbed from the ionic liquid, corresponding to the instant step of contacting the synthesis gas recycle stream with an absorbent selected from an ionic liquid.
Regarding instant claim 22, ‘182 teaches contacting a mixture including olefins and non-olefins with a solution of an olefin-complexing metal salt in an ionic liquid, corresponding to the instant ionic liquid containing a metal that coordinates with unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 23, ‘182 teaches, in example 2, forming both copper and silver complexes in ionic liquids, corresponding to the instant one or more metals that coordinate with unsaturated hydrocarbons being copper and silver.
Regarding instant claim 24, Littlewood et al. does not teach and ‘182 does not exemplify wherein the ionic liquid is a chloroaluminate ionic liquid.
However, ‘182 teaches, in example 2, AgBF4 salt in bmim+BF4- ionic liquid and further teaches counterions which have been used include a group including chloroaluminate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the BF4- counterion with chloroaluminate to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the counterion because ‘182 teaches chloroaluminate as an alternative counterion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because ‘182 explicitly teaches chloroaluminate as an alternative counterion.
Claims 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Sabde et al. (WO2019145869A1, published 08/01/2019, IDS dated 02/23/2026).
The combined teachings of Littlewood et al. and ‘182 were discussed above.
The combined teachings of Littlewood et al. and ‘182 differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that the combined teachings of Littlewood et al. and ‘182 does not teach wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises a zeolite having a SiO2/A12O3 molar ratio of less than 90, as required by instant claim 10, wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises SSZ-13 as required by instant claim 12, and wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises a small pore molecular sieve that has been prepared with a treated surface as required by instant claim 13.
Sabde et al. teaches a process for synthesizing zeolite SSZ-13 (see Title). SSZ-13 is a zeolite with a chabazite structure. SSZ-13 is a small pore zeolite. SSZ-13 is promising for applications such as converting methanol to olefins (see lines 1-11, page 3). Unique physicochemical property or combination of properties of SSZ-13 zeolite are required in diverse applications. The individual properties such as Silica to Alumina molar ratio (Si02/Al203), SEM crystallite size, powder particle size, carbon content, phase purity, alkali content and surface area or combinations thereof are required for particular application (see lines 19-24 of page 3). The common alkali content in zeolites are Na and K. The presence of alkali content in zeolite beyond certain content influences the activity of zeolite (see lines 21-23 of page 4). Sabde et al. teaches, in example 1, synthesis of a H-SSZ-13 zeolite with a SiO2/A12O3 molar ratio of 26. One of the steps in the process to make the catalyst includes the as-synthesized zeolite is subjected to ion exchange with mineral acids or ammonium salts solution to limit the alkali content in the zeolite to less than 500 ppm.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to substitute the teachings of Littlewood et al. and ‘182 with the teachings of Sabde et al. by substituting the SAPO-34 catalyst, as taught by Littlewood et al., with SSZ-13, as taught by Sabde et al., to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the catalyst because both Sabde et al. and Littlewood et al. teaches the applications of SSZ-13 and SAPO-34, respectively, to both be the conversion of methanol to olefins, and thus, both catalysts have the same function. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because substituting a catalyst with the known function of methanol to olefin conversion for another catalyst with the same function would predictably result in the same reaction occurring.
Regarding instant claim 10, Sabde et al. teaches, in example 1, synthesis of a H-SSZ-13 zeolite with a SiO2/A12O3 molar ratio of 26, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising a zeolite having a SiO2/A12O3 molar ratio of less than 90.
Regarding instant claim 12, Sabde et al. teaches, in example 1, synthesis of a H-SSZ-13 zeolite, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising SSZ-13.
Regarding instant claim 13, Sabde et al. teaches one of the steps in the process to make the catalyst includes the as-synthesized zeolite is subjected to ion exchange with mineral acids, corresponding to the instant step of the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising a small pore molecular sieve that has been prepared with a treated surface using a process selected from treatment with acids.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rege et al. (NPL, published 1998, PTO-892).
The combined teachings of Littlewood et al. and ‘182 were discussed above.
The combined teachings of Littlewood et al. and ‘182 differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that the combined teachings of Littlewood et al. and ‘182 does not teach wherein the treatment step c) is an adsorption process comprising contacting either the LPG-enriched effluent or the synthesis gas recycle stream with an adsorbent as required by instant claim 18.
Rege et al. teaches olefin/paraffin separations by adsorption through π-complexation (see title). Monolayer dispersed AgNO3, on silica gel was prepared and this sorbent exhibited superior adsorption properties for olefin/paraffin separations by selective adsorption of olefins through π-complexation. Using 50/50 mixtures of C2H4/C2H6 and C3H6/C3H8, separations using these sorbents were compared
directly based on olefin product purity, recovery, and throughput. The monolayer AgNO3/SiO2, sorbent showed superior separation results for C3H6/C3H8, and the Ag+-exchanged resin showed best results for C2H4/C2H6. In both cases, over 99% product purities could be obtained at reasonably high recoveries and throughputs (see abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Littlewood et al. and ‘182 with the teachings of Rege et al. by treating the recycle portion 4, as taught by Littlewood et al., with the separation process, as taught by Rege et al., to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat the recycle stream with a separation process to remove olefins because Rege et al. teaches the sorbent exhibits superior adsorption properties for olefin/paraffin separations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because the recycle stream 4 in Littlewood et al. contains olefinic hydrocarbons that Rege et al. teaches can be treated and separated. Because the chemical compositions match, applying the separation process of Rege et al. to the stream of Littlewood et al. is an application of an existing separation process to its intended feedstock.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-8, 10, and 21-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10, 12, 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/431438 (‘438) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
‘438 recites the following: Claim 1. A method for producing bio-based LPG, comprising: a) synthesizing an LPG-enriched gaseous effluent from a bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2, and H2 in one or more catalytic reaction zones; b) removing an aqueous product from the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent and producing a dewatered gaseous effluent; c) absorbing at least a portion of the hydrocarbons contained in the dewatered gaseous effluent in a liquid absorption solvent within an absorption zone and producing an LPG-enriched product comprising a bio-based LPG and a 1st recycle stream having a reduced LPG content, wherein the 1st recycle stream contains C2-hydrocarbons; and e) passing 1st recycle stream having a reduced LPG content obtained from step c) to the one or more catalytic reaction zones, wherein the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent is obtained by reacting the bio-based synthesis gas over a non-zeolitic methanol synthesis catalyst in a first synthesis reaction zone; and reacting the LPG- enriched gaseous effluent by reacting at least a portion of the gaseous effluyeny over a zeolitic oxygenate conversion catalyst in a second reaction zone. Claim 3. The method of Claim 1, wherein the bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2, and H2 in step (a) is prepared by contacting a biogas comprising biomethane with an oxidizing gas selected from O2, CO2 and H2O or combinations thereof at reforming reaction conditions in a reforming reaction zone. Claim 4. The method of Claim 1, wherein after step c) absorbed hydrocarbons from the liquid absorption solvent is separated; and at least a 1st light fraction comprising C2-hydrocarbons and an LPG fraction comprising the bio-based LPG from the separated hydrocarbons is recovered. Claim 8. The method of Claim 1, further comprises step d) after step c) and before step e), d) adsorbing C2-hydrocarbons, CO, and CO2 from at least a portion of the 1st recycle stream onto an adsorbent and returning non-adsorbed H2 to the 1st recycle stream to form a hydrogen- enriched recycle stream; wherein step d) is conducted by: f) adsorbing the C2- hydrocarbons, CO, and CO2 from at least a portion of the 1st recycle stream onto the adsorbent at an adsorption pressure above 400 psi; g) separating a 2nd light fraction comprising the adsorbed C2- hydrocarbons, CO, and CO2 from the absorbent at a pressure at least 25 psi below the adsorption pressure; h) recycling the 2nd light fraction; and i) returning non-adsorbed H2 to the 1st recycle stream at a pressure above 400 psi, and the resulting hydrogen-enriched recycle stream is continued to step e). Claim 10. The method of Claim 8, wherein step (e) of passing at least a portion of the hydrogen-enriched recycle stream to the one or more catalytic reaction zones comprises increasing the pressure of the at least a portion of the hydrogen-enriched recycle stream in the range between 5 psi and 50 psi and blending the pressurized hydrogen-enriched recycle stream with the bio-based synthesis gas. Claim 12. The method of claim 1, wherein at least 50% of the gaseous oxygenate is MeOH. Claim 15. The method of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the gaseous oxygenate in the conversion reaction zone is reacted at a pressure above about 750 psi and producing the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent comprising less than 2 mol% olefins. Claim 16. The method of claim 1, wherein the non-zeolitic oxygenate synthesis catalyst in the synthesis reaction zone comprises one or more oxygenate synthesis-active metals selected from Cu, Zn, Zr, Al, Pt, Pd, Rh, Ru, and Cr. Claim 17. The method of claim 1, wherein the zeolitic oxygenate conversion catalyst is a zeolite having a SiO2/A12O3 molar ratio of less than 90. Claim 18. The method of claim 1, wherein the zeolitic oxygenate conversion catalyst is a molecular sieve-containing oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising less than 1 wt% of Cu, Zn, Zr, Al, Pt, Pd, Rh, Ru, and Cr, either alone or in combination.
‘438 differs from that of the instantly claimed invention in that ‘438 does not recite producing the treated synthesis gas recycle stream containing less than 5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
The teachings of ‘182 were discussed above.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘438 with the teachings of ‘182 by treating the 1st recycle stream, as recited by ‘438, with the separation process, as taught by ‘182, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat the recycle stream with a separation process to remove olefins because, as taught by ‘182, olefins need to be removed before being recycled. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because ‘438 recites that the LPG gaseous effluent contains olefins that '182 teaches can be treated and separated. Because the chemical compositions match, applying the separation process of '182 to the stream of ‘438 is an application of an existing separation process to its intended feedstock. Furthermore, ‘182 implicitly teaches that the concentration of olefins in gaseous streams can be changed using the separation process, making the concentration of olefins a result-effective variable that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to optimize.
Regarding instant claim 1 step a), ‘438 recites synthesizing an LPG-enriched gaseous effluent from a bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2, and H2 in one or more catalytic zones (see claim 1) and passing at least a portion of the hydrogen-enriched recycle stream to the one or more catalytic reaction zones comprises…blending the pressurized hydrogen-enriched recycle stream with the bio-based synthesis gas (see claim 10) and producing the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent comprising less than 2 mol% olefins (see claim 15), corresponding to the instant step a).
Regarding instant claim 1 step b), ‘438 recites absorbing at least a portion of the hydrocarbons in the dewatered gaseous effluent…and producing an LPG-enriched product comprising a bio-based LPG and a 1st recycle stream, corresponding to the instant step of separating the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent into a synthesis gas recycle stream and an LPG-enriched hydrocarbon product.
Regarding instant claim 1 step c), ‘438 recites absorbing at least a portion of the hydrocarbons contained in the dewatered gaseous effluent which is modified by the teachings of ‘182 by utilizing the separation process of a metal salt dissolved in an ionic liquid to separate olefins, corresponding to the instant step of removing at least a portion of the unsaturated hydrocarbons contained in the synthesis gas recycle stream in a treatment step. This modification would naturally flow into a synthesis gas recycle stream that contains a lower concentration of olefins which, being a result-effective variable, one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize, corresponding to the instant step of producing a treated synthesis gas recycle stream containing less than 5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 1 step d), ‘438 recites blending the pressurized hydrogen-enriched recycle stream with the bio-based synthesis gas, corresponding to the instant step of blending at least a portion of the treated synthesis gas recycle stream with the fresh bio-based synthesis gas and forming bio-based synthesis gas of step a).
Regarding instant claim 3, ‘438 recites wherein the bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2, and H2 in step (a) is prepared by contacting a biogas comprising biomethane with an oxidizing gas selected from O2, CO2 and H2O or combinations thereof at reforming reaction conditions in a reforming reaction zone, corresponding to the instant step of the fresh bio-based synthesis gas being prepared by contacting a biogas comprising biomethane with an oxidizing gas selected from O2,CO2 and H2O or combinations thereof at reforming reaction conditions in a reforming reaction zone.
Regarding instant claim 4, ‘438 recites absorbing at least a portion of the hydrocarbons contained in the dewatered gaseous effluent which is modified by the teachings of ‘182 making the concentration of olefins a result-effective variable due to the olefin separation process, corresponding to the instant treated synthesis gas recycle stream contains less than 1 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 5, ‘438 recites producing the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent comprising less than 2 mol% olefins, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent containing greater than 0.5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding instant claim 6, ‘438 recites wherein the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent is obtained by reacting the bio-based synthesis gas over a non-zeolitic methanol synthesis catalyst in a first synthesis reaction zone; and…by reacting at least a portion of the gaseous effluyeny over a zeolitic oxygenate conversion catalyst in a second reaction zone (see claim 1) and wherein at least 50% of the gaseous oxygenate is MeOH (see claim 12), corresponding to the instant step of reacting the blended bio-based synthesis gas in an oxygenate synthesis zone containing an oxygenate synthesis catalyst and forming an oxygenated reaction product comprising oxygenates and unreacted bio-based synthesis gas, wherein the oxygenates include at least 50 mol% methanol; and b) reacting at least a portion of the oxygenated reaction product in an oxygenate conversion zone containing an oxygenate conversion catalyst and forming the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent.
Regarding instant claim 7, ‘438 recites wherein the non-zeolitic oxygenate synthesis catalyst in the synthesis reaction zone comprises one or more oxygenate synthesis-active metals selected from Cu, Zn, Zr, Al, Pt, Pd, Rh, Ru, and Cr, corresponding to the instant oxygenate synthesis catalyst comprising one or more methanol synthesis-active metals selected from the group consisting of Cu, Zn, Zr, Al, Pt, Pd, Rh, Ru, and Cr.
Regarding instant claim 8, ‘438 recites the non-zeolitic oxygenate synthesis catalyst, corresponding to the instant oxygenate synthesis catalyst containing essentially no zeolitic component.
Regarding instant claim 10, ‘438 recites wherein the zeolitic oxygenate conversion catalyst is a zeolite having a SiO2/A12O3 molar ratio of less than 90 (see claim 17), corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising a zeolite having a SiO2/A12O3 molar ratio of less than 90.
Regarding instant claim 21, ‘182 teaches contacting a mixture including olefins and non-olefins with a solution of an olefin-complexing metal salt in an ionic liquid. After the non-olefins are separated, the olefins can be removed/desorbed from the ionic liquid, corresponding to the instant step of contacting the synthesis gas recycle stream with an absorbent selected from an ionic liquid.
Regarding instant claim 22, ‘182 teaches contacting a mixture including olefins and non-olefins with a solution of an olefin-complexing metal salt in an ionic liquid, corresponding to the instant ionic liquid containing a metal that coordinates with unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 23, ‘182 teaches, in example 2, forming both copper and silver complexes in ionic liquids, corresponding to the instant one or more metals that coordinate with unsaturated hydrocarbons being copper and silver.
Regarding instant claim 24, ‘438 does not recite and ‘182 does not exemplify wherein the ionic liquid is a chloroaluminate ionic liquid.
However, ‘182 teaches, in example 2, AgBF4 salt in bmim+BF4- ionic liquid and further teaches counterions which have been used include a group including chloroaluminate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the BF4- counterion with chloroaluminate to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the counterion because ‘182 teaches chloroaluminate as an alternative counterion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because ‘182 explicitly teaches chloroaluminate as an alternative counterion.
Claims 2, 9, 11, and 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10, 12, 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/431438 (‘438) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026).
Claims 1 and 6 were rendered indistinct from the instantly claimed invention as discussed above.
‘438 and the teachings of ‘182 differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that ‘438 and ‘182 do not teach the composition of the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent as required by instant claims 2, 15, and 16, the structure of the oxygenate conversion catalyst, as required by instant claims 9 and 11, and wherein the treatment step c) is a hydrogenation process, as required by instant claim 17.
The teachings of Littlewood et al. were discussed above.
Regarding the instant limitation LPG-enriched gaseous effluent composition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘438 and the teachings of ‘182 with the teachings of Littlewood et al. by operating the process of ‘438 and ‘182 with the conditions of Littlewood et al. to arrive at the instantly claimed LPG-enriched composition. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process conditions of Littlewood et al. because Littlewood et al. teaches a similar process of forming LPG hydrocarbons with similar reactions and catalysts. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Littlewood et al. teaches a successful example of producing an LPG stream comprising C5+ hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 2, Littlewood et al. teaches the composition of the LPG synthesis effluent (see Table 1 and shown above). The composition includes LPG hydrocarbons derived from synthesis gas made from bio-gas, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched hydrocarbon product comprising bio-based LPG. The composition further includes CH4 and ethane, corresponding to the instant C2- hydrocarbons, and various unsubstituted and substituted pentanes, corresponding to the instant C5+ hydrocarbons.
Regarding the instant limitation of the structure of the oxygenate conversion catalyst, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute ‘438 and the teachings of ‘182 with the teachings of Littlewood et al. by using SAPO-34 as the oxygenate conversion catalyst to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use SAPO-24 as the catalyst because Littlewood et al. teaches a similar process of forming LPG hydrocarbons with similar reactions and catalysts. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Littlewood et al. teaches SAPO-34 has the same function in an analogous chemical reaction.
Regarding instant claim 9, Littlewood et al. teaches a dehydration catalyst or dehydration-functional constituent of a bi-functional catalyst comprises SAPO-34 (silicoaluminophosphate), corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst containing essentially no water gas shift active metal component, selected from the group consisting of Fe, Cu, Zn, Pt, and Pd.
Regarding instant claim 11, Littlewood et al. teaches a dehydration catalyst or dehydration-functional constituent of a bi-functional catalyst comprises SAPO-34 (silicoaluminophosphate), corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst being SAPO-34.
Regarding instant claim 15, Littlewood et al. teaches, in Table 2, the LPG effluent composition (shown above) which shows a 57 mol% LPG hydrocarbon, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent comprising greater than 40 weight % LPG.
Regarding instant claim 16, Littlewood et al. teaches, in Table 2, the LPG effluent composition (shown above) which shows both substituted and unsubstituted pentanes at varying selectivity percentages, corresponding to the instant C5+ hydrocarbons, which can be added and calculated to be a total 1.97 wt% for the baseline example 1, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent comprising less than 25 weight % C5+ hydrocarbons, based on the total hydrocarbon content of the LPG-enhanced gaseous effluent.
Regarding instant claim 17, Littlewood et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the treatment step c) is a hydrogenation process comprising passing either the LPG-enhanced effluent or the synthesis gas recycle stream over a metal-containing catalyst.
However, Littlewood et al. teaches the dehydration catalyst SAPO-34 can catalyze the conversion of a methanol intermediate to olefins such as propylene. Littlewood et al. suggests the characteristic hydrogen partial pressures used in the LPG synthesis stage not only promote the hydrogenation of these olefins, but also stabilize the dehydration catalyst/functional constituent by preventing coking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Littlewood et al. by optimizing the hydrogen partial pressure in the LPG synthesis stage which uses the recycle stream 4b containing synthesis gas as a reactant to promote the hydrogenation of the olefins present to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the hydrogen partial pressure because, as taught by Littlewood et al., this will promote olefin hydrogenation and further stabilize the catalyst from coking. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Littlewood et al. teaches olefin hydrogenation is a result-effective variable by optimizing the hydrogen partial pressure which predictably results in olefins being hydrogenated.
Further regarding instant claim 17, Littlewood et al. teaches the dehydration (and hydrogenation as discussed above) catalyst SAPO-34 (silicoaluminophosphate), corresponding to the instant metal-containing catalyst comprising Al and Si. Littlewood et al. implicitly teaches the hydrogenation occurs simultaneously in the dehydration reaction. Therefore, the conditions of the LPG synthesis reaction are the same as those of the hydrogenation process. Littlewood et al. explicitly teaches LPG synthesis reaction conditions, suitable for use in at least one LPG synthesis reactor include an LPG synthesis reaction temperature in a range from about 204° C to about 454° C (see 0063) which corresponds to the instant hydrogenation process at a temperature between 30 and 400 °C. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claims 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10, 12, 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/431438 (‘438) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892) in view of Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Sabde et al. (WO2019145869A1, published 08/01/2019, IDS dated 02/23/2026).
Claims 1 and 6 were rendered indistinct from the instantly claimed invention as discussed above.
‘438, the teachings of ‘182, and the teachings of Littlewood et al. differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that ‘438, ‘182, and Littlewood et al. do not teach wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises SSZ-13 as required by instant claim 12 and wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst has been prepared with a treated surface, as required by instant claim 13.
The teachings of Sabde et al. were discussed above.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to substitute ‘438, ‘182, and Littlewood et al. with the teachings of Sabde et al. by substituting the SAPO-34 catalyst, as taught by Littlewood et al., with SSZ-13, as taught by Sabde et al., to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the catalyst because both Sabde et al. and Littlewood et al. teaches the application of SSZ-13 and SAPO-34, respectively, is the conversion of methanol to olefins, and thus, both catalysts have the same function. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because substituting a catalyst with the known function of methanol to olefin conversion for another catalyst with the same function would predictably result in the same reaction occurring.
Regarding instant claim 12, Sabde et al. teaches, in example 1, synthesis of a H-SSZ-13 zeolite, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising SSZ-13.
Regarding instant claim 13, Sabde et al. teaches one of the steps in the process to make the catalyst includes the as-synthesized zeolite is subjected to ion exchange with mineral acids, corresponding to the instant step of the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising a small pore molecular sieve that has been prepared with a treated surface using a process selected from treatment with acids.
Claims 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10, 12, 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/431438 (‘438) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892) in view of Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Rege et al. (NPL, published 1998, PTO-892).
Claims 1 and 6 were rendered indistinct from the instantly claimed invention as discussed above.
‘438, the teachings of ‘182, and the teachings of Littlewood et al. differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that ‘438, ‘182, and Littlewood et al. do not teach wherein the treatment step c) is an adsorption process as required by instant claims 18-20.
The teachings of Rege et al. were discussed above.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘438, ‘182, and Littlewood et al. with the teachings of Rege et al. by treating the recycle stream, as recited by ‘438, with the separation process, as taught by Rege et al., to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat the recycle stream with a separation process to remove olefins because Littlewood et al. teaches the process to produce LPG contains olefinic hydrocarbons in the gaseous streams and implicitly teaches olefins cause degradation of the catalyst (see 0039 and 0071) and, as taught by Rege et al., the sorbent exhibits superior adsorption properties for olefin/paraffin separations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because the recycle stream of ‘438 is taught by Littlewood et al. to contain olefinic hydrocarbons that Rege et al. teaches can be treated and separated. Because the chemical compositions match, applying the separation process of Rege et al. to the stream of ‘438 is an application of an existing separation process to its intended feedstock.
Claims 1-11, 15-17, and 21-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, and 11 of copending Application No. 18/431474 (‘474) in view of Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
‘474 recites the following: Claim 1. A method for producing bio-based LPG, comprising: 1) reacting a blended bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2 and H2 in an oxygenate synthesis reaction zone containing an oxygenate synthesis catalyst and forming a first effluent containing oxygenates and unreacted bio-based synthesis gas, wherein the oxygenates in the first effluent include at least 50 mol% methanol; 2) reacting at least a portion of the first effluent in an oxygenate conversion reaction zone containing an oxygenate conversion catalyst and forming a second effluent comprising C2- hydrocarbons, bio-based LPG, and C5+ hydrocarbons; 3) separating at least a portion of the hydrocarbons, including C2-, bio-based LPG and C5+ hydrocarbons, from the second effluent to form a recycle effluent; and 4) blending at least a portion of the recycle effluent with fresh bio-based synthesis gas wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst contains essentially no WGS active metal component. Claim 2. The method of Claim 1, wherein the bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2 and H2 in step 1) is prepared by contacting a biogas comprising biomethane with an oxidizing gas selected from 02, C02 and H20 or combinations thereof in reforming reaction conditions in a reforming reaction zone to produce the bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2 and H2. Claim 3. The method of Claim 1, wherein the oxygenate synthesis catalyst comprises one or more methanol synthesis-active metals selected from the group consisting of Cu, Zn, Zr, Al, Pt, Pd, Rh, Ru, and Cr, wherein the oxygenate synthesis catalyst contains no molecular sieve component. Claim 6. The method of Claim 3, wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises a zeolite having a SiO2/A12O3 molar ratio of less than 90. Claim 11. The method of Claim 1, step 3) further comprising: a1) separating an aqueous product from the second effluent and producing a third effluent after step a); a2) removing C3+ hydrocarbons from the third effluent by contacting at least a portion of the third effluent with a liquid absorption solvent in an absorption zone, absorbing C3+ hydrocarbons from the third effluent, and producing a hydrocarbon-enriched fraction and a hydrocarbon-depleted fourth effluent, and recovering the bio-based LPG fraction; and a3) removing light gases, including C2- hydrocarbons, CO, and CO2, from the fourth effluent by contacting at least a portion of the fourth effluent with a solid adsorbent for adsorbing at least a portion of the light gases, desorbing the adsorbed gas and producing a second light gas stream and returning non-adsorbed H2 to the fourth effluent to form the recycle effluent.
‘474 differs from that of the instantly claimed invention in the ‘474 does not recite wherein the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent contains unsaturated hydrocarbons and removing at least a portion of the unsaturated hydrocarbons.
The teachings of Littlewood et al. were discussed above.
The teachings of ‘182 were discussed above.
Regarding the instant limitation of the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent containing unsaturated hydrocarbons, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘474 with the teachings of Littlewood et al. by acknowledging that the reaction to produce LPG using the conditions of ‘474 would naturally flow into an LPG effluent that contains unsaturated hydrocarbons. Specifically, Littlewood et al. teaches operating a similar reaction to that of ‘474. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the process of '474 to operate under the conditions taught by Littlewood et al. because the underlying processes are structurally and functionally similar. Given this similarity, one of ordinary skill in the art would have possessed a reasonable expectation of success that modifying the process would yield similar, predictable results.
Regarding the instant limitation of removing at least a portion of the unsaturated hydrocarbons, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘474 with the teachings of Littlewood et al. and ‘182 by treating the recycle effluent, as recited by ‘474, which as taught by Littlewood et al., comprises one or more C2+ olefinic hydrocarbons with the separation process, as taught by ‘182, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat the recycle effluent with a separation process to remove olefins because, as taught by Littlewood et al., the gaseous stream comprises olefinic hydrocarbons, and as taught by ‘182, olefins need to be removed before being recycled. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because ‘438 recites that the LPG gaseous effluent, which as taught by Littlewood et al., contains olefins that '182 teaches can be treated and separated. Because the chemical compositions match, applying the separation process of '182 to the stream of ‘474 is an application of an existing separation process to its intended feedstock. Furthermore, ‘182 implicitly teaches that the concentration of olefins in gaseous streams can be changed using the separation process, making the concentration of olefins a result-effective variable that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to optimize.
Regarding instant claim 1 step a), ‘474 recites forming a second effluent comprising C2- hydrocarbons, bio-based LPG, and C5+ hydrocarbons by reacting a blended bio-based synthesis gas in an oxygenate synthesis reaction zone and reacting… in an oxygenate conversion reaction zone, corresponding to the instant step of synthesizing an LPG-enriched gaseous effluent from a blended bio-based synthesis gas in one or more catalytic reaction zones. ‘474 further recites blending at least a portion of the recycle effluent with fresh bio-based synthesis gas, corresponding to the instant blended bio-based synthesis gas comprising a treated synthesis gas recycle stream and a fresh bio-based synthesis gas. This is further combined with the teachings of Littlewood et al. that any of the gaseous feed mixtures may comprise one or more C2+ olefinic hydrocarbons, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent containing unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 1 step b), ‘474 recites separating at least a portion of the hydrocarbons, including C2-, bio-based LPG and C5+ hydrocarbons, from the second effluent to form a recycle effluent, corresponding to the instant step of separating the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent into a synthesis gas recycle stream and at least one LPG-enriched hydrocarbon product.
Regarding instant claim 1 step c), ‘474 recites removing C3+ hydrocarbons from the third effluent by contacting at least a portion of the third effluent with a liquid absorption solvent in an absorption zone…and recovering the bio-based LPG fraction which is combined with the teachings of Littlewood et al. that any of the gaseous feed mixtures may comprise one or more C2+ olefinic hydrocarbons and modified by the teachings of ‘182 by utilizing the separation process of a metal salt dissolved in an ionic liquid to separate olefins, corresponding to the instant step of removing at least a portion of the unsaturated hydrocarbons contained in the synthesis gas recycle stream in a treatment step. This modification would naturally flow into a synthesis gas recycle stream that contains a lower concentration of olefins which, being a result-effective variable, one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize, corresponding to the instant step of producing a treated synthesis gas recycle stream containing less than 5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 1 step d), ‘474 recites blending at least a portion of the recycle effluent with fresh bio-based synthesis gas, corresponding to the instant step of blending at least a portion of the treated synthesis gas recycle stream with the fresh bio-based synthesis gas and forming the blended bio-based synthesis gas of step a).
Regarding instant claim 2, ‘474 recites forming a second effluent comprising C2- hydrocarbons, bio-based LPG, and C5+ hydrocarbons, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched hydrocarbon product comprising bio-based LPG, C2- hydrocarbons, and C5+ hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 3, ‘474 recites wherein the bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2 and H2 in step 1) is prepared by contacting a biogas comprising biomethane with an oxidizing gas selected from 02, C02 and H20 or combinations thereof in reforming reaction conditions in a reforming reaction zone to produce the bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, C02 and H2, corresponding to the instant fresh bio-based synthesis gas being prepared by contacting a biogas comprising biomethane with an oxidizing gas selected from O2,CO2 and H2O or combinations thereof at reforming reaction conditions in a reforming reaction zone.
Regarding instant claim 4, Littlewood et al. teaches olefinic hydrocarbons may be present in any gaseous stream in an amount of at least about 0.3 mol-% which is modified by the teachings of ‘182 making the concentration of olefins a result-effective variable due to the olefin separation process, corresponding to the instant treated synthesis gas recycle stream contains less than 1 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 5, Littlewood et al. teaches olefinic hydrocarbons may be present in any gaseous stream in an amount of at least about 0.3 mol-%, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent contains greater than 0.5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding instant claim 6, ‘474 recites reacting a blended bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2 and H2 in an oxygenate synthesis reaction zone containing an oxygenate synthesis catalyst and forming a first effluent containing oxygenates and unreacted bio-based synthesis gas, wherein the oxygenates in the first effluent include at least 50 mol% methanol, corresponding to the instant step of reacting the blended bio-based synthesis gas in an oxygenate synthesis zone containing an oxygenate synthesis catalyst and forming an oxygenated reaction product comprising oxygenates and unreacted bio-based synthesis gas, wherein the oxygenates include at least 50 mol% methanol. ‘474 further recites reacting at least a portion of the first effluent in an oxygenate conversion reaction zone containing an oxygenate conversion catalyst and forming a second effluent comprising C2- hydrocarbons, bio-based LPG, and C5+ hydrocarbons, corresponding to the instant step of reacting at least a portion of the oxygenated reaction product in an oxygenate conversion zone containing an oxygenate conversion catalyst and forming the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent.
Regarding instant claim 7, ‘474 recites wherein the oxygenate synthesis catalyst comprises one or more methanol synthesis-active metals selected from the group consisting of Cu, Zn, Zr, Al, Pt, Pd, Rh, Ru, and Cr, corresponding to the instant oxygenate synthesis catalyst comprises one or more methanol synthesis-active metals selected from the group consisting of Cu, Zn, Zr, Al, Pt, Pd, Rh, Ru, and Cr.
Regarding instant claim 8, ‘474 recites wherein the oxygenate synthesis catalyst contains no molecular sieve component, corresponding to the instant oxygenate synthesis catalyst containing essentially no molecular sieve component.
Regarding instant claim 9, ‘474 recites wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst contains essentially no WGS active metal component, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst containing essentially no water gas shift active metal component.
Regarding instant claim 10, ‘474 recites wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises a zeolite having a SiO2/A12O3 molar ratio of less than 90, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising a zeolite having a SiO2/A12O3 molar ratio of less than 90.
Regarding instant claim 11, ‘474 does not recite the structure of the oxygenate catalyst.
However, Littlewood et al. teaches a dehydration catalyst or dehydration-functional constituent of a bi-functional catalyst comprises SAPO-34 (silicoaluminophosphate), corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst being SAPO-34.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘474 with the teachings of Littlewood et al. by using SAPO-34, as taught by Littlewood et al., as the oxygenate conversion catalyst, as taught by ‘474, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use SAPO-34 as the oxygenate conversion catalyst because Littlewood et al. teaches SAPO-34 is a dehydration catalyst to form LPG from methanol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because SAPO-34 functions as an oxygenate conversion catalyst and would predictably result in oxygenate conversion products.
Regarding instant claim 15, Littlewood et al. teaches, in Table 2, the LPG effluent composition (shown above) which shows a 57 mol% LPG hydrocarbon, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent comprising greater than 40 weight % LPG.
Regarding instant claim 16, Littlewood et al. teaches, in Table 2, the LPG effluent composition (shown above) which shows both substituted and unsubstituted pentanes at varying selectivity percentages, corresponding to the instant C5+ hydrocarbons, which can be added and calculated to be a total 1.97 wt% for the baseline example 1, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent comprising less than 25 weight % C5+ hydrocarbons, based on the total hydrocarbon content of the LPG-enhanced gaseous effluent.
Regarding instant claim 17, ‘474 does not recite and Littlewood et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the treatment step c) is a hydrogenation process comprising passing either the LPG-enhanced effluent or the synthesis gas recycle stream over a metal-containing catalyst.
However, Littlewood et al. teaches the dehydration catalyst SAPO-34 can catalyze the conversion of a methanol intermediate to olefins such as propylene. Littlewood et al. suggests that the characteristic hydrogen partial pressures used in the LPG synthesis stage not only promote the hydrogenation of these olefins, but also stabilize the dehydration catalyst/functional constituent by preventing coking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘474 with the teachings of Littlewood et al. by optimizing the hydrogen partial pressure in the LPG synthesis stage which uses the recycle stream 4b containing synthesis gas as a reactant to promote the hydrogenation of the olefins present to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the hydrogen partial pressure because, as taught by Littlewood et al., this will promote olefin hydrogenation and further stabilize the catalyst from coking. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Littlewood et al. teaches olefin hydrogenation is a result-effective variable by optimizing the hydrogen partial pressure which predictably results in olefins being hydrogenated.
Further regarding instant claim 17, Littlewood et al. teaches the dehydration (and hydrogenation as discussed above) catalyst SAPO-34 (silicoaluminophosphate), corresponding to the instant metal-containing catalyst comprising Al and Si. Littlewood et al. implicitly teaches the hydrogenation occurs simultaneously in the dehydration reaction. Therefore, the conditions of the LPG synthesis reaction are the same as those of the hydrogenation process. Littlewood et al. explicitly teaches LPG synthesis reaction conditions, suitable for use in at least one LPG synthesis reactor include an LPG synthesis reaction temperature in a range from about 204° C to about 454° C (see 0063) which corresponds to the instant hydrogenation process at a temperature between 30 and 400 °C. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding instant claim 21, ‘182 teaches contacting a mixture including olefins and non-olefins with a solution of an olefin-complexing metal salt in an ionic liquid. After the non-olefins are separated, the olefins can be removed/desorbed from the ionic liquid, corresponding to the instant step of contacting the synthesis gas recycle stream with an absorbent selected from an ionic liquid.
Regarding instant claim 22, ‘182 teaches contacting a mixture including olefins and non-olefins with a solution of an olefin-complexing metal salt in an ionic liquid, corresponding to the instant ionic liquid containing a metal that coordinates with unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 23, ‘182 teaches, in example 2, forming both copper and silver complexes in ionic liquids, corresponding to the instant one or more metals that coordinate with unsaturated hydrocarbons being copper and silver.
Regarding instant claim 24, ‘474 does not recite and Littlewood et al. does not teach and ‘182 does not exemplify wherein the ionic liquid is a chloroaluminate ionic liquid.
However, ‘182 teaches, in example 2, AgBF4 salt in bmim+BF4- ionic liquid and further teaches counterions which have been used include a group including chloroaluminate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the BF4- counterion with chloroaluminate to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the counterion because ‘182 teaches chloroaluminate as an alternative counterion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because ‘182 explicitly teaches chloroaluminate as an alternative counterion.
Claims 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, and 11 of copending Application No. 18/431474 (‘474) in view of Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Sabde et al. (WO2019145869A1, published 08/01/2019, IDS dated 02/23/2026).
Claims 1 and 6 were rendered indistinct from the instantly claimed invention as discussed above.
‘474, the teachings of Littlewood et al., and the teachings of ‘182 differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that ‘474, Littlewood et al., and ‘182 do not teach wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises SSZ-13 as required by instant claim 12 and wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst has been prepared with a treated surface, as required by instant claim 13.
The teachings of Sabde et al. were discussed above.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to substitute ‘474, Littlewood et al., and ‘182 with the teachings of Sabde et al. by substituting the SAPO-34 catalyst, as taught by Littlewood et al., with SSZ-13, as taught by Sabde et al., to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the catalyst because both Sabde et al. and Littlewood et al. teaches the application of SSZ-13 and SAPO-34, respectively, is the conversion of methanol to olefins, and thus, both catalysts have the same function. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because substituting a catalyst with the known function of methanol to olefin conversion for another catalyst with the same function would predictably result in the same reaction occurring.
Regarding instant claim 12, Sabde et al. teaches, in example 1, synthesis of a H-SSZ-13 zeolite, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising SSZ-13.
Regarding instant claim 13, Sabde et al. teaches one of the steps in the process to make the catalyst includes the as-synthesized zeolite is subjected to ion exchange with mineral acids, corresponding to the instant step of the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising a small pore molecular sieve that has been prepared with a treated surface using a process selected from treatment with acids.
Claims 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, and 11 of copending Application No. 18/431474 (‘474) in view of Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Rege et al. (NPL, published 1998, PTO-892).
Claims 1 and 6 were rendered indistinct from the instantly claimed invention as discussed above.
‘474, the teachings of Littlewood et al., and the teachings of ‘182 differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that ‘474, Littlewood et al., and ‘182 do not teach wherein the treatment step c) is an adsorption process as required by instant claims 18-20.
The teachings of Rege et al. were discussed above.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘474, Littlewood et al., and ‘182 with the teachings of Rege et al. by treating the recycle stream, as recited by ‘474, with the separation process, as taught by Rege et al., to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat the recycle stream with a separation process to remove olefins because Littlewood et al. teaches the process to produce LPG contains olefinic hydrocarbons in the gaseous streams and implicitly teaches olefins cause degradation of the catalyst (see 0039 and 0071) and, as taught by Rege et al., the sorbent exhibits superior adsorption properties for olefin/paraffin separations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because the recycle stream of ‘474 is taught by Littlewood et al. to contain olefinic hydrocarbons that Rege et al. teaches can be treated and separated. Because the chemical compositions match, applying the separation process of Rege et al. to the stream of ‘474 is an application of an existing separation process to its intended feedstock.
Claims 1-12, 15-17, and 21-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20-21, 23, and 27-34 of copending Application No. 18737024 (‘024) in view of Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
‘024 recites the following: Claim 20. A method for producing bio-based LPG, comprising: a) contacting a biogas comprising biomethane with an oxidizing gas selected from O2, CO2, H2O or combinations thereof at reforming reaction conditions in a reforming reaction zone to form a fresh bio-based synthesis gas; b) blending at least a portion of the fresh bio-based synthesis gas with a synthesis gas recycle stream to form a blended bio-based synthesis gas; c) reacting the blended bio-based synthesis gas in an oxygenate synthesis zone containing an oxygenate synthesis catalyst and forming a gaseous synthesis reaction product comprising oxygenates, wherein the oxygenated include at least 50 mol% methanol; d) reacting the gaseous synthesis reaction product in an oxygenate conversion zone containing oxygenate conversion catalyst and forming the LPG-enriched effluent stream;…g) recovering the bio-based LPG and the synthesis gas recycle stream from the LPG-enriched effluent stream. Claim 21. The method of Claim 20, wherein the endothermic reaction is stream-methane reforming of bio-based methane to form the bio-based synthesis gas. Claim 23. The method of Claim 20, wherein the endothermic reaction is a dehydrogenation reaction, including converting a cycloparaffin to an aromatic and hydrogen, and supplying the hydrogen to the bio-based synthesis gas. Claim 27. The method of Claim 20, wherein the oxygenate synthesis catalyst comprises one or more methanol synthesis-active metals selected from the group consisting of Fe, Cu, Zn, Pt, Ru, Ce, Al, Si, Zr, Ti, Mo, P, and Pd. Claim 28. The method of Claim 20, wherein the oxygenate synthesis catalyst contains essentially no molecular sieve or zeolitic component. Claim 29. The method of Claim 20, wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises a zeolite having a SiO2/Al2O3 molar ratio of less than 90. Claim 30. The method of Claim 29, wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises a small pore molecular sieve selected from Chabazite, SSZ-13, SAPO-34, SSZ-39, MCM-35, EU-12, RHO, SAPO-18, SAPO-56. Claim 31. The method of Claim 29, wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises SSZ-13. Claim 32. The method of Claim 20, wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst contains essentially no water gas shift active metal component, selected from the group consisting of Fe, Cu, Zn, Pt, Ru, Zr, Mo, and Pd. Claim 33. The method of Claim 20, wherein the LPG-enhanced gaseous effluent comprises greater than 25 weight % LPG, based on the total hydrocarbon content of the LPG-enhanced effluent. Claim 34. The method of Claim 20, wherein the LPG-enhanced gaseous effluent comprises less than 25 weight % C5+ hydrocarbons, based on the total hydrocarbon content of the LPG-enhanced gaseous effluent stream.
‘024 differs from that of the instantly claimed invention in that ‘024 does not recite wherein the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent contains unsaturated hydrocarbons and removing at least a portion of the unsaturated hydrocarbons and producing the treated synthesis gas recycle stream containing less than 5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
The teachings of Littlewood et al. were discussed above.
The teachings of ‘182 were discussed above.
Regarding the instant limitation of the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent containing unsaturated hydrocarbons, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘024 with the teachings of Littlewood et al. by acknowledging that the reaction to produce LPG using the conditions of ‘024 would naturally flow into an LPG effluent that contains unsaturated hydrocarbons. Specifically, Littlewood et al. teaches operating a similar reaction to that of ‘024. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the process of '024 to operate under the conditions taught by Littlewood et al. because the underlying processes are structurally and functionally similar. Given this similarity, one of ordinary skill in the art would have possessed a reasonable expectation of success that modifying the process would yield similar, predictable results.
Regarding the instant limitation of removing at least a portion of the unsaturated hydrocarbons, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘024 with the teachings of Littlewood et al. and ‘182 by treating the synthesis gas recycle stream, as recited by ‘024, which as taught by Littlewood et al., comprises one or more C2+ olefinic hydrocarbons with the separation process, as taught by ‘182, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat the synthesis gas recycle stream with a separation process to remove olefins because, as taught by Littlewood et al., the gaseous stream comprises olefinic hydrocarbons, and as taught by ‘182, olefins need to be removed before being recycled. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because ‘024 recites an LPG gaseous effluent, which as taught by Littlewood et al., contains olefins that '182 teaches can be treated and separated. Because the chemical compositions match, applying the separation process of '182 to the stream of ‘024 is an application of an existing separation process to its intended feedstock. Furthermore, ‘182 implicitly teaches that the concentration of olefins in gaseous streams can be changed using the separation process, making the concentration of olefins a result-effective variable that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to optimize.
Regarding instant claim 1 step a), ‘024 recites forming a blended bio-based synthesis gas from fresh bio-based synthesis gas and a synthesis gas recycle stream which is reacted in a catalytic oxygenate synthesis zone and a catalytic oxygenate conversion zone, corresponding to the instant step of synthesizing LPG-enriched gaseous effluent from a blended bio-based synthesis gas in one or more catalytic reaction zones. This is further combined with the teachings of Littlewood et al. that any of the gaseous feed mixtures may comprise one or more C2+ olefinic hydrocarbons, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent containing unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 1 step b), ‘024 recites recovering the bio-based LPG and the synthesis gas recycle stream from the LPG-enriched effluent stream, corresponding to the instant step of separating the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent into a synthesis gas recycle stream and at least one LPG-enriched hydrocarbon product.
Regarding instant claim 1 step c), ‘024 recites forming the LPG-enriched effluent stream and recovering the bio-based LPG and the synthesis gas recycle stream from the LPG-enriched effluent stream which is combined with the teachings of Littlewood et al. that any of the gaseous feed mixtures may comprise one or more C2+ olefinic hydrocarbons and modified by the teachings of ‘182 by utilizing the separation process of a metal salt dissolved in an ionic liquid to separate olefins, corresponding to the instant step of removing at least a portion of the unsaturated hydrocarbons contained in the synthesis gas recycle stream in a treatment step. This modification would naturally flow into a synthesis gas recycle stream that contains a lower concentration of olefins which, being a result-effective variable, one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize, corresponding to the instant step of producing a treated synthesis gas recycle stream containing less than 5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 1 step d), ‘024 recites blending at least a portion of the fresh bio-based synthesis gas with a synthesis gas recycle stream, corresponding to the instant step of blending at least a portion of the treated synthesis gas recycle stream with the fresh bio-based synthesis gas and forming the blended bio-based synthesis gas of step a).
Regarding instant claim 2, ‘024 recites the LPG-enhanced gaseous effluent comprises greater than 25 wt% LPG (see claim 33) and comprises less than 25 weight % C5+ hydrocarbons, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched hydrocarbon product comprising bio-based LPG and C5+ hydrocarbons. This is further modified with the teachings of Littlewood et al. that the LPG composition further includes CH4 and ethane, corresponding to the instant C2- hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 3, ‘024 recites contacting a biogas comprising biomethane with an oxidizing gas selected from O2, CO2 and H2O or combinations thereof in reforming reaction conditions in a reforming reaction zone to form a fresh bio-based synthesis gas, corresponding to the instant fresh bio-based synthesis gas being prepared by contacting a biogas comprising biomethane with an oxidizing gas selected from O2,CO2 and H2O or combinations thereof at reforming reaction conditions in a reforming reaction zone.
Regarding instant claim 4, Littlewood et al. teaches olefinic hydrocarbons may be present in any gaseous stream in an amount of at least about 0.3 mol-% which is modified by the teachings of ‘182 making the concentration of olefins a result-effective variable due to the olefin separation process, corresponding to the instant treated synthesis gas recycle stream contains less than 1 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 5, Littlewood et al. teaches olefinic hydrocarbons may be present in any gaseous stream in an amount of at least about 0.3 mol-%, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent contains greater than 0.5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding instant claim 6, ‘024 recites reacting the blended bio-based synthesis gas in an oxygenate synthesis reaction zone containing an oxygenate synthesis catalyst and forming a gaseous synthesis reaction product comprising oxygenates, wherein the oxygenates include at least 50 mol% methanol, corresponding to the instant step of reacting the blended bio-based synthesis gas in an oxygenate synthesis zone containing an oxygenate synthesis catalyst and forming an oxygenated reaction product comprising oxygenates and unreacted bio-based synthesis gas, wherein the oxygenates include at least 50 mol% methanol. ‘024 further recites reacting the gaseous synthesis reaction product in an oxygenate conversion reaction zone containing an oxygenate conversion catalyst and forming the LPG-enriched effluent stream, corresponding to the instant step of reacting at least a portion of the oxygenated reaction product in an oxygenate conversion zone containing an oxygenate conversion catalyst and forming the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent.
Regarding instant claim 7, ‘024 recites wherein the oxygenate synthesis catalyst comprises one or more methanol synthesis-active metals selected from the group consisting of Fe, Cu, Zn, Pt, Ru, Ce, Al, Si, Zr, Ti, Mo, P, and Pd, corresponding to the instant oxygenate synthesis catalyst comprises one or more methanol synthesis-active metals selected from the group consisting of Cu, Zn, Zr, Al, Pt, Pd, and Ru.
Regarding instant claim 8, ‘024 recites wherein the oxygenate synthesis catalyst contains essentially no molecular sieve or zeolitic component, corresponding to the instant oxygenate synthesis catalyst containing essentially no molecular sieve or zeolitic component.
Regarding instant claim 9, ‘024 recites wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst contains essentially no WGS active metal component, selected from the group consisting of Fe, Cu, Zn, Pt, Ru, Zr, Mo, and Pd, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst containing essentially no water gas shift active metal component selected from the group consisting of Fe, Cu, Zn, Pt, and Pd.
Regarding instant claim 10, ‘024 recites wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises a zeolite having a SiO2/A12O3 molar ratio of less than 90, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising a zeolite having a SiO2/A12O3 molar ratio of less than 90.
Regarding instant claim 11, ‘024 recites wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises a small pore molecular sieve selected from Chabazite, SSZ-13, SAPO-34, SSZ-39, MCM-35, EU-12, RHO, SAPO-18, SAPO-56, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising a small pore molecular sieve selected from Chabazite, SSZ-13, SAPO-34, SSZ-39, MCM-35,EU-12, RHO, SAPO-18, and SAPO-56.
Regarding instant claim 12, ‘024 recites wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises SSZ-13, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising SSZ-13.
Regarding instant claim 15, ‘024 recites wherein the LPG-enhanced gaseous effluent comprises greater than 25 weight % LPG, based on the total hydrocarbon content of the LPG-enhanced effluent, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent comprising greater than 40 weight % LPG.
Regarding instant claim 16, ‘024 recites wherein the LPG-enhanced gaseous effluent comprises less than 25 weight % C5+ hydrocarbons, based on the total hydrocarbon content of the LPG-enhanced effluent, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent comprising less than 25 weight % C5+ hydrocarbons, based on the total hydrocarbon content of the LPG-enhanced gaseous effluent.
Regarding instant claim 17, ‘024 does not recite and Littlewood et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the treatment step c) is a hydrogenation process comprising passing either the LPG-enhanced effluent or the synthesis gas recycle stream over a metal-containing catalyst.
However, Littlewood et al. teaches the dehydration catalyst SAPO-34 can catalyze the conversion of a methanol intermediate to olefins such as propylene. Littlewood et al. suggests that the characteristic hydrogen partial pressures used in the LPG synthesis stage not only promote the hydrogenation of these olefins, but also stabilize the dehydration catalyst/functional constituent by preventing coking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘024 with the teachings of Littlewood et al. by optimizing the hydrogen partial pressure in the LPG synthesis stage which uses the recycle stream 4b containing synthesis gas as a reactant to promote the hydrogenation of the olefins present to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the hydrogen partial pressure because, as taught by Littlewood et al., this will promote olefin hydrogenation and further stabilize the catalyst from coking. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Littlewood et al. teaches olefin hydrogenation is a result-effective variable by optimizing the hydrogen partial pressure which predictably results in olefins being hydrogenated.
Further regarding instant claim 17, Littlewood et al. teaches the dehydration (and hydrogenation as discussed above) catalyst SAPO-34 (silicoaluminophosphate), corresponding to the instant metal-containing catalyst comprising Al and Si. Littlewood et al. implicitly teaches the hydrogenation occurs simultaneously in the dehydration reaction. Therefore, the conditions of the LPG synthesis reaction are the same as those of the hydrogenation process. Littlewood et al. explicitly teaches LPG synthesis reaction conditions, suitable for use in at least one LPG synthesis reactor include an LPG synthesis reaction temperature in a range from about 204° C to about 454° C (see 0063) which corresponds to the instant hydrogenation process at a temperature between 30 and 400 °C. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding instant claim 21, ‘182 teaches contacting a mixture including olefins and non-olefins with a solution of an olefin-complexing metal salt in an ionic liquid. After the non-olefins are separated, the olefins can be removed/desorbed from the ionic liquid, corresponding to the instant step of contacting the synthesis gas recycle stream with an absorbent selected from an ionic liquid.
Regarding instant claim 22, ‘182 teaches contacting a mixture including olefins and non-olefins with a solution of an olefin-complexing metal salt in an ionic liquid, corresponding to the instant ionic liquid containing a metal that coordinates with unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 23, ‘182 teaches, in example 2, forming both copper and silver complexes in ionic liquids, corresponding to the instant one or more metals that coordinate with unsaturated hydrocarbons being copper and silver.
Regarding instant claim 24, ‘024 does not recite and Littlewood et al. does not teach and ‘182 does not exemplify wherein the ionic liquid is a chloroaluminate ionic liquid.
However, ‘182 teaches, in example 2, AgBF4 salt in bmim+BF4- ionic liquid and further teaches counterions which have been used include a group including chloroaluminate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the BF4- counterion with chloroaluminate to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the counterion because ‘182 teaches chloroaluminate as an alternative counterion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because ‘182 explicitly teaches chloroaluminate as an alternative counterion.
Claim 13 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20-21, 23, and 27-34 of copending Application No. 18737024 (‘024) in view of Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Sabde et al. (WO2019145869A1, published 08/01/20419, IDS dated 02/23/2026).
Claims 1 and 6 were rendered indistinct from the instantly claimed invention as discussed above.
‘024, the teachings of ‘182, and the teachings of Littlewood et al. differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that ‘474, ‘182, and Littlewood et al. do not teach wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst has been prepared with a treated surface, as required by instant claim 13.
The teachings of Sabde et al. were discussed above.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to modify ‘024, ‘182, and Littlewood et al. with the teachings of Sabde et al. by preparing the SSZ-13 catalyst with acid surface treatment, as taught by Sabde et al., to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare the catalyst with acid because, as taught by Sabde et al., the presence of alkali content in zeolite beyond certain content influences the activity of zeolite. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Sabde et al. teaches a successful example of synthesizing SSZ-13 using mineral acid for surface treatment.
Regarding instant claim 13, Sabde et al. teaches one of the steps in the process to make the catalyst includes the as-synthesized zeolite is subjected to ion exchange with mineral acids, corresponding to the instant step of the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising a small pore molecular sieve that has been prepared with a treated surface using a process selected from treatment with acids.
Claims 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20-21, 23, and 27-34 of copending Application No. 18737024 (‘024) in view of Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Rege et al. (NPL, published 1998, PTO-892).
Claims 1 and 6 were rendered indistinct from the instantly claimed invention as discussed above.
‘024, the teachings of Littlewood et al., and the teachings of ‘182 differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that ‘024, Littlewood et al., and ‘182 do not teach wherein the treatment step c) is an adsorption process as required by instant claims 18-20.
The teachings of Rege et al. were discussed above.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘024, Littlewood et al., and ‘182, with the teachings of Rege et al. by treating the recycle stream, as recited by ‘024, with the separation process, as taught by Rege et al., to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat the recycle stream with a separation process to remove olefins because Littlewood et al. teaches the process to produce LPG contains olefinic hydrocarbons in the gaseous streams and implicitly teaches olefins cause degradation of the catalyst (see 0039 and 0071) and, as taught by Rege et al., the sorbent exhibits superior adsorption properties for olefin/paraffin separations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because the recycle stream of ‘024 is taught by Littlewood et al. to contain olefinic hydrocarbons that Rege et al. teaches can be treated and separated. Because the chemical compositions match, applying the separation process of Rege et al. to the stream of ‘024 is an application of an existing separation process to its intended feedstock.
Claims 1-3, 6-12, and 15-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-11 of copending Application No. 18/661294 (‘294) in view of Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
‘294 recites the following: Claim 1. A method for producing bio-based LPG, comprising: 1) reacting a blended bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2 and H2 in an oxygenate synthesis reaction zone containing an oxygenate synthesis catalyst and forming a first effluent containing oxygenates and unreacted bio-based synthesis gas, wherein the oxygenates in the first effluent include at least 50 mol% methanol; 2) reacting at least a portion of the first effluent in an oxygenate conversion reaction zone containing an oxygenate conversion catalyst and forming a second effluent comprising C2- hydrocarbons, bio-based LPG, and C5+ hydrocarbons, 3) separating at least a portion of the hydrocarbons, including C2-, bio-based LPG and C5+ hydrocarbons, from the second effluent to form a recycle effluent; and 4) blending at least a portion of the recycle effluent with fresh bio-based synthesis gas to perform step a). Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2 and H2 in step 1) is prepared by contacting a biogas comprising biomethane with an oxidizing gas selected from O2, CO2 and H2O or combinations thereof at reforming reaction conditions in a reforming reaction zone to produce the bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO,CO2 and H2. Claim 3. The method of Claim 1, wherein the oxygenate synthesis catalyst comprises one or more methanol synthesis-active metals selected from the group consisting of Cu, Zn, Zr, Al, Pt, Pd, Rh, Ru, and Cr, wherein the oxygenate synthesis catalyst contains no molecular sieve component. Claim 5. The method of Claim 4, wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst contains essentially no WGS active metal component. Claim 6. The method of Claim 3, wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises a zeolite having a SiO2/A2O3 molar ratio of less than 90. Claim 8. The method of Claim 1, wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises a small pore molecular sieve selected from Chabazite, SSZ-13, SAPO-34, SSZ-39, MCM-35, EU- 12, RHO, SAPO-18, SAPO-56. Claim 9. The method of Claim 1, wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises SSZ-13. Claim 10. The method of Claim 1, wherein the second effluent comprises greater than 40 weight % LPG, based on the total hydrocarbon content of the second effluent. Claim 11. The method of Claim 1, wherein the second effluent comprises less than 25 weight % C5+ hydrocarbons, based on the total hydrocarbon content of the second effluent.
‘294 differs from that of the instantly claimed invention in that ‘294 does not recite wherein the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent contains unsaturated hydrocarbons and removing at least a portion of the unsaturated hydrocarbons and producing the treated synthesis gas recycle stream containing less than 5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
The teachings of Littlewood et al. were discussed above.
The teachings of ‘182 were discussed above.
Regarding the instant limitation of the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent containing unsaturated hydrocarbons, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘294 with the teachings of Littlewood et al. by acknowledging that the reaction to produce LPG using the conditions of ‘294 would naturally flow into an LPG effluent that contains unsaturated hydrocarbons. Specifically, Littlewood et al. teaches operating a similar reaction to that of ‘294. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the process of '294 to operate under the conditions taught by Littlewood et al. because the underlying processes are structurally and functionally similar. Given this similarity, one of ordinary skill in the art would have possessed a reasonable expectation of success that modifying the process would yield similar, predictable results.
Regarding the instant limitation of removing at least a portion of the unsaturated hydrocarbons, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘294 with the teachings of Littlewood et al. and ‘182 by treating the recycle effluent, as recited by ‘294, which as taught by Littlewood et al., comprises one or more C2+ olefinic hydrocarbons with the separation process, as taught by ‘182, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat the recycle effluent with a separation process to remove olefins because, as taught by Littlewood et al., the gaseous stream comprises olefinic hydrocarbons, and as taught by ‘182, olefins need to be removed before being recycled. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because ‘294 recites an LPG gaseous effluent, which as taught by Littlewood et al., contains olefins that '182 teaches can be treated and separated. Because the chemical compositions match, applying the separation process of '182 to the stream of ‘294 is an application of an existing separation process to its intended feedstock. Furthermore, ‘182 implicitly teaches that the concentration of olefins in gaseous streams can be changed using the separation process, making the concentration of olefins a result-effective variable that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to optimize.
Regarding instant claim 1 step a), ‘294 recites reacting a blended bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2, and H2 in a catalytic oxygenate synthesis zone and a catalytic oxygenate conversion zone to form a first effluent and reacting at least a portion of the first effluent in an oxygenate conversion reaction zone containing an oxygenate conversion catalyst and forming a second effluent comprising C2- hydrocarbons, bio-based LPG, and C5+ hydrocarbons, corresponding to the instant step of synthesizing LPG-enriched gaseous effluent from a blended bio-based synthesis gas in one or more catalytic reaction zones. This is further combined with the teachings of Littlewood et al. that any of the gaseous feed mixtures may comprise one or more C2+ olefinic hydrocarbons, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent containing unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 1 step b), ‘294 recites separating at least a portion of the hydrocarbons, including C2-, bio-based LPG, and C5+ hydrocarbons, from the second effluent to form a recycle effluent, corresponding to the instant step of separating the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent into a synthesis gas recycle stream and at least one LPG-enriched hydrocarbon product.
Regarding instant claim 1 step c), ‘294 recites forming a second effluent comprising C2- hydrocarbons, bio-based LPG, and C5+ hydrocarbons which is combined with the teachings of Littlewood et al. that any of the gaseous feed mixtures may comprise one or more C2+ olefinic hydrocarbons and modified by the teachings of ‘182 by utilizing the separation process of a metal salt dissolved in an ionic liquid to separate olefins, corresponding to the instant step of removing at least a portion of the unsaturated hydrocarbons contained in the synthesis gas recycle stream in a treatment step. This modification would naturally flow into a synthesis gas recycle stream that contains a lower concentration of olefins which, being a result-effective variable, one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize, corresponding to the instant step of producing a treated synthesis gas recycle stream containing less than 5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 1 step d), ‘294 recites blending at least a portion of the recycle effluent with fresh bio-based synthesis gas, corresponding to the instant step of blending at least a portion of the treated synthesis gas recycle stream with the fresh bio-based synthesis gas and forming the blended bio-based synthesis gas of step a).
Regarding instant claim 2, ‘294 recites forming a second effluent comprising C2- hydrocarbons, bio-based LPG, and C5+ hydrocarbons, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched hydrocarbon product comprising bio-based LPG, C5+ hydrocarbons, and C2- hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 3, ‘294 recites wherein the bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2 and H2 in step 1) is prepared by contacting a biogas comprising biomethane with an oxidizing gas selected from 02, C02 and H20 or combinations thereof at reforming reaction conditions in a reforming reaction zone to produce the bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2 and H2, corresponding to the instant fresh bio-based synthesis gas being prepared by contacting a biogas comprising biomethane with an oxidizing gas selected from O2,CO2 and H2O or combinations thereof at reforming reaction conditions in a reforming reaction zone.
Regarding instant claim 4, Littlewood et al. teaches olefinic hydrocarbons may be present in any gaseous stream in an amount of at least about 0.3 mol-% which is modified by the teachings of ‘182 making the concentration of olefins a result-effective variable due to the olefin separation process, corresponding to the instant treated synthesis gas recycle stream contains less than 1 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 5, Littlewood et al. teaches olefinic hydrocarbons may be present in any gaseous stream in an amount of at least about 0.3 mol-%, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent contains greater than 0.5 mol% unsaturated hydrocarbons. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding instant claim 6, ‘294 recites 1) reacting a blended bio-based synthesis gas comprising CO, CO2 and H2 in an oxygenate synthesis reaction zone containing an oxygenate synthesis catalyst and forming a first effluent containing oxygenates and unreacted bio-based synthesis gas, wherein the oxygenates in the first effluent include at least 50 mol% methanol, corresponding to the instant step of reacting the blended bio-based synthesis gas in an oxygenate synthesis zone containing an oxygenate synthesis catalyst and forming an oxygenated reaction product comprising oxygenates and unreacted bio-based synthesis gas, wherein the oxygenates include at least 50 mol% methanol. ‘294 further recites 2) reacting at least a portion of the first effluent in an oxygenate conversion reaction zone containing an oxygenate conversion catalyst and forming a second effluent comprising C2- hydrocarbons, bio-based LPG, and C5+ hydrocarbons, corresponding to the instant step of reacting at least a portion of the oxygenated reaction product in an oxygenate conversion zone containing an oxygenate conversion catalyst and forming the LPG-enriched gaseous effluent.
Regarding instant claim 7, ‘294 recites wherein the oxygenate synthesis catalyst comprises one or more methanol synthesis-active metals selected from the group consisting of Cu, Zn, Zr, Al, Pt, Pd, Rh, Ru, and Cr, corresponding to the instant oxygenate synthesis catalyst comprises one or more methanol synthesis-active metals selected from the group consisting of Cu, Zn, Zr, Al, Pt, Pd, and Ru.
Regarding instant claim 8, ‘294 recites wherein the oxygenate synthesis catalyst contains no molecular sieve component, corresponding to the instant oxygenate synthesis catalyst containing essentially no molecular sieve component.
Regarding instant claim 9, ‘294 recites wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst contains essentially no WGS active metal component, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst containing essentially no water gas shift active metal component.
Regarding instant claim 10, ‘294 recites wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises a zeolite having a SiO2/A2O3 molar ratio of less than 90, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising a zeolite having a SiO2/A12O3 molar ratio of less than 90.
Regarding instant claim 11, ‘294 recites wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises a small pore molecular sieve selected from Chabazite, SSZ-13, SAPO-34, SSZ-39, MCM-35, EU- 12, RHO, SAPO-18, SAPO-56, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising a small pore molecular sieve selected from Chabazite, SSZ-13, SAPO-34, SSZ-39, MCM-35,EU-12, RHO, SAPO-18, and SAPO-56.
Regarding instant claim 12, ‘294 recites wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprises SSZ-13, corresponding to the instant oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising SSZ-13.
Regarding instant claim 15, ‘294 recites wherein the second effluent comprises greater than 40 weight % LPG, based on the total hydrocarbon content of the second effluent, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent comprising greater than 40 weight % LPG.
Regarding instant claim 16, ‘294 wherein the second effluent comprises less than 25 weight % C5+ hydrocarbons, based on the total hydrocarbon content of the second effluent, corresponding to the instant LPG-enriched gaseous effluent comprising less than 25 weight % C5+ hydrocarbons, based on the total hydrocarbon content of the LPG-enhanced gaseous effluent.
Regarding instant claim 17, ‘294 does not recite and Littlewood et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the treatment step c) is a hydrogenation process comprising passing either the LPG-enhanced effluent or the synthesis gas recycle stream over a metal-containing catalyst.
However, Littlewood et al. teaches the dehydration catalyst SAPO-34 can catalyze the conversion of a methanol intermediate to olefins such as propylene. Littlewood et al. suggests that the characteristic hydrogen partial pressures used in the LPG synthesis stage not only promote the hydrogenation of these olefins, but also stabilize the dehydration catalyst/functional constituent by preventing coking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘294 with the teachings of Littlewood et al. by optimizing the hydrogen partial pressure in the LPG synthesis stage which uses the recycle stream 4b containing synthesis gas as a reactant to promote the hydrogenation of the olefins present to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the hydrogen partial pressure because, as taught by Littlewood et al., this will promote olefin hydrogenation and further stabilize the catalyst from coking. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Littlewood et al. teaches olefin hydrogenation is a result-effective variable by optimizing the hydrogen partial pressure which predictably results in olefins being hydrogenated.
Further regarding instant claim 17, Littlewood et al. teaches the dehydration (and hydrogenation as discussed above) catalyst SAPO-34 (silicoaluminophosphate), corresponding to the instant metal-containing catalyst comprising Al and Si. Littlewood et al. implicitly teaches the hydrogenation occurs simultaneously in the dehydration reaction. Therefore, the conditions of the LPG synthesis reaction are the same as those of the hydrogenation process. Littlewood et al. explicitly teaches LPG synthesis reaction conditions, suitable for use in at least one LPG synthesis reactor include an LPG synthesis reaction temperature in a range from about 204° C to about 454° C (see 0063) which corresponds to the instant hydrogenation process at a temperature between 30 and 400 °C. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding instant claim 21, ‘182 teaches contacting a mixture including olefins and non-olefins with a solution of an olefin-complexing metal salt in an ionic liquid. After the non-olefins are separated, the olefins can be removed/desorbed from the ionic liquid, corresponding to the instant step of contacting the synthesis gas recycle stream with an absorbent selected from an ionic liquid.
Regarding instant claim 22, ‘182 teaches contacting a mixture including olefins and non-olefins with a solution of an olefin-complexing metal salt in an ionic liquid, corresponding to the instant ionic liquid containing a metal that coordinates with unsaturated hydrocarbons.
Regarding instant claim 23, ‘182 teaches, in example 2, forming both copper and silver complexes in ionic liquids, corresponding to the instant one or more metals that coordinate with unsaturated hydrocarbons being copper and silver.
Regarding instant claim 24, ‘294 does not recite and Littlewood et al. does not teach and ‘182 does not exemplify wherein the ionic liquid is a chloroaluminate ionic liquid.
However, ‘182 teaches, in example 2, AgBF4 salt in bmim+BF4- ionic liquid and further teaches counterions which have been used include a group including chloroaluminate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the BF4- counterion with chloroaluminate to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the counterion because ‘182 teaches chloroaluminate as an alternative counterion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because ‘182 explicitly teaches chloroaluminate as an alternative counterion.
Claim 13 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-11 of copending Application No. 18/661294 (‘294) in view of Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Sabde et al. (WO2019145869A1, published 08/01/2019, IDS dated 02/23/2026).
Claims 1 and 6 were rendered indistinct from the instantly claimed invention as discussed above.
‘294, the teachings of Littlewood et al., and the teachings of ‘182 differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that ‘294, Littlewood et al., and ‘182 do not teach wherein the oxygenate conversion catalyst has been prepared with a treated surface.
The teachings of Sabde et al. were discussed above.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to modify ‘294, Littlewood et al., and ‘182 with the teachings of Sabde et al. by preparing the SSZ-13 catalyst with acid surface treatment, as taught by Sabde et al., to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare the catalyst with acid because, as taught by Sabde et al., the presence of alkali content in zeolite beyond certain content influences the activity of zeolite. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Sabde et al. teaches a successful example of synthesizing SSZ-13 using mineral acid for surface treatment.
Regarding instant claim 13, Sabde et al. teaches one of the steps in the process to make the catalyst includes the as-synthesized zeolite is subjected to ion exchange with mineral acids, corresponding to the instant step of the oxygenate conversion catalyst comprising a small pore molecular sieve that has been prepared with a treated surface using a process selected from treatment with acids.
Claims 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-11 of copending Application No. 18/661294 (‘294) in view of Littlewood et al. (US20230069964A1, published 03/09/2023, IDS dated 02/23/2026) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,339,182B1 (‘182, published 01/15/2002, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Rege et al. (NPL, published 1998, PTO-892).
Claims 1 and 6 were rendered indistinct from the instantly claimed invention as discussed above.
‘294, the teachings of Littlewood et al., and the teachings of ‘182 differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that ‘294, Littlewood et al., and ‘182 do not teach wherein the treatment step c) is an adsorption process as required by instant claims 18-20.
The teachings of Rege et al. were discussed above.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘294, Littlewood et al., and ‘182, with the teachings of Rege et al. by treating the recycle stream, as recited by ‘294, with the separation process, as taught by Rege et al., to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat the recycle stream with a separation process to remove olefins because Littlewood et al. teaches the process to produce LPG contains olefinic hydrocarbons in the gaseous streams and implicitly teaches olefins cause degradation of the catalyst (see 0039 and 0071) and, as taught by Rege et al., the sorbent exhibits superior adsorption properties for olefin/paraffin separations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because the recycle stream of ‘294 is taught by Littlewood et al. to contain olefinic hydrocarbons that Rege et al. teaches can be treated and separated. Because the chemical compositions match, applying the separation process of Rege et al. to the stream of ‘294 is an application of an existing separation process to its intended feedstock.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is rejected under 112(b) and objected to for depending on a rejected base claim but contains allowable subject matter.
Claim 14 is directed to a small pore molecular sieve with a surface acidity measured by adsorption of methylene blue of 2 mmol/100 g or less.
The closest prior art is Sabde et al. (cited above).
Sabde et al. teaches a process for synthesizing zeolite SSZ-13 (see Title). SSZ-13 is a zeolite with a chabazite structure. SSZ-13 is a small pore zeolite. SSZ-13 is promising for applications such as converting methanol to olefins (see lines 1-11, page 3). The individual properties such as Silica to Alumina molar ratio (Si02/Al203), SEM crystallite size, powder particle size, carbon content, phase purity, alkali content and surface area or combinations thereof are required for particular application (see lines 19-24 of page 3). The common alkali content in zeolites are Na and K. The presence of alkali content in zeolite beyond certain content influence the activity of zeolite (see lines 21-23 of page 4).
Sabde et al. is silent on surface acidity of the molecular sieve.
Furthermore, there is no prior art that teaches the small pore molecular sieve of instant claim 14 having a surface acidity measured by adsorption of methylene blue of 2 mmol/100 g or less.
Therefore, instant claim 14 is free of prior art.
Conclusion
No claim is found allowable.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KRISTEN W BRADY/ Examiner, Art Unit 1692
/SCARLETT Y GOON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693