DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11-15, 21, 24, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (Manolakos et al., hereinafter Manolakos).
Regarding claim 1, Manolakos discloses a method of operating a wireless measurement entity (pars. [0002]-[0003], UE or network nodes corresponding to position estimation entity), comprising:
receiving, from a position estimation entity, a reference signal for positioning (RS-P) resource configuration that configures a set of RS-P occasions associated with a first positioning frequency layer (PFL) in association with a position estimation session of a user equipment (UE) (paragraphs [0094]-[0096],”… receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for measuring the PRS measurements…”);
measuring a first carrier phase of the first PFL at a first carrier frequency associated with a RS-P occasion from the set of RS-P occasions (paragraph [0097]);
measuring a second carrier phase of the first PFL at a second carrier frequency associated with the RS-P occasion from the set of RS-P occasions (paragraph [0097]: "At block 1330, the functionality comprises tuning RF circuitry of the UE from an active BWP to one or more frequency bands of at least two PFLs of the plurality of PFLs. Further, at block 1340, the functionality comprises receiving a plurality of PRS resources of the at least two PFLs from one or more network nodes. Additionally, at block 340, the functionality comprises, subsequent to receiving the plurality of PRS resources, re-tuning the RF circuitry of the UE to the active BWP. As noted in the above-described embodiments, the operations at blocks 1330, 1340, and 1345 may take place during a measurement window (e.g., MG) for each measurement window in a series of measurement windows in a measurement period used to take PRS measurements (shown, for example, in FIG. 12). It is further noted that the receipt of PRS resources in different PFLs may be done in accordance with a TDMed and/or FDMed configuration. For embodiments utilizing a TDMed configuration (e.g., as shown in FIG. 10), receiving the plurality of PRS resources of the at least two PFLs may comprise receiving a first PRS resource of a first PFL during a first set of Orthogonal Frequency -Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in a measurement window, and receiving a second PRS resource of a second PFL during a second set of OFDM symbols in the measurement window. In some embodiments, the UE may re-tune RF circuitry between the first and second sets of symbols. Thus, in such embodiments, the first PFL may be on a first frequency band, and subsequent to receiving the first PRS resource and prior to the re-tuning the RF circuitry of the UE to the active BWP, the RF circuitry of the UE is tuned to a second frequency band, where the second PRS resource is received via the second frequency band. For embodiments utilizing an FDMed configuration (e.g., as shown in FIGS. 11 and 12), receiving the plurality of PRS resources of the at least two PFLs may comprise receiving a first PRS resource of a first PFL and a second PRS resource of a second PFL during the same set of OFDM symbols in a single measurement window"); and
transmitting at least one measurement report that indicates the measured first carrier phase of the first PFL and the measured second carrier phase of the first PFL to the position estimation entity (paragraphs [0100], [0101], “…they may be provided by the UE to a location server in a positioning session between the two entities…”).
Regarding claim 11, Manolakos discloses a method of operating a position estimation entity (pars. [0002]-[0003], UE or network nodes corresponding to position estimation entity), comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless measurement entity, a reference signal for positioning (RS-P) resource configuration that configures a set of RS-P occasions associated with a first positioning frequency layer (PFL) in association with a position estimation session of a user equipment (UE) (paragraphs [0094]-[0096], “… receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for measuring the PRS measurements…”, where the network entity transmits the configuration to the UE);
receiving, from the wireless measurement entity, at least one measurement report that indicates a measured first carrier phase of the first PFL at a first carrier frequency associated with a RS-P occasion from the set of RS-P occasions and a measured second carrier phase of the first PFL at a second carrier frequency associated with the RS-P occasion from the set of RS-P occasions (paragraphs [0093], [0097], [0100] and [0101]); and
determining a position estimate of the UE based on the at least one measurement report (pars. [0093]-[0093], [0104], “Location determination…”).
Regarding claim 21, Manolakos discloses a method of operating a wireless measurement entity (pars. [0002]-[0003], UE or network nodes corresponding to position estimation entity), comprising:
receiving, from a position estimation entity, a reference signal for positioning (RS-P) resource configuration that configures a set of RS-P occasions associated with a positioning frequency layer (PFL) in association with a position estimation session of a user equipment (UE) (paragraphs [0094]-[0096],”… receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for measuring the PRS measurements…”);
measuring a carrier phase of the PFL at a carrier frequency associated with a RS-P occasion from the set of RS-P occasions (paragraph [0097]: "At block 1330, the functionality comprises tuning RF circuitry of the UE from an active BWP to one or more frequency bands of at least two PFLs of the plurality of PFLs. Further, at block 1340, the functionality comprises receiving a plurality of PRS resources of the at least two PFLs from one or more network nodes. Additionally, at block 340, the functionality comprises, subsequent to receiving the plurality of PRS resources, re-tuning the RF circuitry of the UE to the active BWP. As noted in the above-described embodiments, the operations at blocks 1330, 1340, and 1345 may take place during a measurement window (e.g., MG) for each measurement window in a series of measurement windows in a measurement period used to take PRS measurements (shown, for example, in FIG. 12). It is further noted that the receipt of PRS resources in different PFLs may be done in accordance with a TDMed and/or FDMed configuration. For embodiments utilizing a TDMed configuration (e.g., as shown in FIG. 10), receiving the plurality of PRS resources of the at least two PFLs may comprise receiving a first PRS resource of a first PFL during a first set of Orthogonal Frequency -Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in a measurement window, and receiving a second PRS resource of a second PFL during a second set of OFDM symbols in the measurement window. In some embodiments, the UE may re-tune RF circuitry between the first and second sets of symbols. Thus, in such embodiments, the first PFL may be on a first frequency band, and subsequent to receiving the first PRS resource and prior to the re-tuning the RF circuitry of the UE to the active BWP, the RF circuitry of the UE is tuned to a second frequency band, where the second PRS resource is received via the second frequency band. For embodiments utilizing an FDMed configuration (e.g., as shown in FIGS. 11 and 12), receiving the plurality of PRS resources of the at least two PFLs may comprise receiving a first PRS resource of a first PFL and a second PRS resource of a second PFL during the same set of OFDM symbols in a single measurement window"); and
transmitting a measurement report that indicates the measured carrier phase of the PFL differentially (paragraphs [0093]-[0097], [0100] and [0101], paragraphs [0093]-[0096], “…they may be provided by the UE to a location server in a positioning session between the two entities…”).
Regarding claim 26, Manolakos discloses a method of operating a position estimation entity (pars. [0002]-[0003], UE or network nodes corresponding to position estimation entity), comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless measurement entity, a reference signal for positioning (RS-P) resource configuration that configures a set of RS-P occasions associated with a positioning frequency layer (PFL) in association with a position estimation session of a user equipment (UE) (paragraphs [0094]-[0096], “… receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for measuring the PRS measurements…”, where the network entity transmits the configuration to the UE); and
receiving, from the wireless measurement entity, a measurement report that differentially indicates a measured carrier phase of the PFL at a carrier frequency associated with a RS-P occasion from the set of RS-P occasions (paragraph [0097]: "At block 1330, the functionality comprises tuning RF circuitry of the UE from an active BWP to one or more frequency bands of at least two PFLs of the plurality of PFLs. Further, at block 1340, the functionality comprises receiving a plurality of PRS resources of the at least two PFLs from one or more network nodes. Additionally, at block 340, the functionality comprises, subsequent to receiving the plurality of PRS resources, re-tuning the RF circuitry of the UE to the active BWP. As noted in the above-described embodiments, the operations at blocks 1330, 1340, and 1345 may take place during a measurement window (e.g., MG) for each measurement window in a series of measurement windows in a measurement period used to take PRS measurements (shown, for example, in FIG. 12). It is further noted that the receipt of PRS resources in different PFLs may be done in accordance with a TDMed and/or FDMed configuration. For embodiments utilizing a TDMed configuration (e.g., as shown in FIG. 10), receiving the plurality of PRS resources of the at least two PFLs may comprise receiving a first PRS resource of a first PFL during a first set of Orthogonal Frequency -Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in a measurement window, and receiving a second PRS resource of a second PFL during a second set of OFDM symbols in the measurement window. In some embodiments, the UE may re-tune RF circuitry between the first and second sets of symbols. Thus, in such embodiments, the first PFL may be on a first frequency band, and subsequent to receiving the first PRS resource and prior to the re-tuning the RF circuitry of the UE to the active BWP, the RF circuitry of the UE is tuned to a second frequency band, where the second PRS resource is received via the second frequency band. For embodiments utilizing an FDMed configuration (e.g., as shown in FIGS. 11 and 12), receiving the plurality of PRS resources of the at least two PFLs may comprise receiving a first PRS resource of a first PFL and a second PRS resource of a second PFL during the same set of OFDM symbols in a single measurement window").
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively. Manolakos further discloses wherein the first carrier frequency of the first PFL and the second carrier frequency of the first PFL are pre-defined or pre-configured, or wherein the first carrier frequency of the first PFL and the second carrier frequency of the first PFL are indicated by the at least one measurement report (paragraph [0095], “receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for measuring the PRS measurements…other types of configurations may be made and provided to the UE by a different network entity, such as the location server…”).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively. Manolakos further discloses further comprising: transmitting a carrier phase measurement capability of the wireless measurement entity to the position estimation entity, wherein the RS-P resource configuration is based on the carrier phase measurement capability (paragraph [0090], “the UE can provide information indicative of its capabilities to a network node (e.g., location server or TRP)… certain band or frequency range (FR)…”).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively. Manolakos further discloses wherein the first carrier frequency of the first PFL and the second carrier frequency of the first PFL are configured by the position estimation entity, or wherein at least one of the first carrier frequency of the first PFL and the second carrier frequency of the first PFL corresponds to a central frequency relative to a full bandwidth of the first PFL or a subband of the first PFL, or wherein at least one of the first carrier frequency of the first PFL, the second carrier frequency of the first PFL, or both, corresponds to a subcarrier index relative to a reference point associated with the first PFL, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0097]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively. Manolakos further discloses wherein the first carrier frequency of the first PFL and the second carrier frequency of the first PFL are defined via reference to a bandwidth associated with the first PFL, and wherein the bandwidth comprises: a number of subcarriers, or a number of resource blocks (RBs), or a ratio that is relative to a full bandwidth of the PFL, or a number of subbands (paragraph [0097], “receipt of PRS resources in different PFLs …”).
Regarding claims 24 and 28, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claims 21 and 26, respectively. Manolakos further discloses receiving/transmitting, from/to the position estimation entity/wireless measurement entity, a recommendation of a first measurement reference for at least differential carrier phase measurement reporting (par. [0097], the receipt of PRS resources in different PFLs may be done in accordance with a TDMed and/or FDMed configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10, 16-20, 22-23, 25, 27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos in view of Further Discussion on Improved Accuracy Based on NR Carrier Phase Measurement (hereinafter CATT).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively.
Manolakos does not specifically disclose reporting error information associated with the measured first carrier phase of the first PFL, the measured second carrier phase of the first PFL, or both, to the position estimation entity.
In related art concerning Improved Accuracy Based on NR Carrier Phase Measurement, CATT discloses reporting error information associated with the measured first carrier phase of the first PFL, the measured second carrier phase of the first PFL, or both, to the position estimation entity (item [5.2], pages 17-18, “the difference between the carrier phase measured from the DL PRS signal(s) of the target TRP and the carrier phase measured from DL PRS signal(s) of the reference TRP”; “…information for multipath mitigation, the resolution of the integer ambiguity, etc.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use CATT’s teachings about reporting error information associated with the measured first carrier phase of the first PFL, the measured second carrier phase of the first PFL, or both, to the position estimation entity with the simultaneous processing of multiple positioning frequency layers in NR by UR disclosed by Manolakos because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by providing error information, adjustments can be made to improve location estimation accuracy.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively.
Manolakos does not specifically disclose wherein the set of RS-P occasions is further associated with a second PFL, further comprising: measuring a third carrier phase of the second PFL at a third carrier frequency associated with the RS-P occasion from the set of RS-P occasions; and measuring a fourth carrier phase of the second PFL at a fourth carrier frequency associated with the RS-P occasion from the set of RS-P occasions, wherein the at least one measurement report further indicates the measured third carrier phase of the second PFL and the measured fourth carrier phase of the second PFL.
CATT discloses wherein the set of RS-P occasions is further associated with a second PFL, further comprising: measuring a third carrier phase of the second PFL at a third carrier frequency associated with the RS-P occasion from the set of RS-P occasions; and measuring a fourth carrier phase of the second PFL at a fourth carrier frequency associated with the RS-P occasion from the set of RS-P occasions, wherein the at least one measurement report further indicates the measured third carrier phase of the second PFL and the measured fourth carrier phase of the second PFL (item [5.2], pages 17-18, “reporting the carrier phase measurements corresponding to multiple carrier frequencies…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use CATT’s teachings wherein the set of RS-P occasions is further associated with a second PFL, further comprising: measuring a third carrier phase of the second PFL at a third carrier frequency associated with the RS-P occasion from the set of RS-P occasions; and measuring a fourth carrier phase of the second PFL at a fourth carrier frequency associated with the RS-P occasion from the set of RS-P occasions, wherein the at least one measurement report further indicates the measured third carrier phase of the second PFL and the measured fourth carrier phase of the second PFL with the simultaneous processing of multiple positioning frequency layers in NR by UR disclosed by Manolakos because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by “reporting the carrier phase measurements corresponding to multiple carrier frequencies significantly improve the positioning accuracy of the NR carrier phase positioning…” (CATT, item [5.2], pages 17-18).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claims 7 and 17, respectively.
Manolakos does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one measurement report comprises: a first measurement report comprising indications of the measured first carrier phase of the first PFL and the measured second carrier phase of the first PFL, and a second measurement report comprising indications of the measured third carrier phase of the second PFL and the measured fourth carrier phase of the second PFL, or a single measurement report comprising indications of the measured first carrier phase of the first PFL, the measured second carrier phase of the first PFL, the measured third carrier phase of the second PFL and the measured fourth carrier phase of the second PFL.
CATT discloses wherein the at least one measurement report comprises: a first measurement report comprising indications of the measured first carrier phase of the first PFL and the measured second carrier phase of the first PFL, and a second measurement report comprising indications of the measured third carrier phase of the second PFL and the measured fourth carrier phase of the second PFL, or a single measurement report comprising indications of the measured first carrier phase of the first PFL, the measured second carrier phase of the first PFL, the measured third carrier phase of the second PFL and the measured fourth carrier phase of the second PFL (item [5.2], pages 17-18, “reporting the carrier phase measurements corresponding to multiple carrier frequencies…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use CATT’s teachings wherein the at least one measurement report comprises: a first measurement report comprising indications of the measured first carrier phase of the first PFL and the measured second carrier phase of the first PFL, and a second measurement report comprising indications of the measured third carrier phase of the second PFL and the measured fourth carrier phase of the second PFL, or a single measurement report comprising indications of the measured first carrier phase of the first PFL, the measured second carrier phase of the first PFL, the measured third carrier phase of the second PFL and the measured fourth carrier phase of the second PFL with the simultaneous processing of multiple positioning frequency layers in NR by UR disclosed by Manolakos because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by “reporting the carrier phase measurements corresponding to multiple carrier frequencies may significantly improve the positioning accuracy of the NR carrier phase positioning…” (CATT, item [5.2], pages 17-18).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claims 7 and 17, respectively.
Manolakos does not specifically disclose wherein the first PFL and the second PFL are configured without RS-P aggregation, and the first carrier phase of the first PFL and second carrier phase of the first PFL are measured separately from the third carrier phase of the second PFL and the fourth carrier phase of the second PFL, or wherein the first PFL and the second PFL are configured with RS-P aggregation, the first carrier phase of the first PFL and second carrier phase of the first PFL are measured jointly with the third carrier phase of the second PFL and the fourth carrier phase of the second PFL, and frequency information included in the at least one measurement report is based on an aggregated PFL that comprises the first PFL and the second PFL.
CATT discloses wherein the first PFL and the second PFL are configured without RS-P aggregation, and the first carrier phase of the first PFL and second carrier phase of the first PFL are measured separately from the third carrier phase of the second PFL and the fourth carrier phase of the second PFL, or wherein the first PFL and the second PFL are configured with RS-P aggregation, the first carrier phase of the first PFL and second carrier phase of the first PFL are measured jointly with the third carrier phase of the second PFL and the fourth carrier phase of the second PFL, and frequency information included in the at least one measurement report is based on an aggregated PFL that comprises the first PFL and the second PFL (item [5.2], pages 17-18, “dl-PRS-ResourceBandwidth”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use CATT’s teachings wherein the first PFL and the second PFL are configured without RS-P aggregation, and the first carrier phase of the first PFL and second carrier phase of the first PFL are measured separately from the third carrier phase of the second PFL and the fourth carrier phase of the second PFL, or wherein the first PFL and the second PFL are configured with RS-P aggregation, the first carrier phase of the first PFL and second carrier phase of the first PFL are measured jointly with the third carrier phase of the second PFL and the fourth carrier phase of the second PFL, and frequency information included in the at least one measurement report is based on an aggregated PFL that comprises the first PFL and the second PFL with the simultaneous processing of multiple positioning frequency layers in NR by UR disclosed by Manolakos because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by with or without carrier aggregation constitutes a mere design consideration available to the inventor that depends on balancing performance gains against implementation costs and complexity, where using carrier aggregation would increase available bandwidth that improves data rates and capacity.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively.
Manolakos does not specifically disclose wherein the first carrier frequency is associated with a first subband and the second carrier frequency is associated with a second subband, and wherein the measured first carrier phase of the first PFL, the measured second carrier phase of the first PFL, or both, are reported differentially.
CATT discloses item wherein the first carrier frequency is associated with a first subband and the second carrier frequency is associated with a second subband, and wherein the measured first carrier phase of the first PFL, the measured second carrier phase of the first PFL, or both, are reported differentially (item [5.2], pages 17-18, “reporting the carrier phase measurements corresponding to multiple carrier frequencies…”, “different sub-carriers” “different sub-bands”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use CATT’s teachings wherein the first carrier frequency is associated with a first subband and the second carrier frequency is associated with a second subband, and wherein the measured first carrier phase of the first PFL, the measured second carrier phase of the first PFL, or both, are reported differentially with the simultaneous processing of multiple positioning frequency layers in NR by UR disclosed by Manolakos because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such configuration would improve spectral efficiency.
Regarding claims 22 and 27, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claims 21 and 26, respectively.
Manolakos does not specifically disclose wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is reported differentially relative to a reference carrier phase measurement associated with the same PFL or a different PFL, or wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is reported differentially relative to a reference transmission reception point (TRP), or wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is reported differentially relative to a reference subband of the reference TRP, or wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is reported differentially relative to a reference RS-P resource of the reference subband of the reference TRP.
CATT discloses wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is reported differentially relative to a reference carrier phase measurement associated with the same PFL or a different PFL, or wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is reported differentially relative to a reference transmission reception point (TRP), or wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is reported differentially relative to a reference subband of the reference TRP, or wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is reported differentially relative to a reference RS-P resource of the reference subband of the reference TRP (item [5.2], pages 17-18, “reporting the carrier phase measurements corresponding to multiple carrier frequencies…”, “different sub-carriers” “different sub-bands”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use CATT’s teachings wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is reported differentially relative to a reference carrier phase measurement associated with the same PFL or a different PFL, or wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is reported differentially relative to a reference transmission reception point (TRP), or wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is reported differentially relative to a reference subband of the reference TRP, or wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is reported differentially relative to a reference RS-P resource of the reference subband of the reference TRP with the simultaneous processing of multiple positioning frequency layers in NR by UR disclosed by Manolakos because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such configuration would improve spectral efficiency.
Regarding claim 23, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
Manolakos does not specifically disclose performing one or more RS-P measurements associated with the RS-P occasion, wherein the one or more RS-P measurements are differentially reported in the measurement report or a different measurement report.
CATT discloses performing one or more RS-P measurements associated with the RS-P occasion, wherein the one or more RS-P measurements are differentially reported in the measurement report or a different measurement report (item [5.2], pages 17-18, “reporting the carrier phase measurements corresponding to multiple carrier frequencies…”, “different sub-carriers” “different sub-bands”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use CATT’s teachings about CATT discloses performing one or more RS-P measurements associated with the RS-P occasion, wherein the one or more RS-P measurements are differentially reported in the measurement report or a different measurement report with the simultaneous processing of multiple positioning frequency layers in NR by UR disclosed by Manolakos because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by “reporting the carrier phase measurements corresponding to multiple carrier frequencies may significantly improve the positioning accuracy of the NR carrier phase positioning…” (CATT, item [5.2], pages 17-18).
Regarding claims 25 and 30, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claims 21 and 26, respectively.
Manolakos does not specifically disclose wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is differentially reported relative to a measurement reference, and wherein the measurement reference is indicated in the measurement report based on the measurement reference being associated with a carrier phase differential of zero.
CATT discloses wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is differentially reported relative to a measurement reference, and wherein the measurement reference is indicated in the measurement report based on the measurement reference being associated with a carrier phase differential of zero (item [5.2], pages 17-18, “the difference between the carrier phase measured from the DL PRS signal(s) of the target TRP and the carrier phase measured from DL PRS signal(s) of the reference TRP”, where a zero difference indicates synchronization and no relative phase shift).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use CATT’s teachings wherein the measured carrier phase of the PFL is differentially reported relative to a measurement reference, and wherein the measurement reference is indicated in the measurement report based on the measurement reference being associated with a carrier phase differential of zero with the simultaneous processing of multiple positioning frequency layers in NR by UR disclosed by Manolakos because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by having a phase differential of zero would indicate no relative phase shift.
Regarding claim 29, Manolakos discloses all the limitations of claim 28.
Manolakos does not specifically disclose wherein the measurement report indicates the measured carrier phase of the PFL differentially relative to the first measurement reference associated with the position estimation session of the UE, or wherein the measurement report indicates the measured carrier phase of the PFL differentially relative to a second measurement reference that is different than the first measurement reference, or wherein the recommendation of the first measurement reference is only for the differential carrier phase measurement reporting associated with the position estimation session of the UE, or wherein the recommendation of the first measurement reference is for any differential reporting associated with the position estimation session of the UE.
CATT discloses wherein the measurement report indicates the measured carrier phase of the PFL differentially relative to the first measurement reference associated with the position estimation session of the UE, or wherein the measurement report indicates the measured carrier phase of the PFL differentially relative to a second measurement reference that is different than the first measurement reference, or wherein the recommendation of the first measurement reference is only for the differential carrier phase measurement reporting associated with the position estimation session of the UE, or wherein the recommendation of the first measurement reference is for any differential reporting associated with the position estimation session of the UE (item [5.2], pages 17-18, “the difference between the carrier phase measured from the DL PRS signal(s) of the target TRP and the carrier phase measured from DL PRS signal(s) of the reference TRP”, where a zero difference indicates synchronization and no relative phase shift).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use CATT’s teachings wherein the measurement report indicates the measured carrier phase of the PFL differentially relative to the first measurement reference associated with the position estimation session of the UE, or wherein the measurement report indicates the measured carrier phase of the PFL differentially relative to a second measurement reference that is different than the first measurement reference, or wherein the recommendation of the first measurement reference is only for the differential carrier phase measurement reporting associated with the position estimation session of the UE, or wherein the recommendation of the first measurement reference is for any differential reporting associated with the position estimation session of the UE with the simultaneous processing of multiple positioning frequency layers in NR by UR disclosed by Manolakos because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that “reporting the carrier phase measurements corresponding to multiple carrier frequencies significantly improve the positioning accuracy of the NR carrier phase positioning…” (CATT, item [5.2], pages 17-18).
Note: the Examiner agrees with the Written Opining cited in IDS dated 11/26/2024; therefore, it is being cited and quoted in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the Remarks, the Applicant argues in substance:
The claim interpretation has been withdrawn.
“First, the PRS measurements described by Manolakos at [0097] are not "carrier phase measurements”…”
The examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that “the PRS measurements described by Manolakos at [0097] are not ‘carrier phase measurements’”. In 5G communications, PRS measurements are indeed referred as “phase measurements”, more specifically they are “carrier phase (CP measurements”. Carrier measurements capture the phase of the received carrier signal relative to a reference signal provided by either a base station or by the local oscillator. This provides a more granular distance estimation in line-of-sight situations.
“Second, even assuming for the sake of argument that the measurements described by Manolakos at [0097] were interpreted as carrier-phase measurements, Manolakos would still not be suggestive of two carrier phase measurements associated with the same PFL at different carrier frequencies. …”
Manolakos discloses in par. [0097], “the first PFL maybe on a first frequency band, and subsequent to receiving the first PRS resource and prior to the re-tuning the RF circuitry of the UE to the active BWP, the RF circuitry of the UE is tuned to a second frequency band, where the second PRS resource is received via the second frequency band”.
“recited in independent claim 1 and similarly recited in independent claims 11, 13, 21, and 26… the Applicant respectfully submits that the above-noted independent claims are allowable over the cited art of record. The claims dependent thereon are likewise allowable at least by virtue of their dependence upon one of the above-noted independent claims.”
The response to the arguments from above apply to independent claims 11, 13, 21, and 26 and their respective dependent claims.
The examiner believes that a broad and reasonable interpretation has been given to the claims, in view of the specification, and believes that the prior art cited read on the claims as presently written; therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20230262648-A1 relates to sidelink angular-based and SL RRM-based positioning.
US-20230180173-A1 relates to user equipment positioning measurement procedures under active bandwidth part switching.
US-20240159855-A1 relates to signaling for enabling carrier phase-based positioning in a wireless communication system.
US-20250024479-A1 relates to systems and methods for positioning.
US-20250254646-A1 relates to systems and methods for carrier phase positioning.
US-20230262649-A1 relates to positioning measurement method and apparatus and communication device.
US-20230239093-A1 relates to reference signal resource processing method and apparatus, device and readable storage medium.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/Angelica M. Perez/
Primary Patent Examiner AU 2649