DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-9, filed May 22nd, 2026, with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been considered but are moot because they do not overcome the current grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant argues, Whichel fails to teach or suggest, “wherein the material layer substantially covers the entire substrate layer in a manner such that the material layer is flush with the substrate layer”. The applicant further argues “In fact as, as illustrated below in an annotated reproduction of Whichel’s Figure 15 (see encircled portion) a relatively small portion of lock tab (which the Examiner equates to the claimed substrate layer) is covered by foldable element 11 (which the Examiner equates to the claimed material layer). Thus, Whichel cannot teach or suggest “wherein the material layer substantially covers the entire substrate layer in a manner such that the material layer is flush with the substrate layer” as presently claimed.” The examiner disagrees, whereas Whichel teaches “In further embodiments, the second half of the foldable element 11 may be made from or comprise a flexible material which may allow portions of the first half 20 and/or second half 30 comprising a flexible material, to bend or flex. The flexible may comprise leather made of various animal skins. Whichel is not limiting the proportion of flexible material covering the substrate layers, whereas the first half 20 substantially covers substrate layer 25. Furthermore, the Whichel reference is incorporated to modify Minn et al. to teach a leather material layer covering a substrate layer, wherein Whichel teaches a leather material covering a substrate layer, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Minn et al. with a leather material layer covering a substantial proportion of the substrate layers as taught by Minn et al.
The applicant argues “Furthermore, Minn teaches away from using leather or organic materials in wallets because those materials “typically do not provide RFID blocking and allow RFID hackers to access information from the credit cards contained within the wallets”. The examiner disagrees, by providing a material layer of a substrate layer capable of blocking RFID’s, the wallet as disclosed by Minn et al. would still have RFID blocking capabilities.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments and / or remarks filed on May 22nd, 2026. Claims 8-11 are cancelled. Claims 1-7 and 12-13 remain pending and are currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 11, requires the limitation “such that the material layer is flush with the substrate layer”. It is unclear to the examiner how the material layer is flush with the substrate layer (on the same plane), for examination purposes this limitation will be interpreted as the material layer being flush against the substrate layer. Claims 2-7, and 12-13 are also rejected by virtue of dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 12, so far as they are definite, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minn et al. (US 20130276943 A1), in view of Zoschg (US 20220312919 A1), and further in view of Cohen et al. (US 20170303650 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Minn et al. teaches a wallet (10), wherein at least one elastic band (16) is configured to bias a multilayered ([0055]-[0056]) plate (12) against a second plate (14) positioned in parallel to the multilayered ([0055]-[0056]) plate (12) and connected to the first plate (12) only via the at least one elastic band (16) and a material layer (44A). (Figs. 1-5; [0040], [0055]-[0056])
Minn et al. does not teach a multi-layer plate comprising: a substrate layer, a polymeric layer, a material layer including a soft material, bonded to the substrate layer by the polymeric layer; or where the material layer is less than 1mm thick, or wherein the material layer substantially covers the entire substrate layer in a manner such that the material layer is flush with the substrate layer, or wherein the material layer substantially covers the entire substrate layer in a manner such that the material layer is flush with the substrate layer.
Regarding the layers, and the material layer, Whichel teaches a wallet (100) including: a multi-layer plate (16, 25) comprising: a substrate layer (16, 25), a polymeric layer (wherein Whichel teaches “one or more of the elements that comprise the device 100 may be coupled or connected together with heat bonding, chemical bonding, adhesives”), and a material layer (20, 30) including a soft material (wherein Whichel teaches “A flexible material may comprise leather made of various animal skins”), bonded to the substrate layer by the polymeric layer (wherein Whichel teaches “one or more of the elements that comprise the device 100 may be coupled or connected together with heat bonding, chemical bonding, adhesives”), and wherein the material layer (20, 30) substantially covers the entire substrate layer (16, 25) in a manner such that the material layer (20, 30) is flush (flush against) with the substrate (16, 25) layer. (Figs. 1-15; [0032]-[0034], [0040]-[0041], [0052]-[0053])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the wallet as taught by Minn et al., and substitute the plates for multilayered plates with a polymeric layer, and the material layer being flush against the substrate layer as taught by Whichel. Wherein using simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; one would be motivated to substitute multi-layer plates for multi-layered plates with a bonded polymeric layer, in order to obtain the desired properties by providing for a bonded soft layer, material layer, and polymeric layer in a flush arrangement.
Regarding the thickness, Cohen et al. further teaches a flexible card carrier wherein the material layer (612) is less than 1mm thick (wherein Cohen et al. teaches “wherein the device 102 has a thickness of about 0.3 mm.”) (Fig. 6; [0033])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the wallet as taught by Whichel, and provide for a material thickness of less than 1mm as taught by Cohen et al. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide to provide a wallet with a material layer having a thickness of less than 1mm, in order for the wallet to have a minimal profile for easy storage.
Regarding Claim 2, Minn et al., modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; wherein the substrate layer includes fiberglass.
Whichel further teaches wherein the substrate layer includes fiberglass (wherein Whichel teaches “Substantially rigid materials may include rigid plastics, such as nylon, vinyl, polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polypropylene (PP), low density polyethylene (LDPE), hard rubbers, resins, ceramics, wood, carbon fiber, glass, metals and metal alloys, or any other inflexible materials, and materials that resists flexing including combinations of materials.”, and Whichel further teaches “In some embodiments, the reinforcement plate 25 may be made from the same material as the lock tab 16”). (Figs. 13-15; [0042], [0052])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the wallet as taught by Minn et al., and substitute the plates for multilayered plates with fiberglass as taught by Whichel. Wherein using simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; one would be motivated to substitute multi-layer plates for multi-layered plates with fiberglass in order to provide the plate with an insulation layer.
Regarding Claim 3, Minn et al., modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; wherein the polymeric layer is an adhesive.
Whichel further teaches wherein the polymeric layer is an adhesive (wherein Whichel teaches “A portion of the reinforcement plate 25 may be coupled to the first half 20 of the foldable element 11 by a fastener 17 such as by stitching, adhesive, or the like.”) (Figs. 13-15; [0052])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the wallet as taught by Minn et al., and substitute the plates for multilayered plates with a polymeric layer being an adhesive as taught by Whichel. Wherein using simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; one would be motivated to substitute multi-layer plates for multi-layered plates with an adhesive polymeric layer, in order to provide for bonding layer between the plurality of layers on the multi-layered plate.
Regarding Claim 4, Minn et al., modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; wherein the soft material is leather.
Whichel further teaches wherein the soft material (20, 30) is leather. (Wherein Whichel teaches “A flexible material may comprise leather made of various animal skins, natural”). (Figs. 13-15; [0034])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the wallet as taught by Minn et al., modified above, and provide for soft material leather layer as taught by Whichel. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a soft material layer comprising leather, in order to provide for a leather aesthetic to the wallet.
Regarding Claim 5, Minn et al., modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 4 above except; wherein the leather is natural leather, bonded leather, or synthetic leather.
Whichel further teaches wherein the leather is natural leather, bonded leather, or synthetic leather. (Wherein Whichel teaches “A flexible material may comprise leather made of various animal skins, natural”). (Figs. 13-15; [0034])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the wallet as taught by Minn et al., modified above, and provide for soft material leather layer as taught by Whichel. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a soft material layer comprising leather, in order to provide for a leather aesthetic to the wallet.
Regarding Claim 6, Minn et al., modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above;
Minn et al. further teaches wherein a substrate layer (44B) includes a rigid plate (wherein Minn et al. teaches “carbon fiber layers 44A and 44B”). (Fig. 5; [0056])
Regarding Claim 7, Minn et al., modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 6 above;
Minn et al. further teaches wherein the rigid plate (12) includes a top edge (1 in Annotated Figure 1 below), a bottom edge (2 in Annotated Figure 1 below), a first side edge (3 in Annotated Figure 1 below), and a second side edge (4 in Annotated Figure 1 below). (Figs. 1-5; [0055]-[0056])
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 12, Minn et al., modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 6 above except; wherein the rigid plate includes a channel configured to accommodate an elastic band.
Minn et al. further teaches wherein the rigid plate (44B) includes a channel (26) configured to accommodate an elastic band (16). (Figs. 1-5; [0038]-[0040])
Claims 13, so far as it is definite, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minn et al. (US 20130276943 A1), in view of Whichel (US 20160073747 A1), and further in view of Cohen et al. (US 20170303650 A1), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Beckley (US 20140060712 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Minn et al., modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 6 above except; wherein the rigid plate includes a channel configured to accommodate a money clip.
Beckley further teaches a wallet (5) with a rigid plate (22) including a recess (15) configured to accommodate a money clip (3). (Fig. 1; [0038])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the wallet as taught by Minn et al., modified above, and provide for a channel configured to accommodate a money clip as taught by Beckley. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide to provide for a channel for a money clip, in order for the user to conveniently readily accessible contents on the exterior of the wallet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Tran et al. (US 20200229557 A1), teaches a wallet with a leather layer.
Reeves (US 20240335016 A1), teaches a minimalist wallet.
Applicant's amendment doesn’t overcome the existing grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN CAUDILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 14 July 2026