CTNF 18/661,358 CTNF 100209 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by XU et al. (US 20190387517 A1, hereinafter XU) . Claim 1: XU teaches A wireless communication method ( abstract ), comprising: transmitting, by a communication device, a buffer status reporting (BSR) ( Fig. 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, [0023], “FIG. 2 is a flow chart of a BSR report method of a terminal”, [0016], “The terminal includes a buffer status report table and at least one extended buffer status report table…obtaining an index from the table according to a data amount in a buffer of the terminal; and sending the index to the base station” ) and a second indication that indicates a selection of a table for the BSR (Fig. 6, [0064-0065], disclose LCID value indicate type of BSR, e.g. LCID=01011 indicates that the BSR in this MAC signaling is a long BSR, and the value of the BSR is from an extended BSR table, Fig. 9, [0073-0075], disclose table selector 106 uses the LCID and additional byte in the MAC signaling to indicate that the terminal selects which table of the BSR table and a plurality of extended BSR tables, and use the table number bit in the additional byte in MAC BSR CE to further indicate that the BSRs of the four logic channel groups in this long BSR are respectively from which table ), wherein the BSR includes an index that indicates a data amount for transmission by the communication device, wherein the index corresponding to the data amount is from the table ( [0016], “The terminal includes a buffer status report table and at least one extended buffer status report table …obtaining an index from the table according to a data amount in a buffer of the terminal; and sending the index to the base station”), wherein each index in the table is associated with one maximum data amount ( Fig. 10, Fig. 11, Fig. 12, Fig. 13, Illustrate four BSR tables, and index of each table associated with the minimum data amount to maximum data amount in buffer area , [0044], “the upper limit of the range of the buffer data amount of the extended BSR table 104 may be the maximum buffer data amount specified in the protocol standard or determined according to the practical application”, [0014], “the present invention is to extend the BSR table for adapting to the new maximum buffer data amount”), wherein the table is selected between a first table and a third table, and wherein a granularity of the first table is finer than that of the third table ( Fig. 10, Fig. 11, Fig. 12, Fig. 13, Illustrate four BSR tables, wherein Fig. 12 table is reading as first table, and Fig.11 table is reading as third table, Index 0-5 of Fig.12 table is finer than index 52 of Fig. 11 table. [0045], “for the extended BSR table 104 and the BSR table 102, the range of the buffer data amount may be divided into a plurality of small intervals … the range of the buffer data amount may be divided into a plurality of small intervals with the method of the technical document 1. FIG. 12 and FIG. 13 show respectively the extended BSR tables obtained with the method of the technical document 1” ). Claim 9 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and XU further teaches A communication device for wireless communication comprising a processor ( Fig. 14, element 1401, [0035], “FIG. 14 is an illustrative structure block diagram of a general personal computer in which a method and/or a device according to an embodiment of the present invention may be implemented”, [0145], “the Central Processing Unit (CPU) 1401 performs various processes according to the program stored in the Read Only Memory (ROM) 1402 or the program loaded to the Random Access Memory (RAM) 1403 from the storage portion 1408” ). Claim 17 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and XU further teaches A non-transitory computer readable program storage medium having code stored thereon, the code, when executed by a processor ( Fig, 14, [0145], “ the Central Processing Unit (CPU) 1401 performs various processes according to the program stored in the Read Only Memory (ROM) 1402 or the program loaded to the Random Access Memory (RAM) 1403 from the storage portion 1408. In the RAM 1403, the data required in performing various processes and the like by the CPU 1401 is also stored as required”, [0150], “the storage medium for carrying the program product stored with the instruction code readable to machine is also included in the disclosure of the present invention”). Claim 2: XU teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the table is determined by a first indication, wherein the first indication is received by the communication device ([0005], “To transmit the BSR between the base station and the terminal, a BSR table is provided in both the base station and the terminal”, [0015], “a terminal is provided, and the terminal includes a buffer status report table; at least one extended buffer status report table; a table selector, selecting a table from the buffer status report table and the at least one extended buffer status report table”). Claim 10 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 9 and claim 2. Claim 18 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 17 and claim 2. Claim 3: XU teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second indication is carried by a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling ( Fig. 6, 7, 8, 9, [0059], “the table selector 106 in the terminal may notify the base station of the selected table by … the MAC signaling as an indication signaling, i.e., notify the base station that the received index corresponds to the information on which one of the BSR table and the extended buffer status table”, [0066], “an additional byte may be added into the MAC signaling, and the table selector 106 uses the LCID and at least certain bits of this additional byte in the MAC signaling to notify the base station that the terminal selects which table for each logic channel group” ). Claim 11 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 9 and claim 3. Claim 19 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 17 and claim 3. Claim 4: XU teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the MAC CE signaling includes an information of a number of logical channels ( alternative ) or the BSR ( Fig. 6, 7,8,9, [0071], “the LCID value in the range between 01011 and 11001 are the reserved LCD, thus the table selector 106 may use the last two bits of the four LCID value 10000, 10001, 10010 and 10011 and the first two reserved bits RR in the sub-header to indicate that the table selected by the terminal for each logic channel group is which one”. [0075], “the table selector 106 may use the new LCID value to indicate that the BSR used by the terminal is the long BSR and not all the BSRs use the BSR table, and use the table number bit in the additional byte in FIG. 9 (a) to further indicate that the BSRs of the four logic channel groups in this long BSR are respectively from which table” ). Claim 12 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 9 and claim 4. Claim 20 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 17 and claim 4. Claim 5: XU teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the table is the first table, wherein the table includes N total number of entries where N is an integer and is power of 2 ( Fig.10, 11, 12, 13, disclose the table index from 0 to 63, wherein total number of entries is 64 = 2 6 ). Claim 13 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 9 and claim 5. Claim 6: XU teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the maximum data amount of a M-th entry of a third table is that of an i-th entry of the first table, wherein 0< i <M, wherein M <N,and wherein M and i are integers ( Fig. 11, 12, wherein Index 52 of Fig.11 table is remapping to 0-5 of Fig. 12 table with small interval, wherein the index of Fig. 12 table is reading as i, and the index of Fig. 11 is reading as M ). Claim 14 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 13 and claim 6. Claim 7: XU teaches the method of claim 5, wherein a ratio of data amount in two nearby entries, a former data amount divided by a later data amount, from a U-th entry to a (U+Q-1)-th entry of the first table is larger than S and less than R, wherein S is less than 0.7 or 0.9, and R is less than 1, and where N-M < Q < N, i < U < N, and U is an integer ( Fig. 12, disclose the ratio of min amount of Index 0 to min amount of Index 1 is 0.967, the ratio of max amount of Index 0 to max amount of Index 1 is 0.967, wherein S value is reading with 0.8999, and R value is reading with .9999 ). Claim 15 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 13 and claim 7. Claim 8: XU teaches the method of claim 5, wherein a granularity from a U-th entry to a (U+Q-1)- th entry of the first table is finer than a W-th entry to a (W+T-1)-th entry of the third table, wherein W and T are integers, and 0 < W < N-T, T <N ( Fig. 11, Fig. 12, Index 52-53 of Fig.11 table is remapping to 0-10 of Fig. 12 table with small intervals, wherein index of Fig. 12 table is reading as i, and wherein Fig. 11 table is reading as third table, Fig. 12 table is reading as first table, wherein W is reading with 52, and T is reading with 2, (W+T-1) is reading as 53 ). Claim 16 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 13 and claim 8 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form. The closest prior art reference is Takeda et al. (US 20180139020 A1, hereinafter Takeda), which describes a system for a generating a BSR MAC CE with a given index corresponding to a buffer size . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YONGHONG ZHAO whose telephone number is (571)272-4089. The examiner can normally be reached Monday -Friday 9:00 am - 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, NICHOLAS JENSEN can be reached on (571) 270-5443. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472 /NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/661,358 Page 2 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/661,358 Page 3 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/661,358 Page 4 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/661,358 Page 5 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/661,358 Page 6 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/661,358 Page 7 Art Unit: 2472