DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/1/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a third bearing bore” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “disposed over”. It is unclear what this limitation means. It is on top of or anywhere above the first contact surface? The specification seems to show that it is making contact or “disposed on” the first contact surface.
All dependent claims of above-mentioned claims inherit all of the limitations of the above-mentioned claims. Thus, the claims are likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Heise (US 4699050).
Regarding claim 1, Heise discloses a bearing block assembly for supporting a calender roll, comprising: a housing (5) comprising a preload access port (6. where 7 is located), a base surface (surface of 5 shown below), and a first side (left of midplane) and a second side (right of midplane) separated by a midplane (shown below) perpendicular to the base surface, wherein a first contact surface (shown below) extends from the base surface at a first angle (0 degree angle) and is located in the first side, and a second contact surface (shown below) extends from the base surface at a second angle (0 degree angle) and is located in the second side; a first bearing block (4b) disposed within the housing and comprising a first bearing block surface (surface of 4b over 5) and a first bearing bore (where 13a passes), wherein the first bearing block surface is disposed over the first contact surface; a second bearing block (4a) disposed within the housing and comprising a second bearing block surface (surface of 4a over 5) and a second bearing bore (where 13a passes), wherein the second bearing block surface is disposed over the second contact surface; and a third bearing block (4. in Fig. 3-4) disposed within the housing and comprising a preload surface (surface of 4 that faces 7) and a third bearing bore (where 13a passes), wherein the preload surface is positioned between the preload access port (6 where 7 is located) and the base surface (shown below).
Regarding claim 2, Heise discloses the bearing block assembly of claim 1, wherein the housing further comprises the first contact surface and the second contact surface. (see above)
Regarding claim 4, Heise discloses the bearing block assembly of claim 1, wherein each of the first angle and the second angle are congruent angles. (both 0 degrees)
Regarding claim 5, Heise discloses the bearing block assembly of claim 1, further comprising a preload force applicator. (7)
Regarding claim 6, Heise discloses the bearing block assembly of claim 5, wherein the preload force applicator contacts the preload surface. (7 contacts 6)
Regarding claim 12, Heise discloses a system for supporting a calender roll (title), the system comprising: the bearing block assembly of claim 1; and a calender roll (13) comprising a first journal (13a, one journal of 13 shown in Fig. 2) disposed within the first, second and third bearing bores.
Regarding claim 13, Heise discloses the system of claim 12, further comprising an additional bearing block assembly (examiner notes that bearing block assembly is on both sides of the roll) comprising an additional bearing bore, wherein the calender roll further comprises a second journal (13a, one journal of 13 shown in Fig. 2) disposed within the additional bearing bore.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art discloses or render obvious claim 3 or 7. Therefore, claims 3, 7-11 are indicated allowable.
Conclusion
/BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3725