DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a first action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a 35 USC 111(a) filing that claims benefit under 35 USC 120 as a continuation of US application No. 17/675,252 filed on 15 Mar. 2022, which is a continuation of US application No. 16/424,366 filed on 28 May 2019 (now US 11,279,691 ), which is a continuation of 16/001,883 filed on 6 Jun. 2018, which is a continuation of 14/770,759 filed on 26 Aug. 2015, which is 35 USC 371 National Stage filing of international application No. PCT/US2014/021426 filed on 6 Mar. 2014 and claims benefit under 35 USC 119(e) to US provisional application No. 61/786,288 filed on 14 Mar. 2013.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3 Jul. 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 25 Jun. 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 25 Jun. 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of 5-[[5-(3-chlorophenyl)-6-methoxypyridin-3-yl]methyl]pyrimidin-2-amine, claims 11-12, 14, and 16 in the reply filed on 25 Jun. 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10, 13, 15, and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 25 Jun. 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2009/0324569 A1; published 31 Dec. 2009; see IDS filed on 3 Jul. 2025).
Singh et al. teach biaryl PDE4 inhibitors for treating inflammatory, cardiovascular and CNS disorders (see title). Singh et al. teach that the compounds of the present invention are non-competitive inhibitors of cAMP while being gene-specific inhibitors (PDE4D) and a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect to compounds to be useful as anti-inflammatory agents for the treatment, amelioration or prevention of inflammatory diseases and useful as CNS agents for amelioration of the cognitive decline in AD, PD, the treatment of schizophrenia and depression, and neuroprotective in HD. Singh et al. teach the compound P-395
(pgs. 24, 33, 213) belonging to activity class A, <5 µM. Singh et al. teach compound P-379
(pg. 24, 34, 196) belonging to activity class A, < 5 µM. Singh et al. teach compound P-252
(pgs 23, 24, 221) belonging to activity class A, < 5 µM. Singh et al. disclose P-550
(pgs. 22, 35, 39, 105) belonging to activity class A, < 5 µM). (Compound P-550 reads on a compound of Formula (I)
wherein R1=H; Y=-C(Ra)2-, Ra=H; R2=Ph-NH(CO)NH2; R3=3-Ph-Cl; and R4= Me (C1alkyl).)
Singh et al. teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient ([0052]).
Singh et al. do not teach 5-[[5-(3-chlorophenyl)-6-methoxypyridin-3-yl]methyl]pyrimidin-2-amine.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the compound of Singh et al. (P-550 and pharmaceutical compositions thereof comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient) by substituting the C-F with =N- and by substituting the phenyl urea with pyrimindin-2-amine to arrive at 5-[[5-(3-chlorophenyl)-6-methoxypyridin-3-yl]methyl]pyrimidin-2-amine as taught by Singh et al. because the substituting would have been expected to provide an equivalent PDE4 inhibitor advantageously belonging to the same activity class and advantageously being useful as an anti-inflammatory agent and being useful as a CNS agent for amelioration of the cognitive decline in AD, and PD and neuroprotective in HD.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-12, 14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,040,692 B2, in view of Singh et al. (US 2009/0324569 A1; published 31 Dec. 2009; see IDS filed on 3 Jul. 2025).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,040,692 B2 claims the compound
. (This reads on the elected species and a compound of instant formula I wherein Z=CH; R1=H; R2=pyrimidin-2-amine (six-membered monocyclic heteroaromatic containing 2 nitrogens substituted with -N(Rb)2, Rb=H); R3=Ph substituted with Cl; and R4=Me.)
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,040,692 B2 do not claim a pharmaceutical composition of the above compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Singh et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,040,692 B2 to include a pharmaceutical composition comprising the above compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient as taught by Singh et al. because the pharmaceutically composition would have been expected to enable administration of the compound for the treatment of PDE4 associated disease.
Claims 11-12, 14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,573,937 B2, in view of Singh et al. (US 2009/0324569 A1; published 31 Dec. 2009; see IDS filed on 3 Jul. 2025).
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,573,937 B2 claim
and pharmaceutical compositions comprising an effective amount of at least one chemical entity of claim 1.
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,573,937 B2 do not claim a compound of formula I wherein Z= CH or the elected compound 5-[[5-(3-chlorophenyl)-6-methoxypyridin-3-yl]methyl]pyrimidin-2-amine.
Singh et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,573,937 B2 by substituting the pyrazin-2-yl N to arrive at 5-[[5-(3-chlorophenyl)-6-methoxypyridin-3-yl]methyl]pyrimidin-2-amine optionally together with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient as taught by Singh et al. because the substituting would have been expected to provide an functionally equivalent compound suitable for inhibiting disorders mediated by PDE4.
Claims 11-12, 14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 9,120,770 B2, in view of Singh et al. (US 2009/0324569 A1; published 31 Dec. 2009; see IDS filed on 3 Jul. 2025).
Claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 9,120,770 B2 claim 5-[[5-(3-chlorophenyl)-6-methoxypyridin-3-yl]methyl]pyrimidin-2-amine
. (This reads on the elected species and a compound of instant formula I wherein Z=CH; R1=H; R2=pyrimidin-2-amine (six-membered monocyclic heteroaromatic containing 2 nitrogens substituted with -N(Rb)2, Rb=H); R3=Ph substituted with Cl; and R4=Me.)
Claim 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 9,120,770 B2 do not claim a pharmaceutical composition of the compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Singh et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,040,692 B2 to include a pharmaceutical composition comprising the above compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient as taught by Singh et al. because the pharmaceutically composition would have been expected to enable administration of the compound for the treatment of PDE4 associated diseases.
Claims 11-12, 14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,279,691 B2.
Claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,279,691 B2 claim 5-[[5-(3-chlorophenyl)-6-methoxypyridin-3-yl]methyl]pyrimidin-2-amine
and claim a pharmaceutical composition comprising an effective amount of the compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. (This reads on the elected species and a compound of instant formula I in claim 11 wherein Z=CH; R1=H; R2=pyrimidin-2-amine (six-membered monocyclic heteroaromatic containing 2 nitrogens substituted with -N(Rb)2, Rb=H); R3=Ph substituted with Cl; and R4=Me. In addition, this reads on a pharmaceutical composition comprising an effective amount of the compound of claim 11 and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.)
Conclusion
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618