DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 10, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to due to poor translation of the following terminologies:
“A first principal”, first appeared in claim 1, line 11
“a second principal…”, first appeared in claim 1, line 12
The term is understood as “surface” and will be interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ara et al (KR20150046533A; hereafter “Ara”).
Regarding claim 19, Ara teaches a method for manufacturing a battery comprising:
Forming a side surface of the power generation element including a plurality of unit cells which are laminated (electrode assembly is formed such that the electrode plate laminated on the layer where the sealing portions of the upper pouch and lower pouch are located has the largest size, [0049]).
A first inclined surface connecting to a first principal of the power generation element (the outer material often has a portion between the upper and lower flat portions and the sealing portions formed in a slightly inclined shape rather than perpendicular to the ground, [0054]).
Forming in the side surface of the power generation element, a second inclined surface connecting to a second principal opposite to the first principal (an inclined portion such as part marked F may be formed near the four outer peripheries, [0073]).
Wherein the first inclined surfaces form an obtuse angle with the first principal (Part F, Fig. 1b).
The second inclined surface forms an obtuse angle with the second principal (an inclined portion such as part marked F may be formed near the four outer peripheries, [0073]).
At least one of the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface is provided across two or more of the plurality of unit cells (the electrode assembly may have a shape corresponding to the inclined shape in the F portion
of the pouch outer material, [0054]).
Fig. 1a Battery Design Taught by Ara (Pg. 13)
Fig. 1b Battery Design Taught by Ara (Pg. 13)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5-8, 10-12, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ara et al (KR20150046533A; hereafter “Ara”) in view of Hayashi et al (US9190652B2, hereafter “Hayashi”) as evidenced by IMEC (“Battery Day 2020: Shifting Gears to Solid-State Battery Technology, NPL).
Regarding claim 1, Ara teaches a battery comprising:
A power generation element including a plurality of unit cells which are laminated (electrode plates e1 to e10 may be configured such that one or more positive and one or more negative plates are combined, in which an anode plate, a separator, a cathode plate, and a separator are sequentially stacked, [0056])
Each of the plurality of unit cells includes an electrode layer, a counter electrode layer (anode plate, a separator, a cathode plate, and a separator are sequentially stacked, [0056])
An electrolyte layer arranged between the electrode layer and the counter electrode layer (Part 10, Fig. 2)
A first principal (Fig. 2)
A second principal opposite to the first principal (Fig. 2)
A side surface connecting the first principal and the second principal (Fig. 2)
The side surface includes:
A first inclined surface that connects to the first principal and forms an obtuse angle with the first principal (Fig. 2), and
A second inclined surface that connects to the second principal and forms an obtuse angle with the second principal (Fig. 2), and
At least one of the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface is provided across two or more of the plurality of unit cells (Fig. 2)
Ara does not explicitly teach that the electrolyte is solid electrolyte.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches a layered solid-state battery
comprising a solid electrolyte layer between positive and negative electrode layer (Col.1, Line 43-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the battery design of Ara with the solid electrolyte of Hayashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because solid electrolyte allows for the integration of different active materials (such as lithium metal anode) and cell architectures (such as bipolar arrangements), making for a higher energy density at cell and/or battery pack level, as evidenced by IMEC (Pg.3, Para. 2).
Fig.2 Battery Design Taught by Ara with Unit Cells (Pg. 12)
Regarding claim 2, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above. Ara-Hayashi further teaches the side surface includes a surface perpendicular to the first principal (Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 4, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above. Ara-Hayashi further teaches the shape of the power generation element in a section perpendicular to the first principal, the second principal, and the side surface is a hexagon (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above. Ara-Hayashi further teaches the first principal, and the second principal are polygonal in plan view (Fig. 3).
Fig.3 Battery with Casing taught by Ara (Pg. 12)
The inclined surfaces are provided along two or more sides of the first principal or the second principal (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above. Ara-Hayashi further teaches at least one of the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface is provided along the entire circumference of the first principal or the second principal (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above. Ara-Hayashi further teaches that the battery further comprises an extraction terminal provided for the first principal or the second principal (the uppermost electrode tab (110) for the uppermost electroplate that comprises the first principle, or the lowermost electrode tab for the lowermost electroplate that comprises the second principle, Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 8, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above.
Ara teaches part of the insulating member coats the side surface (The pouch outer material is configured to include an aluminum film to protect internal components, these aluminum thin films are interposed between insulating layers form of insulating material to ensure electrical insulation between components inside the secondary battery, [0012]).
Ara does not explicitly teach the insulating member disposed of on the side surface of the power generation element.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches an embodiment of a battery where the protective elements 6 are disposed of on the side surface of the electrode layer (Fig. 1). The protective layer 6 is constituted of a material that does not have electron conductivity (Col.9, Line 10-11).
Fig. 4 Laminated Unit Cells with Insulators and Current Collectors taught by Hayashi (Pg. 8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date, to combine the teaching of Ara and Hayashi through the addition of this protective insulative layer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination so that short circuit by contact of the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer on the side surface does not happen (Col. 9, Line 6-9).
Regarding claim 10, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above.
Ara-Hayashi further teaches the insulating member has a coating thickness smaller than or equal to the thickness of the power generation element (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Ara-Hayashi Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above.
Ara-Hayashi further teaches a part of the insulating member is positioned outside a thickness range of the power generation element (The pouch outer material is configured to include an aluminum film to protect internal components, these aluminum thin films are interposed between insulating layers form of insulating material to ensure electrical insulation between components inside the secondary battery, [0012] and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above.
Ara-Hayashi teaches that outer pouch material 20 which encompass the power generation components, and consequently the first and second principal, comprises insulating material ([0012]). The electrode assembly and an electrolyte are accommodated in the internal space formed by the upper and lower pouch [0011]. Therefore, the insulating material coats the first principal and the second principal (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above.
Hayashi further teaches that the layered solid-state battery where the plurality of unit cells is connected in parallel (Col.2, Line 30-32).
Regarding claim 15, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above.
Ara did not disclose the electrode and counter electrode insulating member covering the electrode layer of each of the plurality of unit cells in the side surface.
In the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches an electrode insulating member and counter electrode insulating member covering the electrode and counter electrode layers of each of the plurality of unit cells in the first region of the side surface (the protective elements 6 are disposed of on the side surface of the electrode layer (Fig. 4). The protective layer 6 is constituted of a material that does not have electron conductivity (Col.9, Line 10-11)).
Hayashi further discloses:
A counter electrode extraction part that covers the electrode insulating members and is electrically coupled to the counter electrode layer of each of the plurality of unit cells (Fig. 4).
An electrode extraction part that covers the counter electrode insulating member and is electrically coupled to the electrode layer of each of the plurality of unit cells (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the collection layers taught by Hayashi into the battery design of Ara-Hayashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to obtain thinner battery. A thinner battery may be used for parallel connection as taught by Hayashi (Col.2, Line 30-32).
Regarding claim 16, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above.
Ara-Hayashi discloses that the battery comprises:
A flexible container (electrode assembly is embedded in a pouch of aluminum laminate sheet, [0005]).
An electrode and counter electrode current collector terminal electrically coupled to the electrode layer of each of the plurality of unit cells (Fig. 4).
The power generation element is sealed within the flexible container (upper pouch and lower pouch have a sealing portion formed on their outer surface to seal the internal space, [0011])
Additionally, Ara teaches the electrode current collector terminals (electrode tab (110) which connects to electrode lead (120), Fig. 1) extends out of the flexible container (parts of the positive leads and negative leads are exposed to the outside of the pouch to provide electrode terminals so they can be electrically connected to external components, [0009]).
Regarding claim 17, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above.
Ara-Hayashi teaches the battery comprises flexible container (electrode assembly is embedded in a pouch of aluminum laminate sheet, [0005]) wherein the power generation element is sealed within the flexible container (upper pouch and lower pouch have a sealing portion formed on their outer surface to seal the internal space, [0011])
Regarding claim 18, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above.
Ara teaches that the flexible container is a moisture-proof laminated bag (the electrode assembly is embedded in a pouch of aluminum laminate sheet, the electrolyte is injected while the electrode assembly is housed in an outer casing, and the outer casing is sealed [0005]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the machine translation of Ara et al (KR20150046533A; hereafter “Ara”) in view of Hayashi et al (US9190652B2, hereafter “Hayashi”) as evidenced by IMEC (“Battery Day 2020: Shifting Gears to Solid-State Battery Technology, NPL).
Regarding claim 20, Ara teaches a battery comprising:
A power generation element including a plurality of unit cells which are laminated (electrode plates e1 to e10 may be configured such that one or more positive and one or more negative plates are combined, in which an anode plate, a separator, a cathode plate, and a separator are sequentially stacked, [0056]).
A circuit pattern layer laid on the power generation element (battery pack may include various protection devices... such as a Battery Management Systems, [0076]).
Each of the plurality of unit cells includes an electrode layer, a counter electrode layer (anode plate, a separator, a cathode plate, and a separator are sequentially stacked, [0056]).
An electrolyte layer arranged between the electrode layer and the counter electrode layer (Fig. 2).
A first principal (Fig. 2).
A second principal opposite to the first principal (Fig. 2).
A side surface connecting the first principal and the second principal (Fig. 2).
The side surface includes:
A first inclined surface that connects to the first principal and forms an obtuse angle with the first principal (Fig. 2), and
A second inclined surface that connects to the second principal and forms an obtuse angle with the second principal (Fig. 2), and
At least one of the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface is provided across two or more of the plurality of unit cells (Fig. 2).
Ara does not explicitly teach that the electrolyte is solid electrolyte.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches a layered solid-state battery
comprising a solid electrolyte layer between positive and negative electrode layer (Col.1, Line 43-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date, to substitute the electrolyte taught by Ara with the solid electrolyte of Hayashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because solid electrolyte allows for the integration of different active materials (such as lithium metal anode) and cell architectures (such as bipolar arrangements), making for a higher energy density at cell and/or battery pack level, as evidenced by IMEC (Pg.3, Para. 2).
Claim(s) 1, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al (US 20130295436 A1; hereafter “Kwon”) in view of Hayashi et al (US9190652B2, hereafter “Hayashi”) as evidenced by IMEC (“Battery Day 2020: Shifting Gears to Solid-State Battery Technology, NPL).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon teaches an electrode assembly mounted in a battery case of a secondary battery (Abstract). It comprises
A power generation element including a plurality of unit cells which are laminated (Fig. 5)
Each of the plurality of unit cells includes an electrode layer, a counter electrode layer, and a solid electrolyte layer arranged between the electrode layer and the counter electrode layer.
Fig. 5 Battery Design Taught by Kwon (Pg. 7)
The power generation element includes:
A first principal (Fig. 5)
A second principal opposite to the first principal (Fig. 5)
A side surface connecting the first principal and the second principal (Fig. 5)
The side surface includes:
A first inclined surface that connects to the first principal and forms and obtuse angle with the second principal (Fig. 5), and
A second inclined surface that connects to the second principal and forms an obtuse angle with the second principal (Fig. 5)
At least one of the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface is provided across two or more of the plurality of unit cells (Fig. 5).
Kwon does not explicitly teach that the electrolyte is solid electrolyte.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches a layered solid-state battery
comprising a solid electrolyte layer between positive and negative electrode layer (Col.1, Line 43-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date, to combine the battery design taught by Kwon with the solid electrolyte of Hayashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because solid electrolyte allows for the integration of different active materials (such as lithium metal anode) and cell architectures (such as bipolar arrangements), making for a higher energy density at cell and/or battery pack level, as evidenced by IMEC (Pg.3, Para. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above.
Kwon further discloses that the side surface is an octagon (the electrode assembly may be formed in the shape of a symmetric frustrum of an octagonal pyramid [0043]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the machine translation of Ara et al (KR20150046533A; hereafter “Ara”) and Hayashi et al (US9190652B2, hereafter “Hayashi”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Feng et al (CN102903948A; hereafter “Feng”) as evidenced by Lithium Hub (“Batteries in Series Vs. Parallel – Which is Better?” NPL).
Regarding claim 13, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above.
Ara-Hayashi does not explicitly teach that the plurality of unit cells is electrically coupled in series.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Feng teaches a battery module comprising several individual batteries capable of being connected in series or in parallel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the battery of Ara-Hayashi with the teaching of Feng to create a battery comprising plurality of unit cells that are electrically coupled in series.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because connecting batteries or unit cells in series increases voltage, as evidenced by Lithium Hub (Pg. 6, Para. 2)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ara et al (KR20150046533A; hereafter “Ara”) and Hayashi et al (US9190652B2, hereafter “Hayashi”) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of EPEC (“Battery Potting & Encapsulation”, NPL).
Regarding claim 9, Ara-Hayashi teaches all the limitations as described above.
Ara-Hayashi does not explicitly teach that the insulating member contains resin.
However, in the same field of endeavor, EPEC teaches the use of resin material in battery pack design for the purposes of encapsulation (Para.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the battery design of Ara-Hayashi with the resin material taught by EPEC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because of the benefits of resin material in battery, one of which is to protect components from the exposure to chemicals, moisture, mechanical shock or vibration (Para.4). Furthermore, potting compounds are also used to aid with electrical insulation, flame retardancy, and heat dissipation (Para.7).
Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THINH GIA HOANG whose telephone number is (571)270-0275. The examiner can normally be reached 0730-1700.
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725