ELECTORLYTE FOR RECHARGEABLE LITHIUM BATTERY AND RECHARGEABLE LITHIUM BATTERY INCLUDING THE SAME
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/661,487 Art Unit: 1727 August 17, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on May 10, 2024 has been received. Claims 1-13 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites an intended use for an electrolyte. The courts have held that “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation"). See MPEP 2111.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Won et al. (KR 20140089450 A; as found in IDS dated 01/07/2025 and using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claims 1-4 and 10-13, Won discloses a rechargeable lithium battery, comprising: a positive electrode and negative electrode and an electrolyte, the electrolyte comprising: a non-aqueous organic solvent such as ethylene carbonate; a lithium salt; 3,4-epoxycyclohexylmethyl-3',4'-epoxycyclohexane carboxylate (first additive); and succinonitrile (second additive) in an amount of 0.5-5 wt% (paragraphs [0001, pg. 7, 1st-4th paragraphs, 0039).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won et al. (KR 20140089450 A; as found in IDS dated 01/07/2025 and using machine translation for citation purposes) in view of Sekiya et al. (US 2016/0351900 A1).
As to Claims 5-7, Won does not specifically disclose the claimed compound.However, Sekiya teaches of a nonaqueous electrolyte comprising a nitrile compound such as succinonitrile or butyronitrile (reads on the claimed compounds of Formula 2; 2-1; and 2-1-1) (paragraph [0101]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrolyte of Won to comprise butyronitrile, either in combination or in replacement of succinonitrile, because Sekiya teaches that the charge/discharge characteristics of the battery can be improved (paragraph [0100]).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won et al. (KR 20140089450 A; as found in IDS dated 01/07/2025 and using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claims 8-9, Won teaches wherein the amount of the epoxy compound is 1-40 wt% which overlaps with the claimed ranges and ratio (paragraph [0033]). In addition, Won recognizes that the amount of the epoxy compound is a result-effective variable that is optimized to form a gel network with sufficient mechanical strength without degrading the performance of the battery (paragraph [0033]). The courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), see MPEP 2144.05, I. In addition, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), see MPEP 2144.05, II, A. Furthermore, the courts have held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding. However, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), see MPEP 2144.05, II, B. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amounts of first and second additive in the electrolyte of Won to read on the claims because Won teaches that it is possible to form a gel network with sufficient mechanical strength without degrading the performance of the battery and improve the battery’s lifespan and properties (paragraphs [0033 and 0039]).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727