Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 11/11/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202111335028.7 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received 05/10/2024 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 14, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 102164576 B1, citations from enclosed machine translation) hereinafter referred to as KO and further in view of Li et al. (CN 208062199 U, citations from enclosed machine translation) hereinafter referred to as LI.
Regarding Claim 1, KO teaches A cell winding process in which two or more unit cells are wound on a separating film (p. 9, [0014], lines 22-24), comprising: a rolling-up step in which starting ends of a separator layer 193 (Fig. 4; p. 38, [0067], lines 2-4), a cathode electrode plate 192 (Fig. 4; p. 38, [0067], lines 2-4), and an anode electrode plate 191 (Fig. 4; p. 38, [0067], lines 2-4) are fixed to a winding device configured to wind a cell a first unit cell located at the winding start portion (p. 11, [0017], lines 1-2), and the separator layer is placed between the cathode electrode plate and the anode electrode plate 101 (Fig. 4; p. 38, [0067], lines 2-4) a heating step the process is performed by a heating die (p. 21, [0040], lines 31-32), in which a heating portion is arranged on the winding device a heating die, 180, is configured to be adjustable for the electrode plate and separator excess portion overlaps and is heated (Fig. 8; p. 42, [0076], lines 25-27), and the heating portion heats heated regions on two surfaces of the separator layer where the separating film, 300, and excess portion, 194 which are two surfaces (Fig. 9; p. 42, [0076], lines 28-29) that are respectively attached to the cathode electrode plate and the anode electrode plate Figs. 8 & 12, 194, is attached to both electrode plates and 300 is attached to each plate in an alternating manner for a bicell (p. 47, [0084], lines 1-2).
KO does not teach the winding is performed by a needle. Rather, KO teaches a conventional mandrel, 10, that utilizes grippers to secure the unit cell and perform the winding process (Fig. 1; p. 6, [0080]). KO further teaches that modifying the structure of the mandrel to fix the unit cell during the winding process said process can become complex due to the tolerances imposed by the new structures of the mandrel (pgs. 7-8, [0010]).
LI does teach the limitations and a winding step in which a winding needle is arranged on the winding device a winding structure includes a core of a separator, positive and negative electrode sheets are wound around an elliptical winding needle (Fig. 1; p. 7, [0011]), and the heated where a heating mechanism is installed inside the winding needle (p. 8, [0012], lines 10-13) separator layer a separator (p. 7, [0011], line 31), the cathode electrode plate positive electrode (p. 7, [0011], line 31), and the anode electrode plate negative electrode (p. 7, [0011], line 32) are wound by means of the winding needle are wound around an elliptical winding needle (Fig. 1; p. 7, [0011], line 32). LI further teaches that the winding process causes tension in the mechanical direction (MD) of the cell and when the winding is completed, the separator will shrink and the length of the electrode sheet will change affecting the performance of the resulting battery (pgs. 3-4, [0004]).
Further, both KO and LI are considered analogous in the art as they both inventions directed towards a battery that is formed by heating and winding a positive, negative and separator layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art given the complications that arise from modifying the conventional mandrel of KO for the cell winding process to substitute the winding needle of LI that is equipped with a heating device inside the winding unit (LI; p.8, [0012], lines 11-12) to both of heat and wind a cell for the production of a battery. A simple substitution of the winding needle for a winding mandrel would be seen as obvious to a skilled artisan as both elements serve the same purpose in the invention and the drawbacks of modifying the structure of the mandrel are avoided.
Regarding Claim 2, modified KO teaches the cell winding process according to claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein in the heating step, is parallel to a winding direction the heating die, 180, is parallel to the winding mandrel and anode, separator, and cathode layers in the direction of conveyance (Fig. 8) and the width of the heated region ranges from 2 mm to 4 mm the portion of the separator that is heat-pressed can have a width of 0.2 to 3 mm (pg. 23, [0044], lines 26-27).
KO does not explicitly teach each heated region is located on a side edge of the separator layer but does teach that the heating die is configured to adjust its position to correspond to the structure of the separator and electrode plate ends (pg. 42, [0044], lines 25-27). A skilled artisan would find it obvious to adjust the heating of the die to encompass the side edges as the structure of the separator and plate ends would require.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the heating die as taught by KO to heat the side edges of the plate as the structure would necessitate. Further the width of the heated edge would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to achieve through routine optimization given the need to adjust the heating die.
Regarding Claim 5, KO modified by LI teaches the cell winding process according to claim 1 (see rejection above).
LI further teaches after the winding step: a pre-pressing step in which a cell is obtained after the winding step is completed subsequent hot pressing processes after winding (p. 17, [0027], lines 2-3), the winding needle is pulled out from the cell the combination of coiled needles make it convenient to remove after winding (p. 10, [0015], lines 17-18), and a pressure is applied for pre-pressing to shape and bind the electrode plates of the cell the cell is formed by winding the sheet multiple times and subsequent hot pressing and shaping process requires sufficient temperature for adhesion between the components (p. 5, [0006], lines 21-25). Additionally, LI teaches the use of a winding needle would have the additional benefit of forming a pre-expansion space by inserting and removing said needle buffers and suppresses expansion of the electrode during the winding cycle (p. 12, [0018], lines 17-20).
As stated previously, the substitution of LI’s winding needle for KO’s winding mandrel would be obvious to a skilled artisan to implement and the benefit of protecting the cell from the forces of the winding process to improve the product quality would be a well-known incentive.
Regarding Claim 8, modified KO teaches the cell winding process according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection).
KO further teaches A cell winding device configured to perform the cell winding process where the mandrel, heating die and battery components are shown (Figs. 1-12) wherein the heating portion is arranged on the winding device a heating die, 180, (Fig. 8; p. 42, [0076], lines 25-27), to heat the heated regions on the two surfaces of the separator layer where the separating film, 300, and excess portion, 194 which are two surfaces (Fig. 9; p. 42, [0076], lines 28-29) that are respectively attached to the cathode electrode plate and the anode electrode plate Figs. 8 & 12, 194 is attached to both electrode plates and 300 is attached to each plate in an alternating manner for a bicell (p. 47, [0084], lines 1-2).
A skilled artisan before the filing date of the invention would find it obvious to have a device for winding a cell with LI’s winding needle in substitution of KO’s mandrel in the disclosed figures of the device to wind a battery.
Regarding Claim 9, modified KO teaches the cell winding device according to claim 8 (see above rejection).
KO further teaches wherein the heating portion is located at an edge of the separator layer parallel to a winding direction heating die, 180 parallel at an edge of the separator and electrode (Fig. 8), and has a heating width ranging from 2 mm to 4 mm the portion of the separator that is heat-pressed can have a width of 0.2 to 3 mm (pg. 23, [0044], lines 26-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the width of the heated edge to achieve through routine optimization given the need to adjust the heating die of the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 14, modified KO teaches by means of the cell winding process according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection).
KO further teaches a cell prepared as an electrode assembly manufactured by the method for manufacturing the electrode assembly (p. 24, [0045], lines 10-11).
Regarding Claim 15, modified KO teaches the cell according to claim 14 (see above).
KO further teaches a battery as a secondary battery (p. 24, [0045]), comprising a housing battery case (p. 24, [0045]), wherein the cell is arranged in the housing where the electrode assembly and an electrolyte are sealed inside a battery case together (p. 24, [0045]).
A person skilled in the art would recognize that a battery case is an analogous structure to a housing.
Regarding Claim 16, modified KO teaches the battery according to claim 15 (see above).
KO further teaches a power consuming device wherein the device may be a notebook, tablet PC, mobile phone, power tool, electric vehicle or power storage system among others (p. 34, [0061]), and comprising a power consuming body as a battery pack comprising the secondary battery as a unit cell and the power consuming device (p. 24, [0045], lines 22-23).
Further, both KO and LI are considered analogous in the art as they both inventions directed towards a battery that is formed by heating and winding a positive, negative and separator layer and heat pressed and sealed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the winding needle of LI that is equipped with a heating device inside the winding unit (LI; p.8, [0012], lines 11-12) to both of heat and wind a cell for the production of a battery. A simple substitution of the winding needle for a winding mandrel would be seen as obvious to a skilled artisan as both elements serve the same purpose in the invention. Further the winding device of KO is disclosed in Figures 1-3 would allow a skilled artisan to utilize a cell that is wound to produce a battery, power consuming device and power consuming body.
Claims 3, 6, 7, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO modified by LI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (CN 109424556 A, citations from enclosed machine translation) hereinafter referred to as JIANG.
Regarding Claim 3, modified KO teaches the cell winding process according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). KO does teach the heating die, 180, is parallel to the winding mandrel and the anode, separator, and cathode layers in the direction of conveyance (KO; Fig. 8).
KO modified by LI does not teach wherein in the heating step, each heated region is located on a side edge of the separator layer parallel to a winding direction the length of the heated region is at least three turns. KO however teaches that the excess portion of the separator on an edge can be fused or adhered to the separator film (Fig. 8; p. 23, [0044], lines 29-29) and the coating length of the separation film increases during sequential stacking process by winding (p. 48, [0087], lines 21-22). A skilled artisan would find it obvious to try rearranging the heating edge of the heated portion to properly adhere the separator edge of the cell to maintain the structure of the cell.
Jiang does teach the wound cells that have been heated and further heat pressed into a cell as shown in the annotated Figure 3 below. Where the layers of the spacer, 501, show 3 total rotations of the winding device. Jiang teaches that an artisan can pre-wrap, 501, half a turn to ensure that the layer does not loosen if one wants to avoid the “heat melting step” (p.37, [0067], lines 058-059).
Examiner annotated figure illustrating the 3 full rotations of the 3 electrode assembly layers
Further JIANG and modified KO are considered analogous in the art as JIANG is also directed towards a wound battery cell that requires fusion of the separator and positive and negative layers to be fused together by heat (p.37, [0067], line 055) in order to keep the appropriate amount of force on the assembly during the winding process by a winding needle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the heated portion of the separator of modified KO is on both edges of the heated region as the adjustment of the heating die is already taught by KO. Further a skilled artisan would find it obvious to determine the minimum number of turns required through routine experimentation to ensure that the separator does not loosen during the winding process or after as taught by JIANG.
Regarding Claim 6, modified KO teaches the cell winding process according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection).
KO modified by LI does not teach multiple rollers to convey the separator layer to the winding device.
JIANG does teach wherein the winding device comprises a plurality of winding rollers as shown conveying the separator from a first transfer unit, 500, to a needle winding mechanism, 700 (Fig. 1; p. 24, [0051], lines 761-762) configured to convey the separator layer 501 (Fig. 1; p. 24, [0051]), and all the winding rollers are arranged spaced apart from each other in a conveying direction of the separator layer the winding rollers are shown as directing the separator, positive, and negative electrode layers from their respective transfer units to the needle winding mechanism (Fig. 1; p. 24, [0051]).
JIANG and modified KO are considered analogous in the art as JIANG is also directed towards a wound battery cell that requires fusion of the separator and positive and negative electrode layers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the transfer of the separator layer from a storage unit of JIANG to the winding mechanism of KO modified by LI to continuously feed the layers required for an electrode assembly. A transfer mechanism via winding rollers is a known technique and a skilled artisan would find it obvious to implement it to maintain the appropriate tension on the separator layer it is fed to the winding device and makes the process continuous.
Regarding Claim 7, modified KO teaches the cell winding process according to claim 6 (see above).
KO modified by LI does not teach wherein in the heating step, the heating portion is arranged on one of the plurality of winding rollers that is close to the winding needle. KO does teach the heating die is configured to adjust its position to correspond to the structure of the separator and electrode plate ends (pg. 42, [0044], lines 25-27).
JIANG in the same endeavor of invention does teach a heating roller, 103, on the transmission path of the layers to the winding device (Fig. 2; p. 25, [0052], lines 783-786). A skilled artisan would find it obvious to implement the heating device on a winding roller as the change in position would be obvious to try.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a skilled artisan would find it obvious to not only implement the winding rollers of JIANG to the winding device of modified KO, but to also adjust the location and position of the heating die to determine the best location for adhering the separator and cell before final assembly.
Regarding Claim 10, modified KO teaches the cell winding device according to claim 8 (see claim 8 rejection) wherein the heating portion is located at an edge of the separator layer parallel to a winding direction the heating die, 180, is parallel to the winding mandrel and anode, separator, and cathode layers in the direction of conveyance (KO; Fig. 8) and the width of the heated region ranges from 2 mm to 4 mm the portion of the separator that is heat-pressed can have a width of 0.2 to 3 mm (pg. 23, [0044], lines 26-27).
KO modified by LI does not teach has a heating length of at least three turns. KO however teaches the coating length of the separation film increases during sequential stacking process by winding (p. 48, [0087], lines 21-22).
In the same field of endeavor, Jiang does teach the wound cells that have been heated and further heat pressed into a cell as shown in the annotated Figure 3 above. Where the layers of the spacer, 501, show 3 total rotations of the winding device. Jiang teaches that an artisan can pre-wrap, 501, half a turn to ensure that the layer does not loosen if one wants to avoid the “heat melting step” (p.37, [0067], lines 058-059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimum amount of turns through routine experimentation to ensure that the separator does not loosen during the winding process as taught by JIANG.
Regarding Claim 12, modified KO teaches the cell winding device according to claim 8 (see claim 8 rejection).
KO modified by LI does not teach any winding rollers of conveyance of transfer for the separator layer.
JIANG, in the same field of invention of winding a cell does teach wherein the winding device comprises a plurality of winding rollers as shown conveying the separator from a first transfer unit, 500, to a needle winding mechanism, 700 (Fig. 1; p. 24, [0051], lines 761-762) configured to convey the separator layer 501 (Fig. 1; p. 24, [0051]), and all the winding rollers are arranged spaced apart from each other in a conveying direction of the separator layer the winding rollers are shown as directing the separator, positive, and negative electrode layers from their respective transfer units to the needle winding mechanism (Fig. 1; p. 24, [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the transfer of the separator layer from a storage unit of JIANG to the winding mechanism of KO modified by LI to continuously feed the layers required for an electrode assembly. A transfer mechanism via winding rollers is a known technique and a skilled artisan would find it obvious to implement it to maintain the appropriate tension on the separator layer it is fed to the winding device and makes the process continuous.
Regarding Claim 13, modified KO teaches the cell winding device according to claim 12 (see claim 12 rejection)
KO modified by LI does not teach wherein in the heating step, the heating portion is arranged on one of the plurality of winding rollers that is close to the winding needle. KO does teach the heating die is configured to adjust its position to correspond to the structure of the separator and electrode plate ends (pg. 42, [0044], lines 25-27).
JIANG in the same endeavor of invention does teach a heating roller, 103, on the transmission path of the layers to the winding device (Fig. 2; p. 25, [0052], lines 783-786). A skilled artisan would find it obvious to implement the heating device on a winding roller as the change in position would be obvious to try.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a skilled artisan would find it obvious to not only implement the winding rollers of JIANG to the winding device of modified KO, but to also adjust the location and position of the heating die to determine the best location for adhering the separator and cell before final assembly.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO modified by LI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ozeki (CN 110556492 A, citations from enclosed machine translation) hereinafter referred to as OZEKI.
Regarding Claim 4, modified KO teaches the cell winding process according to claim 1.
KO does not teach a heating temperature or range thereof.
LI does teach that the heating of the electrode sheets before winding can fully release the stress on them before winding (p. 5, [0006], lines 9-12) and the temperature heating of the separator layer from a heating element disposed in the winding needle is maintained at 70 - 90 °C (p.8, [0012], lines 9-13).
OZEKI does teach wherein in the heating step, a heating temperature of the heating portion ranges from 90°C to 130°C from the viewpoint of further reducing the difference in elongation, the heating temperature is more preferably 120° C or higher and 130° C or lower (p.62, [0105], lines 1-2). OZEKI further teaches that in preparing a separator membrane for a battery by keeping the membrane above 116° C and below 130° C the separator can be fully shrunk, reducing the strain on the layer and effects on the physical properties of the spacer can be avoided, respectively (p. 61, [0105], lines 23-28).
OZEKI is considered analogous in the art to modified KO as OZEKI is directed to the preparation of a spacer that is integral to the construction of the cells taught by both KO and LI.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to apply the known heating parameters taught by OZEKI to a separator and apply that to the separator layer and electrode plates taught by KO modified by LI. As modified KO teaches that adjusting the heating die it would be obvious to further adjust the temperature as well as the position of the die depending on the structure of the cell and LI teaches a minimum temperature range when the heating unit is disposed inside the winding needle it would be obvious to find the claimed range through routine experimentation to minimize stress on the cell and ensure sufficient temperature to adhere the cell.
Regarding Claim 11, modified KO teaches the cell winding device according to claim 8.
KO does not teach a heating temperature or range thereof.
LI does teach that the heating of the electrode sheets before winding can fully release the stress on them before winding (p. 5, [0006], lines 9-12) and the temperature heating of the separator layer from a heating element disposed in the winding needle is maintained at 70 - 90 °C (p.8, [0012], lines 9-13).
OZEKI does teach wherein in the heating step, a heating temperature of the heating portion ranges from 90°C to 130°C from the viewpoint of further reducing the difference in elongation, the heating temperature is more preferably 120° C or higher and 130° C or lower (p.62, [0105], lines 1-2). OZEKI further teaches that in preparing a separator membrane for a battery by keeping the membrane above 116° C and below 130° C the separator can be fully shrunk, reducing the strain on the layer and effects on the physical properties of the spacer can be avoided, respectively (p. 61, [0105], lines 23-28).
OZEKI is considered analogous in the art to modified KO as OZEKI is directed to the preparation of a spacer that is integral to the construction of the cells taught by both KO and LI.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to apply the known heating parameters taught by OZEKI to a separator and apply that to the separator layer and electrode plates taught by KO modified by LI. As modified KO teaches that adjusting the heating die it would be obvious to further adjust the temperature as well as the position of the die depending on the structure of the cell and LI teaches a minimum temperature range when the heating unit is disposed inside the winding needle it would be obvious to find the claimed range through routine experimentation to minimize stress on the cell and ensure sufficient temperature to adhere the cell.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yang et al. CN.
/WAYNE WALTER VIGIL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1748 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748