DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirose Korea Co LTD (KR 10-2022-0048770). Regarding Claim 1, Hirose Korea discloses an electrical connector (20) coupled with a mating connector (not shown), comprising: a housing (housing of 400) comprising a base (lower part of 400), a first wall (walls of 400, as shown below) protruding from an upper surface (Fig. 4) of the base, a second wall (walls of 400, as shown below) protruding from the upper surface of the base and intersecting the first wall, a third wall (walls of 400, as shown below) protruding from the upper surface of the base, intersecting the second wall, and facing the first wall, a fourth wall (walls of 400, as shown below) protruding from the upper surface of the base, intersecting the first and third walls, and facing the second wall, and a skirt (see labeled figure below) protruding outwards from the first and third walls in a transverse direction of the electrical connector; and a plurality of first signal terminals (600A) and a plurality of second signal terminals (600B) formed at least on the first wall and arranged in a longitudinal direction of the electrical connector, wherein the first signal terminal comprises a first bent portion (600A-2), a first elongated portion (600A-4), and a first tail (600A-1), the second signal terminal comprises a second bent portion (600B-2), a second elongated portion (600B-4), and a second tail (600B-1), the first tail and the second tail are disposed on the skirt, and a lowermost surface (Fig. 4) of the first tail is higher than a lowermost surface (Fig. 4) of the second tail in a height direction of the electrical connector.
Regarding Claim 2, Hirose Korea discloses the first tail not mounted on a substrate (Fig. 4) and the second tail being mounted on the substrate.
Regarding Claim 6, Hirose Korea discloses the skirt comprising a second groove (Fig. 5) formed under the first tail such that a lower surface (Fig. 5) of the first tail is at least partially exposed through the second groove in bottom view.
Regarding Claim 7, Hirose Korea discloses the second groove having a rectangular shape (Fig. 4) in side view.
Regarding Claim 8, Hirose Korea discloses the first elongated portion and the second elongated portion serving as contacts (Fig. 4) with a signal terminal (not shown) of the mating connector.
Regarding Claim 9, Hirose Korea discloses the first signal terminal and the second signal terminal being arranged alternately (Fig. 2) in the longitudinal direction of the electrical connector.
Regarding Claim 10, Hirose Korea discloses the first signal terminal further comprising a third elongated portion (600A-4) and a third tail (600A-1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The references fail to teach, disclose, or suggest, either alone or in combination, regarding Claim 3, the second tail protruding farther than the first tail in the transverse direction of the electrical connector; regarding Claim 4, the skirt comprising a first groove formed above the first tail, and the first groove has a cut-out such that an upper surface of the first tail is partially exposed through the cut-out of the first groove in top view and in combination with the rest of the limitations of the base and intermediate claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses connectors, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having housings and first and second signal terminal with different height tails.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831