DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(1) because they are unclear/poor quality with low resolution and ambiguous lines. Additionally, the drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character “90” in Figs. 2- 6 but is not mentioned in the description. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: typographical errors.
Claims 1 and 19 recite “abutting against the barrel of the syringe; and when the…” Claim 19 additionally recites “for placing the syringe; and the pushing…” Examiner recommends adding a new line for each additional limitation listed after “; and”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites “a pump body” on line 4 rendering the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether it is referring to the same pump body introduced in the first limitation on line 2. Examiner recommends amending claim to recite “the pump body”. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first driving mechanism… for driving the…” in claims 1 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (CN 105343968 A, herein, Wei).
Regarding claim 1, Wei discloses A syringe fixation device for fixing in place a syringe placed in a pump body, the syringe fixation device comprising:
a cylindrical body (see annotated Fig.8) connected to the pump body and slidable relative to the pump body, an inner wall of the cylindrical body being provided with a limiting portion (sleeve 41 of dial 4 – Fig.6) (“the sleeve 41 is sleeved on the guide rod 22 and axially slidably engaged with the guide rod 22”);
a fixing block (clamping head 21- Fig.1) connected to a first end of the cylindrical body away from the pump body and abutting against a barrel of the syringe (“a side of the clamping head 21 facing the face shell 11 is convexly provided with a splint 215 for holding the flange on the syringe barrel”), a first accommodating cavity (recess 217- Figs.15-16) in communication with the cylindrical body and being provided in the fixing block, said first accommodating cavity having an opening (blind hole 212 – Fig.15) facing the syringe;
a brake member ("the syringe pump further includes a brake assembly (not labeled) for braking the core rod of the syringe ") located in the first accommodating cavity and having a braking portion (brake pad 71 – Fig.15) opposite to the opening (“brake pad 71 is convexly disposed opposite to the blind hole 212”);
a transmission rod (guide rod 22 - Fig8) slidably arranged in the cylindrical body, a first end of the transmission rod extending into the first accommodating cavity and being connected to the brake member (“a guiding rod is disposed in the first guiding hole, and one end of the guiding rod is fixedly connected with the clamping head”);
an elastic compression member (third elastic member 72 – Fig.15) located in the first accommodating cavity and the cylindrical body, which are in communication with each other, a first end of the elastic compression member abutting against the limiting portion, and a second end of the elastic compression member abutting against the brake member (“one end of the third elastic member 72 embedded in the blind hole 212 and the other end abutting against the stopper piece 711”, Fig.16); and
a first driving mechanism (operating rod 232 – Fig.7) connected to a second end of the transmission rod for driving the transmission rod to slide relative to the cylindrical body (“The guide rod 22 is connected to the operating rod 232 via the connecting rod 25, and the linear motion of the guiding rod 22 can be easily transmitted to the operating rod 232”);
wherein, when the syringe fixation device is in a first fixing state, the first driving mechanism is configured to drive the transmission rod to slide the brake member toward the syringe, the brake member is configured to compress the elastic compression member, the elastic compression member is configured to bias, by the limiting portion, the cylindrical body and the fixing block to slide toward the syringe with the fixing block abutting against the barrel of the syringe (“the syringe pump further includes a brake assembly for braking a core rod of the syringe, the brake assembly including a brake pad, the clamping head being provided with an axial passage along the guide rod a slot in which the brake pad is slidably fitted, the brake pad exposing a side of the clamping head facing the face shell to abut against a core of the syringe”); and
when the syringe fixation device is in a second fixing state, the first driving mechanism is configured to continue to drive the transmission rod to slide the brake member toward the syringe, the braking portion of the brake member thereby extending from the opening to abut against a plunger of the syringe (“after the syringe is clamped, the brake pad 71 can be reset in time by the third elastic member 72, so as to avoid Affect the normal advancement of the mandrel. Specifically, the third elastic member 72 is a compression spring, and the arrangement of the blind holes 212 can well position the third elastic member 72 to prevent the third elastic member 72 from being displaced from the normal position”).
Regarding claim 5, Wei discloses the syringe fixation device according to claim 1, recited above,
wherein the brake member further comprises a connecting portion (see annotated Fig.17), a first end of the connecting portion is connected to the first end of the transmission rod (guide rod 22 – Fig.17), a second end of the connecting portion is connected to the braking portion, and the connecting portion abuts against the fixing block (under broadest reasonable interpretation, examiner interprets the connecting portion, braking portion and fixing block in contact when fully assembled, see Fig.15).
Regarding claim 6, Wei discloses the syringe fixation device according to claim 5, as recited above,
wherein the connecting portion is arc-shaped (see annotated Fig.17) and is bent toward a side away from the pump body (under broadest reasonable interpretation, the transmission rod connects the fixing block on one end and pump body on the other and since the connecting portion is within the fixing block, examiner interpret it to be away from the pump body).
Regarding claim 7, Wei discloses the syringe fixation device according to claim 1, as recited above, wherein
the fixing block (clamping head 21 – Fig.16) comprises a first fixing portion (clamping seat 213 – Fig.16) and a second fixing portion (cover body 214 – Fig.16), which are connected to each other (“the clamping head 21 includes a clamping seat 213 and a cover body 214 which is closed on the clamping seat 213”),
the first fixing portion is connected to an end of the cylindrical body facing away from the pump body (under broadest reasonable interpretation, the transmission rod connects the fixing block on one end and pump body on the other and since the fixing portions are within the fixing block, examiner interpret it to be away from the pump body,
a first accommodating groove (see annotated Fig.15) is provided on a side of the first fixing portion facing away from the cylindrical body,
the opening is provided at a bottom of the first accommodating groove (“the clamping seat 213 is provided with a blind hole 212”);
the second fixing portion is located on the side of the first fixing portion facing away from the cylindrical body,
a second accommodating groove (see annotated Fig.15) is provided on a side of the second fixing portion facing the first fixing portion, and
the second accommodating groove and the first accommodating groove enclose the first accommodating cavity (“a cover body 214 which is closed on the clamping seat 213”, see annotated Fig.15).
Regarding claim 8, Wei discloses the syringe fixation device according to claim 7, as recited above, wherein
the first fixing portion comprises a first fixing sub-portion (face of clamping seat 213 – Fig.16) and a second fixing sub-portion (edge of 213 – Fig.16) that are arranged in a radial direction of the cylindrical body and are connected to each other (Fig.13);
a part of the second fixing sub-portion (edge of 213 – Fig.13) protrudes from an end surface of the first fixing sub-portion (face of 213 – Fig.13) facing the pump body (Fig.13),
the first fixing sub-portion and the part of the second fixing sub-portion protrude from the first fixing sub-portion and form a press-connecting groove configured to be engaged with a flange of the barrel (“the clamping head 21 facing the face shell 11 is convexly provided with a splint 215 for holding the flange on the syringe barrel. The slot 211 is formed on the clamping plate 215 and divides the clamping plate 215 into two spaced apart wings 216”, see Fig.15); and
the opening is provided in the second fixing sub-portion and is located on a side of the press-connecting groove facing away from the pump body (“clamping seat 213 is provided with a blind hole 212”, see Fig.16).
Regarding claim 9, Wei discloses the syringe fixation device according to claim 1, recited above, further comprising
a guide ring (first guide hole 111 – Fig.6), wherein the guide ring is mounted in a connecting through hole of the pump body (shell 11 – Fig.6),
a guide groove (key groove 112 – Fig.6) provided on an inner side of the guide ring, said cylindrical body being inserted into the guide ring (“the inner wall surface of the first guide hole 111 has a key groove 112 adapted to the convex key 222”), and
a guide protrusion (convex key 222) provided on an outer side of the cylindrical body close to a second end thereof, said guide protrusion being slidably arranged in the guide groove (“the convex key 222 is slidably engaged with the key groove 112”).
Regarding claim 16, Wei discloses the syringe fixation device according to claim 1, recited above, wherein
the cylindrical body (see annotated Fig.8) comprises a first cylindrical body (see annotated Fig.8) and a second cylindrical body (see annotated Fig.8), said first cylindrical body being slidable relative to the pump body (“a dial member 4 between the stopper member 123 and the face shell 11, and the dial member 4 and the guide rod 22 are axially slidable”, see Fig.8);
a first end of the second cylindrical body is sleeved on a first end of the first cylindrical body away from the pump body, and is fixedly connected to the first cylindrical body for the transmission rod to pass through (“the dialing member 4 includes a sleeve 41 and a lever 42 disposed on an outer circumferential surface of the sleeve 41. The sleeve 41 is sleeved on the guide rod 22 and axially slidably engaged with the guide rod 22”);
the first end of the first cylindrical body is the limiting portion (sleeve 41 – Fig.8), and
a second end of the second cylindrical body is connected to the fixing block (clamping head 21 – Fig.8).
Regarding claim 18, Wei discloses a syringe fixation device according to claim 1, recited above, further comprising
an in-place sensor provided to detect and to issue a control signal when the syringe is mounted in place and a driving mechanism may be activated (“the first sensor 23 generates a corresponding potential signal. The guide rod 22 is connected to the operating rod 232 via the connecting rod 25, and the linear motion of the guiding rod 22 can be easily transmitted to the operating rod 232”).
Regarding claim 19, Wei discloses A syringe pump (Fig.1), comprising:
a pump body (shell 11 – Fig.1),
a pushing device (baffle 12 – Fig.4), and
a syringe fixation device (Fig.1) for fixing into place a syringe (“for clamping the syringe”) placed in a pump body (11 – Fig.1), said syringe fixation device having:
a cylindrical body (see annotated Fig.8) connected to the pump body and slidable relative to the pump body, an inner wall of the cylindrical body being provided with a limiting portion (sleeve 41 of dial 4 – Fig.6) (“the sleeve 41 is sleeved on the guide rod 22 and axially slidably engaged with the guide rod 22”);
a fixing block (clamping head 21- Fig.1) connected to a first end of the cylindrical body away from the pump body and abutting against a barrel of the syringe (“a side of the clamping head 21 facing the face shell 11 is convexly provided with a splint 215 for holding the flange on the syringe barrel”), a first accommodating cavity (recess 217- Figs.15-16) in communication with the cylindrical body and being provided in the fixing block, said first accommodating cavity having an opening (blind hole 212 – Fig.15) facing the syringe;
a brake member ("the syringe pump further includes a brake assembly (not labeled) for braking the core rod of the syringe ") located in the first accommodating cavity and having a braking portion (brake pad 71 – Fig.15) opposite to the opening (“brake pad 71 is convexly disposed opposite to the blind hole 212”);
a transmission rod (guide rod 22 - Fig8) slidably arranged in the cylindrical body, a first end of the transmission rod extending into the first accommodating cavity and being connected to the brake member (“a guiding rod is disposed in the first guiding hole, and one end of the guiding rod is fixedly connected with the clamping head”);
an elastic compression member (third elastic member 72 – Fig.15) located in the first accommodating cavity and the cylindrical body, which are in communication with each other, a first end of the elastic compression member abutting against the limiting portion, and a second end of the elastic compression member abutting against the brake member (“one end of the third elastic member 72 embedded in the blind hole 212 and the other end abutting against the stopper piece 711”, Fig.16); and
a first driving mechanism (operating rod 232 – Fig.7) connected to a second end of the transmission rod for driving the transmission rod to slide relative to the cylindrical body (“The guide rod 22 is connected to the operating rod 232 via the connecting rod 25, and the linear motion of the guiding rod 22 can be easily transmitted to the operating rod 232”);
wherein, when the syringe fixation device is in a first fixing state, the first driving mechanism is configured to drive the transmission rod to slide the brake member toward the syringe, the brake member is configured to compress the elastic compression member, the elastic compression member is configured to bias, by the limiting portion, the cylindrical body and the fixing block to slide toward the syringe with the fixing block abutting against the barrel of the syringe (“the syringe pump further includes a brake assembly for braking a core rod of the syringe, the brake assembly including a brake pad, the clamping head being provided with an axial passage along the guide rod a slot in which the brake pad is slidably fitted, the brake pad exposing a side of the clamping head facing the face shell to abut against a core of the syringe”); and
when the syringe fixation device is in a second fixing state, the first driving mechanism is configured to continue to drive the transmission rod to slide the brake member toward the syringe, the braking portion of the brake member thereby extending from the opening to abut against a plunger of the syringe (“after the syringe is clamped, the brake pad 71 can be reset in time by the third elastic member 72, so as to avoid Affect the normal advancement of the mandrel. Specifically, the third elastic member 72 is a compression spring, and the arrangement of the blind holes 212 can well position the third elastic member 72 to prevent the third elastic member 72 from being displaced from the normal position”);
wherein:
the pump body has a second accommodating space (cylinder 5, partition 12 – Fig.4) for placing the syringe; and the pushing device is connected to the pump body and is configured to be engaged with a plunger of the syringe so as to drive the plunger to slide relative to a barrel of the syringe (“the cylinder 5 is used to provide a accommodating space for the drive assembly that pushes the movement of the plunger of the syringe”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Liu et al. (EP 4059546 A1, herein, Liu).
Regarding claim 2, Wei teaches the syringe fixation device according to claim 1, as recited above.
Wei does not appear to expressly teach wherein
the transmission rod is provided with a transmission thread on an outer side of the transmission rod close to the second end thereof; and
the first driving mechanism comprises a driving motor and a transmission nut,
the driving motor is mounted on the pump body,
an output shaft of the driving motor is connected to the transmission nut so as to drive the transmission nut to rotate, and
the transmission nut is sleeved on the transmission thread.
However, Liu teaches wherein
the transmission rod (screw rod 141 – Fig.4) is provided with a transmission thread (under broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner interprets a screw rod as a metal bar with continuous helical threading hence teaching that the transmission rod is threaded) on an outer side of the transmission rod close to the second end thereof; and
the first driving mechanism (drive mechanism 15 – Fig.3) comprises a driving motor (“the drive mechanism 15 may be a motor with a drive function”, see para [0034]) and a transmission nut (screw nut 142 – Fig.4),
the driving motor is mounted on the pump body (“the pump body device 10 includes a base body 11… a transmission assembly 14 and a drive mechanism 15”, see para [0012]),
an output shaft (output shaft 151 – Fig.16) of the driving motor is connected to the transmission nut so as to drive the transmission nut to rotate (“though driving of the drive mechanism 15, the rotary motion of the screw rod 141 can be converted into the linear motion of the screw nut 142”, see para [0035]), and
the transmission nut is sleeved on the transmission thread (“a screw nut 142 which is threaded with the screw rod 141”, see para [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the transmission rod as disclosed by Wei in view of Wei to include a transmission nut and output shaft as taught by Liu in order to “to provide an injection pump with a relatively compact structure” (Liu, see para [0004]).
Regarding claim 3, Wei teaches the syringe fixation device according to claim 2, as recited above.
Wei does not appear to expressly teach wherein the first driving mechanism further comprises a transmission assembly, the transmission assembly being connected to the driving motor and the transmission nut.
Liu teaches wherein the first driving mechanism (driving mechanism 15 – Fig.2) further comprises a transmission assembly (transmission assembly 14 – Fig.2), the transmission assembly being connected to the driving motor and the transmission nut (“the transmission assembly 14 of this embodiment also includes a screw nut 142 which is threaded with the screw rod 141… though driving of the drive mechanism 15, the rotary motion of the screw rod 141 can be converted into the linear motion”, see para [0035], Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first driving mechanism as disclosed by Wei in view of Wei to include a transmission assembly as taught by Liu in order to “to provide an injection pump with a relatively compact structure” (Liu, see para [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Wei teaches the syringe fixation device according to claim 3, as recited above.
Wei does not appear to expressly teach wherein
the transmission nut is connected to the pump body and is rotatable about an axis of the transmission nut,
transmission teeth are provided on an outer side of the transmission nut; and
the transmission assembly comprises at least one transmission gear,
the transmission gear is sleeved on the output shaft of the driving motor and meshes with the transmission teeth.
Liu teaches wherein
the transmission nut (screw nut 142 – Fig.2) is connected to the pump body and is rotatable about an axis of the transmission nut,
transmission teeth are provided on an outer side of the transmission nut (“the screw nut 142 has a spiral tooth 142a”, see para [0035]); and
the transmission assembly (transmission assembly 14 – Fig.2) comprises at least one transmission gear (“the transmission assembly 14 of this embodiment also includes a gear mechanism 143”, see para [0062]),
the transmission gear is sleeved on the output shaft (output shaft 151 – Fig.16) of the driving motor and meshes with the transmission teeth (“The output shaft of the drive mechanism 15 is in drive connection with the primary gear 1432'”, see para [0063], Fig.12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the syringe fixation device as disclosed by Wei in view of Wei to include a transmission teeth, nut and gear as taught by Liu in order to “ensure that the torque output of the drive mechanism is amplified, but also ensure that the rotation speed of the screw rod meets the requirements” (Liu, see para [0064]).
Regarding claim 17, Wei teaches the syringe fixation device according to claim 1, recited above.
Wei does not appear to expressly teach the syringe fixation device further comprising
a pushing member provided to apply pressure to the plunger, said pushing member being actuated by a pump via a pushing rod;
a pressure sensor in contact with an end portion of the plunger and being provided to measure a pressure value between the pushing member and thereby determine a pressure-dependent state of the plunger.
Lui teaches a syringe fixation device further comprising
a pushing member (push-pull box assembly 20 – Fig.12) provided to apply pressure to the plunger, said pushing member being actuated by a pump via a pushing rod (connection shaft 13 – Fig.12);
a pressure sensor in contact with an end portion of the plunger and being provided to measure a pressure value between the pushing member and thereby determine a pressure-dependent state of the plunger (“the pressure sensor assembly 27, which is arranged inside the box 21m can detect the pressure inside the barrel of the syringe 200 and transmit the detection signal to the main board 80”, see para [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the syringe fixation device to further comprise a pressure sensor as taught by Liu in order to “effectively improving the structural compactness of the internal parts of the push-pull box assembly 20 and reducing the overall volume of the push-pull box assembly 20” (Liu, see para [0067]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 10-15 in this application have been indicated as allowable subject matter because the prior art of record fails to disclose or make obvious the claimed invention including the following features:
“wherein the guide groove comprises a linear groove section and a spiral groove section that are connected to each other, wherein
an extension direction of the linear groove section is parallel to an axis of the guide ring, the linear groove section has a guide inlet formed at the second end of the cylindrical body,
the spiral groove section is closer to the fixing block than the linear groove section, and
an extension direction of the spiral groove section surrounds the axis of the guide ring”.
“wherein a mounting groove is provided in a side surface of the cylindrical body close to the second end thereof and has a mounting opening formed at the second end of the cylindrical body;
the second end of the cylindrical body is provided with a connecting cylinder, said connecting cylinder having a smaller radius than the cylindrical body;
the syringe fixation device further includes a first mounting frame, the first mounting frame comprising a first mounting ring and a first connecting arm, said first mounting ring being sleeved on the connecting cylinder;
the first connecting arm is arranged in an axial direction of the first mounting ring and is connected to the first mounting ring, and the first connecting arm is mounted in the mounting groove; and
the guide protrusion is provided on a side of the first connecting arm facing away from the mounting groove”.
Claims 12-15 are allowable by virtue of dependency on claim 11.
The combination of the claimed limitations are novel and found to be allowable over the prior art. The cited references taken singly or in combination do not anticipate or make obvious the Applicant' s claimed invention.
Conclusion
/T.M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783