DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruno (FR 2,416,668) in view of Foster (US 2,241,879).
Bruno discloses a positioning double-layer comb, comprising an upper comb body (1); a lower comb body (6), a pair of plug-in sockets (4a) provided on the upper comb body, wherein each of the plug-in sockets is provided therein with a plug-in hole (F); and a pair of plug-in connectors (M) provided on the lower comb body, wherein each of the plug-in connectors is provided thereon with a plug-in strip (7b), and the plug-in strip is matched with a respective plug-in hole (see Figure 1). Bruno discloses the claimed invention except for a height of the upper comb body is greater than a height of the lower comb body. Foster teaches a double comb body having a height of the upper comb body (12) is greater than a height of the lower comb body (10) (see Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the upper comb body of Bruno be of a greater height than the lower comb body as taught by Foster to allow for versatility in hair care and styling allowing a single tool to perform multiple functions for various hair types and desired results.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 5, Bruno further discloses: Claim 2, a docking slot (4b) is further provided on each of the plug-in sockets, each of the plug-in holes (F) is located in a respective docking slot, and a size of the docking slot is matched with a size of the plug-in connector (M) (see Figure 1).
Claim 3, at least one pair of connection members (8), wherein one end of each connection member is provided with a connection plug-in strip, and the other end of each connection body is provided with a connection slot (see Figure 4), the connection slot is provided therein with a connection receptacle; the connection plug-in strip is matched with the plug-in hole, and the connection receptacle is matched with the plug-in strip (see Figures 2-4).
Claim 5, wherein an end of the upper comb body is provided with a handle (2) (see Figure 1).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruno (FR 2,416,668) in view of Foster (US 2,241,879) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5 above, and further in view of Davis (US 4,867,184).
The combination of Bruno and Foster disclose the claimed invention except for the upper comb body and the lower comb body each being arch-shaped. Davis teaches a hair trimming comb body having a body that is arch-shaped (see Figures 3a, and 7a-9c). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the combs of the combination of Bruno and Foster be arch shaped as taught by Davis to allow for the ability to follow the natural contour of the head, which provides ergonomic benefits, enhances styling efficiency, and improves scalp comfort.
Conclusion
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
11/5/2025