DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 9/20/25, the following has occurred: Claims 11-21 have been cancelled; and new Claims 22-31 have been added.
Claims 22-31 are pending. Claims 22-31 are not examined in this office action. This communication is a Non-Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 9/20/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 217562689 (“CN ’689”) in view of CN 113013526 (“CN ’526”).
As to Claim 22: CN ’689 discloses a battery cover comprising: a cover body defining a mounting opening, and an explosion-proof valve mounted in the mounting opening (Figs. 1–3; [0037], [0046]); the mounting opening is provided with a step, and the explosion-proof valve is arranged on the step ( [0046]); at least one bursting line is arranged on a surface of the explosion-proof valve ( [0039]); and a plastic sealing structure is injection molded between the explosion-proof valve and the cover body ([0040]–[0043]).
However, CN ’689 does not explicitly disclose that the explosion-proof valve comprises a first injection molding surface located on an outer side of the bursting line, and a second injection molding surface provided in the mounting opening, the second injection molding surface having a section coplanar with the first injection molding surface and another section intersecting with an end surface of the cover body; nor does CN ’689 disclose that a plastic layer is injection molded on the first and second injection molding surfaces, the plastic layer having an end surface coplanar with the end surface of the cover body.
In the same field of endeavor, CN ’526 teaches a battery cover in which an insulating member is disposed on the inner circumferential surface of a through hole, and at least one end of the insulating member extends radially outward to cover the outer surface of the cover plate ([0012], [0073]–[0076]); the upper end of the insulating member extends outward to cover the outer surface of the cover plate, thereby forming a section intersecting with the end surface of the cover plate ([0092]); and the cover plate, base, and insulating member can be integrally formed by injection molding ([0095]–[0096]). CN ’526 thus teaches coplanar and intersecting molding surfaces, as well as molded plastic elements flush with the cover plate surfaces.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the valve/cover interface of CN ’689 to incorporate the coplanar and intersecting injection molding surfaces of CN ’526, and to configure the molded plastic layer flush with the end surface of the cover body, in order to achieve the predictable benefits of improved sealing performance, coplanarity, and assembly reliability, as taught by CN ’526 (KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
As to Claim 23: CN ’689 discloses a battery cover comprising a cover body defining a mounting opening, an explosion-proof valve arranged on a step in the mounting opening, at least one bursting line on the valve, and a plastic sealing structure injection molded between the valve and the cover body (Figs. 5–8; [0007], [0037]–[0040], [0046]).
However, CN ’689 does not explicitly disclose that the second injection molding surface has a section connected to the first injection molding surface and another section extending to the end surface of the cover body.
CN ’526 teaches an insulating member disposed on the inner circumferential surface of a through hole, wherein the insulating member extends radially outward to cover the outer surface of the cover plate ([0012], [0073]–[0076]). CN ’526 further teaches that the upper end of the insulating member extends outward to cover the outer surface of the cover plate ([0092]), thereby establishing a continuous molding geometry in which an inner molding section is connected to another section that extends to and intersects with the end surface of the cover plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the valve/cover interface of CN ’689 to adopt the continuous molding geometry of CN ’526, in which the second molding surface is connected to the first molding surface and includes a section extending to the end surface of the cover body, in order to achieve improved sealing integrity, fixation, and coplanarity between the plastic layer, valve, and cover body, as taught by CN ’526 (KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
As to Claim 24:CN ’689 discloses a battery cover in which the explosion-proof valve is supported on a step surface of the cover body (Figs. 5–8; [0013], [0046]), which implies that a side surface of the valve contacts a side surface of the step. CN ’689 further discloses a plastic sealing structure injection molded between the valve and the cover body ([0040]–[0043]).
However, CN ’689 does not explicitly disclose that the plastic layer includes an end surface contacting both the first injection molding surface and the section of the second injection molding surface, nor that the plastic layer has a side surface contacting another section of the second injection molding surface.
CN ’526 teaches that an insulating member is disposed on the inner circumferential surface of a through hole, with its upper end extending radially outward to cover the outer surface of the cover plate ([0073]–[0076], [0092]). CN ’526 further discloses that the cover, base, and insulating member can be integrally formed by injection molding ([0095]–[0096]). This establishes that the molded plastic has both an end surface contacting the inner (first) and outer (second) molding sections, and a side surface contacting the outward extending portion of the second molding surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the injection molding interface of CN ’689 in view of CN ’526 to configure the plastic layer such that it includes an end surface contacting both the first and second molding surfaces and a side surface contacting the outer extending section of the second molding surface, in order to provide enhanced sealing integrity, structural stability, and coplanarity between the valve, plastic, and cover body, as taught by CN ’526 (KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
As to Claim 25: CN ’689 discloses a battery cover including a cover body, an explosion-proof valve supported on a step in the mounting opening, and a plastic sealing structure injection molded between the valve and cover body (Figs. 5–8; [0007], [0037]–[0040], [0046]). CN ’689 further explicitly teaches that the sealing structure may be formed by nano injection molding, wherein micropores (nano-porous structures) are formed on the cover body and the explosion-proof valve by nano processing, and molten plastic forms protrusions embedded in the micropores ([0008], [0041]).
As to Claim 26: CN ’689 discloses a battery cover including a cover body, an explosion-proof valve supported on a step in the mounting opening, and a plastic sealing structure injection molded between the valve and cover body (Figs. 5–8; [0007], [0037]–[0040], [0046]). CN ’689 further explicitly teaches that the sealing structure may be formed by nano injection molding, wherein micropores (nano-porous structures) are formed on both the cover body and the explosion-proof valve by nano processing, and molten plastic forms protrusions embedded in the micropores ([0008], [0041]). This directly corresponds to the claimed limitation in which the first injection molding surface of the explosion-proof valve is provided with nano-porous structures.
As to Claim 27: CN ’689 discloses a battery cover including a cover body defining a through hole with a step surface, an explosion-proof valve arranged on the step, and a plastic sealing structure injection molded between the valve and the cover body (Figs. 5–8; [0013], [0040]–[0043], [0046]). While CN ’689 shows the sealing structure disposed between the valve and the cover body and potentially surrounding portions of the mounting opening, CN ’689 does not explicitly disclose that the plastic layer forms a first inner circumferential surface that is flush with a second inner circumferential surface of the cover body.
CN ’526 teaches that an insulating member is disposed on the inner circumferential surface of a through hole, and that the insulating member can be integrally injection molded so that its inner circumferential surface aligns with the cover plate’s own circumferential surface ([0073]–[0076], [0092], [0095]–[0096]). This establishes that the plastic layer can form a first inner circumferential surface surrounding the mounting opening, while the cover body defines a second inner circumferential surface surrounding another portion of the mounting opening, with the two surfaces flush with each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the plastic sealing structure of CN ’689 in view of CN ’526 to configure the inner circumferential surfaces of the plastic layer and the cover body so that they are flush, in order to improve sealing integrity and ensure a uniform, continuous internal surface of the mounting opening, as taught by CN ’526 (KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
As to Claim 28: CN ’689 discloses that the cover body is made of a plain aluminum sheet ([0039]), and further discloses that the explosion-proof valve is an aluminum sheet structure with stamped notches (id.). These disclosures correspond to both the cover body and the explosion-proof valve being made of aluminum alloy, as industrial battery components described as “aluminum sheet” are understood to be aluminum alloys used for strength and corrosion resistance.
As to Claim 29: CN ’689 discloses a battery cover including a cover body and an explosion-proof valve, wherein the cover body is made of a plain aluminum sheet, and the explosion-proof valve is an aluminum sheet structure with stamped notches ([0039]). This corresponds to the valve being made from aluminum alloy, but CN ’689 does not disclose a stainless-steel cover body.
CN ’526 teaches that in nano-injection molding processes, various metals may be used as substrates for integration with plastic, including magnesium, stainless steel, and titanium ([0041]). Thus, CN ’526 suggests stainless steel as an alternative material for the cover body in a battery cover assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to substitute stainless steel for the aluminum cover body of CN ’689 in view of CN ’526, because stainless steel is explicitly identified as a suitable substrate for plastic-metal nano-injection molding, and such substitution would have predictably improved strength, corrosion resistance, and bonding reliability of the cover body in the battery cover assembly (KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
As to Claim 30: CN ’689 discloses a battery cover including a cover body, an explosion-proof valve, and a plastic sealing structure injection molded between the valve and the cover body (Figs. 5–8; [0007], [0037]–[0040]). CN ’689 further discloses that the explosion-proof valve is an aluminum sheet structure with stamped notches or thinning areas formed on its surface, which rupture when the internal pressure reaches a preset value ([0039]). The stamping of notches corresponds to an indentation that is press-formed into the surface of the valve. These indentations are located on the surface of the valve exposed to internal gas pressure, away from the plastic sealing layer, and they function as bursting lines to allow controlled rupture of the valve under overpressure.
As to Claim 31: CN ’689 discloses a battery cover including a cover body, an explosion-proof valve arranged on a step in the mounting opening, and a plastic sealing structure injection molded between the valve and the cover body (Figs. 5–8; [0007], [0040]–[0043], [0046]). While CN ’689 teaches that plastic sealing structures connect the valve and cover body, CN ’689 does not specify the relative orientation of the injection molding surfaces, and does not disclose a perpendicular relationship between the surfaces.
CN ’526 teaches that an insulating member is disposed on the inner circumferential surface of a through hole and extends radially outward to cover the outer surface of the cover plate ([0073]–[0076], [0092]). This arrangement establishes a geometry where one section of the molding surface is axial (along the inner circumferential wall) and another section is radial (extending outward to the end surface), thereby forming a perpendicular relationship between the inner circumferential molding surface and the outward extending molding surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the valve/cover interface of CN ’689 to adopt the perpendicular injection molding surface geometry of CN ’526, in order to enhance mechanical locking between the plastic layer, the valve, and the cover body, and thereby improve sealing and fixation integrity, as taught by CN ’526 (KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723