DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to applicant’s communication submitted April 8, 2025, wherein claims 18, 26 were preliminarily amended, and claims 1-17 were canceled and claims 38-40 were added.
Claims 18-40 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a CON of 17/084,945 filed 10/30/2020 issued as US Patent 11981712, which is a CON of 15/767,689 filed 04/12/2018 PAT issued as US Patent 10822383 15/767,689 which is a 371 of PCT/US2016/063233 filed 11/22/2016 and claims foreign priority to PCTCN2016085547 filed 06/13/2016 and PCTCN2015095687 filed 11/26/2015.
It is noted that a certified copy of PCTCN2016085547 was found in the parent application file but no certified copy of PCTCN2015095687 has been found in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-23, 36, 38, 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naeye (WO 2010/129839, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 18-23, 36, 38, 40: Naeye teaches a composition for improving the health of a subject comprising an α-(1,2)-branched α-(1,6) oligodextran and between about 10% and 50% alpha-(1,2)-glycosidic side chains (abstract). The alpha-(1,2)-branched alpha-(1,6) oligodextrans have controlled size and controlled degree of branching (pg. 2, lines 20-21). For example, in an embodiment of the present invention the alpha-(1,2)-branched alpha-(1,6) oligodextran has an average molecular weight between about 10 kilodaltons (kDa) and 70 kDa and comprises between about 10% and 50% alpha-(1,2)-osidic (glycosidic) side chains (pg. 2, lines 22-24). Thus, the oligodextran is constituted by alpha-(1,6) oligodextrans that comprises alpha-(1,2)-osidic (glycosidic) side chains (pg. 1 Example 1). Naeye et al. teach an enzyme having alpha-(1,2)-transglucosidase activity (i.e. GBD-CD2) was independent of the degree of polymerization of the product from at least for alpha 1,6 oligodextran with a degree of polymerization (DP) ranging from 60 to 12500 glucosyl (glc) units (pg. 31, table 3). Naeye teaches compositions comprising 62, 250, 347, and 12500 degrees of polymerization wherein the percentage of alpha 1,2 linkages ranges from 11.5% up to 37.9 % (pg. 31, table 6). Naeye et al. teach a composition for improving the health of a subject comprising an alpha (1,2)-branched alpha (1,6) oligodextran (abstract). Naeye teaches the fiber alpha-(1,2)-branched alpha-(1,6) dextran is a fiber source (pg. 16, lines 26-28). Naeye teaches the composition in a solution form (pg. 23, example 2, table 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-25 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naeye (WO 2010/129839, cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 18-23, 36, 38, 40 above.
Regarding claims 24-25: As discussed above, Naeye teaches the composition of claim 18.
Naeye does not teach wherein the alpha-glucan has about 1% to 10% or 3% to 7% alpha branching.
However, Naeye teaches the invention provides a method wherein the degree of branching of the compounds, preferably a branching degree of at least 10% up to 40% (pg. 12, lines 26-27). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)). Naeye teaches that the amount of the synthesized alpha-(1,2) branches, or degree of branching, was found to be dependent on the ratio of sucrose applied in step (2) to alpha-(1,6) oligodextran. Alpha-(1,2)-branched alpha-(1,6) oligodextrans with controlled molecular weight and with controlled degree of branching can be obtained by adjusting the ratio of sucrose used in step (2) to oligodextran (pg. 13, lines 2-9). Naeye establishes that the degree of branching affects the digestibility profile of the glucan (drawings, sheet 6, figures 4A-4B) thereby establishing branching degree as a result effective variable. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (See MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the amount of branching in the alpha glucan to below 10% and within the claimed range as suggested by Naeye. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as Naeye establishes branching affects overall digestibility, in order to control the digestibility of the alpha glucan for nutritional purposes. Regarding claims 37: Naeye further teaches the composition of the invention may be included in nutritional or snack bars (pg. 15, lines 10-21). Thus it would have been obvious to formulate as a nutritional bar as it is encompassed by Naeye for the purposes of providing nutrition.
Claims 26-32, 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naeye (WO 2010/129839, cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 18-25, 36, 37-38, 40 above in view of Flickinger (In Encyclopedia of Industrial Biotechnology, 2010, cited on PTO-892), Jean-Pierre (US 5,518,733, cited on PTO-892), and Umezawa (JP 2000159642, cited on PTO-892, English translation provided by the Examiner).
Regarding claims 26-32, 34-35: As discussed above, Naeye teaches the composition of claim 18.
Naeye does not teach wherein the alpha-glucan is an ether derivative comprising a degree of substitution of 0.05 to about 0.4, wherein the organic group is hydroxyethyl or a quaternary ammonium group. Naeye does not teach wherein the composition comprises a nonionic surfactant or bactericide.
However, Flickinger teaches oligosaccharides (OS) exhibit a broad range of different properties, such as sweetness, bitterness, hygroscopicity, flavor, color and stabilization of active substances including protein (pg. 1, col. 1, para. 1). Such α-gluco-oligosaccharides were initially developed as low calorie bulking agents, to be used in food formulations in complement of intense sweeteners (pgs. 1, col. 2, para. 4). These OS are presently marketed for human nutritional application as food complements, in combination with specific microbial flora and vitamins (pgs. 1, col. 2, para. 4). The prebiotic effect of such α-gluco oligosaccharides has also been demonstrated at the level of skin microbial flora, in which lactic bacteria also play a key protective role (pgs. 1, col. 2, para. 4). This has resulted in the development of dermocosmetic applications for the α-gluco-oligosaccharides (pgs. 1-2, bridging para.).
Jean-Pierre teaches Cosmetic compositions providing a suitable medium for the development of beneficial endogenous flora, and including at least one oligosaccharide selected from the group consisting of gluco-oligosaccharides, fructo-oligosaccharides, O- and 3-galacto-oligosaccharides and mixtures thereof (abstract). Examples of compositions are liquid soap, body lotion, face cream and vaginal gel (abstract). This mixture of glucose oligosaccharides with alpha (1->6) and alpha(1->2) bonds was predominantly made up of oligosaccharides with the degrees of polymerization 3 to 7 (col. 3, lines 53-56). The composition can include ionic surface active agents such as sodium lauryl sulfate, or a non-ionic surface active agent such as an alkyl glucoside or a dialkyl ester (col. 3, lines 21-27).
Umezawa teaches a cleansing composition for hair which forms a stable emulsified dispersion system, and has no dryness on the hair after washing and gives an excellent finished fee (English translation, pg. 1, para. 0001). Umezawa teaches the composition comprises a silicone derivative and a cationic polymer having an alpha-1,6 glucoside bond represented by the following formula
(pg. 1, para. 0007, pg. 2, para. 0012, original translation, pg. 3, middle of page). The R groups are selected from a hydrogen atom, a hydroxy lower alkyl group and a quaternary nitrogen-containing group represented by the following formula (2), and at least one of R is represented by the above formula (2) and is a quaternary nitrogen-containing group
(English translation pg. 3, para. 0013, original document pg. 3, para. 0014). R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a hydroxy lower alkyl group, and R2, R3, and R4 each represent a lower alkyl group (English translation, pg. 2, para. 0014). The hydroxy lower alkyl group as R is a lower alkyl group for example, methyl, ethyl, propyl ((English translation, pg. 2, para. 0016). Umezawa teaches the content of nitrogen in the formula is preferably 0.2 to 4% by weight and it is preferable to adjust the substitution ratio of the quaternary nitrogen containing groups (English translation, pg. 2, para. 0017). Specific examples of such a cationic polymer compound include a cationic dextran or a derivative thereof, and it is possible to use one of these alone or two or more in combination (English translation, pg. 2, para. 0018). Umezawa teaches the hair cleansing composition of the present invention can be prepared as a shampoo, a shampoo having a rinse function, and the like, and the essential components described above are used in order to achieve the intended performance depending on the intended purpose and usage form of the product (English translation, pg. 3, para. 0021). Examples of the optional components include anionic surfactants, amphoteric surfactants, cationic surfactants, surfactants such as nonionic surfactants, thickeners, thickeners, oils other than silicone derivatives, solvents, Antiseptic, antidandruff agent, bactericide, antioxidant, tonic agent, colorant, fragrance, ultraviolet absorber, polymer compound other than the cationic polymer compound (English translation, pg. 3, para. 0021).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the alpha-glucan to be an ether derivative comprising an hydroxyethyl and/or quaternary ammonium group and wherein the composition comprises a surfactant or bactericide as taught/suggested by Flickinger, Jean-Pierre, and Umezawa. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to form a stabilized formulation for shampoo, and nonionic surfactants and bactericides are common additives in shampoo formulations. With respect to the claimed degree of substitution, as discussed above, Umezawa teaches the content of nitrogen in the formula is preferably 0.2 to 4% by weight and it is preferable to adjust the substitution ratio of the quaternary nitrogen containing groups (English translation, pg. 2, para. 0017). Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144.05 (II)). Given that substitution ratio is established in the art as result-effective variable, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize substitution in order to control properties of the glucan.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naeye (WO 2010/129839, cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 18-25, 36, 37-38, 40 above in view of Kanwar (BMC Immunology, 2009, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claim 33: As discussed above, Naeye teaches the composition of claim 18. Naeye teaches the composition are nutritional compositions that may contain a protein source (pg. 17, lines 7-10). Naeye teaches the compositions can be used to treat inflammatory bowel disease (pg. 22, lines 1-5).
Naeye does not teach wherein the composition further comprises a peroxidase.
However, Kanwar teaches Enprocal is a high-protein micro-nutrient rich formulated supplementary food designed to meet the nutritional needs of the frail elderly and be delivered to them in every day foods and is beneficial in reducing the effects of chronic gut inflammatory diseases such as inflammatory diseases (abstract). Kanwar teaches Enprocal includes high levels of proteins including lactoperoxidase (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 1).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a lactoperoxidase (peroxidase) enzyme into the formulation as taught by Kanwar. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as this enzyme is known to be included in nutritional compositions for the purpose of nutrition or treating inflammatory diseases.
Claims 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naeye (WO 2010/129839, cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 18-25, 36-38, 40 above in view of Sedmak (WO 2006/121803, cited on PTO-892) and Ramji (US 2004/0202698, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claim 39: As discussed above, Naeye teaches the composition of claim 18.
Naeye does not teach wherein the composition comprises a film.
However, Sedmak teaches because of their chemical properties, glucans have found a wide variety of uses in the chemical, food and pharmaceutical industries (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). For example, they may be useful as viscosity imparting agents, emulsifiers, fibers, films, coating substances, supports for affinity chromatography and gel electrophoresis, in cell culture media, as filter pads, and in cement (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). They are also widely used as food thickeners and as a source of dietary fiber, and as carriers and coating agents in pharmaceutical products (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). Additionally, Ramji teaches dextran polymers are suitable film forming agents in the preparation of edible films (pg. 6, para. 0062).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to formulate the composition as a film as taught by Sedmak and Ramji. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as glucan polymers are generally known in the art for their film forming properties and are known to be used for this purpose specifically.
Double Patenting
Claims 18-25, 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US 10,822,383 (cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 18-25 and 40 Patented claim 9 of US 10,822,383 are drawn a composition that comprises a glucan composition comprising alpha-1,2 linkages produced by the method of (a) providing at least the following reaction components: water, sucrose, an alpha-glucan substrate, and a polypeptide that is capable of forming at least one alpha-1,2 branch from the alpha-glucan substrate, wherein said polypeptide comprises an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to: (i) the mature form of SEQ ID NO:4, (ii) positions 36 to 1115 of SEQ ID NO:4, or (iii) SEQ ID NO:4; and (b) combining the reaction components under suitable conditions whereby the polypeptide catalyzes the synthesis of alpha-1,2 branches from the alpha-glucan substrate. Patented claims 10-14 teach wherein
. Patented claim 18 teaches wherein the alpha-glucan has a polymerization degree of 8 to 500. Patented claim 22 teaches wherein the alpha glucan comprises 100% alpha-1,6 linkages. Thus the patented claims teach a glucan composition comprising alpha-1,2 linkages anticipate and/or make obvious instant claims 18-25 and 40 drawn to a composition comprising an ether derivative of an alpha- glucan, wherein the alpha-glucan comprises (i) a backbone and (ii) one or more alpha-1,2 linkages that branch from the backbone, wherein 100% of the glycosidic linkages of the backbone are alpha-1,6 linkages, and wherein the alpha-glucan does not contain any glycosidic linkages aside from alpha-1,6 and alpha-1,2 glycosidic linkages and a degree of polymerization of 8 to 500. Although the patented claims do not specify that the composition is in the form of a unit dose, given that the composition claims are directed to formulations, this would be within the technical grasp of the skilled artisan as unit doses are routine practices in the art of pharmaceutical formulations.
Claims 26-32, 34-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US 10,822,383 (cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 18-25, 40 above in view of Sedmak (WO 2006/121803, cited on PTO-892) and Umezawa (JP 2000159642, cited on PTO-892, English translation provided by the Examiner). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 26-32, 34-35: As discussed above the patented claims teach the composition of claim 18.
They do not teach wherein the composition includes a bactericide or nonionic surfactants. They do not teach wherein the alpha glucan is etherified with a positively charged quaternary ammonium group and/or hydroxyethyl group with a degree of substitution of 0.05 to about 0.4.
However, Sedmak teaches because of their chemical properties, glucans have found a wide variety of uses in the chemical, food and pharmaceutical industries (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). For example, they may be useful as viscosity imparting agents, emulsifiers, fibers, films, coating substances, supports for affinity chromatography and gel electrophoresis, in cell culture media, as filter pads, and in cement (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). They are also widely used as food thickeners and as a source of dietary fiber, and as carriers and coating agents in pharmaceutical products (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). Umezawa teaches a cleansing composition for hair which forms a stable emulsified dispersion system, and has no dryness on the hair after washing and gives an excellent finished fee (English translation, pg. 1, para. 0001). Umezawa teaches the composition comprises a silicone derivative and a cationic polymer having an alpha-1,6 glucoside bond represented by the following formula
(pg. 1, para. 0007, pg. 2, para. 0012, original translation, pg. 3, middle of page). The R groups are selected from a hydrogen atom, a hydroxy lower alkyl group and a quaternary nitrogen-containing group represented by the following formula (2), and at least one of R is represented by the above formula (2) and is a quaternary nitrogen-containing group
(English translation pg. 3, para. 0013, original document pg. 3, para. 0014). R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a hydroxy lower alkyl group, and R2, R3, and R4 each represent a lower alkyl group (English translation, pg. 2, para. 0014). The hydroxy lower alkyl group as R is a lower alkyl group for example, methyl, ethyl, propyl ((English translation, pg. 2, para. 0016). Umezawa teaches the content of nitrogen in the formula is preferably 0.2 to 4% by weight and it is preferable to adjust the substitution ratio of the quaternary nitrogen containing groups (English translation, pg. 2, para. 0017). Specific examples of such a cationic polymer compound include a cationic dextran or a derivative thereof, and it is possible to use one of these alone or two or more in combination (English translation, pg. 2, para. 0018). Umezawa teaches the hair cleansing composition of the present invention can be prepared as a shampoo, a shampoo having a rinse function, and the like, and the essential components described above are used in order to achieve the intended performance depending on the intended purpose and usage form of the product (English translation, pg. 3, para. 0021). Examples of the optional components include anionic surfactants, amphoteric surfactants, cationic surfactants, surfactants such as nonionic surfactants, thickeners, thickeners, oils other than silicone derivatives, solvents, Antiseptic, antidandruff agent, bactericide, antioxidant, tonic agent, colorant, fragrance, ultraviolet absorber, polymer compound other than the cationic polymer compound (English translation, pg. 3, para. 0021).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate a bactericide or surfactant into the formulation as suggested by Sedmak and Umezawa. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as bactericides are typically included in formulations comprising modified glucans.
Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the alpha-glucan to be an ether derivative comprising an hydroxyethyl and/or quaternary ammonium group as taught/suggested by Sedmak and Umezawa. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to form a stabilized formulation for shampoo, and surfactants and bactericides are common additives in shampoo formulations. With respect to the claimed degree of substitution, as discussed above, Umezawa teaches the content of nitrogen in the formula is preferably 0.2 to 4% by weight and it is preferable to adjust the substitution ratio of the quaternary nitrogen containing groups (English translation, pg. 2, para. 0017). Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144.05 (II)). Given that substitution ratio is established in the art as result-effective variable, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize substitution in order to control properties of the glucan.
Claims 36-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US 10,822,383 (cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 18-25, 40 above in view of Sedmak (WO 2006/121803, cited on PTO-892) and Naeye (WO 2010/129839, cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 36-38: As discussed above the patented claims teach the composition of claim 18.
They do not teach wherein the composition comprises a solution, bar or fiber.
However, Sedmak teaches because of their chemical properties, glucans have found a wide variety of uses in the chemical, food and pharmaceutical industries (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). For example, they may be useful as viscosity imparting agents, emulsifiers, fibers, films, coating substances, supports for affinity chromatography and gel electrophoresis, in cell culture media, as filter pads, and in cement (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). They are also widely used as food thickeners and as a source of dietary fiber, and as carriers and coating agents in pharmaceutical products (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). Naeye teaches a composition for improving the health of a subject comprising an α-(1,2)-branched α-(1,6) oligodextran and between about 10% and 50% alpha-(1,2)-glycosidic side chains (abstract). The alpha-(1,2)-branched alpha-(1,6) oligodextrans have controlled size and controlled degree of branching (pg. 2, lines 20-21). For example, in an embodiment of the present invention the alpha-(1,2)-branched alpha-(1,6) oligodextran has an average molecular weight between about 10 kilodaltons (kDa) and 70 kDa and comprises between about 10% and 50% alpha-(1,2)-osidic (glycosidic) side chains (pg. 2, lines 22-24). Thus, the oligodextran is constituted by alpha-(1,6) oligodextrans that comprises alpha-(1,2)-osidic (glycosidic) side chains (pg. 1 Example 1). Naeye et al. teach an enzyme having alpha-(1,2)-transglucosidase activity (i.e. GBD-CD2) was independent of the degree of polymerization of the product from at least for alpha 1,6 oligodextran with a degree of polymerization (DP) ranging from 60 to 12500 glucosyl (glc) units (pg. 31, table 3). Naeye teaches compositions comprising 62, 250, 347, and 12500 degrees of polymerization wherein the percentage of alpha 1,2 linkages ranges from 11.5% up to 37.9 % (pg. 31, table 6). Naeye et al. teach a composition for improving the health of a subject comprising an alpha (1,2)-branched alpha (1,6) oligodextran (abstract). Naeye teaches the fiber alpha-(1,2)-branched alpha-(1,6) dextran is a fiber source (pg. 16, lines 26-28). Naeye teaches the composition in a solution form (pg. 23, example 2, table 2).Naeye further teaches the composition of the invention may be included in nutritional or snack bars (pg. 15, lines 10-21).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the composition such that the comprises a solution, bar or fiber as taught/suggested by Sedmak and Naeye. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as these a known formulation methods for compositions comprising alpha glucans for nutritional purposes.
Claim 33 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US 10,822,383 (cited on PTO-892), Sedmak (WO 2006/121803, cited on PTO-892) and Naeye (WO 2010/129839, cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 18-25, 36-38, 40 above in view of Kanwar (BMC Immunology, 2009, cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 33: As discussed above, the prior art teaches the composition of claim 18 for nutritional purposes. Naeye teaches the composition are nutritional compositions that may contain a protein source (pg. 17, lines 7-10). Naeye teaches the compositions can be used to treat inflammatory bowel disease (pg. 22, lines 1-5).
They do not teach wherein the composition further comprises a peroxidase.
However, Kanwar teaches Enprocal is a high-protein micro-nutrient rich formulated supplementary food designed to meet the nutritional needs of the frail elderly and be delivered to them in every day foods and is beneficial in reducing the effects of chronic gut inflammatory diseases such as inflammatory diseases (abstract). Kanwar teaches Enprocal includes high levels of proteins including lactoperoxidase (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 1).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a lactoperoxidase (peroxidase) enzyme into the formulation as taught by Kanwar. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as this enzyme is known to be included in nutritional compositions for the purpose of nutrition or treating inflammatory diseases.
Claim 39 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US 10,822,383 (cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 18-25, 40 above in view of Sedmak (WO 2006/121803, cited on PTO-892) and Ramji (US 2004/0202698, cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 39: As discussed above the patented claims teach the composition of claim 18.
They does not teach wherein the composition comprises a film.
However, Sedmak teaches because of their chemical properties, glucans have found a wide variety of uses in the chemical, food and pharmaceutical industries (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). For example, they may be useful as viscosity imparting agents, emulsifiers, fibers, films, coating substances, supports for affinity chromatography and gel electrophoresis, in cell culture media, as filter pads, and in cement (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). They are also widely used as food thickeners and as a source of dietary fiber, and as carriers and coating agents in pharmaceutical products (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). Additionally, Ramji teaches dextran polymers are suitable film forming agents in the preparation of edible films (pg. 6, para. 0062).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to formulate the composition as a film as taught by Sedmak and Ramji. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as glucan polymers are generally known in the art for their film forming properties and are known to be used for this purpose specifically.
Claims 18-34, 36-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US 11,981,712 (cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The patented claims teach
Although the patented claims do not specify that the composition is in the form of a unit dose, given that the composition claims are directed to formulations, this would be within the technical grasp of the skilled artisan as unit doses are routine practices in the art of pharmaceutical formulations.
Claim 35 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US 11,981,712 (cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 18-34, 36-37 above in view of Sedmak (WO 2006/121803, cited on PTO-892) and Umezawa (JP 2000159642, cited on PTO-892, English translation provided by the Examiner). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 35: As discussed above the patented claims teach the composition of claim 18.
They do not teach wherein the composition includes a bactericide
However, Sedmak teaches because of their chemical properties, glucans have found a wide variety of uses in the chemical, food and pharmaceutical industries (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). For example, they may be useful as viscosity imparting agents, emulsifiers, fibers, films, coating substances, supports for affinity chromatography and gel electrophoresis, in cell culture media, as filter pads, and in cement (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). They are also widely used as food thickeners and as a source of dietary fiber, and as carriers and coating agents in pharmaceutical products (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). Umezawa teaches a cleansing composition for hair which forms a stable emulsified dispersion system, and has no dryness on the hair after washing and gives an excellent finished fee (English translation, pg. 1, para. 0001). Umezawa teaches the composition comprises a silicone derivative and a cationic polymer having an alpha-1,6 glucoside bond represented by the following formula
(pg. 1, para. 0007, pg. 2, para. 0012, original translation, pg. 3, middle of page). The R groups are selected from a hydrogen atom, a hydroxy lower alkyl group and a quaternary nitrogen-containing group represented by the following formula (2), and at least one of R is represented by the above formula (2) and is a quaternary nitrogen-containing group
(English translation pg. 3, para. 0013, original document pg. 3, para. 0014). R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a hydroxy lower alkyl group, and R2, R3, and R4 each represent a lower alkyl group (English translation, pg. 2, para. 0014). The hydroxy lower alkyl group as R is a lower alkyl group for example, methyl, ethyl, propyl ((English translation, pg. 2, para. 0016). Umezawa teaches the content of nitrogen in the formula is preferably 0.2 to 4% by weight and it is preferable to adjust the substitution ratio of the quaternary nitrogen containing groups (English translation, pg. 2, para. 0017). Specific examples of such a cationic polymer compound include a cationic dextran or a derivative thereof, and it is possible to use one of these alone or two or more in combination (English translation, pg. 2, para. 0018). Umezawa teaches the hair cleansing composition of the present invention can be prepared as a shampoo, a shampoo having a rinse function, and the like, and the essential components described above are used in order to achieve the intended performance depending on the intended purpose and usage form of the product (English translation, pg. 3, para. 0021). Examples of the optional components include anionic surfactants, amphoteric surfactants, cationic surfactants, surfactants such as nonionic surfactants, thickeners, thickeners, oils other than silicone derivatives, solvents, Antiseptic, antidandruff agent, bactericide, antioxidant, tonic agent, colorant, fragrance, ultraviolet absorber, polymer compound other than the cationic polymer compound (English translation, pg. 3, para. 0021).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate a bactericide into the formulation as suggested by Sedmak and Umezawa. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as bactericides are typically included in formulations comprising modified glucans.
Claims 38 and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US 11,981,712 (cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 18-34, 36-37 above in view of Sedmak (WO 2006/121803, cited on PTO-892) and Naeye (WO 2010/129839, cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 38 and 40: As discussed above the patented claims teach the composition of claim 18.
They do not teach wherein the composition comprises a fiber or an alpha-glucan.
However, Sedmak teaches because of their chemical properties, glucans have found a wide variety of uses in the chemical, food and pharmaceutical industries (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). For example, they may be useful as viscosity imparting agents, emulsifiers, fibers, films, coating substances, supports for affinity chromatography and gel electrophoresis, in cell culture media, as filter pads, and in cement (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). They are also widely used as food thickeners and as a source of dietary fiber, and as carriers and coating agents in pharmaceutical products (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). Naeye teaches a composition for improving the health of a subject comprising an α-(1,2)-branched α-(1,6) oligodextran and between about 10% and 50% alpha-(1,2)-glycosidic side chains (abstract). The alpha-(1,2)-branched alpha-(1,6) oligodextrans have controlled size and controlled degree of branching (pg. 2, lines 20-21). For example, in an embodiment of the present invention the alpha-(1,2)-branched alpha-(1,6) oligodextran has an average molecular weight between about 10 kilodaltons (kDa) and 70 kDa and comprises between about 10% and 50% alpha-(1,2)-osidic (glycosidic) side chains (pg. 2, lines 22-24). Thus, the oligodextran is constituted by alpha-(1,6) oligodextrans that comprises alpha-(1,2)-osidic (glycosidic) side chains (pg. 1 Example 1). Naeye et al. teach an enzyme having alpha-(1,2)-transglucosidase activity (i.e. GBD-CD2) was independent of the degree of polymerization of the product from at least for alpha 1,6 oligodextran with a degree of polymerization (DP) ranging from 60 to 12500 glucosyl (glc) units (pg. 31, table 3). Naeye teaches compositions comprising 62, 250, 347, and 12500 degrees of polymerization wherein the percentage of alpha 1,2 linkages ranges from 11.5% up to 37.9 % (pg. 31, table 6). Naeye et al. teach a composition for improving the health of a subject comprising an alpha (1,2)-branched alpha (1,6) oligodextran (abstract). Naeye teaches the fiber alpha-(1,2)-branched alpha-(1,6) dextran is a fiber source (pg. 16, lines 26-28). Naeye teaches the composition in a solution form (pg. 23, example 2, table 2).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate a fibrous alpha-glucan as taught by Sedmak and Naeye into the composition. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as the art establishes such compositions are beneficial for improving the health of a subject.
Claim 39 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US 11,981,712 (cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 18-34, 36-37 above in view of Sedmak (WO 2006/121803, cited on PTO-892) and Ramji (US 2004/0202698, cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 39: As discussed above the patented claims teach the composition of claim 18.
They does not teach wherein the composition comprises a film.
However, Sedmak teaches because of their chemical properties, glucans have found a wide variety of uses in the chemical, food and pharmaceutical industries (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). For example, they may be useful as viscosity imparting agents, emulsifiers, fibers, films, coating substances, supports for affinity chromatography and gel electrophoresis, in cell culture media, as filter pads, and in cement (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). They are also widely used as food thickeners and as a source of dietary fiber, and as carriers and coating agents in pharmaceutical products (pgs. 2-3, para. 0005). Additionally, Ramji teaches dextran polymers are suitable film forming agents in the preparation of edible films (pg. 6, para. 0062).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to formulate the composition as a film as taught by Sedmak and Ramji. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as glucan polymers are generally known in the art for their film forming properties and are known to be used for this purpose specifically.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
/SAMUEL L GALSTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1693