DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 10/20/26. As directed by the amendment: claim 32 has been amended; claims 1-31 have been cancelled; and no claims have been added. Thus, claim 32 is presently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
“optic assembly”: The optic assembly 404 has a collimating optic 420, and three lenses 421, 422, 423, where lens 421 is movable between lenses 422 and 423 ( optics 421, 422, 423 make up adjustable lens system 425), and a focusing optic 424, which is a 1.2 mm focal length lens. (para. [0060]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites “the pulse rate is predetermined such that a 75 um resolution part will be formed…”; however, it is unclear what structural limitation is related to this limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 32 recites “the single mode blue laser beam pulsed at a pulse rate” is a method step while claim 32 is directed to an apparatus (a system), accordingly, the aforementioned limitation renders the claim indefinite as “a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011).” (see MPEP 2173.05(p) II. PRODUCT AND PROCESS IN THE SAME CLAIM. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zediker (WO 2014/179345) in view of Zediker (WO 2014/179345) in view of Burris et al. (US 2014/0265046).
With regard to claim 32, Zediker teaches a system for performing high resolution laser 3-D laser printing (“recognized herein is the need for improved three-dimensional (also "3D" and "3-D" herein) printing systems and methods”, para. [0005]), the system comprising: a. a blue laser source (1001, FIG. 1) configured to emit a single mode blue laser beam having a wavelength of 459 nm (“A blue laser system with a wavelength of 459 nm can advantageously create a spot size that is less than or equal to about 35 μιη, in some cases with the same optical system as the IR system.”, para. [0053]); b. an optic assembly (1003) defining a laser beam path (1006), the laser beam path (1006) extending from the blue laser source (1001) to a powder bed (1007) (FIG. 1), the optic assembly comprising an X-Y scanner (“X-Y Scanning System 1003”, FIG. 1) configured to scan the single mode blue laser beam (beam 1002 from source 1001) across an addressable field at the powder bed (1007), an adjustable lens (3010) system configured to control a divergence of the single mode blue laser beam, and a focusing optic (1005) configured to focus the single mode blue laser beam (1002) according to the single mode blue laser beam's position on the powder bed (1007); and C. wherein the pulse rate is predetermined such that a 75 µm resolution part will be formed on the powder bed by the single mode blue laser beam without ablation.
Although Zediker teaches a wavelength of 459nm and further states that visible light “as used herein generally refers to electromagnetic radiation (light) with a wavelength between about 380 nanometers (nm) and 760 nm … Visible light is visible by the human eye. Visible laser light has a wavelength between about 380 nm and 760 nm….”, para. [0033], Zediker does not explicitly teach the limitation of a range of 400 to 500 nm. However, in view of the aforementioned ranges that are taught by Zediker, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Zediker reference, such that a narrower range of 400 to 500 nm was utilized as “in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)“ (see MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions).
Zediker does not teach the single mode blue laser beam pulsed at a pulse rate; however, Burris from the same field of endeavor directed toward a laser sintering apparatus and methods teaches the aforementioned limitation: “the set of laser diodes can include multiple laser diodes operating at different wavelengths such that a range of focal lengths and focal areas at the laser sintering site (i.e., at the build surface) can be achieved by modulating power output from the various laser diodes in the set”, para. [0036]; “he laser system can additionally or alternatively manipulate voltage, current, rise time, fall time, pulse time, laser pulse profile, power, duration, wavelength, etc. of one or more laser diodes within the laser system. The laser system can also incorporate power control, power factor, and/or power stabilization capabilities.”, para. [0039])
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Zediker reference, such that the single mode blue laser beam pulsed at a pulse rate, as suggested and taught by Burris, for the purpose of providing a desired laser machining operation (Burris: para. [0039]).
Response to Arguments
In response to the newly presented claim amendments, the above rejections are presented herein. The prior art rejection is newly presented in view of the newly presented claim amendments to the independent claim.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W ISKRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761