DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rico Alvarino et al. (Rico, US PGPub 2017/0064685) in view of Fan et al. (Fan, Integrated Sensing and Communications: Towards Dual-Functional Wireless Networks for 6G and Beyond).
Referring to Claim 1, Rico teaches transmitting a signal ([0005-0006] and Fig. 3-7 and associated text), wherein a signal comprises a wideband signal and at least one single-tone signal (Fig. 4 and [0086], [0099] and [0107]), wherein the number of the at least one single-tone signal is less than 10 (Fig. 5 [0101]), and wherein a bandwidth of the wideband signal is greater than 1 MHz; Fig. 7 and [0086-0087], but does not explicitly disclose nor limit the signal is an integrated sensing and communication (ISAC) signal.
However, Fan teaches the use of an integrated sensing and communication (ISAC) signal in wireless communications; See abstract.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Rico with the ISAC signal as taught by Fan so as to predictably provide high accuracy and robust sensing capabilities for location/environment aware scenarios.
Referring to Claims 2, 11, 18 and 20, Rico as modified by Fan teach wherein the wideband signal is one of a Frequency-Modulated Continuous Wave (FMCW) signal, a pulse signal or a low-correlation sequence signal; See Waveform Design for ISAC section of Fan pages 1743-1744.
Referring to Claims 3, 4, 11 and 20, Rico as modified by Fan teaches wherein the bandwidth of the wideband signal covers more than 90% of sub-carriers of the ISAC signal and wherein a time duration of the wideband signal is less than 10% of a time duration of the ISAC signal; See Fig. 4, 5 and 6 as well as associated text of Rico as well as Fig. 7 and associated text of Fan.
Referring to Claims 5 and 12, Rico as modified by Fan teaches wherein a time spacing between the first time-domain position and the last time-domain position of the single- tone signal is greater than 90% of a time duration of the ISAC signal, and wherein a duty cycle of the single-tone signal is within 0% to 100%, time-domain positions of the single-tone signal are periodic or non-periodic, and a phase of the single-tone signal is continuous or discontinuous; See Fig. 3-7 of Rico and associated text.
Referring to Claims 6 and 13, Rico as modified by Fan teaches wherein the ISAC signal further comprises at least one guard band between the single-tone signal and a communication signal of the ISAC signal; Fig. 3-5 and [0086] of Rico.
Referring to Claims 7 and 14, Rico as modified by Fan teaches wherein: the single-tone signal is on a subcarrier with the highest frequency or the lowest frequency in the ISAC signal, and each guard band covers at least one subcarrier of the ISAC signal, and the at least one single-tone signal is a reference signal of a communication signal in the ISAC signal; [0086] of Rico.
Referring to Claims 8, 15 and 16, Rico as modified by Fan teaches wherein transmitting the ISAC signal comprises: transmitting at least one signal component of the sensing signal via a plurality of antennas and/or a plurality of beams, and further comprising: receiving an echo signal corresponding to the sensing signal of the ISAC signal, and determining sensing information based on the echo signal; [0123-0124] of Rico and Section VI.C of Fan.
Referring to Claim 9, Rico as modified by Fan teaches wherein a total time duration of the wideband signal is less than a total time duration of the at least one single-tone signal; see disclosure of Rico.
Referring to Claim 10, Rico as modified by Fan teach receiving an integrated sensing and communication (ISAC) signal, and determining communication information and sensing information based on the ISAC signal, wherein a sensing signal in the ISAC signal comprises a wideband signal and at least one single-tone signal, wherein the number of the at least one single-tone signal is less than 10, and wherein a bandwidth of the wideband signal is greater than 1 MHz; See the citations and rationale of Claim 1 as this is variant of that claim.
Referring to Claim 17, Rico as modified by Fan teaches a communication unit, configured to transmit an integrated sensing and communication, ISAC, signal, wherein a sensing signal in the ISAC signal comprises a wideband signal and at least one single-tone signal, wherein the number of the at least one single-tone signal is less than 10, and wherein a bandwidth of the wideband signal is greater than 1 MHz; see citations and rationale of Claim 1 as claim is a variation of that independent.
Referring to Claim 19, Rico as modified by Fan teaches a communication unit, configured to transmit an integrated sensing and communication (ISAC) signal, and a processor, configured to determine communication information and sensing information based on the ISAC signal, wherein a sensing signal in the ISAC signal comprises a wideband signal and at least one single-tone signal, wherein the number of the at least one single-tone signal is less than 10, and wherein a bandwidth of the wideband signal is greater than 1 MHz; see citations and rationale of Claim 1 as claim is a variation of that independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument that the prior art does not teach a sensing signal in any form appears to be disputed by their own arguments. Sensing and discovery are known synonyms, as the Applicant has pointed out the signals of Rico are for discovery and synchronization using narrowband communications. In the broadest most reasonable interpretation discovery and synchronization are the same as sensing and communication. Applicant argues that the signals of Rico are not for radar sensing or any dual functional purpose, and while there may not be any mention of explicit radar sensing, this is not claimed and the limitations are not limited to radar sensing. However, the discovery and synchronization meet the dual function purpose as Rico teaches a discovery signal that discovers a device and synchs for communication purposes. Applicant further argues that Rico does not teach or suggest that signal is a singular, unified signal, however, the claim does not require this to be the case and the definition of ISAC is not limited to a single signal.
Applicant further argues that the combination of references is improper due to the complexity of the system taught by Fan. This is disputed as using LTE/NR systems in JRC systems is well known in the art. Therefore combining well known elements alongside state of the art approaches would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The MPEP teaches in section 2143 that combing known techniques or combine prior art elements is well known for improvements that provide predictable results. The combination of prior art in this scenario predictably improve sensing capabilities.
Applicant’s argument that the prior art does not teaches a unified signal having a particular time-frequency relationship is not relevant as these limitations are not present explicitly or implicitly in the current claim. Applicant appears to be arguing a narrowed version of the claim, it is suggested that these limitations be added to the claim to further consideration or to possibly overcome the prior art as applied.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WHITNEY MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646