DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “one or more processors” in line 5; it is unclear whether this is the same one or more processor as introduced in line 4 or not. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims 2-7 are rejected for depending on rejected claim 1.
Claim 7 recites “a first monitoring device and a second monitoring device” in line 1-2; it is unclear whether this is the same first and second monitoring device as introduced in claim 1 or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because of the following analysis:
1 – statutory category: Claims 1-8 recite a system, and therefore, falls under the statutory category of being a thing or products. See MPEP 2106.03. Claim 9-15 recite a series of steps and therefore, falls under the statutory category of being a process. See MPEP 2106.03.
2A – Prong 1: The independent claims 1, 8 and 9 recite a judicial exception by reciting the limitations of “(a) obtain a first set of physiological signals from a first monitoring device and a second monitoring device , wherein the first set of physiological signals includes a first physiological signal from the first monitoring device covering a first time period and a second physiological signal from the second monitoring device covering at least a portion of the first time period; (b) analyze at least the first and second physiological signals of the first set of physiological signals to determine a first time marker; (c) obtain a second set of physiological signals from the first monitoring device and the second monitoring device, wherein the second set of physiological signals includes a first physiological signal from the first monitoring device covering a second time period and a second physiological signal from the second monitoring device covering at least a portion of the second time period; (d) analyze at least the first and second physiological signals of the second set of physiological signals to determine a second time marker; and (e) synchronize the first and second monitoring devices based on the first and second time markers.”. These limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in mind or by a person using a pen and paper. Therefore, an abstract idea is involved.
2A – Prong 2: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The independent claims 1, 8 and 9 recite the additional limitations of “a computer-readable storage medium [] one or more processors”, etc. The mentioned limitations are recited at a high level of generality and are considered to be data gathering/processing which are mere extra-solution activity. The elements amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, each of the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea.
2B: The emphasized elements cited above do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these limitations are simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’I, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)).
In view of the above, the additional elements individually do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)).
Claims 2-7, 10-15 depend on claims 1 and 9. The mentioned dependent claims recite the same abstract idea as the independent claims. Furthermore, these claims only contain recitations that further limit the abstract idea (that is, the claims only recite limitations that further limit the mental process). For example, the dependent claim recites the limitations recited at a high level of generality and are mere extra-solution activity, and recited as performing generic computer functions. i.e., data processing. The elements amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements individually do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process.
Thus, claims 1-15 are directed to an abstract idea and are therefore rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(g)(1) during the course of an interference conducted under section 135 or section 291, another inventor involved therein establishes, to the extent permitted in section 104, that before such person’s invention thereof the invention was made by such other inventor and not abandoned, suppressed, or concealed, or (2) before such person’s invention thereof, the invention was made in this country by another inventor who had not abandoned, suppressed, or concealed it. In determining priority of invention under this subsection, there shall be considered not only the respective dates of conception and reduction to practice of the invention, but also the reasonable diligence of one who was first to conceive and last to reduce to practice, from a time prior to conception by the other.
A rejection on this statutory basis (35 U.S.C. 102(g) as in force on March 15, 2013) is appropriate in an application or patent that is examined under the first to file provisions of the AIA if it also contains or contained at any time (1) a claim to an invention having an effective filing date as defined in 35 U.S.C. 100(i) that is before March 16, 2013 or (2) a specific reference under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) to any patent or application that contains or contained at any time such a claim.
Claim(s) 1, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP4144288A1 to Roovers et al. (hereinafter “Roovers”).
Regarding claims 1-4, 7, 8-12. Roovers disclose a health monitoring system configured to synchronize separate monitoring devices for accurate processing of shared signals (para 0026, 0029, etc.) , the system comprising: a computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon machine-readable instructions to be executed by one or more processors (para 0032 “control unit”); and one or more processors configured by the machine-readable instructions stored on the computer-readable storage medium to perform the following operations (fig. 2, para 0032, 0036, fig. 2): (a) obtain a first set of physiological signals from a first monitoring device and a second monitoring device, wherein the first set of physiological signals includes a first physiological signal from the first monitoring device covering a first time period and a second physiological signal from the second monitoring device covering at least a portion of the first time period (para 0032 “a first sensor 11 and a second sensor 12 [] Each sensor 11, 12 is configured for measurement of at least one physiological signal, [] transmit to the control unit 20”; para 0036); (b) analyze at least the first and second physiological signals of the first set of physiological signals to determine a first time marker (para 0036, fig. 2 “Each of the sensors 11, 12 comprises an independent clock 11a, 12a for associating the first and second output signals S1, S2 with a respective time domain”); (c) obtain a second set of physiological signals from the first monitoring device and the second monitoring device, wherein the second set of physiological signals includes a first physiological signal from the first monitoring device covering a second time period and a second physiological signal from the second monitoring device covering at least a portion of the second time period (para 0032 “a first sensor 11 and a second sensor 12 [] Each sensor 11, 12 is configured for measurement of at least one physiological signal, [] transmit to the control unit 20”; para 0036 – continuing the process would include continuously receiving data which is considered to be second set, third set, etc.); (d) analyze at least the first and second physiological signals of the second set of physiological signals to determine a second time marker (para 0036, fig. 2 “Each of the sensors 11, 12 comprises an independent clock 11a, 12a for associating the first and second output signals S1, S2 with a respective time domain”); and (e) synchronize the first and second monitoring devices based on the first and second time markers (para 0032, 0034, 0042, 0050-0058, etc.).
Regarding claims 2 and 10. Roovers disclose the health monitoring system of claim 1 and method of claim 9, wherein the first time marker is determined by correlating one or more signal features of the first and second physiological signals of the first set of physiological signals, the first time marker being indicative of when a shared signal feature is observed in the first and second physiological signals of the first set of physiological signals, and wherein the second time marker is determined by correlating one or more signal features of the first and second physiological signals of the second set of physiological signals, the second time marker being indicative of when a shared signal feature is observed in the first and second physiological signals of the second set of physiological signals (see rejection of claim 1, paras 0032-0038, fig. 2).
Regarding claims 3 and 11. Roovers disclose the health monitoring system of claim 1 and method of claim 9, wherein the first and second physiological signals of the first set of physiological signals are electrocardiogram signals, and wherein the first and second physiological signals of the second set of physiological signals are electrocardiogram signals (para 0023, 0033).
Regarding claims 4 and 12. Roovers disclose the health monitoring system of claim 1 and method of claim 9, wherein synchronizing the first and second monitoring devices includes: setting a leading anchor point for at least one physiological signal collected by the second monitoring device and a leading anchor point for at least one physiological signal collected by the first monitoring device, wherein the leading anchor points are set based on the first time marker; setting a trailing anchor point for the at least one physiological signal collected by the second monitoring device and a trailing anchor point for the at least one physiological signal collected by the first monitoring device, wherein the trailing anchor points are set based on the second time marker; and generating a synchronized physiological signal by resampling the at least one physiological signal collected by first monitoring device based on a relationship between the leading and trailing anchor points (para 0050-0058, etc.).
Regarding claim 7. Roovers disclose the health monitoring system of claim 1, further comprising: a first monitoring device and a second monitoring device in communication with the one or more processors (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the first monitoring device is configured to measure one or more physiological signals including at least a first signal type and the second monitoring device is configured to measure one or more physiological signals including at least the first signal type (para 0023, 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roovers in view of US Pat Pub No. 20190246966 A1 to Friedman et al. (hereafter “Friedman”).
Regarding claims 5 and 13. Roovers disclose the health monitoring system of claim 4 and method of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions stored on the computer-readable storage medium to perform the following operations: but fails to disclose (i) obtain at least a third physiological signal from the second monitoring device; and (ii) analyze the third physiological signal and the synchronized physiological signal to determine a physiological measurement of interest.
Friedman, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches that it is known to synchronize signal from multiple independent ECG sensing devices (0041-0044, “2, 3, 4, 5, or more independent sensing devices may be coupled to a patient for concurrent data collection and processing”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Roovers with the teachings of Friedman to provide the predictable result of synchronize signal from additional devices.
Regarding claim 15. Roovers disclose the he computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein the health monitoring system configured to wirelessly receive one or more physiological signals from the first and second monitoring devices (para 0032), but fails to disclose the system to be a cloud-based system.
Friedman, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches one or more computer servers that provide a cloud-based service for processing ECG data and estimating analyte levels based on ECG data (para 0047). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Roovers with the teachings of Friedman to provide the predictable result of processing ECG data and estimating analyte levels based on ECG data remotely.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roovers as modified by Friedman as applied to claim 5, 13 and 15 above, and further in view of US Pat Pub No. 20210000412 A1 to Mengden et al. (hereinafter “Mengden”).
Regarding claims 6 and 14. Roovers as modified by Friedman renders obvious the health monitoring system of claim 5 method of claim 13, wherein the third physiological signal is a photoplethysmography signal, the synchronized physiological signal is either a photoplethysmography signal or an electrocardiogram signal (Roovers, para 0023), but fails to disclose the physiological measurement of interest is at least one physiological measurement of interest of a pulse arrival time and a pulse transit time.
Mengden, from a similar field of endeavor teaches determining the pulse transit time and pulse arrival time from an ECG signal to generate the biofeedback (0005, 0009). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Roovers as modified by Friedman with the teachings of Mengden to provide the predictable result of generating biofeedback.
Conclusion
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796