DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 20230351946 A1, and hereinafter “Han”).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches a flexible display apparatus (Fig. 2, [0055-0057] : display apparatus 1 can be a foldable, rollable, or any other flexible display apparatus) comprising:
a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) (Fig. 16, [0153] : substrate 13 can be an flexible printed circuit board (FPCB)) made of a ductile material so as to be freely bent (Fig. 16, [0153] : substrate 13 can be an flexible printed circuit board (FPCB));
a wiring layer (Fig. 18, [0159-0165] : line pattern LP) provided on the FPCB (Fig. 18, [0159-0165] : line pattern LP is provided on the substrate 13); and
a plurality of light-emitting device packages (Fig. 18, [0158-0165], [0194] : micro-pixel packages 100) arranged in M rows and N columns on the wiring layer so as to be electrically connected to the wiring layer (Fig. 18, [0158-0165], [0194] : micro-pixel packages 100 are arranged in M rows and N columns on the line pattern LP so as to be electrically connected to the line pattern LP),
wherein each light-emitting device package comprises:
a package substrate (Fig. 16, [0151-0165], [0194] : relay substrate 110 of micro-pixel package 100);
one or more light-emitting devices (Fig. 16, [0151-0165], [0194] : light emitting elements 120 of micro-pixel package 100) provided on the package substrate (Fig. 16, [0151-0165], [0194] : light emitting elements 120 are provided on the relay substrate 110); and
a driving device (Fig. 16, [0151-0168], [0188-0194] : micro-pixel integrated circuit (IC) 130 which can include pixel circuit 131 and/or integrated circuit (IC) control circuit 133 to drive signals and currents) for applying a control signal to the light-emitting devices (Fig. 16, [0151-0168], [0188-0194] : micro-pixel IC 130 which can include pixel circuit 131 and/or IC control circuit 133 to drive signals and currents to the light emitting elements 120).
Regarding claim 2, Han teaches the flexible display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light-emitting devices comprise a red light-emitting diode (LED) chip (Fig. 15, [0148-0168], [0188-0194] : light emitting elements 120 includes red light emitting element 120R), a green LED chip (Fig. 15, [0148-0168], [0188-0194] : light emitting elements 120 includes green light emitting element 120G), and a blue LED chip (Fig. 15, [0148-0168], [0188-0194] : light emitting elements 120 includes blue light emitting element 120B) such that one light-emitting device package forms one pixel (Fig. 15, [0026], [0148-0168], [0188-0194] : light emitting elements 120 of micro-pixel package 100 forms a micro-pixel).
Regarding claim 3, Han teaches the flexible display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the driving device is a driver integrated chip (IC) (Fig. 16, [0151-0171], [0188-0194] : micro-pixel IC 130 which can include pixel circuit 131 and/or IC control circuit 133) comprising a surface provided with one or more terminals (Fig. 20, [0151-0171], [0188-0194] : red pixel circuit 131R, green pixel circuit 131G, and blue pixel circuit 131B of micro-pixel IC 130 which can include pixel circuit 131 and/or IC control circuit 133) selected from among a power terminal (Fig. 20, [0098], [0151-0171], [0188-0194] : power supply voltage V.sub.DD are input to the pixel circuit 131), a driving voltage terminal (Fig. 20, [0098], [0151-0171], [0188-0194] : gate voltage V.sub.GATE and data voltage V.sub.Data are input to the pixel circuit 131), a control terminal, a feedback terminal, a brightness adjustment terminal, a light intensity correction terminal, a dummy terminal, and combinations thereof to apply control signals to the red, green, and blue LED chips (Fig. 16, [0151-0171], [0188-0194] : micro-pixel IC 130 which can include pixel circuit 131 and/or IC control circuit 133 applies control signals to the light emitting elements 120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20230351946 A1, and hereinafter “Han”), in view of Go et al. (KR 102219252 B1, employing the provided machine translation, and hereinafter “Go”).
Regarding claim 4, Han teaches the flexible display apparatus of claim 3, wherein, in the light-emitting device package, the red, green, and blue LED chips are disposed side by side on a portion of a top surface of the package substrate (Fig. 15, [0148-0168], [0188-0194] : light emitting elements 120R, 120G, and 120B are disposed side by side on a portion of a top surface of the relay substrate 110).
Han does not teach and the driver IC is disposed on another portion of the top surface of the package substrate.
However, Go teaches and the driver IC (Fig. 3, Lines 78-89 : driving chip 33) is disposed on another portion of the top surface of the package substrate (Fig. 3, Lines 78-89 : driving chip 33 is disposed on another portion of the top surface of the substrate 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate driver IC that is on another portion of the top surface of the package substrate as taught by Go into Han’s flexible display apparatus by moving the location of the micro-pixel IC to be on top of the relay substrate. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to reduce the thickness of the display apparatus by minimizing the required space between the package substrate and the flexible printed circuit board. Additionally, Han discloses the claimed invention except for the driver IC is disposed on another portion of the top surface of the package substrate. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to move the location of the micro-pixel IC to be on top of the relay substrate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP §2144.06).
Regarding claim 5, Han teaches the flexible display apparatus of claim 3, wherein, in the light-emitting device package, the red, green, and blue LED chips are disposed side by side on a top surface of the package substrate (Fig. 15, [0148-0168], [0188-0194] : light emitting elements 120R, 120G, and 120B are disposed side by side on a portion of a top surface of the relay substrate 110).
Han does not teach and the driver IC is provided inside the package substrate.
However, Go teaches and the driver IC (Fig. 3, Lines 78-89 : driving chip 33) is provided inside the package substrate (Fig. 7, Lines 134-178 : driving chip 33 is provided inside the IC package 140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the driver IC that is provided inside the package substrate as taught by Go into Han’s flexible display apparatus by placing the micro-pixel IC inside the relay substrate. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to reduce the total space of the light-emitting device package (Lines 174-178 of Go), and allow higher density of light-emitting device package (Lines 196-203 of Go).
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20230351946 A1, and hereinafter “Han”), in view of Hirasawa et al. (US 20200357775 A1, and hereinafter “Hirasawa”)
Regarding claim 6, Han teaches the flexible display apparatus of claim 1.
Han does not teach wherein the light-emitting device package further comprises a package protection member for protecting the light-emitting devices.
However, Hirasawa teaches wherein the light-emitting device package (Fig. 9, [0066] : light emitting apparatus 1A) further comprises a package protection member (Fig. 9, [0056], [0066] : sealing resin 54) for protecting the light-emitting devices (Fig. 9, [0056], [0066] : sealing resin 54 covers and protects the LED devices 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the package protection member as taught by Hirasawa into Han’s flexible display apparatus by adding the sealing resin to the light emitting elements and the relay substrate. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide protection to the light-emitting devices ([0056] of Hirasawa).
Regarding claim 7, Han as modified by Hirasawa teaches the flexible display apparatus of claim 6, wherein the package protection member comprises at least one of a light-transmitting molding member made of a light-transmitting material comprising silicon or epoxy (Fig. 9, [0056], [0066] of Hirasawa : sealing resin 54 is colorless and transparent, and can be made of epoxy resin or silicone resin), a lens member (Fig. 9, [0056-0057], [0066] of Hirasawa : lens resin 55), a photoconversion member comprising a phosphor material (Fig. 9, [0056], [0066] of Hirasawa : sealing resin 52 can include phosphor excited by the LED device 51) or quantum dots, a color filter member, an optical system, a reflective wall member, and combinations thereof.
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20230351946 A1, and hereinafter “Han”), in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20240257671 A1, and hereinafter “Yamazaki”).
Regarding claim 8, Han teaches the flexible display apparatus of claim 1.
Han does not teach further comprising a flexible protection member for protecting a bottom or top surface of the FPCB.
However, Yamazaki teaches further comprising a flexible protection member (Fig. 5, [0088] : support 10 is curved, and can be in various shapes or curvature) for protecting a bottom or top surface of the FPCB (Fig. 5, [0088-0090] : support 10 protects the bottom surface of flexible substrate 800).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible protection member as taught by Yamazaki into Go’s flexible display apparatus by adding the support to the bottom surface of the substrate. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide support and protection for the flexible printed circuit board ([0082] and [0088] of Yamazaki).
Regarding claim 9, Han as modified by Yamazaki teaches the flexible display apparatus of claim 8, wherein the flexible protection member is a molding layer (Fig. 5, [0088] of Yamazaki : support 10 can be formed of rubber, and includes resin 19) comprising at least one of urethane, silicon, rubber, synthetic resin, and combinations thereof (Fig. 5, [0088] of Yamazaki : support 10 can be made of rubber, and includes resin 19).
Conclusion
/KEON NMN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ABHISHEK M RATHOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841